Physicians and Practitioners

Paid Family Leave (PFL) provides benefit payments to people who need to take time off work to care for a seriously ill family member. If your patient’s caregiver submits a claim for PFL, you must certify their claim by completing a form online or by mail.

Certify for PFL Claims

The following people can certify for PFL claims:

  • Licensed medical or osteopathic physician or practitioner.
  • Authorized medical officer of a U.S. government facility.
  • Chiropractor.
  • Podiatrist.
  • Optometrist.
  • Dentist.
  • Psychologist.
  • Nurse practitioner or physician assistant after examination and collaboration with physician or surgeon.
  • Licensed midwife, nurse-midwife, or nurse-practitioner for pregnancy, childbirth, or postpartum conditions consistent with the scope of their professional licensing.
  • Accredited religious practitioner.

Important: Effective January 1, 2024, Senate Bill 667 changes the scope of nurse midwife certification authorization.

You can certify by mail or online. To certify online, create a myEDD account, then set up your SDI Online account. Once both accounts are set up, log in to myEDD and select SDI Online. You can use SDI Online to find a caregiver’s claim for benefits, submit a claim certification, or view your claim certification history.

Accredited religious practitioners must certify by mail by completing the Practitioner’s Certification for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE 2502F). Licensed physicians or practitioners should not complete this form.