Limited Examination and Appointment Program

The Limited Examination and Appointment Program (LEAP) is a recruitment and hiring program for people with disabilities. Instead of taking the traditional state civil service exam, you can show your knowledge and skills for a position through on-the-job testing.

To be eligible for the LEAP program, you must complete the following steps.

1. Apply for LEAP Certification

The Department of Rehabilitation (DOR) must certify that you meet the disability requirements to be eligible for a LEAP class exam. You can speak with a counselor at the DOR to find out how to get a LEAP certification. 

Find a local DOR office online, or use one of the following

If you are currently a DOR client, contact your counselor to see if you are eligible.

2. Apply for LEAP Exams

Once you have your LEAP certification from the DOR, you can apply for LEAP class examinations. You can also keep applying for traditional state examinations. Review a listing of current LEAP exams.

3. Apply for Job Openings

After you take a LEAP exam for a specific classification, you will be placed on a LEAP hiring list.  You can start applying for job openings for that classification. To search for job openings, visit CalCareers and search for that classification.

For more information on the application process, visit How to Get a State Job. You can use the CalCareers job search for LEAP.

4. Serve a Limited-Term Appointment

Once selected for a position, you will first serve a limited-term appointment for no more than one year. Before you start, you will be given the duty statement which explains the duties of the position and what will be evaluated during your limited-term appointment. Your employer will also explain the evaluation standards for the job examination period.

5. Complete a Job Examination Period

A job examination period for a LEAP-certified class is the same as the probationary period for the standard classification. During this time, your performance will be evaluated at least once every four weeks. The final evaluation will include a recommendation on assigning you to the standard classification. You will not have to serve an additional probationary period once you are assigned to the standard classification.

During the job examination period, you will not have permanent civil service status. However, you will receive the same salary and benefits as other state employees in limited-term positions.

Additional Resources