Unemployment Insurance Appeals
You have the right to appeal the EDD's decision to reduce or deny you benefits. You must submit your appeal in writing within 30 days of the mailing date on the Notice of Determination and/or Ruling (DE 1080CZ).
You can download the Appeal Form (DE 1000M) (PDF) or use the copy included with each Notice of Determination that you receive. Mail your appeal to the return address shown on the decision notice.
If you don’t have a copy of the Appeal Form (DE 1000M), or cannot print a copy, you can write a letter to the EDD to notify the Department that you want to appeal the decision to reduce or deny you benefits.
If you choose to write a letter, include all of the following information:
- Full name.
- Phone number.
- Social Security number.
- The name and mailing address of any representative.
- The reason for your appeal.
- A copy of the decision you are appealing or the date of the decision.
- Any request for language assistance or special accommodations.
After You File an Appeal
The Office of Appeals will notify you of the time and location of your hearing at least 10 days in advance. An Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) will conduct the hearing, and give employers and claimants a chance to present their evidence.
For more information on how to prepare for your appeals hearing, watch Information on Your Appeal Hearing from the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.
Note: If you live outside of California, your appeal will be conducted by phone.
While your appeal is pending, you must continue to certify for benefits. If you are found eligible, you can only be paid for periods which you have certified for, if you have met all other eligibility requirements.
The ALJ will issue a written decision to you and your employer. The decision will include information about Filing a Second Level Appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (Appeals Board.)