Español

Holidays

Our payroll tax offices are open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., except on state holidays.

When the due date for reporting or paying payroll taxes falls on a legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day.

Refer to this table for details on how 2022 legal holidays will affect payroll tax due dates.

Observed Legal Holidays
Holiday Date Observed in 2022 Next Business Day in 2022 EDD Offices Open
New Year’s Day December 31, 2021 January 3 (Monday) No
Martin Luther King Jr. Day January 17 January 18 (Tuesday) No
Lincoln’s Birthday February 12 February 14 (Monday) Yes
Presidents’ Day February 21 February 22 (Tuesday) No
Cesar Chavez Day March 31 April 1 (Friday) No
Good Friday April 15 April 18 (Monday) Yes
Emancipation Day April 15 April 18 (Monday) Yes
Memorial Day May 30 May 31 (Tuesday) No
Juneteenth National Independence Day June 20 June 21 (Tuesday) Yes
Independence Day July 4 July 5 (Tuesday) No
Labor Day September 5 September 6 (Tuesday) No
California Admission Day September 9 September 12 (Monday) Yes
Native American Day September 23 September 26 (Monday) Yes
Columbus Day October 10 October 11 (Tuesday) Yes
Veterans Day November 11 November 14 (Monday) No
Thanksgiving Day (and the day after) November 24 and 25 November 28 (Monday) No
Christmas Day December 26 December 27 (Tuesday) Yes

e-Services for Business

Use e-Services for Business to manage your employer payroll tax account online.

Contact Us

If you have questions, Contact Payroll Taxes. You can also contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 or visit your local Employment Tax Office.

Last Revised: 04/25/2022