Disability Insurance Elective Coverage FAQs
We offer an optional Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) program for employers, independent contractors, and self-employed people who don’t pay into State Disability Insurance (SDI) but want to be covered by Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL).
Usually, you are eligible for benefits after participating in the DIEC program for at least six months from the approved start date of your plan.
However, if you worked as an employee in California for an employer who previously deducted SDI contributions 5 to 18 months before your DIEC plan, you may have wage earnings in your base period, which could give you a valid claim to begin your DI or PFL leave sooner.
Yes. DIEC benefits are payable whether you are hurt on or off the job unless you carry workers’ compensation coverage for yourself.
To learn how to apply for DIEC, review Apply for Disability Insurance Elective Coverage.
You can download the following forms or call 1-916-554-7104 to receive them by mail:
- Application for Unemployment Insurance and State Disability Insurance Elective Coverage for Employees Exempted Under the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) (DE1378) (PDF).
- Application for Unemployment Insurance, State Disability Insurance, and Paid Family Leave Elective Coverage Under Section 708(a) of the Unemployment Insurance Code (DE 1378A) (PDF).
- Information Sheet: Elective Coverage for Employers and Self-Employed Individuals (DE 231EC) (PDF)
- Application for Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) (DE 1278DI) (PDF).
For more information and resources, review Getting Started.
You will receive a statement at the end of each quarter showing the amount due. Your premium or payment is due by the last day of the month following the end of the quarter.
Yes. Premiums still need to be paid but may be adjusted for a full or partial quarter. For more information, contact your local Employment Tax Office.
You have 30 days to submit your DIEC payment. If your DIEC plan is more than two years old and your premiums are not paid by the late date shown on your quarterly statement, you will receive a late notice and penalties and interest will be added. If payment, plus the penalty and interest, is not received within 30 days of the date shown on the late notice, your DIEC coverage may be canceled. If your plan is fewer than two years old, we may assess and collect the unpaid amount.
No. Benefits will not be paid if your DIEC account is late or unpaid.
After choosing DIEC, you must stay in the plan for two full calendar years. After that, you can cancel your coverage by submitting a request during the month of January. The EDD can also cancel your DIEC. Cancellation will be effective January 1.
To continue your EC eligibility, you must show a minimum profit of $4,600 per year. If your profits fall below this level for three consecutive years, the EDD may cancel your coverage.
Contact DIEC Unit
To speak with a representative, call:
- DIEC unit at 1-916-654-6288.
- EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.
- TTY users dial the California Relay Service at 711.
Representatives are available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Offices are closed weekends and holidays.
For questions about DI or PFL, contact State Disability Insurance by telephone, in person, or mail.
Disability Insurance and Paid Family Leave Benefits
Find DI Information for You
Last Revised: 08/17/2022