
 

 

Please note: 

Page 3 
The Ventura self-service office has moved from 2901 N. 
Ventura Road to 4820 McGrath Street, Suite 200, 93003. 

Page 41 
In Example E, Step 3 in "TABLE 3 - STANDARD 
DEDUCTION TABLE" all entries in this step for $8,808 
should be decreased $6 to $8,802. Adjust all totals 
derived using this figure on both Step 3 and Step 4. 

We apologize for the inconvenience. 
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Important Information 

Electronic Reporting and Payment Requirement: As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically 
submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. For more information on 
the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties, visit  www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate  or 
refer to page 49. 

e-Services for Business: Employers can register, view, and manage their employer payroll tax account,  
file reports, make deposits, and pay liabilities online. For more information, visit  
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business  or refer to  page 50. 

State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES): Employers and third-party administrators can elect to  
electronically receive and respond to the EDD Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ)  
using SIDES. For more information, visit www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES. 

New Employee Registry (NER):  All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired 
employees to the NER within 20 days of their start-of-work date. For more information, visit  
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_new_employee_registry.htm or refer to  page 53. 

Tax Seminars: The EDD offers no-cost seminars to help employers comply with state payroll tax laws.  
For more information, visit www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/  or refer to  page 1. 

Fraud Prevention, Detection, Reporting, and UI Rate Manipulation: For information on how to prevent and  
detect UI fraud, visit www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_and_penalties_what_you_need_to_know.htm  
or refer to  page 86. 

Improper Payment of UI Benefits is a serious problem that has a financial impact on employers and can  
result in higher UI taxes for all employers. You can help by responding timely to requests for wage information.  
For more information, visit www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/responding_to_ui_claim_notices.htm. 

California Employer Newsletter: For the latest news and helpful information, refer to the quarterly online 
newsletter at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 

2019 Payroll Tax Rates, Taxable Wage Limits, and Maximum Benefit Amounts 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
●  The 2019 taxable wage limit is $7,000 per employee. 
●  The UI maximum weekly benefit amount is $450. 
●  The UI tax rate for new employers is 3.4 percent (.034) for a period of two to three years. 
●  The employer rates are available online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Employment Training Tax (ETT) 
●  The 2019 ETT rate is 0.1 percent (.001) on the first $7,000 of each employee’s wages. 

State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
●  The 2019 SDI withholding rate is 1.0 percent (.01). The rate includes Disability Insurance (DI) and 

Paid Family Leave (PFL). 
●  The SDI taxable wage limit is $118,371 per employee, per year. 
●  The 2019 DI/PFL maximum weekly benefit amount is $1,252. 

California Personal Income Tax (PIT) Withholding 
California PIT withholding is based on the amount of wages paid, the number of withholding allowances 
claimed by the employee, and the payroll period. Please refer to  page 13 for additional information on PIT  
withholding. The California PIT withholding schedules are available on  page 17 and online at  
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm#withholding. 

For additional rate information, refer to  page 10 or visit www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_ 
withholding.htm. 
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CALIFORNIA LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AGENCY 

Gavin Newsom 
Governor  

Dear California Employer: 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) appreciates your continued contribution to 
the economic well-being of this great state. We are proud to provide you with innovative and 
convenient services to ensure you are well informed and in compliance with your payroll tax 
responsibilities. 

With the Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 electronic mandate in effect, you can take advantage of 
e-Services for Business to electronically submit your employment tax returns, wage 
reports, and payroll tax deposits. e-Services for Business is a fast, easy and secure way to 
manage your employer payroll tax account online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. For 
detailed step-by-step instructions on how to complete common tasks within e-Services for 
Business such as creating a username and password, filing a tax return and wage report, 
or making a payroll tax deposit, please refer to the e-Services for Business User Guide 
(DE 160) available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de160.pdf. 

In addition to payroll taxes, our website contains information critical for employers and their 
employees on topics such as Unemployment Insurance, Disability Insurance, jobs and training, 
labor market information, tax seminars, and EDD forms and publications. We encourage you to 
visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886 to take advantage of our resources. 

We appreciate your commitment to doing business in California and wish you continued 
success in the year ahead. 

Sincerely, 

PATRICK W. HENNING 
Director 
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MANAGE YOUR EMPLOYER PAYROLL TAX ACCOUNT ONLINE! 

Use the EDD e-Services for Business to electronically 

file reports, make deposits, update addresses, and much more. 

Enroll today! 

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business 
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SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) offers no-fee seminars, either classroom-style or online. They are 
customized to help educate both existing and established employers as well as new employers to better understand 
and comply with the state payroll tax laws. 

The classroom seminars are offered in a variety of locations throughout California. The EDD also offers online 
seminars that allow you the flexibility to learn at your own pace and wherever you choose to access the Internet. 

The EDD offers seminars on: 

● State payroll tax reporting requirements and recordkeeping. 
● Determining if workers are employees or independent contractors. 
● Managing Unemployment Insurance costs. 
● Calculating and completing payroll tax forms. 

The EDD and the Department of Industrial
The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Relations, Division of Labor Standards

jointly offer seminars on: Enforcement jointly present classes on: 

●  Federal/state payroll reporting and  ●  Common wage and hour law application.
withholding requirements. 

●  Employer and employee rights and
●  Online filing and payment options. responsibilities. 
●  Difference between employees and ●  Recordkeeping, reporting, and posting

independent contractors and the importance  requirements.
of proper worker classification. 

The EDD offers online seminars on: 

●  Information to help you enroll and get started using e-Services for Business to 
manage your employer payroll tax account online. 

●  Differences between employees and independent contractors. 

Learn more about a tax seminar near you or register online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/. 
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INTRODUCTION 

This guide is published to help you understand your rights and responsibilities as an employer. 

How to Use This Guide 
Information in this guide is presented in a chronological sequence, beginning with what you need to know or do first, 
such as who is an employer, when to register, who is an employee, and what are wages. 

To simplify reporting requirements, the Employment Development Department (EDD) follows federal tax guidelines 
and due dates whenever possible; however, California laws and rates may differ from federal laws and rates. The 
EDD administers payroll tax reporting laws according to the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) and
California Code of Regulations (CCR). 

Regardless of the size of your business, this guide is an important resource on the procedures required for compliance 
with California payroll tax laws. It clarifies both the provisions of the CUIC and CCR and their application to your business. 

This guide provides general information that applies to the majority of employers. The guide provides references 
to additional information on specialized topics. Information on detailed or complex issues that only apply to a small 
number of employers is not included in this guide. 

How to Obtain Assistance and Additional Information 
If you have questions that are not addressed in this guide and/or need additional information, you can access 
reference materials on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. This guide is also available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf. 

The EDD also offers workshops on California payroll tax reporting requirements and customized seminars and 
presentations to help you: 

• Understand your California payroll tax reporting requirements.
• Avoid common pitfalls and costly mistakes. 
• Control Unemployment Insurance costs.
• Learn the differences between employees and independent contractors. 
• Understand your reporting requirements for new employees and independent contractors.
• Discover no-cost services and resources available to you.
• Develop a better understanding of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) program. 

We tailor our education and outreach activities to meet your needs, such as providing seminars in Spanish, 
accommodations for the hearing-impaired, and personalized consultations. We offer seminars, workshops, and 
presentations at locations throughout California. For additional information about a payroll tax education event near 
you, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 or register at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/. 

To find out more about SDI educational presentations, contact the SDI Education and Outreach Unit by email at 
diboutreach@edd.ca.gov. 

Other Services 
This guide also contains useful information on the many services that the EDD offers specifically for employers. 
The EDD supplies information on a wide range of programs, including programs offering tax credits. The EDD also 
provides a number of employment services, such as job development and job search workshops that are designed
to reduce unemployment and, consequently, your taxes. Whether you are a new or established employer, we offer a 
variety of services to assist you in building a more successful business while complying with California laws. 

We Want to Hear From You 
Please let us know what we can do to improve this guide to better meet your needs. Please send your comments 
and suggestions to: 

Employment Development Department
Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Email: pmsg@edd.ca.gov
Fax: 1-916-654-6969 

Other Website of Interest 
www.taxes.ca.gov – This is a joint website sponsored by the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, 

the Employment Development Department, the Franchise Tax Board, and the Internal Revenue 
Service. 
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 QUICK AND EASY ACCESS FOR TAX HELP 

e-Services for Business 
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay 

mandate. 

• Manage your employer payroll 
tax account online. 

• Register as an employer. 

• File reports. 

• Pay deposits and liabilities. 

• Make address changes. 

To use e-Services for Business, go to 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Online 
Access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov. 

• Obtain answers to frequently asked questions at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faqs.htm. 

• Obtain information on payroll tax seminars at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/. 

• Obtain information for tax professionals at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/tax_practitioners.htm. 

• Send comments and questions to the EDD online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/contact_edd.htm. 
Select “Ask EDD.” 

Access the California Tax Service Center website at 
www.taxes.ca.gov for federal and California tax 
information for businesses and individuals. 

Phone 
Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada: 
1-888-745-3886 

Hearing impaired: 1-800-547-9565 
Outside the U.S. or Canada: 
1-916-464-3502 

Staff are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
Monday through Friday to answer your questions. 

Walk-In Offices 
For information and advice on your 
payroll tax responsibilities, visit your 
local Employment Tax Office from 
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
Monday through Friday. 

Anaheim ...............2099 S. State College Blvd., #401, 92806 

Fresno ..................1050 O Street, 93721 

Oakland ................7677 Oakport Street, Suite 400, 94621 

Redding ................1325 Pine Street, 96001 

Sacramento ..........3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 220, 95826 

San Bernardino.....658 East Brier Drive, Suite 300, 92408 

San Diego.............10636 Scripps Summit Ct., Suite 202, 92131 

San Jose...............906 Ruff Drive, 95110 

Santa Fe Springs..10330 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 150, 90670 

Van Nuys ..............6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 210, 91401 

To find an office near you, visit 
www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/. 

Self-Service Offices 
Tax forms and a no-cost direct-line phone are available 
from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, Monday through 
Friday at our self-service offices. 

Bakersfield............1800 30th Street, Suite 240, 93301 

Chico ....................240 West 7th Street, 95928 

Eureka ..................409 K Street, Suite 202, 95501 

Modesto................3340 Tully Road, Suite E-10, 95350 

San Francisco.......745 Franklin Street, Suite 400, 94102 

Santa Rosa...........50 D Street, Room 100, 95404 

Vallejo ...................1440 Marin Street, Suite 114, 94590 

Ventura .................2901 N. Ventura Rd., Suite 210, 93036 

Forms and Publications 
Download and order forms, instructions, and publications 

at www.edd.ca.gov/forms/. 
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Step 1 

Step 2 

Step 3 

Step 5 

Step 4 

HOW TO GET STARTED 
To help you meet your employer reporting and tax payment obligations, we have highlighted some 
essential steps to ensure that you get off to a good start. Please keep in mind that your employer 
requirements may not be limited to what is listed on this . 
Are You an Employer? 
If you employ one or more employees and pay wages for employment in excess of $100 during any calendar 
quarter, you are an employer and must register with the Employment Development Department (EDD). 
NOTE: If you pay wages to people who work in or around your home, you may be considered a 
household employer. Household employers are required to register only after they have paid $750 or 
more in cash wages during any calendar quarter. Refer to page 7 for additional information. 
Register online for an EDD employer payroll tax account number at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. You must register within 15 days after paying wages 
in excess of $100 for employment. A “commercial employer” is a business connected with commerce 
or trade, operating primarily for profit. 
You will be assigned an EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account number, which identifies your 
business for the purpose of reporting and paying payroll taxes. Include your employer payroll tax account 
number on all correspondence with the EDD. For additional information and registration options, refer to 
page 7. 
ACTION REQUIRED: 

• Report new employee(s) with the online Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business within 20 days of the employee’s start-of-work date. 
All employees who are newly hired, rehired after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days, or 
returning to work from a furlough, separation, leave of absence without pay, or termination must 
be reported to the EDD. If you acquire an ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s 
workers, these employees are considered new hires, and you must report them to the EDD’s New 
Employee Registry. For additional information and available reporting methods for reporting new 
employees, refer to page 53. 

• Report independent contractor information using the online Report of Independent Contractor(s) 
(DE 542) at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business within 20 days of EITHER paying an 
independent contractor $600 or more for services performed OR entering into a contract for $600 
or more, whichever is earlier. Independent contractor information must be reported to the EDD. For 
additional information and available reporting methods for Independent Contractor Reporting, refer 
to page 55. 

• Provide your employees with pamphlets on employee withholdings, Unemployment Insurance 
(UI), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL). For additional information on 
employee pamphlets, refer to page 75. 

• Post an employee notice with UI, SDI, and PFL claim and benefit information. This notice should 
be posted in a prominent location, easily seen by your employees. The appropriate notice will be 
sent to you after you register. For additional information on employee notices, refer to page 75. 

Make your UI, Employment Training Tax (ETT), SDI, and California Personal Income Tax (PIT) Payroll 
Tax Deposit (DE 88) payments online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. Your SDI and PIT 
withholdings deposit due dates are based on your federal deposit schedule/requirement and the amount 
of accumulated PIT that you have withheld. Your UI and ETT payments are due quarterly. For additional 
information about deposit requirements, refer to pages 58 and 59. 
File a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business to reconcile the tax and withholding amounts with your DE 88 
deposits for the quarter. Also, file a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
(DE 9C) to report total subject wages paid, PIT wages, and PIT withheld for each employee for each quarter. 
These reports are due on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1 each year. These reports must be 
submitted even if you had no payroll during a calendar quarter. For additional information and available 
filling options, refer to pages 64 and 66. 
NOTE: Failure to complete the above steps on time may result in penalty and interest charges. 
For information on your federal employment tax reporting requirements, access the IRS website at 
www.irs.gov or contact the IRS at 1-800-829-4933. 
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NO 
Step 1 Did you pay wages in excess of $100 No registration 

in a calendar quarter? required. 

YES 

Register online for an employer payroll tax account 
number at  Step 2 www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Refer to  page 7 for alternate registration options. 

Step 3 

Give to Employee(s) 
Post in Workplace 

Provide to the EDD  within 20 days Form W-4/  Employee’s Withholding  
DE 4  Allowance Certificate DE 1857A  Notice to Employees 

DE 34  Report of New Employee(s) DE 2320  For Your Benefit: California’s  
DE 542  Report of Independent  Programs for the Unemployed (If you are a public entity or not  
 Contractor(s)  subject to UI, refer to  page 79  DE 2511 Paid Family Leave 

for  your posting requirements.) 
DE 2515  Disability Insurance Provisions 

Continuous Filing Requirements
File required reports online at 

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88)
File online at 

Step 4 www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
Refer to  page 57 for deposit requirements. 

Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) 
(Reconciles tax and withholding amounts with deposits for the quarter.) 

AND 

Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) 
Step 5 (Reports total subject wages and Personal Income Tax [PIT] wages paid and PIT  

withheld for each employee for the quarter.) 

File online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business 

Refer to pages 64  and 66  for additional information and available filing options. 

Most forms are available on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov or by calling the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES 

Form Name Due 

DE 1 
Commercial Employer Account Registration
and Update Form (If you are not a commercial 
employer, refer to page 7.) 

Within 15 calendar days after paying more
than $100 in wages during any calendar 
quarter. 

DE 34 Report of New Employee(s) Within 20 days of start-of-work date for new 
or rehired employees. 

DE 542 Report of Independent Contractor(s) 
Within 20 days of paying an independent
contractor $600 or more or entering into a
contract for $600 or more, whichever is earlier. 

Report Quarter Due Delinquent if Not
Filed By1 

DE 9/DE 9C 1st (January, February, March) April 1, 2019 April 30, 2019 

DE 9/DE 9C 2nd (April, May, June) July 1, 2019 July 31, 2019 

DE 9/DE 9C 3rd (July, August, September) October 1, 2019 October 31, 2019 

DE 9/DE 9C 4th (October, November, December) January 1, 2020 January 31, 2020 

CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS 

If Your Federal 
Deposit Schedule/
Requirement Is1 

And You Have 
Accumulated State 
PIT Withholding Of 

If Pay Date Is PIT and SDI 
Deposit Due By2 

California “Deposit
Schedule” box 
to indicate on 

the DE 88 

Next-Day 

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly3 Quarterly 

$350 to $500 Any payday 15th of the 
following month Monthly 

More than $500 Any payday Next-Day Next-Day 

Semi-weekly 

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly3 Quarterly 

$350 to $500 Any payday 15th of the 
following month Monthly 

More than $500 Wed., Thurs., or Fri. Following
Wednesday7 Semi-weekly 

More than $500 Sat., Sun., Mon., or Tues. Following Friday7 Semi-weekly 

Monthly 
Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly3 Quarterly 

$350 or more Any payday 15th of the 
following month Monthly 

Quarterly4, 5 

or 
Annually6 

Less than $350 Any payday 
April 30, 2019
July 31, 2019

October 31, 2019 
January 31, 2020 

Quarterly 

$350 or more Any payday 15th of the 
following month Monthly 

1 Electronic transactions for Next-Day deposits must be settled in the state’s bank account on or before the third business day following the 
payroll date. 

2 If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. For example, if a deposit is due 
on Friday, but Friday is a holiday, the deposit due date is extended to the following Monday. 

3 If you have accumulated less than $350 of PIT and you choose to make an additional deposit before the quarterly due date, designate the 
“DEPOSIT SCHEDULE” as QUARTERLY on your DE 88. 

4 If you are not required to follow one of the above federal deposit schedules/requirements, you are still required to make California payroll tax
deposits of accumulated SDI deductions and PIT withholdings quarterly or more often, based on the guidelines in this table. Information about 
federal deposit schedules is located in the Internal Revenue Service’s Employer Tax Guide (Publication 15). 

5 A deposit of employer UI and ETT taxes and any accumulated SDI and PIT withholdings not previously paid MUST BE DEPOSITED EACH 
QUARTER by the due dates shown. 

6 If your federal deposit requirement is annually, you are required to make California payroll tax deposits quarterly or monthly based on the 
guidelines in this table. 

7 The transition period of the semi-weekly schedule allows employers to make deposits in any of the three business days following the last pay
date. If any of the transition period days is a legal holiday, you are given an extra business day to make the deposit. 
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WHO IS AN EMPLOYER? 
An employer is a person or legal entity that hires one or more persons to work for a wage, salary, or other 
compensation. Employers include sole proprietors, partnerships, corporations, nonprofit organizations, charitable 
organizations, foundations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, public entities (including state and 
federal agencies), schools, associations and trusts, estates, joint ventures, and Indian Tribes. 
When Do I Become an Employer? 
You become an employer when you employ one or more employees and pay wages in excess of $100 during any 
calendar quarter. Wages are compensation for services performed, including, but not limited to, cash payments, 
commissions, bonuses, and the reasonable cash value of nonmonetary payments for services, such as meals and 
lodging. For additional information, refer to “What Are Wages?” on page 11. 
Private households, local college clubs, and local chapters of fraternities and sororities that employ workers to perform 
household services are “household employers.” Additional information about household employment is available 
online on the EDD Household Employer web page at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/household_employer.htm, 
the Household Employer’s Guide (DE 8829) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8829.pdf, or can be 
obtained by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
NOTE: If you acquired an existing business, refer to “What Is a Successor Employer?” on page 75 for further details. 

WHEN TO REGISTER 
All employers conducting business in California are subject to the employment tax laws of the California Unemployment 
Insurance Code (CUIC). Once a business hires an employee and pays in excess of $100 during any calendar quarter, 
the business is considered an employer and can register online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business or 
submit a registration form to the Employment Development Department (EDD) within 15 days after paying wages. 
Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to their employees and paying Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax 
and Employment Training Tax (ETT) on those wages, as well as withholding and remitting State Disability Insurance 
(SDI) and California Personal Income Tax (PIT) due on those wages. 

ACTION REQUIRED: Register with the EDD for an employer payroll tax account number if you employ one or 
more employees and pay wages in excess of $100 during any calendar quarter. 

How to Register for an EDD Employer Payroll Tax Account Number 

Register online using the EDD e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Additional Options for Registering for an Employer Payroll Tax Account Number 

1. Select the appropriate registration form for your industry available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm. These are the most common registration 
forms available: 
• DE 1 Commercial • DE 1HW Household 
• DE 1AG Agricultural • DE 1NP Nonprofit
• DE 1GS Government/Schools/Indian Tribes • DE 1P Personal Income Tax Withholding Only 

2. Submit the completed registration form by mail or fax to the EDD: 
Employment Development Department 
Account Services Group, MIC 28 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Fax: 1-916-654-9211 

REMEMBER: 
• Employment occurs when an employer engages the services of an employee for pay. 
• You become an employer when you employ one or more employees and pay wages over $100 during any 

calendar quarter. 
• You must register with the EDD within 15 days of paying wages in excess of $100. 
• Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to employees and paying UI and ETT on the wages, as 

well as withholding and remitting SDI and PIT. 
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WHO IS AN EMPLOYEE? 
An “employee” includes all of the following: 

• Any officer of a corporation.
• Any worker who is an employee under the usual common law rules.
• Any worker whose services are specifically covered by law. 

An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis. The law does not exclude services from employment 
that are commonly referred to as day labor, part-time help, casual labor, temporary help, probationary, or outside labor. 

“COMMON LAW” EMPLOYEE OR INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR 
What Is “Common Law”? 
Common law, as we know it, has evolved over the years based upon judgements rendered by the courts on individual 
cases. The common law rules of employment, as they exist today, are based on all court decisions related to the question 
of what constitutes an employment relationship. 

When Does an Employer-Employee Relationship Exist? 
An employer-employee relationship exists when a person who hires an individual to perform services has the right to 
exercise control over the manner and means by which the individual performs those services. The right to control, 
whether or not exercised, is the most important factor in determining the relationship. Tax decisions by the California 
Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB) are based on the right to control factor along with the examination of 
secondary factors, when necessary. 

NOTE: California does not provide relief under the “Safe Harbor” provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. Therefore, it 
is important that workers are properly classified under the usual common law rules which determine employer-
employee relationships. 

How Can I Get Additional Information on This Topic? 
Incorrectly classifying your workers can be a costly mistake. If you have incorrectly treated employees as independent 
contractors, you could be liable for back taxes, penalties, and interest. To help you determine if you have correctly classified 
your workers, the EDD has several resources available: 

• Employment Determination Guide (DE 38) - Asks a series of “Yes” or “No” questions regarding your treatment of 
workers to help determine if a problem may exist and whether you need to seek additional guidance. To obtain this 
guide, access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de38.pdf. 

• Determination of Employment Work Status for Purposes of State of California Employment Taxes and 
Personal Income Tax Withholding (DE 1870) - Provides a series of questions regarding your relationship with 
the workers. After you complete and return this form, the EDD will send you a written determination stating whether 
your workers are employees or independent contractors based on the facts that you have provided. To obtain this 
publication, access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1870.pdf. 

• Information Sheets on general and industry-specific issues, including Information Sheet: Employment (DE 231). 
To obtain information sheets, access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. 

• Independent Contractor Information – Frequently Asked Questions and Answers About the California 
Independent Contractor Reporting Law (DE 542FAQ) and Independent Contractors Misconceptions Brochure 
(DE 573M) are available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542faq.pdf 
and www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573m.pdf. 

• Precedent Tax Decisions by the CUIAB – Available on the CUIAB website at 
www.cuiab.ca.gov/Board/precedentDecisions/index.asp. 

• Payroll Tax Seminars on employee and independent contractor issues – Access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/ or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

• Web-based Seminars on employee and independent contractor issues are available in both English and Spanish. 
Access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm for additional information. 

• Live Assistance on worker classification issues – Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

REMEMBER: 
• An employee includes any officer of a corporation, a worker who is an employee under common law, and a worker 

whose services are specifically covered by law. Refer to Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE) at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf. 

• An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis. 
• The right to control is the most important factor in determining an employer-employee relationship. 
• The EDD has several resources available to help you correctly classify your workers. 
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WHAT ARE STATE PAYROLL TAXES? 
The EDD administers the following California payroll tax programs: 

• Unemployment Insurance (UI) Tax 
• Employment Training Tax (ETT) 
• State Disability Insurance (SDI) Tax 
• California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding 

NOTE: Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component of the SDI program. 
UI and ETT are employer paid contributions. SDI and PIT are withheld from employee wages. Wages are generally 
subject to all four payroll taxes unless otherwise stated. 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) TAX 
What Is UI Tax? 
The UI program was established as part of a national program administered by the U.S. Department of Labor under 
the Social Security Act. The UI program provides temporary payments to individuals who are unemployed through no 
fault of their own. 

Who Pays It?
The UI program is funded through payroll taxes paid by the employer. Tax-rated employers pay a percentage on 
the first $7,000 in wages paid to each employee in a calendar year. The UI rate schedule and amount of taxable 
wages are determined annually. New employers pay 3.4 percent (.034) for a period of two to three years. The UI 
rate could increase to a maximum of 6.2 percent (.062) or decrease to a minimum of 1.5 percent (0.015) based on 
an employer’s experience rating and the balance in the UI Fund. For a detailed explanation of the experience rating 
method, refer to Information Sheet: California System of Experience Rating (DE 231Z) by accessing the EDD website 
at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf. 
Government entities and certain nonprofit employers may elect the reimbursable method of financing UI in which they 
reimburse the UI Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their former employees. 

EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT) 
What Is ETT? 
ETT provides funds to train employees in targeted industries to improve the competitiveness of California 
businesses. The ETT Fund promotes a healthy labor market by helping California businesses invest in a skilled and 
productive workforce and develop the skills of new and incumbent workers. 

Who Pays It?
ETT is an employer-paid tax. Employers are subject to pay 0.1 percent (.001) for ETT on the first $7,000 in wages 
paid to each employee in a calendar year. The tax rate is set by statute at 0.1 percent (.001) of UI taxable wages for 
employers with positive UI reserve account balances and subject to section 977(c) of the California Unemployment 
Insurance Code (CUIC). The maximum tax is $7 per employee per year ($7,000 x .001). 

STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) TAX
What Is SDI Tax? 
SDI tax allows the Disability Fund to pay Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible 
claimants. DI benefits are paid to eligible California workers who lose wages when they are unable to perform their 
regular or customary work due to a non-work-related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. 

PFL benefits are paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously ill child, parent, 
parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner. Benefits are also available to 
new parents who need time to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster care placement. 

Who Pays It?
The SDI program is funded through a payroll deduction from employees’ wages. Employers withhold 1.0 percent (.01) 
for SDI on the first $118,371 in wages paid to each employee in a calendar year. 

CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) 
What Is California PIT? 
California PIT is a tax levied on the income of California residents and on income that California nonresidents derive 
within California. The EDD administers the reporting, collection, and enforcement of PIT wage withholding. The 
Franchise Tax Board (FTB) and the EDD administer the California PIT program to provide resources needed for 
California public services such as schools, public parks, roads, health, and human services. 

Who Pays It?
California PIT is either withheld from employees’ wages based on the Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate 
(Form W-4 or DE 4) on file with their employer or based on the supplemental tax rates, refer to page 15. 
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STATE PAYROLL TAXES 

Unemployment Employment State Disability California Personal 
Insurance (UI) Training Tax (ETT) Insurance (SDI) Income Tax (PIT) 

Who Pays? Employer Employer Employee (employer Employee (employer
withholds from withholds from 
employee wages) employee wages) 

Taxable Wages First $7,000 of First $7,000 of First $118,371 of No limit. Refer to  
subject wages per subject wages per subject wages per the PIT withholding 
employee, per year. employee, per year. employee, per year. schedules on the  

EDD website at www. 
edd.ca.gov/payroll_
taxes/rates_and_
withholding.htm. 

 rate Set by statute at The 2019 SDI Withheld based on 
4) 0.1 percent (.001) withholding rate the employee’s  
 to of UI taxable wages is 1.0 percent (.01).   Form W-4 or DE 4. 
ing for employers with The SDI taxable 
 positive UI reserve wages and tax rate

account balances are set by law and
 and employers may change each 

subject to section year. 
e 977(c) of the CUIC. 
f  
DD  

 of 
  

e, $7 per employee, $1,183.71 per No maximum. 
ount per year  employee, per year
d  ($7,000 x .001). ($118,371 x .01). 
x 
 

ot subject to payroll taxes and/or PIT withholding. Refer to Information 
 231TE) online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf. Certain 

not subject to payroll taxes. Refer to Information Sheet: Types of 
ww.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf. For additional assistance,  

Tax Rate New employer tax
is 3.4 percent (.03
for a period of two
three years. Follow
this period, the tax
rate is calculated  
annually based on
each employer’s 
previous experienc
and the condition o
the UI Fund. The E
notifies employers
their new rate each
December. 

Maximum Tax $434 per employe
(Except when per year. (The am
employer is subject has been calculate
to section 977[c] of  at the highest UI ta
the CUIC.) rate of 6.2 percent

[$7000 x .062].) 

NOTE: Some types of employment are n
Sheet: Types of Employment (DE
types of wages and benefits are 
Payments (DE 231TP) online at w
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

HELP US FIGHT FRAUD 
The “underground economy” is a term that refers to those individuals and businesses that deal in cash and/or use
other schemes to conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government licensing, regulatory and taxing
agencies. Underground economy is also refered to as tax evasion, tax fraud, cash pay, tax gap, payments under-
the-table and off-the-books. When businesses operate in the underground economy, they gain an unfair competitive 
advantage over businesses that comply with the law because they do not pay workers’ compensation and state and 
federal payroll taxes. This causes unfair competition in the marketplace and forces law-abiding businesses to pay 
higher taxes. To address this, the EDD, in partnership with several other governmental agencies, follows up on leads 
and conducts on-site inspections of businesses throughout the state.* To learn more about the EDD Underground 
Economy Operations (UEO) programs, access the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/underground_economy_operations.htm. 
To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry workers’ compensation 
insurance, or not complying with labor and licensing laws, please download and complete an Underground Economy
Operations Lead Referral/Complaint Form (DE 660 in English or DE 660/S in Spanish) available at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf or www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660s.pdf or contact the UEO at: 

Hotline: 1-800-528-1783 Email: ueo@edd.ca.gov
Fax: 1-916-227-2772 Online: https://askedd.edd.ca.gov/ReportFraud.aspx 

•  To obtain the brochure Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table” (DE 573CA in English or DE 573CA/S in 
Spanish), access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or 
order copies using our online order form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms. 

•  Further information about how to help the EDD fight fraud may be found in the Help Us Fight Fraud (DE 2370)
brochure at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2370.pdf. 

*More information about the Joint Enforcement Strike Force effort may be found in Joint Enforcement Strike Force 
Booklet (DE 663) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de663.pdf. 
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WHAT ARE WAGES? 
Wages are all compensation for an employee’s personal services, whether paid by check, cash, electronic debit or 
the reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging. The method of payment, whether by 
private agreement, consent, or mandate, does not change the taxability of wages paid to employees. Payments are 
considered wages even if the employee is a casual worker, a day or contract laborer, part-time or temporary worker, 
or paid by the day, hour, or any other method or measurement. Supplemental payments, including bonuses, overtime 
pay, sales awards, commissions, and vacation pay are also considered wages. 

SUBJECT WAGES 
Generally, all wages, unless excluded under the California Unemployment Insurance Code, are considered subject 
wages and are used to determine the amount of Unemployment Insurance (UI) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) and 
Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits a claimant should receive. Subject wages are the full amount of wages, regardless 
of the UI and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to the inside front cover for UI/SDI taxable wage limits. Enter the Total 
Subject Wages in “Item F” for each employee on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
(DE 9C). Certain types of employment and payments are not considered subject. Refer to Information Sheet: Types of 
Employment (DE 231TE) and Information Sheet: Types of Payments (DE 231TP) available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-
745-3886. 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WAGES 
Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to state income tax. Wages that must 
be reported on an individual’s California income tax return are PIT wages. Most payments for employees’ services 
are reportable as PIT wages. An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount 
reported on the employee’s federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.). The PIT 
wages for each employee must be reported quarterly in “Item G” on the DE 9C. For additional information, refer to 
Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages 
(Continuation) (DE 9C) (DE 231PIT) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231pit.pdf or contact the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

NOTE: Some wages excluded from PIT withholding are still considered PIT wages and must be reported to the EDD; 
for example, wages paid to agricultural workers. 

ARE SUBJECT WAGES AND PIT WAGES THE SAME? 
In most situations, when wages are subject to UI, ETT, SDI, and PIT withholding, subject wages and PIT wages are 
the same. Examples of when subject wages and PIT wages are different are: 

• Employee salary reduction contributions to a qualified retirement or pension plan are generally included as 
subject wages, but are not reportable as PIT wages. Refer to the “Retirement and Pension Plans” section of 
Information Sheet: Types of Payments (DE 231TP) available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

• Under certain situations, wages paid to family employees (a child under age of 18 years employed by own 
father or mother, an individual employed by own son, daughter, spouse, or registered domestic partner) may 
not be reported as subject wages but are reportable as PIT wages. Refer to the “Family Employees” section 
of Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE) available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

• Payments made to employees of churches are not reported as subject wages, but are reportable as PIT wages. 
Refer to the “Nonprofit Organization Employees” section of Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE) 
available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. 

EMPLOYERS SUBJECT TO CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) ONLY 
Employers who are only required to withhold California PIT, but not the other payroll taxes, are still required to register 
with the EDD using Registration Form for Employers Depositing Only Personal Income Tax Withholding (DE 1P). The 
employer is liable for the required PIT, whether or not it is withheld. By law, the filing of federal Form 1099-MISC (issued 
to the worker) with the Internal Revenue Service or Franchise Tax Board does not relieve the employer of liability. 
www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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MEALS AND LODGING 

Meals and lodging that are provided free of charge or at a reduced rate to an employee are wages. If your employees 
are covered under a contract of employment or union agreement, the taxable value of meals and lodging cannot be 
less than the estimated value stated in the contract or agreement. Meals and lodging furnished for the employer’s 
convenience and on the employer’s premises are not subject to Personal Income Tax (PIT). 

If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union agreement, please refer to the table below for the 
value of the meals and/or lodging. To determine the value of lodging, multiply the amount you could rent the property 
for (ordinary rental value) by 66 2/3 percent (0.6667). Ordinary rental value may be calculated on a monthly or weekly 
basis as follows: 

Value of Meals Value of Lodging 
3 Meals Meal Not Minimum Maximum 

Year Per Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner Identified Per Week Per Month 
2019 $ 11.80 $ 2.40 $ 3.65 $ 5.75 $ 4.25 $ 49.55 $ 1,528 
2018 $ 11.60 $ 2.40 $ 3.55 $ 5.65 $ 4.15 $ 47.25 $ 1,456 

The values above apply to non-maritime employees only. 

For more information on meals and lodging, including values for those provided to maritime employees, access the 
EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

The Tax Rates, Wages Limits, and Value of Meals and Lodging (DE 3395) provides historical rate information for the 
last eight years and is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3395.pdf. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

• Who Is An Employee? Refer to page 8. 

• EDD forms and publications: www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm 

• Information Sheets: 
○ DE 231A – Wages 
○ DE 231TE – Types of Employment 
○ DE 231TP – Types of Payments 
○ DE 231PIT – Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of 

Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) 
○ DE 231W – Personal Income Tax Adjustment Process 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 

Subscribe to no-fee EDD email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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 Anticipate that no federal income tax liability will be incurred for the current taxable year. 
ACTION REQUIRED: Each employee must complete an IRS Form W-4 for federal and California PIT 
withholding. If the employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or different number of allowances for 
California PIT withholding, the employee also must complete a DE 4. 

If Then 
Employee does not file a DE 4 You must use the marital status and allowances claimed (including any

additional allowances) by the employee on the federal Form W-4 to calculate the 
employee’s California PIT withholding. 
Exception: Do not withhold any California PIT from wages of employees who have 
filed “EXEMPT” on their Form W-4 unless you receive a written notice from the IRS 
or Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to withhold at a special rate. To maintain “EXEMPT” 
status, the employee must file a new Form W-4 each year on or before February 15. 

Employee files a DE 4 You must use the DE 4 to calculate and withhold California PIT. 
Employee’s marital status Request the employee correct the Form W-4 or DE 4 or submit a new one. Until 
cannot be determined from the the new or corrected form is received, consider the employee as single with zero
Form W-4 or DE 4 withholding allowances for California PIT withholding purposes. 
Employee admits that  When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT 
Form W-4 or DE 4 is false withholding. Tell the employee that it is invalid and ask for another one. If the 

employee does not give you a valid one, withhold PIT as if the employee was 
single and claiming no withholding allowances. However, if you have an earlier 
Form W-4 of DE 4 for this worker that is valid, withhold as you did before. 

PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WAGES SUBJECT TO CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING 
With certain exceptions, compensation for services performed by an employee is considered wages and subject to 
California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding. California wages include, but are not limited to, salaries, bonuses, 
commissions, fees (except fees paid to public officials), and payments in forms other than checks or cash. Wages 
in any form other than checks or cash are measured by the fair market value of the goods, lodging, meals, or other
compensation given in payment for the employee’s services. 

HOW TO DETERMINE WHICH WAGES REQUIRE PIT WITHHOLDING 
Most wages require California PIT withholding. To determine which wages require PIT withholding, refer to 
Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE) and Information Sheet: Types of Payments (DE 231TP). These 
information sheets identify special classes of employment and special types of payments and their treatment for UI, 
ETT, SDI, and California PIT wages and withholding. Also refer to “Who is an Employee?” on page 8. 
To obtain information sheets for specific industries and types of services, access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, contact 1-916-464-3502. 

MARITAL STATUS, WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES, AND EXEMPTIONS 
FORM W-4 AND DE 4 

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4) is a federal form
normally used for California PIT withholding. However, if an employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or a
different number of allowances than are claimed for federal withholding purposes, the employee must file the state form 
Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate (DE 4). For instance, California recognizes the “Head of Household”
status, and an employee would need to file a DE 4 to claim that status. Additionally, a spouse of a military service
member must file a DE 4 to exclude wages from California PIT withholdings if the spouse’s tax domicile is outside of
California and the spouse moves to California to be with the service member who is in the state due to military orders. 
If employees expect to itemize deductions on their California income tax return, they can claim additional 
withholding allowances, which are greater than their regular withholding allowances. When reduced withholding 
amounts are appropriate because of large amounts of itemized deductions, employees must complete a DE 
4, including the attached worksheets, to support additional allowances for the itemized deductions. An online 
DE 4 calculator is available at the California Tax Service Center website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
pdf/de4-online-calculator.pdf. For information on treatment of additional withholding allowances for estimated 
deductions, refer to “Instructions for Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions” on page17 
and the “Estimated Deduction” table on page 19. 
Use of the DE 4 is optional; however, if employees provide you with a DE 4, you must use it to determine their 
California PIT withholdings. To obtain the DE 4, access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
pdf/de4-online-calculator.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
Employees may request that no California PIT be withheld if they:

• Incurred no liability for federal income tax for the preceding taxable year and 
• 
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EMPLOYER’S OBLIGATIONS FOR THE FORM W-4 AND DE 4 

When you hire an employee, you must have the employee complete and furnish a signed withholding exemption 
certificate, federal Form W-4 or state DE 4, relating to marital status, the number of withholding exemptions claimed, 
and any additional amount to use when you deduct state income tax from the employee’s pay. If an employee fails 
to give you a properly completed federal Form W-4 or state DE 4, you must withhold state income taxes from the 
employee’s wages as if the employee were single and claiming no withholding allowances. 

The requirements for a complete exemption from state wage withholding are the same as the federal requirements. 
You shall not deduct and withhold any tax upon a payment of wages made to an employee if there is in effect, for 
the federal income tax purposes, with respect to the payment a withholding exemption certificate furnished to the 
employer by the employee which contains statements that: 

• The employee incurred no liability for federal income tax imposed for the preceding taxable year; and 

• The employee anticipates that they will incur no liability for federal income tax for the current taxable year. 

A Form W-4 or DE 4 claiming exemption from withholding is valid for only the calendar year in which it is filed with the 
employer. To continue to be exempt from withholding in the next year, an employee must give you a new 
Form W-4 or DE 4 claiming exempt status by February 15 of that year. If the employee does not give you a new 
Form W-4 or DE 4, withhold tax as if the employee is single, with no withholding allowances. However, if you have an 
earlier Form W-4 or DE 4 (not claiming exempt status) for this employee that is valid, withhold as you did before. 

If the employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or different number of allowances for California Personal 
Income Tax (PIT) withholding, the employee must also complete a DE 4. Employers must retain the federal 
Form W-4 and/or state DE 4 for payroll records. 

The Form W-4/DE 4 is considered invalid* if either of the following two conditions exist: 

• The employee makes major changes to Form W-4 or DE 4, such as crossing out words or writing more than is 
asked. 

• The employee admits that Form W-4 or DE 4 is false. 

When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT withholding. Tell the employee that it is 
invalid and ask for another one. If the employee does not give you a valid one, withhold PIT as if the employee was 
single and claiming no withholding allowances. However, if you have an earlier Form W-4 or DE 4 for this worker that 
is valid, withhold as you did before. 

The reporting of the certificates to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) shall satisfy state reporting requirements. A 
federal determination that a withholding exemption certificate is invalid or incorrect shall also be effective for state 
withholding purposes. Thus, if you are instructed by the IRS to withhold as though an employee were a single person 
claiming no exemptions, then you must do likewise for state withholding purposes. If the IRS specifies marital status 
and the permissible number of exemptions an employee may claim, such a federal determination shall also be 
effective for state withholding purposes. 

The Franchise Tax Board or the EDD may, by special direction in writing, require you, as the employer, to submit a 
Form W-4 or DE-4 when such forms are necessary for the administration of the withholding tax programs. 

*Pursuant to section 31.3402(f)(2)-1(e) of Title 26, Code of Federal Regulations, and section 4340-1(b) of Title 22, 
California Code of Regulations. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 
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HOW TO DETERMINE PIT WITHHOLDING AMOUNTS 

Refer to page 17 for the 2019 California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding schedules and information on how to 
calculate withholdings. 

What if Your Employee Wants Additional PIT Withholding? 

In addition to the tax required to be withheld from salaries and wages, you may, upon written request from the 
employee, agree to withhold an additional amount from the employee’s wages. This agreement will be effective for 
the periods you and the employee mutually agree upon or until written termination of the agreement. 

If employees rely on the Form W-4 instructions when calculating California withholding allowances, their California PIT 
could be significantly underwithheld. This is particularly true if the household income is derived from more than one 
source. If an employee wants more California PIT withheld than the schedules and the alternate methods allow, the 
employee should either request additional withholding or, if married, indicate “single” on the DE 4. For more information, 
refer to the DE 4 form and instructions. An online DE 4 calculator is available at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/pdf/de4-online-calculator.pdf. 

HOW TO WITHHOLD PIT ON SUPPLEMENTAL WAGES 

Supplemental wages include, but are not limited to, bonuses, overtime pay, sales awards, commissions, stock 
options, vacation pay, and dismissal or severance pay. Under certain circumstances, bonuses and stock options are 
taxed at a different flat rate than other types of supplemental wages (refer to “Supplemental Wages” below). This only 
applies to stock options that are considered wages subject to PIT withholding. 

If the supplemental wage is given to the employee at the same time as the employee’s regular wages are paid, you 
are required to treat the sum of the payments as regular wages and withhold PIT based on the regular payroll period 
using the PIT withholding schedules. 

If the supplemental wage is not given to the employee at the same time as the employee’s regular wages are paid, 
you may use either of the following two options: 

1. Compute the amount of PIT to withhold from the supplemental wage based on the combined regular wages 
and the supplemental wage. Compute the PIT withholding on the total of the supplemental wage and the 
current or most recent regular (gross) wage payment using the PIT withholding schedules. From that amount, 
subtract the PIT you withheld from the regular wages. The difference is the PIT amount you should withhold 
from the supplemental wages. 
or 

2. Withhold the percentage noted below on the following types of supplemental wages without allowing for any 
withholding allowances claimed by the employee: 

Supplemental Wages 
Bonuses and stock options 

Other types (such as overtime pay, commissions, 
sales awards, severance, and vacation pay) 

Percentage 
10.23 percent (.1023) 

6.6 percent (.066) 

To find out if stock options are wages subject to PIT withholding, obtain Information Sheet: Stock Options 
(DE 231SK) by accessing the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sk.pdf or contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

QUARTERLY ESTIMATED PAYMENTS 

Wages are subject to mandatory California PIT withholding at the time they are paid to the employee. Quarterly 
estimates paid directly to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) are intended to satisfy taxes on income that is not subject 
to withholding. Quarterly estimates paid by an employee directly to the FTB in lieu of proper withholdings from wages 
may result in an assessment to the employer. If you have questions regarding quarterly estimated payments, contact 
the FTB at 1-800-852-5711. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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WAGES PAID TO CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS 

If Then 
A California resident Wages paid to the resident employee are subject to California PIT withholding, and 
performs services in PIT must be withheld from all wages paid, in accordance with the employee’s  
California or in another Form W-4 or DE 4. 
state. The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the Quarterly Contribution 

Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). The PIT withheld must also be 
reported on the DE 9C. 

A California resident Make the withholding required by the other jurisdiction, and: 
performs services that are •  For California, withhold the amount by which the California withholding 
subject to personal income amount exceeds the withholding amount for the other jurisdiction, or 
tax withholding laws of 

  both California and another • Do not withhold any California PIT if the withholding amount for the other 
jurisdiction is equal to, or greater than, the withholding amount for California. state, political subdivision, 

or the District of Columbia. The wages reported as PIT wages on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report  
of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) are the same wages that are entered in “Box 16” on  
your employee’s Form W-2. The PIT withheld must also be reported on the DE 9C. 

WAGES PAID TO NONRESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA 

If Then 
A nonresident employee The wages paid to the nonresident employee are subject to California PIT withholding.   
performs all services in The PIT must be withheld from all wages paid in accordance with the employee’s   
California (may include Form W-4 or DE 4. However, the spouse of a military service member may exclude   
spouse of a military service wages from California PIT withholding by filing a DE 4 (refer to  page 13). 
member). The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 9C. The PIT withheld 

must also be reported on the DE 9C. 

A nonresident employee Only the wages earned in California are subject to California PIT withholding. The 
performs services both amount of wages subject to California PIT withholding is that portion of the total 
in California as well as in number of working days employed in California compared to the total number of 
another state. working days employed in both California and the other state. 

The California wages must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 9C. The PIT  
withheld must also be reported on the DE 9C. 
NOTE:  For employees whose compensation depends on the volume of business  

transacted, the amount of earnings subject to California PIT withholding is that  
portion received for the volume of business transacted in California compared  
to the total volume of business in both California and the other state. 

PIT WITHHOLDING ON PAYMENTS TO NONRESIDENT INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS 
Please refer to the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB) Resident and Nonresident Withholding Guidelines (Publication 1017) 
for guidance regarding PIT withholding on payments to nonresident independent contractors for services performed 
in California. Publication 1017 can be obtained by contacting the FTB at 1-888-792-4900 or by accessing their 
website at www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1017.pdf. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

• EDD website (forms and publications): www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm 
• Information Sheets: 

○ DE 231D – Multistate Employment 
○ DE 231P – Withholding From Pensions, Annuities, and Certain Other Deferred Income 
○ DE 231PS – Personal Income Tax Withholding – Supplemental Wage Payments, Moving Expense 

Reimbursement – WARN Act Payments 
○ DE 231R – Third-Party Sick Pay 
○ DE 231TE – Types of Employment 
○ DE 231TP – Types of Payments 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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California provides two methods for determining the amount of wages and salaries to be withheld for state personal income tax: 

• METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD (Limited to wages/salaries less than $1 million) 
• METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD 

METHOD A provides a quick and easy way to select the appropriate withholding amount, based on the payroll period, 
filing status, and number of withholding allowances (regular and additional) if claimed. The STANDARD DEDUCTION 
and EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE CREDIT are already included in the wage bracket tables. Even though this method 
involves fewer computations than Method B, it cannot be used with your computer in determining amounts to be withheld. 

METHOD B may be used to calculate withholding amounts either manually or by computer. This method will give an exact 
amount of tax to withhold. To use this method, you must enter the payroll period, filing status, number of withholding 
allowances, standard deduction, and exemption allowance credit amounts. These amounts are included in TABLES 1 
through 5 of the EXACT CALCULATION section. 

If there are any questions concerning the operation/methodology of Method B for computer software, you may contact: 

Franchise Tax Board, Statistical Research and Modeling Section – 516, Mail Stop A-351 
PO Box 942840, Sacramento, CA 94240 

SPECIAL NOTE FOR MARRIED EMPLOYEES WITH EMPLOYED SPOUSES: To avoid underwithholding of state 
income tax liability we recommend that you use one of the following options: Single filing status to compute withholding amounts 
for the employee and spouse; or withhold an additional flat amount of tax. 

Instructions for additional withholding allowances for estimated deductions: 

All additional allowances for ESTIMATED DEDUCTIONS that are claimed on a DE 4 must be used to reduce the amount 
of salaries & wages subject to withholding by using steps 1 and 2 shown below. If the Form W-4 is used for California 
withholding purposes, all additional allowances for ESTIMATED DEDUCTIONS claimed must be treated as regular 
withholding allowances; unless the employee requests in writing that they be treated in accordance with the following: 

1. Subtract the employee's estimated deduction allowance shown in the "TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE" 
from the gross wages subject to withholding; and 

2. Compute the tax to be withheld using: 

METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD; or 
METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD 

If the DE 4 is used for California withholding purposes, compute the tax to be deducted and withheld based on the total 
number of regular withholding allowances claimed on line 1 of the DE 4. 

If the Form W-4 is used for California withholding purposes, compute the tax to be deducted and withheld based on the 
total number of withholding allowances claimed on line 5 of Form W-4; minus the number of additional allowances for 
estimated deductions claimed. If Form W-4 does not separately identify the number of additional allowances for estimated 
deductions, the employee's request must specify the number claimed. The employee's request will remain in effect until the 
employee terminates it by furnishing a signed written notice or by furnishing a DE 4. 

Employers may require employees to file a DE 4 when they wish to use additional allowances for estimated deductions 
to reduce the amount of wages subject to withholding. 
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____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD 

To determine the amount of tax to be withheld follow these steps: 

Step 1 Determine if the employee's gross wages are less than, or equal to, the amount shown in “TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE.” If so, no income tax is required to be withheld. 

Step 2 If the employee claims any additional withholding allowances for deductions, subtract the amount shown in 
"TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE" from the gross wages. 

Step 3 Subtract the number of additional withholding allowances from the total allowances to obtain the net 
allowances for tax computational purposes. 

Step 4 Refer to the correct wage bracket table to arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld. 

EXAMPLE A: METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD. Weekly earnings of $900, married, and claiming five 
withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4, three of which are for estimated deductions. 

Step 1 Earnings for the weekly pay period of $900 are GREATER than the amount shown in “TABLE 1 -
LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE” ($561); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 

Step 2 Earnings for the payroll period.............................. $900.00 
Subtract amount from “TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE”... -58.00 
Salaries and wages subject to withholding:.................... $842.00 

Step 3 Total number of withholding allowances claimed:............... 5 
Subtract number of estimated deduction allowances claimed:.... -3 
Net allowances for tax computation purposes:.................. 2 

Step 4 Refer to the appropriate wage bracket table (weekly taxable earnings of $842 
with two deductions) to arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld................................. $6.37 

EXAMPLE B: METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD. Monthly earnings of $3,500, married, and 
claiming six withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4, four of which are for estimated deductions. 

Step 1 Earnings for the monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($2,429); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 

Step 2 Earnings for the payroll period.............................. $3,500.00 
Subtract amount from “TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE.” -333.00 
Salaries and wages subject to withholding.................... $3,167.00 

Step 3 Total number of withholding allowances claimed:.............. 6 
Subtract number of estimated deduction allowances claimed:... -4 
Net allowances for tax computation purposes:................. 2 

Step 4 Refer to the appropriate wage bracket table (monthly taxable 
earnings of $3,167 with two deductions) to arrive at the 
amount of tax to be withheld................................. $16.73 
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 METHOD A---WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD 

TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE 

SINGLE, MARRIED 
DUAL INCOME MARRIED UNMARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH ALLOWANCES ON DE 4 OR W-4 HEAD OF

PAYROLL PERIOD MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS  '0' OR '1' '2' OR MORE HOUSEHOLD 

WEEKLY $280 $280 $561 $561 
BIWEEKLY $561 $561 $1,121 $1,121 
SEMI-MONTHLY $607 $607 $1,214 $1,214 
MONTHLY $1,214 $1,214 $2,429 $2,429 
QUARTERLY $3,643 $3,643 $7,287 $7,287 
SEMI-ANNUAL $7,287 $7,287 $14,573 $14,573 
ANNUAL $14,573 $14,573 $29,146 $29,146 
DAILY/MISCELLANEOUS $56 $56 $112 $112 

TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE

  PAYROLL PERIOD 
ADDITIONAL 
WITHHOLDING BI-      SEMI-   SEMI-   
ALLOWANCES * WEEKLY WEEKLY MONTHLY MONTHLY QUARTERLY ANNUAL ANNUAL DAILY/MISC. 

1 $19 $38 $42 $83 $250 $500 $1,000 $4 
2 $38 $77 $83 $167 $500 $1,000 $2,000 $8 
3 $58 $115 $125 $250 $750 $1,500 $3,000 $12 
4 $77 $154 $167 $333 $1,000 $2,000 $4,000 $15 
5 $96 $192 $208 $417 $1,250 $2,500 $5,000 $19 
6 $115 $231 $250 $500 $1,500 $3,000 $6,000 $23 
7 $135 $269 $292 $583 $1,750 $3,500 $7,000 $27 
8 $154 $308 $333 $667 $2,000 $4,000 $8,000 $31 
9 $173 $346 $375 $750 $2,250 $4,500 $9,000 $35 

10** $192 $385 $417 $833 $2,500 $5,000 $10,000 $38 

* Number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed on form DE 4 or W-4. 

* * If the number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed is greater than 10,
    multiply the amount shown for one Additional Allowance by the number claimed. 
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS… 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $160 

160 170 0.88 
170 180 0.99 
180 190 1.10 
190 200 1.21 
200 210 1.32 

210 220 1.43 
220 230 1.54 
230 240 1.65 
240 250 1.76 
250 260 1.94 

260 270 2.16 
270 280 2.38 
280 290 2.60 0.11 
290 300 2.82 0.33 
300 310 3.04 0.55 

310 320 3.26 0.77 
320 330 3.48 0.99 
330 340 3.70 1.21 
340 350 3.92 1.43 
350 360 4.14 1.65 

360 370 4.36 1.87 
370 380 4.58 2.09 
380 390 4.80 2.31 
390 400 5.02 2.53 0.03 
400 410 5.24 2.75 0.25 

410 420 5.46 2.97 0.47 
420 430 5.68 3.19 0.69 
430 440 5.90 3.41 0.91 
440 450 6.12 3.63 1.13 
450 460 6.34 3.85 1.35 

460 480 6.67 4.18 1.68 
480 500 7.45 4.96 2.46 
500 520 8.33 5.84 3.34 0.84 
520 540 9.21 6.72 4.22 1.72 
540 560 10.09 7.60 5.10 2.60 0.10 

560 600 11.41 8.92 6.42 3.92 1.42 
600 640 13.17 10.68 8.18 5.68 3.18 0.69 
640 680 14.93 12.44 9.94 7.44 4.94 2.45 
680 720 16.70 14.20 11.71 9.21 6.71 4.22 1.72 
720 760 19.34 16.84 14.35 11.85 9.35 6.86 4.36 1.86 

760 800 21.98 19.48 16.99 14.49 11.99 9.50 7.00 4.50 2.00 
800 840 24.62 22.12 19.63 17.13 14.63 12.14 9.64 7.14 4.64 2.15 
840 880 27.26 24.76 22.27 19.77 17.27 14.78 12.28 9.78 7.28 4.79 2.29 
880 920 29.90 27.40 24.91 22.41 19.91 17.42 14.92 12.42 9.92 7.43 4.93 
920 960 32.59 30.10 27.60 25.10 22.60 20.11 17.61 15.11 12.62 10.12 7.62 

960 1000 36.11 33.62 31.12 28.62 26.12 23.63 21.13 18.63 16.14 13.64 11.14 
1000 1040 39.63 37.14 34.64 32.14 29.64 27.15 24.65 22.15 19.66 17.16 14.66 
1040 1100 44.03 41.54 39.04 36.54 34.04 31.55 29.05 26.55 24.06 21.56 19.06 
1100 1160 49.31 46.82 44.32 41.82 39.32 36.83 34.33 31.83 29.34 26.84 24.34 
1160 1220 54.97 52.47 49.98 47.48 44.98 42.48 39.99 37.49 34.99 32.50 30.00 

1220 and over  (Use Method B  - Exact  Calculation Method) 
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MARRIED  PERSONS----WEEKLY PAYROLL  PERIOD 

FOR  WAGES PAID  IN  2019 

IF  WAGES ARE... AND T HE  NUMBER O F  WITHHOLDING  ALLOWANCES  CLAIMED I S... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR  MORE 

...THE  AMOUNT  OF  INCOME  TAX  TO  BE  WITHHELD  SHALL  BE... 
$1 $160 

160 170 0.88 
170 180 0.99 
180 190 1.10 
190 200 1.21 
200 210 1.32 

210 220 1.43 
220 230 1.54 
230 240 1.65 
240 250 1.76 
250 260 1.87 

260 270 1.98 
270 280 2.09 
280 290 2.20 
290 300 2.31 
300 310 2.42 

310 320 2.53 0.04 
320 330 2.64 0.15 
330 340 2.75 0.26 
340 350 2.86 0.37 
350 360 2.97 0.48 

360 370 3.08 0.59 
370 380 3.19 0.70 
380 390 3.30 0.81 
390 400 3.41 0.92 
400 410 3.52 1.03 

410 420 3.66 1.16 
420 430 3.88 1.38 
430 440 4.10 1.60 
440 460 4.43 1.93 
460 480 4.87 2.37 

480 500 5.31 2.81 
500 520 5.75 3.25 
520 540 6.19 3.69 
540 560 6.63 4.13 
560 580 7.07 4.57 0.21 

580 600 7.51 5.01 0.65 
600 620 7.95 5.45 1.09 
620 640 8.39 5.89 1.53 
640 660 8.83 6.33 1.97 
660 680 9.27 6.77 2.41 

680 700 9.71 7.21 2.85 0.36 
700 720 10.15 7.65 3.29 0.80 
720 740 10.59 8.09 3.73 1.24 
740 760 11.03 8.53 4.17 1.68 
760 780 11.47 8.97 4.61 2.12 

780 800 11.91 9.41 5.05 2.56 0.06 
800 820 12.35 9.85 5.49 3.00 0.50 
820 840 12.79 10.29 5.93 3.44 0.94 
840 860 13.23 10.73 6.37 3.88 1.38 
860 880 13.79 11.29 6.81 4.32 1.82 

 --- CONTINUED  NEXT  PAGE  ---
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   FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
880 900 14.67 12.17 7.25 4.76 2.26 
900 920 15.55 13.05 7.69 5.20 2.70 0.20 
920 940 16.43 13.93 8.13 5.64 3.14 0.64 
940 960 17.31 14.81 8.59 6.09 3.60 1.10 
960 980 18.19 15.69 9.47 6.97 4.48 1.98 

980 1000 19.07 16.57 10.35 7.85 5.36 2.86 0.36 
1000 1020 19.95 17.45 11.23 8.73 6.24 3.74 1.24 
1020 1040 20.83 18.33 12.11 9.61 7.12 4.62 2.12 
1040 1060 21.71 19.21 12.99 10.49 8.00 5.50 3.00 0.51 
1060 1080 22.59 20.09 13.87 11.37 8.88 6.38 3.88 1.39 

1080 1100 23.47 20.97 14.75 12.25 9.76 7.26 4.76 2.27 
1100 1120 24.35 21.85 15.63 13.13 10.64 8.14 5.64 3.15 0.65 
1120 1140 25.23 22.73 16.51 14.01 11.52 9.02 6.52 4.03 1.53 
1140 1170 26.33 23.83 17.61 15.11 12.62 10.12 7.62 5.13 2.63 0.13 
1170 1200 27.65 25.15 18.93 16.43 13.94 11.44 8.94 6.45 3.95 1.45 

1200 1230 28.97 26.47 20.25 17.75 15.26 12.76 10.26 7.77 5.27 2.77 0.27 
1230 1260 30.29 27.79 21.57 19.07 16.58 14.08 11.58 9.09 6.59 4.09 1.59 
1260 1290 31.61 29.11 22.89 20.39 17.90 15.40 12.90 10.41 7.91 5.41 2.91 
1290 1320 32.93 30.43 24.21 21.71 19.22 16.72 14.22 11.73 9.23 6.73 4.23 
1320 1350 34.70 32.20 25.53 23.03 20.54 18.04 15.54 13.05 10.55 8.05 5.55 

1350 1390 37.01 34.51 27.07 24.57 22.08 19.58 17.08 14.59 12.09 9.59 7.09 
1390 1430 39.65 37.15 29.07 26.57 24.07 21.58 19.08 16.58 14.08 11.59 9.09 
1430 1470 42.29 39.79 31.71 29.21 26.71 24.22 21.72 19.22 16.72 14.23 11.73 
1470 1510 44.93 42.43 34.35 31.85 29.35 26.86 24.36 21.86 19.36 16.87 14.37 
1510 1550 47.57 45.07 36.99 34.49 31.99 29.50 27.00 24.50 22.00 19.51 17.01 

1550 1590 50.21 47.71 39.63 37.13 34.63 32.14 29.64 27.14 24.64 22.15 19.65 
1590 1630 52.85 50.35 42.27 39.77 37.27 34.78 32.28 29.78 27.28 24.79 22.29 
1630 1670 55.49 52.99 44.91 42.41 39.91 37.42 34.92 32.42 29.92 27.43 24.93 
1670 1710 58.13 55.63 47.55 45.05 42.55 40.06 37.56 35.06 32.56 30.07 27.57 
1710 1750 60.77 58.27 50.19 47.69 45.19 42.70 40.20 37.70 35.20 32.71 30.21 

1750 1790 63.41 60.91 52.83 50.33 47.83 45.34 42.84 40.34 37.84 35.35 32.85 
1790 1830 66.47 63.98 55.47 52.97 50.47 47.98 45.48 42.98 40.48 37.99 35.49 
1830 1890 70.87 68.38 58.77 56.27 53.77 51.28 48.78 46.28 43.78 41.29 38.79 
1890 1950 76.15 73.66 63.71 61.21 58.72 56.22 53.72 51.23 48.73 46.23 43.74 
1950 2010 81.43 78.94 68.99 66.49 64.00 61.50 59.00 56.51 54.01 51.51 49.02 

2010 2080 87.15 84.66 74.71 72.21 69.72 67.22 64.72 62.23 59.73 57.23 54.74 
2080 2160 93.75 91.26 81.31 78.81 76.32 73.82 71.32 68.83 66.33 63.83 61.34 
2160 2240 100.79 98.30 88.35 85.85 83.36 80.86 78.36 75.87 73.37 70.87 68.38 
2240 2320 108.37 105.87 95.39 92.89 90.40 87.90 85.40 82.91 80.41 77.91 75.42 
2320 2400 116.55 114.05 102.90 100.40 97.91 95.41 92.91 90.41 87.92 85.42 82.92 

2400 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $250 

250 260 0.94 
260 270 1.05 
270 280 1.16 
280 290 1.27 
290 300 1.38 

300 310 1.49 
310 320 1.60 
320 330 1.71 
330 340 1.82 
340 350 1.93 

350 360 2.04 
360 370 2.15 
370 380 2.26 
380 390 2.37 
390 400 2.48 

400 410 2.59 0.10 
410 420 2.70 0.21 
420 430 2.81 0.32 
430 440 2.92 0.43 
440 450 3.03 0.54 

450 460 3.14 0.65 
460 470 3.25 0.76 
470 480 3.36 0.87 
480 490 3.47 0.98 
490 500 3.58 1.09 

500 520 3.88 1.38 
520 540 4.32 1.82 
540 560 4.76 2.26 
560 580 5.20 2.70 0.20 
580 600 5.64 3.14 0.64 

600 620 6.08 3.58 1.08 
620 640 6.52 4.02 1.52 
640 660 6.96 4.46 1.96 
660 680 7.40 4.90 2.40 
680 700 7.84 5.34 2.84 0.35 

700 740 8.50 6.00 3.50 1.01 
740 780 9.38 6.88 4.38 1.89 
780 820 10.26 7.76 5.26 2.77 0.27 
820 860 11.14 8.64 6.14 3.65 1.15 
860 900 12.02 9.52 7.02 4.53 2.03 

900 950 13.01 10.51 8.01 5.52 3.02 0.52 
950 1000 14.70 12.20 9.70 7.20 4.71 2.21 

1000 1050 16.90 14.40 11.90 9.40 6.91 4.41 1.91 
1050 1100 19.10 16.60 14.10 11.60 9.11 6.61 4.11 1.62 
1100 1150 21.30 18.80 16.30 13.80 11.31 8.81 6.31 3.82 1.32 

1150 1230 24.52 22.03 19.53 17.03 14.54 12.04 9.54 7.04 4.55 2.05 
1230 1320 30.13 27.64 25.14 22.64 20.15 17.65 15.15 12.65 10.16 7.66 5.16 
1320 1420 36.40 33.91 31.41 28.91 26.42 23.92 21.42 18.92 16.43 13.93 11.43 
1420 1520 44.27 41.78 39.28 36.78 34.29 31.79 29.29 26.80 24.30 21.80 19.30 
1520 1620 53.07 50.58 48.08 45.58 43.09 40.59 38.09 35.60 33.10 30.60 28.10 

1620 1720 62.34 59.85 57.35 54.85 52.35 49.86 47.36 44.86 42.37 39.87 37.37 

1720 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $260 

260 
280 
300 
320 
340 

280 
300 
320 
340 
360 

1.11 
1.33 
1.55 
1.77 
1.99 

360 
380 
400 
420 
440 

380 
400 
420 
440 
460 

2.21 
2.43 
2.65 
2.87 
3.09 

460 
480 
500 
520 
540 

480 
500 
520 
540 
560 

3.31 
3.53 
3.89 
4.33 
4.77 

560 
580 
600 
620 
640 

580 
600 
620 
640 
660 

5.21 
5.65 
6.09 
6.53 
6.97 

0.21 
0.65 
1.09 
1.53 
1.97 

660 
680 
700 
720 
740 

680 
700 
720 
740 
760 

7.41 
7.85 
8.29 
8.73 
9.17 

2.41 
2.85 
3.29 
3.73 
4.17 

760 
780 
800 
820 
860 

780 
800 
820 
860 
900 

9.61 
10.05 
10.49 
11.15 
12.03 

4.61 
5.05 
5.49 
6.15 
7.03 

0.06 
0.50 
1.16 
2.04 

900 
940 
980 

1020 
1070 

940 
980 

1020 
1070 
1120 

12.91 
14.02 
15.78 
17.76 
19.96 

7.91 
9.03 

10.79 
12.77 
14.97 

2.92 
4.04 
5.80 
7.78 
9.98 

0.80 
2.78 
4.98 

1120 
1170 
1220 
1270 
1320 

1170 
1220 
1270 
1320 
1370 

22.16 
24.36 
26.56 
28.76 
30.96 

17.17 
19.37 
21.57 
23.77 
25.97 

12.18 
14.38 
16.58 
18.78 
20.98 

7.18 
9.38 

11.58 
13.78 
15.98 

2.19 
4.39 
6.59 
8.79 

10.99 

1.59 
3.79 
5.99 1.00 

1370 
1420 
1470 
1520 
1620 

1420 
1470 
1520 
1620 
1720 

33.16 
36.37 
39.67 
44.62 
51.22 

28.17 
31.38 
34.68 
39.63 
46.23 

23.18 
26.38 
29.68 
34.63 
41.23 

18.18 
21.39 
24.69 
29.64 
36.24 

13.19 
16.39 
19.69 
24.64 
31.24 

8.19 
11.40 
14.70 
19.65 
26.25 

3.20 
6.41 
9.71 

14.66 
21.26 

1.41 
4.71 
9.66 

16.26 
4.67 

11.27 6.27 1.28 

1720 
1840 
1960 
2080 
2200 

1840 
1960 
2080 
2200 
2320 

58.48 
66.95 
77.51 
88.07 
98.63 

53.49 
61.95 
72.51 
83.07 
93.63 

48.49 
56.96 
67.52 
78.08 
88.64 

43.50 
51.96 
62.52 
73.08 
83.64 

38.50 
46.97 
57.53 
68.09 
78.65 

33.51 
41.98 
52.54 
63.10 
73.66 

28.52 
36.98 
47.54 
58.10 
68.66 

23.52 
31.99 
42.55 
53.11 
63.67 

18.53 
26.99 
37.55 
48.11 
58.67 

13.53 
22.00 
32.56 
43.12 
53.68 

8.54 
17.01 
27.57 
38.13 
48.69 

2320 2440 109.94 104.95 99.95 94.96 89.96 84.97 79.98 74.98 69.99 64.99 60.00 

2440 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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MARRIED PERSONS----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS...

BUT 
AT LESS 
LEAST THAN 

$1 $260 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

 ...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 

8 9 10 
OR MORE 

260 
280 
300 
320 
340 

280 
300 
320 
340 
360 

1.11 
1.33 
1.55 
1.77 
1.99 

360 
380 
400 
420 
440 

380 
400 
420 
440 
460 

2.21 
2.43 
2.65 
2.87 
3.09 

460 
480 
500 
520 
540 

480 
500 
520 
540 
560 

3.31 
3.53 
3.75 
3.97 
4.19 

560 
580 
600 
620 
640 

580 
600 
620 
640 
660 

4.41 
4.63 
4.85 
5.07 
5.29 

0.07 
0.29 

660 
680 
700 
720 
740 

680 
700 
720 
740 
760 

5.51 
5.73 
5.95 
6.17 
6.39 

0.51 
0.73 
0.95 
1.17 
1.39 

760 
780 
800 
820 
840 

780 
800 
820 
840 
860 

6.61 
6.83 
7.05 
7.32 
7.76 

1.61 
1.83 
2.05 
2.33 
2.77 

860 
880 
900 
920 
940 

880 
900 
920 
940 
960 

8.20 
8.64 
9.08 
9.52 
9.96 

3.21 
3.65 
4.09 
4.53 
4.97 

960 
980 

1000 
1020 
1060 

980 
1000 
1020 
1060 
1100 

10.40 
10.84 
11.28 
11.94 
12.82 

5.41 
5.85 
6.29 
6.95 
7.83 

1100 
1140 
1180 
1220 
1260 

1140 
1180 
1220 
1260 
1300 

13.70 
14.58 
15.46 
16.34 
17.22 

8.71 
9.59 

10.47 
11.35 
12.23 

0.87 
1.75 
2.63 
3.51 

1300 
1340 
1380 
1420 
1460 

1340 
1380 
1420 
1460 
1500 

18.10 
18.98 
19.86 
20.74 
21.62 

13.11 
13.99 
14.87 
15.75 
16.63 

4.39 
5.27 
6.15 
7.03 
7.91 

0.27 
1.15 
2.03 
2.91 

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD  

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT  
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

1500 
1540 
1580 
1620 
1660 

1540 
1580 
1620 
1660 
1700 

22.50 
23.38 
24.26 
25.14 
26.02 

17.51 
18.39 
19.27 
20.15 
21.03 

8.79 
9.67 

10.55 
11.43 
12.31 

3.79 
4.67 
5.55 
6.43 
7.31 

0.56 
1.44 
2.32 

1700 
1740 
1780 
1820 
1860 

1740 
1780 
1820 
1860 
1900 

26.90 
28.46 
30.22 
31.98 
33.74 

21.91 
23.46 
25.22 
26.98 
28.74 

13.19 
14.07 
14.95 
15.83 
16.71 

8.19 
9.07 
9.95 

10.83 
11.71 

3.20 
4.08 
4.96 
5.84 
6.72 

0.85 
1.73 

1900 
1940 
1980 
2020 
2060 

1940 
1980 
2020 
2060 
2100 

35.50 
37.26 
39.02 
40.78 
42.54 

30.50 
32.26 
34.02 
35.78 
37.54 

18.06 
19.82 
21.58 
23.34 
25.10 

13.07 
14.83 
16.59 
18.35 
20.11 

8.07 
9.83 

11.59 
13.35 
15.11 

3.08 
4.84 
6.60 
8.36 

10.12 

1.61 
3.37 
5.13 0.13 

2100 
2140 
2180 
2220 
2260 

2140 
2180 
2220 
2260 
2300 

44.30 
46.06 
47.82 
49.58 
51.34 

39.30 
41.06 
42.82 
44.58 
46.34 

26.86 
28.62 
30.38 
32.14 
33.90 

21.87 
23.63 
25.39 
27.15 
28.91 

16.87 
18.63 
20.39 
22.15 
23.91 

11.88 
13.64 
15.40 
17.16 
18.92 

6.89 
8.65 

10.41 
12.17 
13.93 

1.89 
3.65 
5.41 
7.17 
8.93 

0.42 
2.18 
3.94 

2300 
2350 
2400 
2450 
2500 

2350 
2400 
2450 
2500 
2550 

53.32 
55.52 
57.72 
59.92 
62.12 

48.32 
50.52 
52.72 
54.92 
57.12 

35.88 
38.08 
40.28 
42.48 
44.68 

30.89 
33.09 
35.29 
37.49 
39.69 

25.89 
28.09 
30.29 
32.49 
34.69 

20.90 
23.10 
25.30 
27.50 
29.70 

15.91 
18.11 
20.31 
22.51 
24.71 

10.91 
13.11 
15.31 
17.51 
19.71 

5.92 
8.12 

10.32 
12.52 
14.72 

0.92 
3.12 
5.32 
7.52 
9.72 

0.33 
2.53 
4.73 

2550 
2600 
2650 
2700 
2750 

2600 
2650 
2700 
2750 
2800 

64.32 
66.52 
69.72 
73.02 
76.32 

59.32 
61.52 
64.73 
68.03 
71.33 

46.88 
49.08 
51.28 
53.48 
55.68 

41.89 
44.09 
46.29 
48.49 
50.69 

36.89 
39.09 
41.29 
43.49 
45.69 

31.90 
34.10 
36.30 
38.50 
40.70 

26.91 
29.11 
31.31 
33.51 
35.71 

21.91 
24.11 
26.31 
28.51 
30.71 

16.92 
19.12 
21.32 
23.52 
25.72 

11.92 
14.12 
16.32 
18.52 
20.72 

6.93 
9.13 

11.33 
13.53 
15.73 

2800 
2850 
2900 
2950 
3000 

2850 
2900 
2950 
3000 
3050 

79.62 
82.92 
86.22 
89.52 
92.82 

74.63 
77.93 
81.23 
84.53 
87.83 

58.46 
61.76 
65.06 
68.36 
71.66 

53.47 
56.77 
60.07 
63.37 
66.67 

48.48 
51.78 
55.08 
58.38 
61.68 

43.48 
46.78 
50.08 
53.38 
56.68 

38.49 
41.79 
45.09 
48.39 
51.69 

33.49 
36.79 
40.09 
43.39 
46.69 

28.50 
31.80 
35.10 
38.40 
41.70 

23.51 
26.81 
30.11 
33.41 
36.71 

18.51 
21.81 
25.11 
28.41 
31.71 

3050 
3150 
3250 
3350 
3450 

3150 
3250 
3350 
3450 
3550 

97.77 
104.37 
110.97 
117.57 
124.17 

92.78 
99.38 

105.98 
112.58 
119.18 

76.61 
83.21 
89.81 
96.41 

103.01 

71.62 
78.22 
84.82 
91.42 
98.02 

66.63 
73.23 
79.83 
86.43 
93.03 

61.63 
68.23 
74.83 
81.43 
88.03 

56.64 
63.24 
69.84 
76.44 
83.04 

51.64 
58.24 
64.84 
71.44 
78.04 

46.65 
53.25 
59.85 
66.45 
73.05 

41.66 
48.26 
54.86 
61.46 
68.06 

36.66 
43.26 
49.86 
56.46 
63.06 

3550 
3650 
3770 
3890 
4040 

3650 
3770 
3890 
4040 
4190 

131.19 
140.87 
151.43 
163.31 
176.51 

126.19 
135.87 
146.43 
158.31 
171.51 

109.61 
116.87 
126.54 
138.42 
151.62 

104.62 
111.88 
121.55 
133.43 
146.63 

99.63 
106.89 
116.55 
128.43 
141.63 

94.63 
101.89 
111.56 
123.44 
136.64 

89.64 
96.90 

106.57 
118.45 
131.65 

84.64 
91.90 

101.57 
113.45 
126.65 

79.65 
86.91 
96.58 

108.46 
121.66 

74.66 
81.92 
91.58 

103.46 
116.66 

69.66 
76.92 
86.59 
98.47 

111.67 

4190 
4340 
4490 
4640 

4340 
4490 
4640 
4790 

189.71 
202.91 
217.25 
232.59 

184.71 
197.91 
212.25 
227.60 

164.82 
178.02 
191.22 
205.29 

159.83 
173.03 
186.23 
200.29 

154.83 
168.03 
181.23 
195.30 

149.84 
163.04 
176.24 
190.31 

144.85 
158.05 
171.25 
185.31 

139.85 
153.05 
166.25 
180.32 

134.86 
148.06 
161.26 
175.32 

129.86 
143.06 
156.26 
170.33 

124.87 
138.07 
151.27 
165.34 

4790 and over  (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

$1 $560 
...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 

560 
580 
600 
620 
640 

580 
600 
620 
640 
660 

2.55 
2.77 
2.99 
3.21 
3.43 

660 
680 
700 
720 
740 

680 
700 
720 
740 
760 

3.65 
3.87 
4.09 
4.31 
4.53 

760 
780 
800 
820 
840 

780 
800 
820 
840 
860 

4.75 
4.97 
5.19 
5.41 
5.63 

0.19 
0.41 
0.63 

860 
880 
900 
920 
940 

880 
900 
920 
940 
960 

5.85 
6.07 
6.29 
6.51 
6.73 

0.85 
1.07 
1.29 
1.51 
1.73 

960 
980 

1000 
1040 
1080 

980 
1000 
1040 
1080 
1120 

6.95 
7.17 
7.75 
8.63 
9.51 

1.95 
2.17 
2.76 
3.64 
4.52 

1120 
1160 
1200 
1250 
1300 

1160 
1200 
1250 
1300 
1350 

10.39 
11.27 
12.26 
13.36 
14.46 

5.40 
6.28 
7.27 
8.37 
9.47 

0.41 
1.29 
2.28 
3.38 
4.48 

1350 
1400 
1450 
1500 
1550 

1400 
1450 
1500 
1550 
1600 

15.56 
16.66 
17.76 
18.86 
19.96 

10.57 
11.67 
12.77 
13.87 
14.97 

5.58 
6.68 
7.78 
8.88 
9.98 

0.58 
1.68 
2.78 
3.88 
4.98 

1600 
1650 
1700 
1750 
1800 

1650 
1700 
1750 
1800 
1850 

21.06 
22.16 
23.26 
24.36 
25.46 

16.07 
17.17 
18.27 
19.37 
20.47 

11.08 
12.18 
13.28 
14.38 
15.48 

6.08 
7.18 
8.28 
9.38 

10.48 

1.09 
2.19 
3.29 
4.39 
5.49 0.49 

1850 
1950 
2050 
2150 
2250 

1950 
2050 
2150 
2250 
2350 

27.19 
31.59 
35.99 
40.39 
44.79 

22.20 
26.60 
31.00 
35.40 
39.80 

17.20 
21.60 
26.00 
30.40 
34.80 

12.21 
16.61 
21.01 
25.41 
29.81 

7.22 
11.62 
16.02 
20.42 
24.82 

2.22 
6.62 

11.02 
15.42 
19.82 

1.63 
6.03 

10.43 
14.83 

1.03 
5.43 
9.83 

0.44 
4.84 

2350 
2470 
2590 
2710 
2830 

2470 
2590 
2710 
2830 
2970 

51.03 
58.95 
66.87 
74.79 
85.03 

46.03 
53.95 
61.87 
69.79 
80.03 

41.04 
48.96 
56.88 
64.80 
75.04 

36.05 
43.97 
51.89 
59.81 
70.05 

31.05 
38.97 
46.89 
54.81 
65.05 

26.06 
33.98 
41.90 
49.82 
60.06 

21.06 
28.98 
36.90 
44.82 
55.06 

16.07 
23.99 
31.91 
39.83 
50.07 

11.08 
19.00 
26.92 
34.84 
45.08 

6.08 
14.00 
21.92 
29.84 
40.08 

1.09 
9.01 

16.93 
24.85 
35.09 

2970 
3110 
3250 

3110 
3250 
3390 

97.35 
109.67 
122.64 

92.35 
104.67 
117.64 

87.36 
99.68 

112.65 

82.37 
94.69 

107.66 

77.37 
89.69 

102.66 

72.38 
84.70 
97.67 

67.38 
79.70 
92.67 

62.39 
74.71 
87.68 

57.40 
69.72 
82.69 

52.40 
64.72 
77.69 

47.41 
59.73 
72.70 

3390 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 
LEAST THAN 

$1 $300 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 

8 9 10 
OR MORE 

300 
320 
340 
360 
380 

320 
340 
360 
380 
400 

1.39 
1.61 
1.83 
2.05 
2.27 

400 
420 
440 
460 
480 

420 
440 
460 
480 
500 

2.49 
2.71 
2.93 
3.15 
3.37 

500 
540 
580 
620 
660 

540 
580 
620 
660 
700 

3.70 
4.37 
5.25 
6.13 
7.01 

0.72 
1.60 

700 
740 
780 
820 
860 

740 
780 
820 
860 
900 

7.89 
8.77 
9.65 

10.53 
11.41 

2.48 
3.36 
4.24 
5.12 
6.00 0.59 

900 
940 
980 

1020 
1060 

940 
980 

1020 
1060 
1100 

12.29 
13.17 
14.05 
15.21 
16.97 

6.88 
7.76 
8.64 
9.80 

11.56 

1.47 
2.35 
3.23 
4.38 
6.14 0.73 

1100 
1140 
1180 
1220 
1260 

1140 
1180 
1220 
1260 
1300 

18.73 
20.49 
22.25 
24.01 
25.77 

13.32 
15.08 
16.84 
18.60 
20.36 

7.90 
9.66 

11.42 
13.18 
14.94 

2.49 
4.25 
6.01 
7.77 
9.53 

0.60 
2.36 
4.12 

1300 
1340 
1380 
1420 
1460 

1340 
1380 
1420 
1460 
1500 

27.53 
29.29 
31.05 
32.81 
34.57 

22.12 
23.88 
25.64 
27.40 
29.16 

16.70 
18.46 
20.22 
21.98 
23.74 

11.29 
13.05 
14.81 
16.57 
18.33 

5.88 
7.64 
9.40 

11.16 
12.92 

0.47 
2.23 
3.99 
5.75 
7.51 

0.34 
2.10 

1500 
1540 
1580 
1620 
1660 

1540 
1580 
1620 
1660 
1700 

36.43 
39.07 
41.71 
44.35 
46.99 

31.02 
33.66 
36.30 
38.94 
41.58 

25.60 
28.24 
30.88 
33.52 
36.16 

20.19 
22.83 
25.47 
28.11 
30.75 

14.78 
17.42 
20.06 
22.70 
25.34 

9.37 
12.01 
14.65 
17.29 
19.93 

3.96 
6.60 
9.24 

11.88 
14.52 

1.18 
3.82 
6.46 
9.10 

1.05 
3.69 

1700 
1750 
1800 
1850 
1950 

1750 
1800 
1850 
1950 
2050 

49.96 
53.26 
56.56 
61.51 
68.11 

44.55 
47.85 
51.15 
56.10 
62.70 

39.13 
42.43 
45.73 
50.68 
57.28 

33.72 
37.02 
40.32 
45.27 
51.87 

28.31 
31.61 
34.91 
39.86 
46.46 

22.90 
26.20 
29.50 
34.45 
41.05 

17.49 
20.79 
24.09 
29.04 
35.64 

12.07 
15.37 
18.67 
23.62 
30.22 

6.66 
9.96 

13.26 
18.21 
24.81 

1.25 
4.55 
7.85 

12.80 
19.40 

2.44 
7.39 

13.99 

2050 
2150 
2250 
2370 
2510 

2150 
2250 
2370 
2510 
2650 

76.20 
85.00 
94.68 

106.12 
119.29 

70.78 
79.58 
89.26 

100.70 
113.88 

65.37 
74.17 
83.85 
95.29 

108.47 

59.96 
68.76 
78.44 
89.88 

103.05 

54.55 
63.35 
73.03 
84.47 
97.64 

49.14 
57.94 
67.62 
79.06 
92.23 

43.72 
52.52 
62.20 
73.64 
86.82 

38.31 
47.11 
56.79 
68.23 
81.41 

32.90 
41.70 
51.38 
62.82 
75.99 

27.49 
36.29 
45.97 
57.41 
70.58 

22.08 
30.88 
40.56 
52.00 
65.17 

2650 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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MARRIED PERSONS----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 
LEAST THAN 

$1 $300 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 

8 9 10 
OR MORE 

300 
320 
340 
360 
380 

320 
340 
360 
380 
400 

1.39 
1.61 
1.83 
2.05 
2.27 

400 
420 
440 
460 
480 

420 
440 
460 
480 
500 

2.49 
2.71 
2.93 
3.15 
3.37 

500 
520 
540 
560 
580 

520 
540 
560 
580 
600 

3.59 
3.81 
4.03 
4.25 
4.47 

600 
620 
640 
660 
680 

620 
640 
660 
680 
700 

4.69 
4.91 
5.13 
5.35 
5.57 0.16 

700 
720 
740 
760 
780 

720 
740 
760 
780 
800 

5.79 
6.01 
6.23 
6.45 
6.67 

0.38 
0.60 
0.82 
1.04 
1.26 

800 
820 
840 
860 
880 

820 
840 
860 
880 
900 

6.89 
7.11 
7.33 
7.55 
7.77 

1.48 
1.70 
1.92 
2.14 
2.36 

900 
920 
940 
960 
980 

920 
940 
960 
980 

1000 

8.15 
8.59 
9.03 
9.47 
9.91 

2.74 
3.18 
3.62 
4.06 
4.50 

1000 
1040 
1080 
1120 
1160 

1040 
1080 
1120 
1160 
1200 

10.57 
11.45 
12.33 
13.21 
14.09 

5.16 
6.04 
6.92 
7.80 
8.68 

1200 
1240 
1280 
1320 
1360 

1240 
1280 
1320 
1360 
1400 

14.97 
15.85 
16.73 
17.61 
18.49 

9.56 
10.44 
11.32 
12.20 
13.08 

0.12 
1.00 
1.88 
2.76 
3.64 

1400 
1440 
1480 
1520 
1560 

1440 
1480 
1520 
1560 
1600 

19.37 
20.25 
21.13 
22.01 
22.89 

13.96 
14.84 
15.72 
16.60 
17.48 

4.52 
5.40 
6.28 
7.16 
8.04 

0.86 
1.74 
2.62 

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
1600 
1640 
1680 
1720 
1760 

1640 
1680 
1720 
1760 
1800 

23.77 
24.65 
25.53 
26.41 
27.29 

18.36 
19.24 
20.12 
21.00 
21.88 

8.92 
9.80 

10.68 
11.56 
12.44 

3.50 
4.38 
5.26 
6.14 
7.02 

0.73 
1.61 

1800 
1840 
1880 
1920 
1960 

1840 
1880 
1920 
1960 
2000 

28.17 
29.05 
30.56 
32.32 
34.08 

22.76 
23.64 
25.15 
26.91 
28.67 

13.32 
14.20 
15.08 
15.96 
16.84 

7.90 
8.78 
9.66 

10.54 
11.42 

2.49 
3.37 
4.25 
5.13 
6.01 0.60 

2000 
2040 
2080 
2120 
2160 

2040 
2080 
2120 
2160 
2200 

35.84 
37.60 
39.36 
41.12 
42.88 

30.43 
32.19 
33.95 
35.71 
37.47 

17.72 
18.71 
20.47 
22.23 
23.99 

12.30 
13.30 
15.06 
16.82 
18.58 

6.89 
7.89 
9.65 

11.41 
13.17 

1.48 
2.47 
4.23 
5.99 
7.75 

0.58 
2.34 

2200 
2250 
2300 
2350 
2400 

2250 
2300 
2350 
2400 
2450 

44.86 
47.06 
49.26 
51.46 
53.66 

39.45 
41.65 
43.85 
46.05 
48.25 

25.97 
28.17 
30.37 
32.57 
34.77 

20.56 
22.76 
24.96 
27.16 
29.36 

15.15 
17.35 
19.55 
21.75 
23.95 

9.73 
11.93 
14.13 
16.33 
18.53 

4.32 
6.52 
8.72 

10.92 
13.12 

1.11 
3.31 
5.51 
7.71 

0.10 
2.30 

2450 
2500 
2550 
2600 
2650 

2500 
2550 
2600 
2650 
2700 

55.86 
58.06 
60.26 
62.46 
64.66 

50.45 
52.65 
54.85 
57.05 
59.25 

36.97 
39.17 
41.37 
43.57 
45.77 

31.56 
33.76 
35.96 
38.16 
40.36 

26.15 
28.35 
30.55 
32.75 
34.95 

20.73 
22.93 
25.13 
27.33 
29.53 

15.32 
17.52 
19.72 
21.92 
24.12 

9.91 
12.11 
14.31 
16.51 
18.71 

4.50 
6.70 
8.90 

11.10 
13.30 

1.29 
3.49 
5.69 
7.89 

0.27 
2.47 

2700 
2750 
2800 
2850 
2900 

2750 
2800 
2850 
2900 
2950 

66.86 
69.06 
71.26 
74.07 
77.37 

61.45 
63.65 
65.85 
68.66 
71.96 

47.97 
50.17 
52.37 
54.57 
56.77 

42.56 
44.76 
46.96 
49.16 
51.36 

37.15 
39.35 
41.55 
43.75 
45.95 

31.73 
33.93 
36.13 
38.33 
40.53 

26.32 
28.52 
30.72 
32.92 
35.12 

20.91 
23.11 
25.31 
27.51 
29.71 

15.50 
17.70 
19.90 
22.10 
24.30 

10.09 
12.29 
14.49 
16.69 
18.89 

4.67 
6.87 
9.07 

11.27 
13.47 

2950 
3000 
3075 
3150 
3225 

3000 
3075 
3150 
3225 
3300 

80.67 
84.80 
89.75 
94.70 
99.65 

75.26 
79.38 
84.33 
89.28 
94.23 

58.97 
61.87 
66.82 
71.77 
76.72 

53.56 
56.46 
61.41 
66.36 
71.31 

48.15 
51.04 
55.99 
60.94 
65.89 

42.73 
45.63 
50.58 
55.53 
60.48 

37.32 
40.22 
45.17 
50.12 
55.07 

31.91 
34.81 
39.76 
44.71 
49.66 

26.50 
29.40 
34.35 
39.30 
44.25 

21.09 
23.98 
28.93 
33.88 
38.83 

15.67 
18.57 
23.52 
28.47 
33.42 

3300 
3375 
3475 
3575 
3675 

3375 
3475 
3575 
3675 
3775 

104.60 
110.37 
116.97 
123.57 
130.17 

99.18 
104.96 
111.56 
118.16 
124.76 

81.67 
87.44 
94.04 

100.64 
107.24 

76.26 
82.03 
88.63 
95.23 

101.83 

70.84 
76.62 
83.22 
89.82 
96.42 

65.43 
71.21 
77.81 
84.41 
91.01 

60.02 
65.80 
72.40 
79.00 
85.60 

54.61 
60.38 
66.98 
73.58 
80.18 

49.20 
54.97 
61.57 
68.17 
74.77 

43.78 
49.56 
56.16 
62.76 
69.36 

38.37 
44.15 
50.75 
57.35 
63.95 

3775 
3875 
3975 
4125 
4275 

3875 
3975 
4125 
4275 
4525 

136.77 
144.33 
155.33 
168.53 
186.13 

131.36 
138.92 
149.92 
163.12 
180.72 

113.84 
120.44 
128.69 
141.57 
159.17 

108.43 
115.03 
123.28 
136.16 
153.76 

103.02 
109.62 
117.87 
130.75 
148.35 

97.61 
104.21 
112.46 
125.33 
142.93 

92.20 
98.80 

107.05 
119.92 
137.52 

86.78 
93.38 

101.63 
114.51 
132.11 

81.37 
87.97 
96.22 

109.10 
126.70 

75.96 
82.56 
90.81 

103.69 
121.29 

70.55 
77.15 
85.40 
98.27 

115.87 

4525 
4775 
5025 

4775 
5025 
5275 

208.13 
230.74 
256.32 

202.72 
225.33 
250.90 

181.17 
203.17 
226.73 

175.76 
197.76 
221.32 

170.35 
192.35 
215.91 

164.93 
186.93 
210.50 

159.52 
181.52 
205.08 

154.11 
176.11 
199.67 

148.70 
170.70 
194.26 

143.29 
165.29 
188.85 

137.87 
159.87 
183.44 

5275 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $600 

600 
620 
640 
660 
680 

620 
640 
660 
680 
700 

2.68 
2.90 
3.12 
3.34 
3.56 

700 
720 
740 
760 
780 

720 
740 
760 
780 
800 

3.78 
4.00 
4.22 
4.44 
4.66 

800 
820 
840 
860 
880 

820 
840 
860 
880 
900 

4.88 
5.10 
5.32 
5.54 
5.76 

0.12 
0.34 

900 
940 
980 

1020 
1060 

940 
980 

1020 
1060 
1100 

6.09 
6.53 
6.97 
7.41 
7.86 

0.67 
1.11 
1.55 
1.99 
2.45 

1100 
1140 
1180 
1220 
1260 

1140 
1180 
1220 
1260 
1300 

8.74 
9.62 

10.50 
11.38 
12.26 

3.33 
4.21 
5.09 
5.97 
6.85 

0.56 
1.44 

1300 
1350 
1400 
1450 
1500 

1350 
1400 
1450 
1500 
1550 

13.25 
14.35 
15.45 
16.55 
17.65 

7.84 
8.94 

10.04 
11.14 
12.24 

2.43 
3.53 
4.63 
5.73 
6.83 

0.31 
1.41 

1550 
1600 
1650 
1700 
1750 

1600 
1650 
1700 
1750 
1800 

18.75 
19.85 
20.95 
22.05 
23.15 

13.34 
14.44 
15.54 
16.64 
17.74 

7.93 
9.03 

10.13 
11.23 
12.33 

2.51 
3.61 
4.71 
5.81 
6.91 

0.40 
1.50 

1800 
1900 
2000 
2100 
2200 

1900 
2000 
2100 
2200 
2300 

24.80 
27.00 
29.20 
33.49 
37.89 

19.39 
21.59 
23.79 
28.08 
32.48 

13.98 
16.18 
18.38 
22.67 
27.07 

8.56 
10.76 
12.96 
17.26 
21.66 

3.15 
5.35 
7.55 

11.85 
16.25 

2.14 
6.43 

10.83 
1.02 
5.42 0.01 

2300 
2420 
2540 
2660 
2780 

2420 
2540 
2660 
2780 
2900 

42.73 
48.01 
54.55 
62.47 
70.39 

37.32 
42.60 
49.14 
57.06 
64.98 

31.91 
37.19 
43.73 
51.65 
59.57 

26.50 
31.78 
38.32 
46.24 
54.16 

21.09 
26.37 
32.91 
40.83 
48.75 

15.67 
20.95 
27.49 
35.41 
43.33 

10.26 
15.54 
22.08 
30.00 
37.92 

4.85 
10.13 
16.67 
24.59 
32.51 

4.72 
11.26 
19.18 
27.10 

5.85 
13.77 
21.69 

0.43 
8.35 

16.27 

2900 
3050 
3210 
3370 
3530 

3050 
3210 
3370 
3530 
3690 

79.30 
91.08 

105.16 
119.24 
134.21 

73.89 
85.67 
99.75 

113.83 
128.80 

68.48 
80.26 
94.34 

108.42 
123.39 

63.07 
74.84 
88.92 

103.00 
117.97 

57.66 
69.43 
83.51 
97.59 

112.56 

52.24 
64.02 
78.10 
92.18 

107.15 

46.83 
58.61 
72.69 
86.77 

101.74 

41.42 
53.20 
67.28 
81.36 
96.33 

36.01 
47.78 
61.86 
75.94 
90.91 

30.60 
42.37 
56.45 
70.53 
85.50 

25.18 
36.96 
51.04 
65.12 
80.09 

3690 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $600 

600 
640 
680 
720 
760 

640 
680 
720 
760 
800 

2.79 
3.23 
3.67 
4.11 
4.55 

800 
840 
880 
920 
960 

840 
880 
920 
960 

1000 

4.99 
5.43 
5.87 
6.31 
6.75 

1000 
1050 
1100 
1150 
1200 

1050 
1100 
1150 
1200 
1250 

7.24 
7.79 
8.85 
9.95 

11.05 0.23 

1250 
1300 
1350 
1400 
1450 

1300 
1350 
1400 
1450 
1500 

12.15 
13.25 
14.35 
15.45 
16.55 

1.33 
2.43 
3.53 
4.63 
5.73 

1500 
1600 
1700 
1800 
1900 

1600 
1700 
1800 
1900 
2000 

18.20 
20.40 
22.60 
24.80 
27.00 

7.38 
9.58 

11.78 
13.98 
16.18 

0.95 
3.15 
5.35 

2000 
2100 
2200 
2300 
2400 

2100 
2200 
2300 
2400 
2500 

29.20 
33.49 
37.89 
42.29 
46.69 

18.38 
22.67 
27.07 
31.47 
35.87 

7.55 
11.85 
16.25 
20.65 
25.05 

1.02 
5.42 
9.82 

14.22 3.40 

2500 
2600 
2700 
2800 
2900 

2600 
2700 
2800 
2900 
3000 

51.09 
55.49 
59.89 
64.29 
68.69 

40.27 
44.67 
49.07 
53.47 
57.87 

29.45 
33.85 
38.25 
42.65 
47.05 

18.62 
23.02 
27.42 
31.82 
36.22 

7.80 
12.20 
16.60 
21.00 
25.40 

1.37 
5.77 

10.17 
14.57 3.75 

3000 
3100 
3200 
3300 
3400 

3100 
3200 
3300 
3400 
3500 

73.52 
80.12 
86.72 
93.32 
99.92 

62.69 
69.29 
75.89 
82.49 
89.09 

51.87 
58.47 
65.07 
71.67 
78.27 

41.05 
47.65 
54.25 
60.85 
67.45 

30.22 
36.82 
43.42 
50.02 
56.62 

19.40 
26.00 
32.60 
39.20 
45.80 

8.57 
15.17 
21.77 
28.37 
34.97 

4.35 
10.95 
17.55 
24.15 

0.13 
6.73 

13.33 2.50 

3500 
3600 
3700 
3800 
3900 

3600 
3700 
3800 
3900 
4100 

106.52 
113.12 
119.72 
126.32 
136.22 

95.69 
102.29 
108.89 
115.49 
125.39 

84.87 
91.47 
98.07 

104.67 
114.57 

74.05 
80.65 
87.25 
93.85 

103.75 

63.22 
69.82 
76.42 
83.02 
92.92 

52.40 
59.00 
65.60 
72.20 
82.10 

41.57 
48.17 
54.77 
61.37 
71.27 

30.75 
37.35 
43.95 
50.55 
60.45 

19.93 
26.53 
33.13 
39.73 
49.63 

9.10 
15.70 
22.30 
28.90 
38.80 

4.88 
11.48 
18.08 
27.98 

4100 
4400 
4700 
5000 

4400 
4700 
5000 
5300 

156.79 
183.19 
209.59 
237.56 

145.97 
172.37 
198.77 
226.73 

135.15 
161.55 
187.95 
215.91 

124.32 
150.72 
177.12 
205.08 

113.50 
139.90 
166.30 
194.26 

102.67 
129.07 
155.47 
183.44 

91.85 
118.25 
144.65 
172.61 

81.03 
107.43 
133.83 
161.79 

70.20 
96.60 

123.00 
150.96 

59.38 
85.78 

112.18 
140.14 

48.55 
74.95 

101.35 
129.32 

5300 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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MARRIED PERSONS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

AT 
LEAST 

BUT 
LESS 
THAN 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 

9 10 
OR MORE 

$1 $600 

600 640 2.79 
640 680 3.23 
680 720 3.67 
720 760 4.11 
760 800 4.55 

800 840 4.99 
840 880 5.43 
880 920 5.87 
920 960 6.31 
960 1000 6.75 

1000 1040 7.19 
1040 1080 7.63 
1080 1120 8.07 
1120 1160 8.51 
1160 1200 8.95 

1200 1240 9.39 
1240 1280 9.83 
1280 1320 10.27 
1320 1360 10.71 
1360 1400 11.15 0.32 

1400 1440 11.59 0.76 
1440 1480 12.03 1.20 
1480 1520 12.47 1.64 
1520 1560 12.91 2.08 
1560 1600 13.35 2.52 

1600 1640 13.79 2.96 
1640 1680 14.23 3.40 
1680 1720 14.67 3.84 
1720 1760 15.11 4.28 
1760 1800 15.55 4.72 

1800 1840 16.31 5.48 
1840 1880 17.19 6.36 
1880 1920 18.07 7.24 
1920 1960 18.95 8.12 
1960 2000 19.83 9.00 

2000 2040 20.71 9.88 
2040 2080 21.59 10.76 
2080 2140 22.69 11.86 
2140 2200 24.01 13.18 
2200 2260 25.33 14.50 

2260 2320 26.65 15.82 
2320 2380 27.97 17.14 
2380 2440 29.29 18.46 
2440 2500 30.61 19.78 0.89 
2500 2560 31.93 21.10 2.21 

2560 2620 33.25 22.42 3.53 
2620 2680 34.57 23.74 4.85 
2680 2740 35.89 25.06 6.17 
2740 2800 37.21 26.38 7.49 
2800 2860 38.53 27.70 8.81 

 --- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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MARRIED PERSONS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

AT 
LEAST 

BUT 
LESS 
THAN 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
OR MORE 

 ...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
2860 2920 39.85 29.02 10.13 
2920 2980 41.17 30.34 11.45 0.63 
2980 3040 42.49 31.66 12.77 1.95 
3040 3100 43.81 32.98 14.09 3.27 
3100 3160 45.13 34.30 15.41 4.59 

3160 3220 46.45 35.62 16.73 5.91 
3220 3280 47.77 36.94 18.05 7.23 
3280 3340 49.09 38.26 19.37 8.55 
3340 3400 50.41 39.58 20.69 9.87 
3400 3460 51.73 40.90 22.01 11.19 0.36 

3460 3520 53.05 42.22 23.33 12.51 1.68 
3520 3580 54.37 43.54 24.65 13.83 3.00 
3580 3640 55.69 44.86 25.97 15.15 4.32 
3640 3700 57.01 46.18 27.29 16.47 5.64 
3700 3800 58.93 48.10 29.05 18.23 7.40 

3800 3900 63.33 52.50 31.25 20.43 9.60 
3900 4000 67.73 56.90 33.45 22.63 11.80 0.98 
4000 4100 72.13 61.30 35.65 24.83 14.00 3.18 
4100 4200 76.53 65.70 38.74 27.92 17.09 6.27 
4200 4300 80.93 70.10 43.14 32.32 21.49 10.67 

4300 4400 85.33 74.50 47.54 36.72 25.89 15.07 4.25 
4400 4500 89.73 78.90 51.94 41.12 30.29 19.47 8.65 
4500 4600 94.13 83.30 56.34 45.52 34.69 23.87 13.05 2.22 
4600 4700 98.53 87.70 60.74 49.92 39.09 28.27 17.45 6.62 
4700 4800 102.93 92.10 65.14 54.32 43.49 32.67 21.85 11.02 0.20 

4800 4900 107.33 96.50 69.54 58.72 47.89 37.07 26.25 15.42 4.60 
4900 5000 111.73 100.90 73.94 63.12 52.29 41.47 30.65 19.82 9.00 
5000 5100 116.13 105.30 78.34 67.52 56.69 45.87 35.05 24.22 13.40 2.57 
5100 5200 120.53 109.70 82.74 71.92 61.09 50.27 39.45 28.62 17.80 6.97 
5200 5300 124.93 114.10 87.14 76.32 65.49 54.67 43.85 33.02 22.20 11.37 0.55 

5300 5400 129.33 118.50 91.54 80.72 69.89 59.07 48.25 37.42 26.60 15.77 4.95 
5400 5500 133.73 122.90 95.94 85.12 74.29 63.47 52.65 41.82 31.00 20.17 9.35 
5500 5600 138.13 127.30 100.34 89.52 78.69 67.87 57.05 46.22 35.40 24.57 13.75 
5600 5700 142.53 131.70 104.74 93.92 83.09 72.27 61.45 50.62 39.80 28.97 18.15 
5700 5800 148.14 137.32 109.14 98.32 87.49 76.67 65.85 55.02 44.20 33.37 22.55 

5800 5900 154.74 143.92 113.54 102.72 91.89 81.07 70.25 59.42 48.60 37.77 26.95 
5900 6000 161.34 150.52 117.94 107.12 96.29 85.47 74.65 63.82 53.00 42.17 31.35 
6000 6200 171.24 160.42 125.39 114.56 103.74 92.92 82.09 71.27 60.44 49.62 38.80 
6200 6400 184.44 173.62 138.59 127.76 116.94 106.12 95.29 84.47 73.64 62.82 52.00 
6400 6600 197.64 186.82 151.79 140.96 130.14 119.32 108.49 97.67 86.84 76.02 65.20 

6600 6800 210.84 200.02 164.99 154.16 143.34 132.52 121.69 110.87 100.04 89.22 78.40 
6800 7000 224.04 213.22 178.19 167.36 156.54 145.72 134.89 124.07 113.24 102.42 91.60 
7000 7200 237.24 226.42 191.39 180.56 169.74 158.92 148.09 137.27 126.44 115.62 104.80 
7200 7400 250.44 239.62 204.59 193.76 182.94 172.12 161.29 150.47 139.64 128.82 118.00 
7400 7600 263.64 252.82 217.79 206.96 196.14 185.32 174.49 163.67 152.84 142.02 131.20 

7600 7800 276.84 266.02 230.99 220.16 209.34 198.52 187.69 176.87 166.04 155.22 144.40 
7800 8000 293.06 282.24 244.19 233.36 222.54 211.72 200.89 190.07 179.24 168.42 157.60 
8000 8200 310.66 299.84 257.39 246.56 235.74 224.92 214.09 203.27 192.44 181.62 170.80 
8200 8400 328.26 317.44 274.34 263.51 252.69 241.87 231.04 220.22 209.39 198.57 187.75 
8400 8600 345.86 335.04 291.94 281.11 270.29 259.47 248.64 237.82 226.99 216.17 205.35 

8600 8900 367.86 357.04 313.94 303.11 292.29 281.47 270.64 259.82 248.99 238.17 227.35 
8900 9220 395.14 384.32 341.22 330.39 319.57 308.75 297.92 287.10 276.27 265.45 254.63 
9220 9620 426.82 416.00 372.90 362.07 351.25 340.43 329.60 318.78 307.95 297.13 286.31 
9620 10020 463.53 452.70 408.10 397.27 386.45 375.63 364.80 353.98 343.15 332.33 321.51 

10020 10420 504.45 493.62 445.28 434.45 423.63 412.81 401.98 391.16 380.33 369.51 358.69 

10420 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 1400 

1400 
1450 
1500 
1550 
1600 

1450 
1500 
1550 
1600 
1650 

7.61 
8.16 
8.71 
9.26 
9.81 

1650 
1700 
1750 
1800 
1850 

1700 
1750 
1800 
1850 
1900 

10.36 
10.91 
11.46 
12.01 
12.56 

0.08 
0.63 
1.18 
1.73 

1900 
1950 
2000 
2050 
2100 

1950 
2000 
2050 
2100 
2150 

13.11 
13.66 
14.21 
14.76 
15.31 

2.28 
2.83 
3.38 
3.93 
4.48 

2150 
2200 
2250 
2300 
2350 

2200 
2250 
2300 
2350 
2400 

16.05 
17.15 
18.25 
19.35 
20.45 

5.22 
6.32 
7.42 
8.52 
9.62 

2400 
2450 
2500 
2600 
2700 

2450 
2500 
2600 
2700 
2800 

21.55 
22.65 
24.30 
26.50 
28.70 

10.72 
11.82 
13.47 
15.67 
17.87 

1.00 
2.65 
4.85 
7.05 

2800 
2900 
3000 
3100 
3200 

2900 
3000 
3100 
3200 
3300 

30.90 
33.10 
35.30 
37.50 
39.70 

20.07 
22.27 
24.47 
26.67 
28.87 

9.25 
11.45 
13.65 
15.85 
18.05 

0.63 
2.83 
5.03 
7.23 

3300 
3400 
3500 
3600 
3700 

3400 
3500 
3600 
3700 
3800 

41.90 
44.10 
46.30 
48.50 
50.70 

31.07 
33.27 
35.47 
37.67 
39.87 

20.25 
22.45 
24.65 
26.85 
29.05 

9.43 
11.63 
13.83 
16.03 
18.23 

0.80 
3.00 
5.20 
7.40 

3800 
3900 
4000 
4100 
4200 

3900 
4000 
4100 
4200 
4300 

52.90 
55.10 
57.30 
60.39 
64.79 

42.07 
44.27 
46.47 
49.57 
53.97 

31.25 
33.45 
35.65 
38.74 
43.14 

20.43 
22.63 
24.83 
27.92 
32.32 

9.60 
11.80 
14.00 
17.09 
21.49 

0.98 
3.18 
6.27 

10.67 

4300 
4500 
4700 
4900 
5100 

4500 
4700 
4900 
5100 
5300 

71.39 
80.19 
88.99 
97.79 

109.11 

60.57 
69.37 
78.17 
86.97 
98.28 

49.74 
58.54 
67.34 
76.14 
87.46 

38.92 
47.72 
56.52 
65.32 
76.64 

28.09 
36.89 
45.69 
54.49 
65.81 

17.27 
26.07 
34.87 
43.67 
54.99 

6.45 
15.25 
24.05 
32.85 
44.16 

4.42 
13.22 
22.02 
33.34 

2.40 
11.20 
22.52 

0.37 
11.69 0.87 

5300 
5500 
5700 
5900 
6150 

5500 
5700 
5900 
6150 
6450 

122.31 
135.51 
148.71 
163.56 
185.68 

111.48 
124.68 
137.88 
152.73 
174.85 

100.66 
113.86 
127.06 
141.91 
164.03 

89.84 
103.04 
116.24 
131.09 
153.21 

79.01 
92.21 

105.41 
120.26 
142.38 

68.19 
81.39 
94.59 

109.44 
131.56 

57.36 
70.56 
83.76 
98.61 

120.73 

46.54 
59.74 
72.94 
87.79 

109.91 

35.72 
48.92 
62.12 
76.97 
99.09 

24.89 
38.09 
51.29 
66.14 
88.26 

14.07 
27.27 
40.47 
55.32 
77.44 

6450 
6750 
7050 

6750 
7050 
7350 

212.08 
238.48 
266.37 

201.25 
227.65 
255.55 

190.43 
216.83 
244.72 

179.61 
206.01 
233.90 

168.78 
195.18 
223.08 

157.96 
184.36 
212.25 

147.13 
173.53 
201.43 

136.31 
162.71 
190.60 

125.49 
151.89 
179.78 

114.66 
141.06 
168.96 

103.84 
130.24 
158.13 

7350 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $28 

28 
30 
32 
34 
36 

30 
32 
34 
36 
38 

0.13 
0.15 
0.18 
0.20 
0.22 

38 
40 
42 
44 
46 

40 
42 
44 
46 
48 

0.24 
0.26 
0.29 
0.31 
0.33 

48 
50 
54 
58 
62 

50 
54 
58 
62 
66 

0.35 
0.41 
0.50 
0.58 
0.67 

0.09 
0.18 

66 
70 
74 
78 
82 

70 
74 
78 
82 
86 

0.76 
0.85 
0.94 
1.02 
1.11 

0.27 
0.35 
0.44 
0.53 
0.62 

0.03 
0.12 

86 
90 
94 
98 

102 

90 
94 
98 

102 
106 

1.20 
1.29 
1.40 
1.58 
1.75 

0.71 
0.79 
0.91 
1.08 
1.26 

0.21 
0.30 
0.41 
0.59 
0.76 

0.09 
0.27 

106 
110 
114 
118 
122 

110 
114 
118 
122 
126 

1.93 
2.10 
2.28 
2.46 
2.63 

1.43 
1.61 
1.79 
1.96 
2.14 

0.94 
1.11 
1.29 
1.47 
1.64 

0.44 
0.62 
0.80 
0.97 
1.15 

0.12 
0.30 
0.48 
0.65 0.16 

126 
131 
136 
141 
146 

131 
136 
141 
146 
151 

2.83 
3.05 
3.27 
3.57 
3.90 

2.34 
2.56 
2.78 
3.07 
3.40 

1.84 
2.06 
2.28 
2.58 
2.91 

1.35 
1.57 
1.79 
2.08 
2.41 

0.85 
1.07 
1.29 
1.59 
1.92 

0.36 
0.58 
0.80 
1.09 
1.42 

0.08 
0.30 
0.60 
0.93 

0.10 
0.43 

151 
156 
161 
166 
171 

156 
161 
166 
171 
176 

4.23 
4.56 
4.89 
5.22 
5.55 

3.73 
4.06 
4.39 
4.72 
5.05 

3.24 
3.57 
3.90 
4.23 
4.56 

2.74 
3.07 
3.40 
3.73 
4.06 

2.25 
2.58 
2.91 
3.24 
3.57 

1.75 
2.08 
2.41 
2.74 
3.07 

1.26 
1.59 
1.92 
2.25 
2.58 

0.76 
1.09 
1.42 
1.75 
2.08 

0.27 
0.60 
0.93 
1.26 
1.59 

0.10 
0.43 
0.76 
1.09 

0.27 
0.60 

176 
181 
186 
196 
206 

181 
186 
196 
206 
216 

5.88 
6.21 
6.77 
7.65 
8.53 

5.38 
5.71 
6.28 
7.16 
8.04 

4.89 
5.22 
5.78 
6.66 
7.54 

4.39 
4.72 
5.29 
6.17 
7.05 

3.90 
4.23 
4.79 
5.67 
6.55 

3.40 
3.73 
4.30 
5.18 
6.06 

2.91 
3.24 
3.80 
4.68 
5.56 

2.41 
2.74 
3.31 
4.19 
5.07 

1.92 
2.25 
2.81 
3.69 
4.57 

1.42 
1.75 
2.32 
3.20 
4.08 

0.93 
1.26 
1.82 
2.70 
3.58 

216 
231 

231 
246 

9.63 
11.03 

9.14 
10.54 

8.64 
10.04 

8.15 
9.55 

7.65 
9.05 

7.16 
8.56 

6.66 
8.06 

6.17 
7.57 

5.67 
7.07 

5.18 
6.58 

4.68 
6.08 

246 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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MARRIED PERSONS----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 
LEAST THAN 

$1 $32 

0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 

8 9 10 
OR MORE 

32 
34 
36 
38 
40 

34 
36 
38 
40 
42 

0.18 
0.20 
0.22 
0.24 
0.26 

42 
44 
46 
48 
50 

44 
46 
48 
50 
52 

0.29 
0.31 
0.33 
0.35 
0.37 

52 
54 
56 
58 
60 

54 
56 
58 
60 
62 

0.40 
0.42 
0.44 
0.46 
0.48 

62 
64 
66 
68 
70 

64 
66 
68 
70 
72 

0.51 
0.53 
0.55 
0.57 
0.59 

0.01 
0.03 
0.06 
0.08 
0.10 

72 
74 
76 
78 
80 

74 
76 
78 
80 
82 

0.62 
0.64 
0.66 
0.68 
0.70 

0.12 
0.14 
0.17 
0.19 
0.21 

82 
84 
86 
88 
90 

84 
86 
88 
90 
92 

0.73 
0.77 
0.82 
0.86 
0.90 

0.23 
0.28 
0.32 
0.36 
0.41 

92 
94 
96 
98 

100 

94 
96 
98 

100 
102 

0.95 
0.99 
1.04 
1.08 
1.12 

0.45 
0.50 
0.54 
0.58 
0.63 

102 
104 
106 
108 
110 

104 
106 
108 
110 
112 

1.17 
1.21 
1.26 
1.30 
1.34 

0.67 
0.72 
0.76 
0.80 
0.85 

112 
114 
118 
122 
126 

114 
118 
122 
126 
130 

1.39 
1.45 
1.54 
1.63 
1.72 

0.89 
0.96 
1.05 
1.13 
1.22 

0.03 
0.09 
0.18 
0.27 
0.36 

130 
134 
138 
142 
146 

134 
138 
142 
146 
150 

1.81 
1.89 
1.98 
2.07 
2.16 

1.31 
1.40 
1.49 
1.57 
1.66 

0.44 
0.53 
0.62 
0.71 
0.80 

0.04 
0.12 
0.21 
0.30 

--- CONTINUED NEXT PAGE ---
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IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
150 
154 
158 
162 
166 

154 
158 
162 
166 
170 

2.25 
2.33 
2.42 
2.51 
2.60 

1.75 
1.84 
1.93 
2.01 
2.10 

0.88 
0.97 
1.06 
1.15 
1.24 

0.39 
0.48 
0.56 
0.65 
0.74 

0.07 
0.16 
0.25 

170 
174 
178 
182 
186 

174 
178 
182 
186 
190 

2.69 
2.84 
3.02 
3.19 
3.37 

2.19 
2.35 
2.52 
2.70 
2.87 

1.32 
1.41 
1.50 
1.59 
1.68 

0.83 
0.92 
1.00 
1.09 
1.18 

0.33 
0.42 
0.51 
0.60 
0.69 

0.01 
0.10 
0.19 

190 
195 
200 
205 
210 

195 
200 
205 
210 
215 

3.57 
3.79 
4.01 
4.23 
4.45 

3.07 
3.29 
3.51 
3.73 
3.95 

1.83 
2.05 
2.27 
2.49 
2.71 

1.34 
1.56 
1.78 
2.00 
2.22 

0.84 
1.06 
1.28 
1.50 
1.72 

0.35 
0.57 
0.79 
1.01 
1.23 

0.07 
0.29 
0.51 
0.73 

0.02 
0.24 

215 
220 
225 
230 
235 

220 
225 
230 
235 
240 

4.67 
4.89 
5.11 
5.33 
5.55 

4.17 
4.39 
4.61 
4.83 
5.05 

2.93 
3.15 
3.37 
3.59 
3.81 

2.44 
2.66 
2.88 
3.10 
3.32 

1.94 
2.16 
2.38 
2.60 
2.82 

1.45 
1.67 
1.89 
2.11 
2.33 

0.95 
1.17 
1.39 
1.61 
1.83 

0.46 
0.68 
0.90 
1.12 
1.34 

0.18 
0.40 
0.62 
0.84 

0.13 
0.35 

240 
245 
250 
255 
260 

245 
250 
255 
260 
265 

5.77 
5.99 
6.21 
6.43 
6.65 

5.27 
5.49 
5.71 
5.93 
6.15 

4.03 
4.25 
4.47 
4.69 
4.91 

3.54 
3.76 
3.98 
4.20 
4.42 

3.04 
3.26 
3.48 
3.70 
3.92 

2.55 
2.77 
2.99 
3.21 
3.43 

2.05 
2.27 
2.49 
2.71 
2.93 

1.56 
1.78 
2.00 
2.22 
2.44 

1.06 
1.28 
1.50 
1.72 
1.94 

0.57 
0.79 
1.01 
1.23 
1.45 

0.07 
0.29 
0.51 
0.73 
0.95 

265 
270 
275 
280 
285 

270 
275 
280 
285 
290 

6.97 
7.30 
7.63 
7.96 
8.29 

6.47 
6.80 
7.13 
7.46 
7.79 

5.13 
5.35 
5.57 
5.85 
6.18 

4.64 
4.86 
5.08 
5.36 
5.69 

4.14 
4.36 
4.58 
4.86 
5.19 

3.65 
3.87 
4.09 
4.37 
4.70 

3.15 
3.37 
3.59 
3.87 
4.20 

2.66 
2.88 
3.10 
3.38 
3.71 

2.16 
2.38 
2.60 
2.88 
3.21 

1.67 
1.89 
2.11 
2.39 
2.72 

1.17 
1.39 
1.61 
1.89 
2.22 

290 
300 
310 
320 
330 

300 
310 
320 
330 
340 

8.78 
9.44 

10.10 
10.76 
11.42 

8.29 
8.95 
9.61 

10.27 
10.93 

6.68 
7.34 
8.00 
8.66 
9.32 

6.18 
6.84 
7.50 
8.16 
8.82 

5.69 
6.35 
7.01 
7.67 
8.33 

5.19 
5.85 
6.51 
7.17 
7.83 

4.70 
5.36 
6.02 
6.68 
7.34 

4.20 
4.86 
5.52 
6.18 
6.84 

3.71 
4.37 
5.03 
5.69 
6.35 

3.21 
3.87 
4.53 
5.19 
5.85 

2.72 
3.38 
4.04 
4.70 
5.36 

340 
350 
360 
375 
390 

350 
360 
375 
390 
405 

12.08 
12.74 
13.76 
15.08 
16.40 

11.59 
12.25 
13.26 
14.58 
15.90 

9.98 
10.64 
11.46 
12.60 
13.92 

9.48 
10.14 
10.97 
12.10 
13.42 

8.99 
9.65 

10.47 
11.61 
12.93 

8.49 
9.15 
9.98 

11.11 
12.43 

8.00 
8.66 
9.48 

10.62 
11.94 

7.50 
8.16 
8.99 

10.12 
11.44 

7.01 
7.67 
8.49 
9.63 

10.95 

6.51 
7.17 
8.00 
9.13 

10.45 

6.02 
6.68 
7.50 
8.64 
9.96 

405 
425 
445 
465 

425 
445 
465 
485 

17.94 
19.70 
21.54 
23.59 

17.44 
19.20 
21.05 
23.09 

15.46 
17.22 
18.98 
20.87 

14.96 
16.72 
18.48 
20.37 

14.47 
16.23 
17.99 
19.88 

13.97 
15.73 
17.49 
19.38 

13.48 
15.24 
17.00 
18.89 

12.98 
14.74 
16.50 
18.39 

12.49 
14.25 
16.01 
17.90 

11.99 
13.75 
15.51 
17.40 

11.50 
13.26 
15.02 
16.91 

485 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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UNMARRIED HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD----DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD 

FOR WAGES PAID IN 2019 

IF WAGES ARE... AND THE NUMBER OF WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES CLAIMED IS... 

BUT 
AT LESS 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 
LEAST THAN OR MORE 

...THE AMOUNT OF INCOME TAX TO BE WITHHELD SHALL BE... 
$1 $56 

56 
58 
60 
62 
64 

58 
60 
62 
64 
66 

0.25 
0.28 
0.30 
0.32 
0.34 

66 
68 
70 
72 
74 

68 
70 
72 
74 
76 

0.36 
0.39 
0.41 
0.43 
0.45 

76 
78 
80 
82 
84 

78 
80 
82 
84 
86 

0.47 
0.50 
0.52 
0.54 
0.56 

0.02 
0.05 
0.07 

86 
88 
90 
92 
94 

88 
90 
92 
94 
96 

0.58 
0.61 
0.63 
0.65 
0.67 

0.09 
0.11 
0.13 
0.16 
0.18 

96 
100 
104 
108 
112 

100 
104 
108 
112 
116 

0.71 
0.77 
0.86 
0.95 
1.04 

0.21 
0.28 
0.37 
0.45 
0.54 0.05 

116 
121 
126 
131 
136 

121 
126 
131 
136 
141 

1.14 
1.25 
1.36 
1.47 
1.58 

0.64 
0.75 
0.86 
0.97 
1.08 

0.15 
0.26 
0.37 
0.48 
0.59 0.09 

141 
146 
151 
156 
161 

146 
151 
156 
161 
166 

1.69 
1.80 
1.91 
2.02 
2.13 

1.19 
1.30 
1.41 
1.52 
1.63 

0.70 
0.81 
0.92 
1.03 
1.14 

0.20 
0.31 
0.42 
0.53 
0.64 

0.04 
0.15 

166 
171 
176 
181 
186 

171 
176 
181 
186 
191 

2.24 
2.35 
2.46 
2.57 
2.68 

1.74 
1.85 
1.96 
2.07 
2.18 

1.25 
1.36 
1.47 
1.58 
1.69 

0.75 
0.86 
0.97 
1.08 
1.19 

0.26 
0.37 
0.48 
0.59 
0.70 

0.09 
0.20 

191 
196 
206 
216 
226 

196 
206 
216 
226 
236 

2.87 
3.20 
3.64 
4.08 
4.52 

2.37 
2.70 
3.14 
3.58 
4.02 

1.88 
2.21 
2.65 
3.09 
3.53 

1.38 
1.71 
2.15 
2.59 
3.03 

0.89 
1.22 
1.66 
2.10 
2.54 

0.39 
0.72 
1.16 
1.60 
2.04 

0.23 
0.67 
1.11 
1.55 

0.17 
0.61 
1.05 

0.12 
0.56 0.06 

236 
246 
256 
266 
281 

246 
256 
266 
281 
296 

5.09 
5.75 
6.41 
7.24 
8.35 

4.60 
5.26 
5.92 
6.74 
7.86 

4.10 
4.76 
5.42 
6.25 
7.36 

3.61 
4.27 
4.93 
5.75 
6.87 

3.11 
3.77 
4.43 
5.26 
6.37 

2.62 
3.28 
3.94 
4.76 
5.88 

2.12 
2.78 
3.44 
4.27 
5.38 

1.63 
2.29 
2.95 
3.77 
4.89 

1.13 
1.79 
2.45 
3.28 
4.39 

0.64 
1.30 
1.96 
2.78 
3.90 

0.14 
0.80 
1.46 
2.29 
3.40 

296 
311 
326 

311 
326 
341 

9.67 
10.99 
12.39 

9.18 
10.50 
11.90 

8.68 
10.00 
11.40 

8.19 
9.51 

10.91 

7.69 
9.01 

10.41 

7.20 
8.52 
9.92 

6.70 
8.02 
9.42 

6.21 
7.53 
8.93 

5.71 
7.03 
8.43 

5.22 
6.54 
7.94 

4.72 
6.04 
7.44 

341 and over (Use Method B - Exact Calculation Method) 
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METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD 

This method is based upon applying a given percentage to the wages (after deductions) which fall within a taxable 
income class, adding to this product the accumulated tax for all lower tax brackets; and then subtracting a tax credit 
based upon the number of allowances claimed on the Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 or DE 4). 
This method also takes into consideration the special treatment of additional allowances for estimated deductions. 

The steps in computing the amount of tax to be withheld are as follows: 

Step 1 Determine if the employee's gross wages are less than, or equal to, the amount shown in “TABLE 1 -
LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE.” If so, no income tax is required to be withheld. 

Step 2 If the employee claims any additional withholding allowances for estimated deductions on a DE 4 form, 
subtract the amount shown in “TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE” from the gross wages. 

Step 3 Subtract the standard deduction amount shown in “TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE” to 
arrive at the employee's taxable income. 

Step 4 Use "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE” for the payroll period and marital status to find the applicable line on 
which the taxable income is located. Perform the indicated calculations to arrive at the computed tax 
liability. 

Step 5 Subtract the tax credit shown in “TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE”* from the computed tax 
liability to arrive at the amount of tax to be withheld. 

* If the employee uses additional allowances claimed for estimated deductions, such allowances MUST NOT be used in the 
determination of tax credits to be subtracted. 

EXAMPLE A: Weekly earnings of $210, single, and claiming one withholding allowance on form W-4 or DE 4. 

Step 1 Earnings for the weekly payroll period are LESS than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME 
EXEMPTION TABLE" ($280); therefore, no income tax is to be withheld. 

EXAMPLE B: Biweekly earnings of $1,250, married, and claiming three withholding allowances, one of which is for estimated 
deductions. 

Step 1 Earnings for the biweekly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($1,121); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 

Step 2 Earnings for biweekly payroll period.......................... $1,250.00 
Subtract amount from "TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE."... -38.00 
Salaries and wages subject to withholding..................... $1,212.00 

Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE.".... -339.00 
Taxable income................................................ $873.00 

Step 4 Tax computation from "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE:” 
Entry covering $873 (over $656 but not over $1,560). 
• 2.2% amount over $656 (.022 x [$873 – $656])........ $4.77 
• Plus the marginal amount.................................. +7.22 
• Computed tax.............................................. 11.99 

Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE." 
for two regular withholding allowances.... ................. -9.98 
Net amount of tax to be withheld............................ $2.01 

NOTE: Table 5 provides a method comparable to the federal alternative method for percentage calculation of 
withholding. This method is a minor simplification of the exact calculation method described above in that 
the tax rate applies to the total taxable income with the excess amount subtracted. 
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METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD (CONTINUED) 

EXAMPLE C: Monthly earnings of $4,100 married, and claiming five withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4. 

Step 1 Earnings for the monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($2,429.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 

Earnings for monthly payroll period.......................... $4,100.00 
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed. 
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE”. -734.00 

Taxable income.............................................. $3,366.00 
Step 4 Tax computation from "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE:” 

• Entry covering $3,366 (over $1,424 but not over $3,376). 
• 2.2% of amount over $1,424 (.022 x [$3,366 - $1,424]). $42.72 
• Plus marginal tax amount................................... +15.66 
• Computed tax............................................... $58.38 

Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 – EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for 
five regular withholding allowances............................. -54.08 
Net amount of tax to be withheld........................... $4.30 

EXAMPLE D: Weekly earnings of $800, unmarried head of household, three withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4. 

Step 1 Earnings for the weekly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($561); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 

Earnings for weekly payroll period........................... $800.00 
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed. 
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE"... -169.00 

Taxable income .............................................. $631.00 
Step 4 Tax computation from "TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE:” 

• Entry covering $631 (over $329 but not over $779). 
• 2.2% of amount over $329 (.022 x [$631 - $329]). $6.64 
• Plus marginal tax amount................................... +3.62 
• Computed tax............................................... $10.26 

Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for 
three regular withholding allowances............................. -7.49 
Net amount of tax to be withheld............................. $2.77 

EXAMPLE E: Semi-monthly earnings of $1,800, married, and claiming four allowances on form W-4 or DE 4. 

Step 1 Earnings for the semi-monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($1,214); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 
Annualized wages and salary (24 x $1,800)................. $43,200.00 

Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed. 
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE."..... -8,808.00 

Taxable income................................................. $34,392.00 
Step 4 Tax computation from “TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE:” 

• Entry covering $34,392 (over $17,088 but not over $40,510). 
• 2.2% of amount over $34,392 (.022 x [$34,392 - $17,088]).... $380.69 
• Plus marginal tax amount.................................... +187.97 
• Computed annual tax......................................... $568.66 

Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for 
four regular withholding allowances............................... -519.20 
Annual amount of tax to be withheld............................ $49.46 
Divide by number of payroll periods in year (24)............... $2.06 

NOTE: Employers may determine the amount of income tax to be withheld for an annual payroll period and 
prorate the tax back to the payroll period. This method may be useful to employers who have employees 
being paid for more than one payroll period and want to conserve computer memory by storing only the 
annual tax rates, wage brackets, deduction values, and tax credits. 
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METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD (CONTINUED) 

EXAMPLE F: Annual earnings of $45,000, monthly pay period, married, and claiming four allowances on form W-4 or DE 4. 

Step 1 Earnings for the annual payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW 
INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($29,146); therefore, income tax should be withheld. 

Annualized wages and/or monthly salary (12 x $3,750)....... . $45,000.00 
Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated deduction allowance claimed. 
Step 3 Subtract amount from "TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE."..... -8,802.00 

Taxable income................................................. $36,198.00 
Step 4 Tax computation from “TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE:” 

• Entry covering $36,198 (over $17,088 but not over $40,510) 
• 2.2% of amount over $17,088 (.022 x [$36,198 - $17,088]).... $420.42 
• Plus marginal tax amount.................................... +187.97 
• Computed annual tax......................................... $608.39 

Step 5 Subtract amount from "TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE" for 
four regular withholding allowances............................... -519.20 
Annual amount of tax to be withheld............................ $89.19 
Divide by number of payroll periods in year (12).............. $7.43 

NOTE: Employers may determine the amount of income tax to be withheld for an annual payroll period and figure 
the tax for the payroll period. This method may be useful to employers who have employees being paid for a 
lump sum, or a yearly amount not withheld on; and want to conserve computer memory by storing only the 
annual tax rates, wage brackets, deduction values, and tax credits. 
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METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD 

TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE 

SINGLE, MARRIED 
DUAL INCOME MARRIED UNMARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH  ALLOWANCES ON DE 4 OR W-4 HEAD OF 

PAYROLL PERIOD MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS '0' OR '1' '2' OR MORE HOUSEHOLD 

WEEKLY $280 $280 $561 $561 
BIWEEKLY $561 $561 $1,121 $1,121 
SEMI-MONTHLY $607 $607 $1,214 $1,214 
MONTHLY $1,214 $1,214 $2,429 $2,429 
QUARTERLY $3,643 $3,643 $7,287 $7,287 
SEMI-ANNUAL $7,287 $7,287 $14,573 $14,573 
ANNUAL $14,573 $14,573 $29,146 $29,146 
DAILY/MISCELLANEOUS $56 $56 $112 $112 

TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE

  PAYROLL PERIOD 
ADDITIONAL 
WITHHOLDING BI- SEMI-       SEMI-       
ALLOWANCES * WEEKLY WEEKLY MONTHLY MONTHLY  QUARTERLY ANNUAL ANNUAL DAILY/MISC. 

1 $19 $38 $42 $83 $250 $500 $1,000 $4 
2 $38 $77 $83 $167 $500 $1,000 $2,000 $8 
3 $58 $115 $125 $250 $750 $1,500 $3,000 $12 
4 $77 $154 $167 $333 $1,000 $2,000 $4,000 $15 
5 $96 $192 $208 $417 $1,250 $2,500 $5,000 $19 
6 $115 $231 $250 $500 $1,500 $3,000 $6,000 $23 
7 $135 $269 $292 $583 $1,750 $3,500 $7,000 $27 
8 $154 $308 $333 $667 $2,000 $4,000 $8,000 $31 
9 $173 $346 $375 $750 $2,250 $4,500 $9,000 $35 

10** $192 $385 $417 $833 $2,500 $5,000 $10,000 $38 

* Number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed on Form DE 4 or W-4. 

** If the number of Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions claimed is greater than 10,
    multiply the amount shown for one Additional Allowance by the number claimed. 
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 METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD 

TABLE 3 - STANDARD DEDUCTION TABLE 

SINGLE, MARRIED 
DUAL INCOME MARRIED UNMARRIED 
OR MARRIED WITH  ALLOWANCES ON DE 4 OR W-4 HEAD OF

PAYROLL PERIOD MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS  '0' OR '1'  '2' OR MORE HOUSEHOLD 

WEEKLY $85 $85 $169 $169 
BIWEEKLY $169 $169 $339 $339 
SEMI-MONTHLY $183 $183 $367 $367 
MONTHLY $367 $367 $734 $734 
QUARTERLY $1,100 $1,100 $2,201 $2,201 
SEMI-ANNUAL $2,201 $2,201 $4,401 $4,401 
ANNUAL $4,401 $4,401 $8,802 $8,802 
DAILY/MISCELLANEOUS $17 $17 $34 $34 

 TABLE 4 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE TABLE

  PAYROLL PERIOD 
ALLOWANCES 
ON DE 4 OR BI- SEMI-     SEMI-   
W-4 WEEKLY WEEKLY MONTHLY MONTHLY QUARTERLY ANNUAL ANNUAL DAILY/MISC. 

0     $0.00     $0.00     $0.00     $0.00     $0.00     $0.00 $0.00     $0.00 
1 $2.50 $4.99 $5.41 $10.82 $32.45 $64.90 $129.80 $0.50 
2 $4.99 $9.98 $10.82 $21.63 $64.90 $129.80 $259.60 $1.00 
3 $7.49 $14.98 $16.23 $32.45 $97.35 $194.70 $389.40 $1.50 
4 $9.98 $19.97 $21.63 $43.27 $129.80 $259.60 $519.20 $2.00 
5 $12.48 $24.96 $27.04 $54.08 $162.25 $324.50 $649.00 $2.50 
6 $14.98 $29.95 $32.45 $64.90 $194.70 $389.40 $778.80 $3.00 
7 $17.47 $34.95 $37.86 $75.72 $227.15 $454.30 $908.60 $3.49 
8 $19.97 $39.94 $43.27 $86.53 $259.60 $519.20 $1,038.40 $3.99 
9 $22.47 $44.93 $48.68 $97.35 $292.05 $584.10 $1,168.20 $4.49 

10* $24.96 $49.92 $54.08 $108.17 $324.50 $649.00 $1,298.00 $4.99 

* If the number of allowances claimed exceeds 10, you may determine the amount of tax credit to be allowed by multiplying 
the amount for one allowance by the total number of allowances.

   For example, the amount of tax credit for a married taxpayer with 15 allowances, as determined on Form DE 4 or W-4, 
on a weekly payroll period would be $37.50 
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METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

 TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE 

ANNUAL PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

DAILY / MISCELLANEOUS PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER...

 PLUS 

$0 
$8,544 

$20,255 
$31,969 
$44,377 
$56,085 

$286,492 
$343,788 
$572,980 

$1,000,000 

$8,544 ... 
$20,255 ... 
$31,969 ... 
$44,377 ... 
$56,085 ... 

$286,492 ... 
$343,788 ... 
$572,980 ... 

$1,000,000 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 $0.00 
2.200% $8,544 $93.98 
4.400% $20,255 $351.62 
6.600% $31,969 $867.04 
8.800% $44,377 $1,685.97 

10.230% $56,085 $2,716.27 
11.330% $286,492 $26,286.91 
12.430% $343,788 $32,778.55 
13.530% $572,980 $61,267.12 
14.630% $1,000,000 $119,042.93 

$0 
$33 
$78 

$123 
$171 
$216 

$1,102 
$1,322 
$2,204 
$3,846 

$33 ... 
$78 ... 

$123 ... 
$171 ... 
$216 ... 

$1,102 ... 
$1,322 ... 
$2,204 ... 
$3,846 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$33 
$78 

$123 
$171 
$216 

$1,102 
$1,322 
$2,204 
$3,846 

$0.00 
$0.36 
$1.35 
$3.33 
$6.50 

$10.46 
$101.10 
$126.03 
$235.66 
$457.82 

MARRIED PERSONS MARRIED PERSONS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$17,088 
$40,510 
$63,938 
$88,754 

$112,170 
$572,984 
$687,576 

$1,000,000 
$1,145,961 

$17,088 ... 
$40,510 ... 
$63,938 ... 
$88,754 ... 

$112,170 ... 
$572,984 ... 
$687,576 ... 

$1,000,000 ... 
$1,145,961 ... 

and over … 

1.100% $0 $0.00 
2.200% $17,088 $187.97 
4.400% $40,510 $703.25 
6.600% $63,938 $1,734.08 
8.800% $88,754 $3,371.94 

10.230% $112,170 $5,432.55 
11.330% $572,984 $52,573.82 
12.430% $687,576 $65,557.09 
13.530% $1,000,000 $104,391.39 
14.630% $1,145,961 $124,139.90 

$0 
$66 

$156 
$246 
$342 
$432 

$2,204 
$2,644 
$3,846 
$4,408 

$66 ... 
$156 ... 
$246 ... 
$342 ... 
$432 ... 

$2,204 ... 
$2,644 ... 
$3,846 ... 
$4,408 ... 

and over … 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$66 

$156 
$246 
$342 
$432 

$2,204 
$2,644 
$3,846 
$4,408 

$0.00 
$0.73 
$2.71 
$6.67 

$13.01 
$20.93 

$202.21 
$252.06 
$401.47 
$477.51 

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$17,099 
$40,512 
$52,224 
$64,632 
$76,343 

$389,627 
$467,553 
$779,253 

$1,000,000 

$17,099 ... 
$40,512 ... 
$52,224 ... 
$64,632 ... 
$76,343 ... 

$389,627 ... 
$467,553 ... 
$779,253 ... 

$1,000,000 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 $0.00 
2.200% $17,099 $188.09 
4.400% $40,512 $703.18 
6.600% $52,224 $1,218.51 
8.800% $64,632 $2,037.44 

10.230% $76,343 $3,068.01 
11.330% $389,627 $35,116.96 
12.430% $467,553 $43,945.98 
13.530% $779,253 $82,690.29 
14.630% $1,000,000 $112,557.36 

$0 
$66 

$156 
$201 
$249 
$294 

$1,499 
$1,798 
$2,997 
$3,846 

$66 ... 
$156 ... 
$201 ... 
$249 ... 
$294 ... 

$1,499 ... 
$1,798 ... 
$2,997 ... 
$3,846 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$66 

$156 
$201 
$249 
$294 

$1,499 
$1,798 
$2,997 
$3,846 

$0.00 
$0.73 
$2.71 
$4.69 
$7.86 

$11.82 
$135.09 
$168.97 
$318.01 
$432.88 
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METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

 TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE 

QUARTERLY PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

SEMI-ANNUAL PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER...

PLUS 

$0 
$2,136 
$5,064 
$7,992 

$11,094 
$14,021 
$71,623 
$85,947 

$143,245 
$250,000 

$2,136 ... 
$5,064 ... 
$7,992 ... 

$11,094 ... 
$14,021 ... 
$71,623 ... 
$85,947 ... 

$143,245 ... 
$250,000 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 
2.200% $2,136 
4.400% $5,064 
6.600% $7,992 
8.800% $11,094 

10.230% $14,021 
11.330% $71,623 
12.430% $85,947 
13.530% $143,245 
14.630% $250,000 

$0.00 
$23.50 
$87.92 

$216.75 
$421.48 
$679.06 

$6,571.74 
$8,194.65 

$15,316.79 
$29,760.74 

$0 
$4,272 

$10,128 
$15,984 
$22,188 
$28,042 

$143,246 
$171,894 
$286,490 
$500,000 

$4,272 ... 
$10,128 ... 
$15,984 ... 
$22,188 ... 
$28,042 ... 

$143,246 ... 
$171,894 ... 
$286,490 ... 
$500,000 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 
2.200% $4,272 
4.400% $10,128 
6.600% $15,984 
8.800% $22,188 

10.230% $28,042 
11.330% $143,246 
12.430% $171,894 
13.530% $286,490 
14.630% $500,000 

$0.00 
$46.99 

$175.82 
$433.48 
$842.94 

$1,358.09 
$13,143.46 
$16,389.28 
$30,633.56 
$59,521.46 

MARRIED PERSONS MARRIED PERSONS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$4,272 

$10,128 
$15,984 
$22,188 
$28,042 

$143,246 
$171,894 
$250,000 
$286,490 

$4,272 ... 
$10,128 ... 
$15,984 ... 
$22,188 ... 
$28,042 ... 

$143,246 ... 
$171,894 ... 
$250,000 ... 
$286,490 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 
2.200% $4,272 
4.400% $10,128 
6.600% $15,984 
8.800% $22,188 

10.230% $28,042 
11.330% $143,246 
12.430% $171,894 
13.530% $250,000 
14.630% $286,490 

$0.00 
$46.99 

$175.82 
$433.48 
$842.94 

$1,358.09 
$13,143.46 
$16,389.28 
$26,097.86 
$31,034.96 

$0 
$8,544 

$20,256 
$31,968 
$44,376 
$56,084 

$286,492 
$343,788 
$500,000 
$572,980 

$8,544 ... 
$20,256 ... 
$31,968 ... 
$44,376 ... 
$56,084 ... 

$286,492 ... 
$343,788 ... 
$500,000 ... 
$572,980 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 
2.200% $8,544 
4.400% $20,256 
6.600% $31,968 
8.800% $44,376 

10.230% $56,084 
11.330% $286,492 
12.430% $343,788 
13.530% $500,000 
14.630% $572,980 

$0.00 
$93.98 

$351.64 
$866.97 

$1,685.90 
$2,716.20 

$26,286.94 
$32,778.58 
$52,195.73 
$62,069.92 

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$4,275 

$10,128 
$13,056 
$16,158 
$19,086 
$97,407 

$116,888 
$194,813 
$250,000 

$4,275 ... 
$10,128 ... 
$13,056 ... 
$16,158 ... 
$19,086 ... 
$97,407 ... 

$116,888 ... 
$194,813 ... 
$250,000 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 
2.200% $4,275 
4.400% $10,128 
6.600% $13,056 
8.800% $16,158 

10.230% $19,086 
11.330% $97,407 
12.430% $116,888 
13.530% $194,813 
14.630% $250,000 

$0.00 
$47.03 

$175.80 
$304.63 
$509.36 
$767.02 

$8,779.26 
$10,986.46 
$20,672.54 
$28,139.34 

$0 
$8,550 

$20,256 
$26,112 
$32,316 
$38,172 

$194,814 
$233,776 
$389,626 
$500,000 

$8,550 ... 
$20,256 ... 
$26,112 ... 
$32,316 ... 
$38,172 ... 

$194,814 ... 
$233,776 ... 
$389,626 ... 
$500,000 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% $0 
2.200% $8,550 
4.400% $20,256 
6.600% $26,112 
8.800% $32,316 

10.230% $38,172 
11.330% $194,814 
12.430% $233,776 
13.530% $389,626 
14.630% $500,000 

$0.00 
$94.05 

$351.58 
$609.24 

$1,018.70 
$1,534.03 

$17,558.51 
$21,972.90 
$41,345.06 
$56,278.66 
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METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD

 TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE 

SEMI-MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER...

PLUS 

$0 
$356 
$844 

$1,332 
$1,849 
$2,337 

$11,937 
$14,325 
$23,874 
$41,667 

$356 ... 
$844 ... 

$1,332 ... 
$1,849 ... 
$2,337 ... 

$11,937 ... 
$14,325 ... 
$23,874 ... 
$41,667 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$356 
$844 

$1,332 
$1,849 
$2,337 

$11,937 
$14,325 
$23,874 
$41,667 

$0.00 
$3.92 

$14.66 
$36.13 
$70.25 

$113.19 
$1,095.27 
$1,365.83 
$2,552.77 
$4,960.16 

$0 
$712 

$1,688 
$2,664 
$3,698 
$4,674 

$23,874 
$28,650 
$47,748 
$83,334 

$712 ... 
$1,688 ... 
$2,664 ... 
$3,698 ... 
$4,674 ... 

$23,874 ... 
$28,650 ... 
$47,748 ... 
$83,334 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$712 

$1,688 
$2,664 
$3,698 
$4,674 

$23,874 
$28,650 
$47,748 
$83,334 

$0.00 
$7.83 

$29.30 
$72.24 

$140.48 
$226.37 

$2,190.53 
$2,731.65 
$5,105.53 
$9,920.32 

MARRIED PERSONS MARRIED PERSONS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$712 

$1,688 
$2,664 
$3,698 
$4,674 

$23,874 
$28,650 
$41,667 
$47,748 

$712 ... 
$1,688 ... 
$2,664 ... 
$3,698 ... 
$4,674 ... 

$23,874 ... 
$28,650 ... 
$41,667 ... 
$47,748 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$712 

$1,688 
$2,664 
$3,698 
$4,674 

$23,874 
$28,650 
$41,667 
$47,748 

$0.00 
$7.83 

$29.30 
$72.24 

$140.48 
$226.37 

$2,190.53 
$2,731.65 
$4,349.66 
$5,172.42 

$0 
$1,424 
$3,376 
$5,328 
$7,396 
$9,348 

$47,748 
$57,300 
$83,334 
$95,496 

$1,424 ... 
$3,376 ... 
$5,328 ... 
$7,396 ... 
$9,348 ... 

$47,748 ... 
$57,300 ... 
$83,334 ... 
$95,496 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 $0.00 
$1,424 $15.66 
$3,376 $58.60 
$5,328 $144.49 
$7,396 $280.98 
$9,348 $452.76 

$47,748 $4,381.08 
$57,300 $5,463.32 
$83,334 $8,699.35 
$95,496 $10,344.87 

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$712 

$1,688 
$2,176 
$2,693 
$3,181 

$16,234 
$19,481 
$32,469 
$41,667 

$712 ... 
$1,688 ... 
$2,176 ... 
$2,693 ... 
$3,181 ... 

$16,234 ... 
$19,481 ... 
$32,469 ... 
$41,667 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$712 

$1,688 
$2,176 
$2,693 
$3,181 

$16,234 
$19,481 
$32,469 
$41,667 

$0.00 
$7.83 

$29.30 
$50.77 
$84.89 

$127.83 
$1,463.15 
$1,831.04 
$3,445.45 
$4,689.94 

$0 
$1,424 
$3,376 
$4,352 
$5,386 
$6,362 

$32,468 
$38,962 
$64,938 
$83,334 

$1,424 ... 
$3,376 ... 
$4,352 ... 
$5,386 ... 
$6,362 ... 

$32,468 ... 
$38,962 ... 
$64,938 ... 
$83,334 ... 

and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$1,424 
$3,376 
$4,352 
$5,386 
$6,362 

$32,468 
$38,962 
$64,938 
$83,334 

$0.00 
$15.66 
$58.60 

$101.54 
$169.78 
$255.67 

$2,926.31 
$3,662.08 
$6,890.90 
$9,379.88 
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METHOD B---EXACT CALCULATION METHOD 

TABLE 5 - TAX RATE TABLE 

WEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED,
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS

BIWEEKLY PAYROLL PERIOD 
  SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIED, 
  OR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS...

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER...

PLUS 

$0 
$164 
$390 
$615 
$853 

$1,079 
$5,509 
$6,611 

$11,019 
$19,231 

$164 ... 
$390 ... 
$615 ... 
$853 ... 

$1,079 ... 
$5,509 ... 
$6,611 ... 

$11,019 ... 
$19,231 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$164 
$390 
$615 
$853 

$1,079 
$5,509 
$6,611 

$11,019 
$19,231 

$0.00 
$1.80 
$6.77 

$16.67 
$32.38 
$52.27 

$505.46 
$630.32 

$1,178.23 
$2,289.31 

$0 
$328 
$780 

$1,230 
$1,706 
$2,158 

$11,018 
$13,222 
$22,038 
$38,462 

$328 ... 
$780 ... 

$1,230 ... 
$1,706 ... 
$2,158 ... 

$11,018 ... 
$13,222 ... 
$22,038 ... 
$38,462 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$328 
$780 

$1,230 
$1,706 
$2,158 

$11,018 
$13,222 
$22,038 
$38,462 

$0.00 
$3.61 

$13.55 
$33.35 
$64.77 

$104.55 
$1,010.93 
$1,260.64 
$2,356.47 
$4,578.64 

MARRIED PERSONS MARRIED PERSONS 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$328 
$780 

$1,230 
$1,706 
$2,158 

$11,018 
$13,222 
$19,231 
$22,038 

$328 ... 
$780 ... 

$1,230 ... 
$1,706 ... 
$2,158 ... 

$11,018 ... 
$13,222 ... 
$19,231 ... 
$22,038 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$328 
$780 

$1,230 
$1,706 
$2,158 

$11,018 
$13,222 
$19,231 
$22,038 

$0.00 
$3.61 

$13.55 
$33.35 
$64.77 

$104.55 
$1,010.93 
$1,260.64 
$2,007.56 
$2,387.35 

$0 
$656 

$1,560 
$2,460 
$3,412 
$4,316 

$22,036 
$26,444 
$38,462 
$44,076 

$656 ... 
$1,560 ... 
$2,460 ... 
$3,412 ... 
$4,316 ... 

$22,036 ... 
$26,444 ... 
$38,462 ... 
$44,076 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$656 

$1,560 
$2,460 
$3,412 
$4,316 

$22,036 
$26,444 
$38,462 
$44,076 

$0.00 
$7.22 

$27.11 
$66.71 

$129.54 
$209.09 

$2,021.85 
$2,521.28 
$4,015.12 
$4,774.69 

UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD UNMARRIED/HEAD OF HOUSEHOLD 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

IF THE TAXABLE 
INCOME IS... THE COMPUTED TAX IS... 

OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS OVER BUT NOT 
OVER 

OF AMOUNT 
OVER... 

PLUS 

$0 
$329 
$779 

$1,004 
$1,243 
$1,468 
$7,493 
$8,991 

$14,986 
$19,231 

$329 ... 
$779 ... 

$1,004 ... 
$1,243 ... 
$1,468 ... 
$7,493 ... 
$8,991 ... 

$14,986 ... 
$19,231 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$329 
$779 

$1,004 
$1,243 
$1,468 
$7,493 
$8,991 

$14,986 
$19,231 

$0.00 
$3.62 

$13.52 
$23.42 
$39.19 
$58.99 

$675.35 
$845.07 

$1,590.25 
$2,164.60 

$0 
$658 

$1,558 
$2,008 
$2,486 
$2,936 

$14,986 
$17,982 
$29,972 
$38,462 

$658 ... 
$1,558 ... 
$2,008 ... 
$2,486 ... 
$2,936 ... 

$14,986 ... 
$17,982 ... 
$29,972 ... 
$38,462 ... 
and over ... 

1.100% 
2.200% 
4.400% 
6.600% 
8.800% 

10.230% 
11.330% 
12.430% 
13.530% 
14.630% 

$0 
$658 

$1,558 
$2,008 
$2,486 
$2,936 

$14,986 
$17,982 
$29,972 
$38,462 

$0.00 
$7.24 

$27.04 
$46.84 
$78.39 

$117.99 
$1,350.71 
$1,690.16 
$3,180.52 
$4,329.22 
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E-FILE AND E-PAY MANDATE 

California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to electronically 
submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development 
Department (EDD). Depending on the number of employees, the requirement was phased-in as follows: 
• January 1, 2017 - Employers with 10 or more employees are required to electronically submit employment 

tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits. 
• January 1, 2018 - All remaining employers are required to electronically file and pay. 

Benefits of Electronic Filing and Payment 
• Increases data accuracy. 
• Protects data through encryption. 
• Reduces paper and mailing cost. 
• Eliminates lost mail. 

Penalty 

Paper Submittal Penalty 

Tax Return: $50 per return 
•  Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) 
•  Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE 3HW) 
•  Quarterly Contribution Return (DE 3D) 

Wage Report: $20 per wage item 
•  Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) 
•  Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings  

(DE 3BHW) 

Payroll Tax Deposit: 15% of amount due 
•  Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) 

Waiver 
Employers may request a waiver from the mandate due to lack of automation, severe economic hardship, 
current exemption from the federal government, or other good cause. The E-file and E-pay Mandate Waiver 
Request (DE 1245W) can be downloaded from www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1245w.pdf, ordered online 
at www.edd.ca.gov/forms, or obtained by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
Instructions and mailing address are on the waiver request form. 

For more information about the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties, visit 
www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate. 

Enroll in e-Services for Business to help you meet the requirements 
of the e-file and e-pay mandate. 

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business 
Fast, easy, and secure! 
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ONLINE SERVICES 

e-Services for Business 

e-Services for Business allows employers and employer representatives/payroll agents to manage employer payroll tax 
accounts online at no cost. With a simple one-time enrollment, e-Services for Business can be used to electronically 
submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business 
Fast, easy, and secure! 

Features: 
• Register for an employer payroll tax account number. 
• File, adjust, and print returns/reports. 
• Make payments. 
• View and update account information. 
• Close or re-open an employer payroll tax account. 
• View notices and letters regarding registration, payments, returns, 

and more. 

• File a Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34).* 

• File a Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542).* 

Benefits: 
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers. 
• No cost to enroll and use. 
• Provides confirmation when your return, report, or payment is received. 
• Saves time by saving basic account information for future transactions. 
• Reduces paper and mailing cost. 

*The DE 34 and DE 542 may be filed from 5 a.m. to 12 midnight, Pacific Time, 7 days a week. All other services on 
this page may be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

Additional e-Services for Business Information 

View tutorials on how to: View answers to frequently asked questions about: 

• Enroll for a username and password. 
• Register for an employer payroll tax account 

number. 
• File an employment tax return/wage report. 
• Make a payroll tax deposit. 
• And more. 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 
e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm 

• Recovering username and/or resetting password. 
• Handling lock-outs. 
• Updating account information. 
• Closing or reopening an employer payroll tax 

account. 
• And more. 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 
FAQ_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 50 of 120 

www.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/FAQ_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/FAQ_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm


  
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

ONLINE SERVICES (cont.) 

Taxpayer Assistance Center 
1-888-745-3886 

Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

e-Services for Business Tutorials and User Guide 

The EDD has created tutorials so employers, agents, and representatives can become familiar with e-Services for 
Business. These tutorials are available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm. 

The e-Services for Business User Guide (DE 160) available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de160.pdf provides 
detailed step-by-step instructions on how to complete common tasks within e-Services for Business such as, creating 
a username and password, filing a tax return and wage report, making a payroll tax deposit, and more. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) 

For answers to frequently asked questions regarding our electronic services, such as filing returns and reports, 
making payments, bulk transfer options, and more, visit 
http://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/FAQ_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm. 

For more information regarding the e-Services for Business programs, visit e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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REQUIRED FORMS 

Under California law, you are required to report specific information periodically or upon notification or request. 
Timely filing of the required forms will avoid penalty and interest charges. In addition, it will enable the Employment 
Development Department (EDD) to pay Unemployment Insurance, State Disability Insurance, and Paid Family Leave 
benefits. Timely filing also assists the California Department of Child Support Services and the Department of Justice 
in the collection of delinquent child support obligations. 

The required reporting forms are: 
• Report of New Employee(s) (DE 34) 
• Report of Independent Contractor(s) (DE 542) 
• Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) 
• Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) 
• Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) 
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REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S) (DE 34) 
Overview 

All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired employees to the New Employee 
Registry (NER) within 20 days of their start-of-work date, which is the first day services were performed for 
wages. 
• NEWLY HIRED employees are those individuals who have not previously been included on your payroll. 
• REHIRED employees are those individuals who were previously included on your payroll, left your employment, 
and were rehired after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days. 

If you acquire an ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s workers, these employees are considered 
new hires, and you should report them to the EDD’s NER. The NER assists California’s Department of Child Support 
Services and Department of Justice in locating parents to collect delinquent child support payments. Employers must 
also report the actual start-of-work date (not the date hired) for each newly hired or rehired employee so that the 
NER data can be cross-matched to the Unemployment Insurance  (UI) benefit payment file. This will result in the early 
detection and prevention of UI benefit overpayments. 

Filing Options for Reporting New or Rehired Employees: 
1.  File online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It’s fast, easy, and secure. 
2.  Download the DE 34 form online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf. 
3.  Order DE 34 forms using the EDD online order form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms. 

When Due: You must report all newly hired or rehired employees within 20 days of the start-of-work date. If an 
employee returns to work after a layoff or leave of absence and is required to complete a new IRS Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4), you must report the employee as a new hire. If the returning employee 
had been separated or removed from payroll records for at least 60 consecutive days, then you need to report the 
employee as a rehire. 

The following information must be included when reporting new employees: 

Employer Information Employee Information 

•  EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account number •  First name, middle initial, and last name 
(if applicable) •  Social Security number

•  Federal employer identification number (FEIN) •  Home address 
•  Business name •  Start-of-work date 
•  Business address 
•  Contact person and phone number 

Refer to sample DE 34 form on page 54. 
Filing an Informal Report
If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the employee’s Form W-4 to 
avoid penalty and interest charges. Your informal report must include all the information listed in the table above. 
Mail or fax your new employee information to: 

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
PO Box 997016 
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 
Fax: 1-916-319-4400 

Employers who hire employees in more than one state may elect to electronically report all newly hired employees to 
one state in which they have employees. Multistate employers who choose to file to one state must notify the Office 
of Child Support Enforcement at
www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/ocse-multistate-employer-registration-contacts. 
You can file online using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It’s fast, easy, 
and secure. IF YOU FILE ELECTRONICALLY, DO NOT FILE A PAPER DE 34. For additional information on new 
employee electronic filing, refer to the Electronic Filing Guide for the New Employee Registry Program (DE 340) 
available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de340.pdf, the NER FAQs at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_new_employee_registry.htm, or contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY 

DE 34 Rev. 10 (3-17) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 2  MAIL TO:  Employment Development Department / PO Box 997016, MIC 96  CU 
West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 or fax to 916-319-4400

   REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S) 
NOTE:  Failure to provide all of the information below may result in 
           this form being rejected and/or a penalty being assessed. 

ADDRESS STREET STATE ZIP CODECITY 

BUSINESS NAME CONTACT PERSON PHONE NUMBER 

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME 

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME 

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME 

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME 

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME 

STREET NAMESTREET NUMBER UNIT/APTSOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

CITY ZIP CODESTATE START-OF-WORK DATE 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

EMPLOYEE FIRST NAME MI EMPLOYEE LAST NAME 

FEDERAL ID NUMBERDATE CA EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER 

M  M  D  D Y Y 

BRANCH CODE 

00340600 

030719 00000000 xxxxxxxxx 

EMPLOYER CITY STORE JANE SMITH 123-555-7789 

PO BOX 12345 ANYTOWN CA 12345 

E MILLER 

CEDAR STREET 

CA 12345 022619 

e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
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REPORT OF INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S) (DE 542) 
Overview 

Any business or government entity that is required to file a federal Form 1099-MISC for personal services
performed must also report specific information to the Employment Development Department (EDD)
regarding any independent contractor providing services to you or your business.  The Independent Contractor 
Reporting (ICR) information assists California’s Department of Child Support Services and Department of Justice 
in locating parents for the purpose of collecting delinquent child support payments. An independent contractor is an 
individual who is not a common law or statutory employee of a business/government entity for California purposes 
and who receives compensation for, or executes a contract for, services performed for a business/government entity, 
either in or outside of California. 

Filing Options for Reporting Independent Contractors: 
1.  File online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. It’s fast, easy, and secure. 
2.  Download the DE 542 form online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542.pdf. 
3.  Order DE 542 forms using the EDD online order form at www.edd.ca.gov/forms. 

When Due: Independent contractor information must be reported to the EDD within 20 days of EITHER making 
payments totaling $600 or more, OR entering into a contract for $600 or more with an independent contractor in any 
calendar year, whichever occurs first. This is in addition to your requirement to report the total annual payments to 
the Internal Revenue Service on a Form 1099-MISC after the close of the calendar year. 

The following information must be included when reporting independent contractors: 

Business or Government Entity Independent Contractor 
(Service-Recipient) Information (Service-Provider) Information 

•  Federal employer identification number (FEIN) •  First name, middle initial, and last name (do not 
•  EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account use company name) 

number (if applicable) •  Social Security number (do not use FEIN) 
•  Social Security number (if no FEIN number or •  Address 

eight-digit EDD employer payroll tax account •  Start date of contract 
number) •  Amount of contract (including cents) 

•  Business or government entity name, address,   and phone number • Contract expiration date or check box if the 
contract is ongoing 

•  Contact person 

Refer to sample DE 542 on page 56. 

Filing an Informal Report
If you are not able to obtain a DE 542 by the due date, you may file an informal report to avoid penalty and interest 
charges. Your informal report must include all the information listed in the table above. 

Mail or fax your independent contractor information to: 

Employment Development Department
Document Management Group, MIC 96
PO Box 997350 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7350 

Fax: 1-916-319-4410 

If you are reporting a large number of independent contractors, we encourage you to send the information 
electronically. You can file online using e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. IF 
YOU FILE ELECTRONICALLY, DO NOT FILE A PAPER DE 542. For additional information on ICR electronic filing, 
refer to the Electronic Filing Guide for the Independent Contractor Reporting Program (DE 542M) at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542m.pdf, the ICR FAQs at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542faq.pdf, online 
at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_independent_contractor_reporting.htm, or by contacting the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY 

REPORT OF 
INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S) 05420101See detailed instructions on reverse side. Please type or print. 

SERVICE-RECIPIENT (BUSINESS OR GOVERNMENT ENTITY): 
DATE FEDERAL ID NUMBER

032119 XXXXXXXXX 

CA EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER 

00000000 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

XXXXXXXX 

SERVICE-RECIPIENT NAME / BUSINESS NAME 

EMPLOYER CITY STORE 

CONTACT PERSON 

JANE SMITH 

ADDRESS 

e-Services for Business at 

PHONE NUMBER 

123 555-7899 

CITY 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

STATE              ZIP CODE 

CA 12345 

SERVICE-PROVIDER  (INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR): 

FIRST NAME MI LAST NAME 

START  DATE  OF CONTRACT CONTRACT EXPIRATION DATE CHECK HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOING 

CHECK HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOING 

CHECK HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOING 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT 

ZIP CODE STATE CITY 

FIRST NAME MI LAST NAME 

START  DATE  OF CONTRACT CONTRACT EXPIRATION DATE 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT 

ZIP CODE STATE CITY 

FIRST NAME MI LAST NAME 

START  DATE  OF CONTRACT CONTRACT EXPIRATION DATE 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER STREET NUMBER STREET NAME UNIT/APT 

ZIP CODE STATE CITY 

M M D D Y Y 

M M D D Y Y 

M M D D Y Y 

M M D D Y Y 

M M D D Y Y 

M M D D Y Y 

AMOUNT OF CONTRACT 

AMOUNT OF CONTRACT 

AMOUNT OF CONTRACT 

, 

, 

, 

, 

, 

, 

. 

. 

. 

MAIL TO:  Employment Development Department • PO Box 997350, MIC 96 • Sacramento, CA 95899-7350  
or Fax to 916-319-4410 

DE 542 Rev. 9 (6-17) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 2 

HENRY A KENNEDY 

000000000 HILLCREST DRIVE 

ANYCITY CA 12345 

030719 1000.00 062719 

2954 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) 

Overview 

The Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) is used to report and pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training 
Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax withholding, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding to the EDD. 
Employers can enroll and use e-Services for Business immediately to make deposits. 

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime. 

Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 
•  As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits. Refer to  page 49 for  

additional information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties.  
•  Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate. 
•  Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online. 
•  Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
•  Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business through  

a third-party access. 
•  For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to  page 50. 

Enroll in e-Services for Business today at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

When Due: 

•  If you do not withhold PIT or if accumulated PIT withholdings are less than $350, taxes (UI, ETT, SDI, and 
PIT) are due each quarter on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1. 

•  If PIT withholdings are $350 or more, SDI and PIT may need to be deposited more often. Refer to 
page 59  for the California Deposit Requirements table. 

•  Refer to  page 60 for additional deposit information and due dates. 

NOTE: A penalty of 15 percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments. 

Your online e-Services for Business account has your UI, ETT, and SDI tax rates available. 

For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside of the U.S. or 
Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

File online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.) 
Withholding Deposits 

As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to page 49 for 
information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties. Employers can enroll and use
e-Services for Business immediately to submit a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) electronically. Although employer
contributions of Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Employment Training Tax (ETT) are due quarterly, withholdings
from employees’ wages for State Disability Insurance (SDI) and California Personal Income Tax (PIT) may need to be
deposited more often. The SDI and PIT deposit due dates are based on each employer’s federal deposit schedule/
requirement and the amount of accumulated PIT the employer has withheld. Details are provided below and in the
table on page 61. For information on federal deposit schedules, download the IRS Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication
15, Circular E) from the IRS website at www.irs.gov or contact the IRS at 1-800-829-3676. 
A penalty of 15 percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments. 

CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS 

CALIFORNIA  
DEPOSIT REQUIREMENT DEFINITION 
SCHEDULE 
Next-Day You are required to make next-day SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal next-

day deposits AND you accumulate more than $500* in California PIT during one or more payroll 
periods. If you accumulate $350 to $500* in PIT during one or more pay periods, refer to
Monthly requirements below. 
The next-day deposit schedule requires deposits to be made by the next business day. Business 
days do not include Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays. 

Semiweekly You are required to make semiweekly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
semiweekly deposits AND you accumulate more than $500* in California PIT during one or more 
payroll periods. If you accumulate $350 to $500* in PIT during one or more pay periods, refer
to monthly requirements below. 
The semiweekly deposit schedule requires deposits for paydays on Wednesday, Thursday, and 
Friday to be made by the following Wednesday. For paydays on Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or 
Tuesday, deposits must be made by the following Friday. 
Semiweekly depositors always have three business days after the end of the semiweekly period to
make a deposit. If any of the three business days after the end of the semiweekly period is a legal
holiday, you will have an additional business day to make your deposit. 

Monthly You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
annual, quarterly, or monthly deposits AND you accumulate $350 or more in California PIT during 
one or more months of a quarter. 
Monthly deposits are due by the 15th day of the following month. If the 15th is a Saturday, Sunday, 
or legal holiday, the last timely date would be the next business day. 
You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
semiweekly or next-day deposits and you accumulate $350 to $500* in California PIT during
one or more months of a quarter. 

Quarterly Quarterly tax payments are due and delinquent on the same dates as the Quarterly Contribution Return 
and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). Refer to the monthly deposit schedule if you are a quarterly 
depositor but accumulate $350 or more in California PIT during one or more months of the quarter. 
Employer contributions for UI and ETT are due quarterly. However, they may be submitted more 
often with any required SDI and PIT deposits. 

*California PIT deposit threshold may be adjusted annually. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.) 
Withholding Deposits 

California Deposit Requirements 
If Your Federal 

Deposit 
Schedule/ 

Requirement Is1 

And You Have 
Accumulated 

State PIT 
Withholding Of 

If Pay Date Is PIT and SDI Deposit 
Due By2 

California “Deposit 
Schedule” to 
indicate on 
the DE 88 

Next-Day Less than $350 Any payday April 30, 2019 
July 31, 2019 

October 31, 2019 
January 31, 2020 

Quarterly 

$350 to $500 Any payday 15th of the following month Monthly 

More than $500 Any payday Next business day Next-Day 

Semiweekly Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly3 

April 30, 2019 
July 31, 2019 

October 31, 2019 
January 31, 2020 

Quarterly 

$350 to $500 Any payday 15th of the following month Monthly 

More than $500 Wed., Thurs., or Fri. Following Wednesday7 Semiweekly 

More than $500 Sat., Sun., Mon., 
or Tues. 

Following Friday7 Semiweekly 

Monthly Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly3 

April 30, 2019 
July 31, 2019 

October 31, 2019 
January 31, 2020 

Quarterly 

$350 or more Any payday 15th of the following month Monthly 

Quarterly4,5 or 
Annually6 

Less than $350 Any payday April 30, 2019 
July 31, 2019 

October 31, 2019 
January 31, 2020 

Quarterly 

$350 or more Any payday 15th of the following month Monthly 

1 Electronic payment transactions for next-day deposits must be settled* in the state’s bank account on or before the third business day 
following the payroll date. *Refer to page 114 for a definition of settlement date. 

2 If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. For example, if a deposit is due on 
Friday, but Friday is a holiday, the deposit due date is extended to the following Monday. 

3 If you have accumulated less than $350 of PIT and you choose to make an additional deposit before the quarterly due date, designate the 
“DEPOSIT SCHEDULE” as QUARTERLY on your DE 88. 

4 If you are not required to follow one of the above federal deposit schedules/requirements, you are still required to make California payroll tax 
deposits of accumulated SDI deductions and PIT withholding quarterly or more often based on the guidelines in this table. 

5 A deposit of employer UI and ETT taxes and any accumulated SDI and PIT withholdings not previously paid MUST BE DEPOSITED EACH 
QUARTER by the due dates shown. 

6 If your federal deposit schedule/requirement is annually, you are required to make California payroll tax deposits quarterly or monthly based 
on the guidelines in this table.

7 The transition period of the semiweekly schedule allows employers to make a deposit in any of the three business days following the last pay 
date. If any of the transition period days is a legal holiday, you are given an extra business day to make your deposit. 

Note: As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.) 
Withholding Deposits 

REMINDERS: 

• Once you make a next-day deposit to the IRS, your federal deposit schedule automatically becomes 
semiweekly for the remainder of that calendar year and all of the following calendar year. 

• Semiweekly depositors always have three business days after the end of the semiweekly period to make 
a deposit. If any of the three weekdays after the end of a semiweekly period is a holiday, you will have one 
additional business day to deposit. 

• To ensure your DE 88 credit card payment is timely, you must use the same due dates as shown on the 
schedule on page 61. 

• As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax 
deposits to the EDD. Electronic payment transactions for quarterly deposits must settle into the state’s bank account 
on or before the business day following the last timely date. For the timely settlement dates, refer to page 61. 
Additional electronic payment options are available online at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/File_and_Pay.htm. 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.) 
Due Dates for Quarterly Tax Deposits 

Using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
EFT transactions, regardless of the method of transmission (e-Services for Business, vendor, or Federal/State 
Employment Taxes program), for quarterly Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State
Disability Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding payments must settle in the state’s bank 
account on or before the timely settlement date. Refer to the last column in the table below for specific settlement
dates. 

2019 Quarterly Payment Table 

Reporting Period Taxes Due Last Timely Date 
(initiate on or before) 

Timely Settlement 
Date 

January, February, March April 1, 2019 April 30, 2019 May 1, 2019 

April, May, June July 1, 2019 July 31, 2019 August 1, 2019 

July, August, September October 1, 2019 October 31, 2019 November 1, 2019 

October, November, December January 1, 2020 January 31, 2020 February 1, 2020 

To ensure timely settlement of your electronic payments, please note: 
• EFT Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit transactions must be completed before 3 p.m., Pacific Time, 

on or before the last timely date to ensure a timely settlement date. 
• The EFT ACH credit transactions are processed based on individual bank requirements. Ask your bank what 

day you should report your payment to ensure a timely settlement date. 

Using a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) Coupon
As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to page 49 for 
additional information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties. Employers who have
an approved e-file and e-pay mandate waiver can mail your tax payments with a DE 88 to the EDD. A penalty of 15 
percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments. The filing due dates and delinquency dates
for 2019 quarterly payroll tax deposits are: 

Reporting Period Filing Due Date Delinquent if Not Paid By 
January, February, March April 1, 2019 April 30, 2019 

April, May, June July 1, 2019 July 31, 2019 

July, August, September October 1, 2019 October 31, 2019 

October, November, December January 1, 2020 January 31, 2020 

Late Deposit, Penalty, and Interest 
When tax payments are remitted electronically, the settlement date is used to determine timeliness. When your tax 
payments are mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine timeliness. If the last timely filing date falls
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is considered to be the last timely date. A penalty of 
15 percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments. The interest rate is reestablished every six
months. Refer to the interest table online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/interest_rate.htm. 

NOTE: If you do not make timely payments, you will receive a Statement of Account (DE 2176) that provides details
of the delinquent balance due. If the delinquency is not paid, a tax lien may be issued. If a tax lien is issued, it will be
recorded at the county recorder’s office. Tax lien information is a matter of public record after it is recorded. 

Penalty for Failure to Deposit Payroll Taxes 
Employers are required to withhold payroll taxes and send them to the EDD. Any person or employer who fails to do 
this, even by mistake, can be charged with a misdemeanor. If convicted, the person or employer can be fined up to 
$1,000 or sentenced to jail for up to one year, or both, at the discretion of the court. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.) 

Correcting Previously Submitted Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) 
Deposits can be corrected online through e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business 
even if the deposit was made using another electronic payment method or a paper DE 88 coupon. 

The following tables clarify when to notify the EDD of adjustments and how to make them. 

Correcting 
a Payroll 
Tax Deposit 
(DE 88) 

Reason for Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment Form to Use 
Overpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or 

PIT on a DE 88 prior to 
filing your Quarterly 
Contribution Return and 
Report of Wages (DE 9). 

On the next DE 88 (for the same 
calendar quarter), reduce the 
amount of taxes due by the 
amount of the overpayment. Do 
not show credits on the DE 88. 

DE 88 (DO NOT 
use a Quarterly 
Contribution and 
Wage Adjustment 
Form [DE 9ADJ]) 

Overpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
on a DE 88 prior to filing 
your DE 9, and you cannot 
reduce the overpayment on 
your next deposit within the 
quarter. 

Claim refund on Line J when you 
file your DE 9 for the quarter. Do 
not apply overpayment to another 
quarter. 

File DE 9 at the 
end of the quarter. 
(DO NOT use a 
9ADJ.) 

Over- PIT and: DO NOT: None 
withheld • DE 9 was filed. 

• Form W-2 was issued 
to the employee. 

• DE 9C was filed. 

• Refund PIT overwithholding 
to the employee, 

• Change the California PIT 
withholding amount shown on 
the Form W-2, or 

• File a claim for refund with 
the EDD. 

The employee will receive a credit 
for the PIT overwithholding when 
filing a California State income 
tax return with the Franchise Tax 
Board (FTB). 

Underpaid UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT Submit a DE 88 for the additional DE 88 (DO NOT 
prior to filing your DE 9. amount due, including penalty and 

interest. Indicate the payroll date 
on the DE 88. 

use a DE 9ADJ.) 

Overpaid/ Provided incorrect UI, ETT, File a DE 9ADJ with correct Complete the 
Underpaid SDI, and/or PIT information 

on DE 9. 
information. NOTE: If taxes are 
due, make a payment for tax 
amount plus penalty and interest, 
if any, with the DE 9ADJ. 

DE 9ADJ, 
Sections I, II, and 
III, with the correct 
information. 

Allocated the wrong amounts to specific DO NOT ADJUST: The EDD will No form required. 
funds on a DE 88. make the necessary adjustments 

at the end of the quarter when 
your DE 9 is filed. 

Additional information and samples of the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ) are 
available on page 68 or online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adj.pdf. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.) 

Correcting Payroll Tax Deposits (cont.) 
NOTE: As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. 

Refer to page 49 for additional information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance 
penalties. 

IMPORTANT: Failure to electronically submit a completed DE 88 with your payment may cause a misallocation of 
funds which could result in penalties and interest. 

When written permission is obtained from an employee, you are authorized to adjust any over or underwithholding 
of California PIT from the employee if the adjustment is made within the same calendar year and before the IRS 
Form W-2 is issued. You should obtain a receipt from the employee whenever a credit adjustment or repayment of 
overwithheld tax is made. 

Overwithheld SDI and/or California PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit 
or receive a refund from the EDD. This overpayment can be adjusted in one of the following ways: 

• If you have issued an IRS Form W-2 to the employee, you cannot adjust any overwithholding of PIT reported. 
The employee will receive credit for any overwithholding when he/she files a California state income tax return 
with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB). 

• If you have issued the IRS Form W-2 showing the wrong amount, you must issue an IRS Corrected Wage and 
Tax Statement (Form W-2C) to the employee. DO NOT send the state copy of the IRS Form W-2C to the EDD 
or the FTB. 

NOTE: A claim for credit or refund must be filed within three years of the delinquent date for the quarter being adjusted. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (DE 9) 

Overview 

Employers use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) to reconcile payroll tax payments and 
total subject wages reported for the quarter. You must submit a DE 9 AND a Quarterly Contribution Return and
Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) each quarter. 

2019 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) 

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By 
January, February, March April 1, 2019 April 30, 2019 

April, May, June July 1, 2019 July 31, 2019 
July, August, September October 1, 2019 October 31, 2019 

October, November, December January 1, 2020 January 31, 2020 

NOTE: For reporting purposes, wages are taxable when paid, when constructively paid, or when an employee
receives remuneration other than cash. 

You must file a DE 9 each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter. Penalty and interest will be
charged on late reports. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the 
next business day. 

IMPORTANT: As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, 
and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to page 49 for additional information on the e-file and e-pay 
mandate and related noncompliance penalities. 

Quarter-End Payment Due: If your DE 9 shows payroll taxes due, submit a Payroll Tax Deposit (DE 88) payment and
include the correct payment quarter. 

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime. 

Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business:
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate, refer to page 49 for additional information. 
• Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online. 
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
• Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business through a 

third-party access.
• For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 50. 

Enroll in e-Services for Business today at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

IMPORTANT: Your Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) and Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) must be filed electronically together. 

For assistance completing your DE 9, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. 
or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

NOTE: • California law requires employers to report all UI/SDI subject California wages paid and California PIT
withheld during the quarter. 

• A penalty of 15 percent plus interest will be charged for underpayment of contributions and California 
PIT withheld pursuant to section 1112(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 64 of 120 

www.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business


  
 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 
 

 

QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (DE 9) (cont.) 

Correcting a Previously Filed DE 9 

If you made an error on a Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9), you can make a correction 
as follows: 

Online 

1. Log in to e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
2. Access the original DE 9 filed previously. 
3. Select “Adjust Return.” 
4. Make the changes to the form and select “Submit” to send your request to the EDD. 

Paper 
Complete and mail the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ). Refer to page 69 for 
additional information and a sample form. 

File and pay online using the EDD e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Subscribe to no-fee EDD email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (CONTINUATION) (DE 9C) 

Overview 

Employers use the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) to report employee 
wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
tax, and to report Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages and PIT withheld. 

2019 Due Dates for the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) 

Report Covering Due Date Delinquent if Not Filed By 
January, February, March April 1, 2019 April 30, 2019 

April, May, June July 1, 2019 July 31, 2019 

July, August, September October 1, 2019 October 31, 2019 

October, November, December January 1, 2020 January 31, 2020 

NOTE: For reporting purposes, wages are taxable when paid, when constructively paid, or when an employee 
receives remuneration other than cash. If wages are still unpaid at the time the DE 9C is due, wages 
due to an employee that were not paid within the time required by law should be reported by filing the 
Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ) online through e-Services for Business with 
the caption “Wages Legally Due but Unpaid” noted as the reason for adjustment. This will ensure that an 
employee receives proper wage credit for the quarter when the wages should have been paid. However, 
the employment taxes due on these wages should be paid when the wages are actually or constructively 
paid for the employee. For additional information, refer to the e-Services for Business tutorial at 
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm. 

You must electronically file a DE 9C each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter. Penalty and 
interest will be charged on late reports. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date 
is extended to the next business day. If you no longer have employees or you are no longer in business, refer to 
page 73 for filing instructions. 

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime. 

Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business:
• Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate, refer to page 49 for additional information. 
• Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online. 
• Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
• Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business through a 

third-party access.
• For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to page 50. 

Enroll in e-Services for Business today at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

IMPORTANT: Your Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) and Quarterly 
Contribution Return and Report of Wages (DE 9) must be filed together electronically. 

For assistance completing your DE 9C, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. 
or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502 or you can also file online with e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
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QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (CONTINUATION) (DE 9C) 
(cont.) 

NOTE: 
• As an active employer, you must file a DE 9C even if you paid no wages during the quarter. If you have no 

payroll during a quarter, you are still considered an employer and are required to file a DE 9C electronically. 

• Wages are reported when they are paid to the employee, not when the employee earns the wages. Because 
UI and SDI benefits are based on the highest quarter of wages, it is important that wages are reported for 
the correct quarter. If you have any questions on reporting your employees’ wages, contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

• A wage item penalty of $20 per employee will be charged for late reporting or unreported employee wages. 

• As of January 1, 2018, employers are required to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, 
and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to page 49 for additional information on the e-file and e-pay 
mandate and related noncompliance penalties. 

• If your reports are filed late or you do not make timely payments, you will receive a Statement of Account 
(DE 2176) that provides details of the delinquent balance due. If the delinquency is not paid, a tax lien may be 
issued. If a tax lien is issued, it will be recorded at the county recorder office. Tax lien information is a matter of 
public record after it is recorded. 

• Before submitting your DE 9C, make sure the following are correct: the quarter you are reporting, your 
employer payroll tax account number, the names of your employees, and their Social Security numbers. 

Correcting a Previously Filed DE 9C 

The DE 9C can be corrected through www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business even if originally filed using 
another electronic filing method or a paper form. 

Online 

1. Log in to e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
2. Access the previously filed DE 9C that needs to be corrected. 
3. Select “Adjust Return.” 
4. Make the changes to the form and select “Submit” to send your request to the EDD. 

Paper 
Complete and mail the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ). Refer to page 68 and 69 
for additional information and a sample form. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM (DE 9ADJ) 

Overview 

Employers use the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ) to make corrections to previously 
filed reports. Corrections may also be made electronically through e-Services for Business available at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Form Reason for 
Adjustment How to Make an Adjustment 

Correcting previously 
filed Quarterly 
Contribution Return 
and Report of Wages 
(DE 9) 

Provided incorrect 
UI, ETT, SDI, and/ 
or PIT information. 

File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and II with the correct 
information. If DE 9C forms were filed incorrectly, also complete 
Section III of the DE 9ADJ. 

NOTE: If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount plus 
penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 9ADJ. 

Correcting previously 
filed Quarterly 
Contribution Return 
and Report of Wages 
(Continuation) (DE 9C) 

Incorrect employee 
Social Security 
number (SSN) or 
name reported. 

File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires two 
entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, incorrect SSN, employee 
name, and enter zeros in total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT 
withheld fields. For the second entry, enter the corrected information. 
For examples, refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions. 

Incorrect wages File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with correct wages and/ 
and/or PIT or PIT information for each employee by quarter. For examples, refer 
information to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions. 
for employees 
previously NOTE: If DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also 
reported. complete Section II. 
No SSN reported File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires 
for employee. two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, all zeros for the 

SSN filed, employee name, and zeros in subject wages, PIT wages, 
and PIT withheld fields. In the second entry, enter the corrected 
information. For examples, refer to page 2 of the DE 9ADJ-I 
Instructions. 

Employee(s) File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with unreported 
not previously employee(s) SSN and full name, total subject wages, PIT wages, 
reported. and PIT withheld by quarter. 

NOTE: If a DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also 
complete Section II. 

Detailed DE 9ADJ instructions are provided on the Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and 
Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adji.pdf or contact the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for additional assistance. 

A completed sample DE 9ADJ is shown on pages 69 and 70. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY 

QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND 
WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM 

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS 
A claim for refund or credit must 
be filed within three years of the 
last timely filing date of the quarter 
being adjusted. 

Examples were created using 2018 rates. 
Refer to inside front cover for 2019 rates. 

You can file this adjustment form online through the Employment Development Department’s (EDD) e-Services for Business. 
Please visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage 
Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) for completing this form. 

SECTION I: (PLEASE PRINT) YEAR / QUARTER 

JOHN AND JANE SMITH 18 4BUSINESS NAME 

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO. 

ADDRESS 

CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE 

REASON FOR ADJUSTMENT 

(1) (2) (3) 
SECTION II: DIFFERENCES 
ADJUSTMENT TO WAGES AND CONTRIBUTIONS Previously reported Should have reported Debit/(Credit) 

A. TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES ................................................. 

B. UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) Taxable Wages ........ 

C. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) Taxable Wages .... 

D. EMPLOYER’S UI CONTRIBUTIONS (UI Rate 0.00 % times B)... 

E. EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT Rate 0.00 % times B)... 
F. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE* (SDI) Withheld (SDI Rate

0.00 % times C; complete Box 1 below if credit on row F.) .. 
G. PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) Withheld (Complete

Box 2 below if credit on line G.) ........................................... 

H. SUBTOTAL (Lines D, E, F, and G) ............................... 

I. Penalty (Refer to instructions on DE 9ADJ-I) .................................................................................................................. 

J. Interest (Refer to instructions on DE 9ADJ-I) .................................................................................................................. 

K. Erroneous SDI Deductions not refunded (See Box 1, NOTE below) ............................................................................... 

L. Less contributions and withholdings paid for the quarter ................................................................................................. 

M. Total taxes due or overpaid (H2 + I + J + K) - L ............................................................................................................. 

PO BOX 12345 

ANYTOWN, CA 12345 000-0000-0 

UNDERSTATED 4TH QUARTER BY 9,000.00, DID NOT REPORT ONE EMPLOYEE 

9,000.00 18,000.00 9,000.00 

7,000.00 14,000.00 7,000.00 

9,000.00 18,000.00 9,000.00 

3.4 238.00 476.00 238.00 

0.1 7.00 14.00 7.00 

1.0 90.00 180.00 90.00 

150.00 300.00 150.00 

485.00 970.00 485.00 

0.00 

0.00 

0.00 

1,000.00 

-30.00 

e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

* Includes Paid Family Leave amount. 

BOX 1. STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.) 
1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the wages of employee(s)?............................................................... ˜ Yes No 

If yes, has this amount been refunded to employee(s)? .................................................................................................  ˜ Yes No 
If not refunded: employee(s) no longer employed, unable to locate. 
NOTE: The EDD cannot refund these contributions to you unless you first refund the erroneous deductions to the employee(s). 

(List each employee name, Social Security Number, and amount of SDI not refunded.) 

BOX 2. PERSONAL INCOME TAX OVERPAYMENTS (Must be completed for credit to be allowed.) 
If you paid the Employment Development Department (EDD) more than the amount of California PIT withheld from wages of employee(s), 
you can adjust the amount reported by using this form. The EDD will allow credit adjustments prior to the issuance of Forms W-2. If you 
have already issued Forms W-2, please read the additional information on page 2 before proceeding. 

1. Was the credit claimed in column 3 withheld from the pay of employee(s)? ................................................................... ˜ 

˜ 

Yes No 
If yes, has this credit been refunded to employee(s)? .................................................................................................... Yes No 

2. Was the credit claimed in column 3 included on Forms W-2 issued to employee(s)? Yes ˜ No 

Be sure to sign this declaration: I declare that the information herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

Signature Jane Smith Title EMPLOYER Phone ( 123 ) 555-7899 Date 05/01/2019 
(Owner, Accountant, Preparer, etc.) 

SIGN AND MAIL TO: Employment Development Department / P.O. Box 989073 / West Sacramento, CA 95798-9073 

DE 9ADJ Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET)                                                         Page 1 of 2 CU 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 69 of 120 
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FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY 

QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM 

Examples were created using 2018 rates. 
Refer to inside front cover for 2019 rates. 

EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO. 

000-0000-0BUSINESS NAME JOHN AND JANE SMITH 

SECTION III: QUARTERLY WAGE AND WITHHOLDING ADJUSTMENTS 
Enter amounts that should have been reported; if unchanged, leave field blank. Correcting the Social Security Number or Name 
requires two entries. See Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I), 
Section III, for additional information and instructions. 

YEAR / QUARTER 

17/4 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

000-00-0000 
EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

THOMAS T. TAYLOR 
e-Services for Business at 

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES 

9,000.00 
PIT WAGES 

9,000.00 
PIT WITHHELD 

150.00 
YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 
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TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 

YEAR / QUARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST) 

TOTAL SUBJECT WAGES PIT WAGES PIT WITHHELD 
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FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099 
Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2)
As an employer, you are required to prepare a federal Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2) for each of your 
employees. For 2019, you are required to provide your employees with Form W-2 by January 31, 2020*. Prepare the 
Form W-2 on the federal/state four-part paper form. To obtain these forms, go to www.irs.gov. 
If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the IRS Employer’s Tax Guide (Publication 15, 
Circular E). For federal instructions on completing Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 2018 General Instructions 
for Forms W-2 and W-3. To obtain these publications, access the IRS website at www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 
1-800-829-3676. 
In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages, PIT 
withholding, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax withheld in the following Form W-2 boxes: 

FORM W-2 

Box Enter 
Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.) California PIT wages 

Box 17 (State income tax) California PIT withheld 

Box 19 (Local income tax) The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld 
(For additional information, refer to “NOTE” below.) 

NOTE: If Box 19 has local taxes, use “Box 14-Other.” If no boxes are available, you are required to provide your 
employees with a separate written statement containing: 
• Your business or entity name, address, federal employer identification number, and the Employment 

Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll tax account number. 
• The employee’s name, address, state, and Social Security number. 
• The amount of SDI tax actually withheld and/or paid directly by you under the state plan. 
• If the wages were not subject to SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero). 
• If you pay SDI taxes without withholding SDI from the employee’s wages, you should show the SDI taxes

as if withheld and increase the amount you report according to the formula as shown on Information Sheet: 
Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal Income Taxes Paid by an Employer (DE 231Q).
The DE 231Q is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf or contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

• If you are covered under an authorized Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI), enter “VPDI” and the 
VPDI amount actually withheld. 

Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 (Box 16, state wages) is the same as the 
federal wages (Box 1). However, the amounts may differ based on: 

• Federal and California differences in definition of: 
○ Employee (refer to Information Sheet: Types of Employment [DE 231TE]). 
○ Taxable wages (refer to Information Sheet: Types of Payments [DE 231TP]). 

• The DE 231TE and DE 231TP are available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

• Residency of the employee (refer to page 16). 
• If the employee performs services in more than one state. 

For additional information on federal and California differences, please contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. If the employee performs services in more than one state, contact the other state(s) for guidance on 
how to complete the Form W-2 for that state. 
If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication General Instructions for Forms 
W-2C and W-3C for guidance on completing an IRS Corrected Wage and Tax Statement (Form W-2C). To obtain 
these forms, access the IRS website at www.irs.gov or call 1-800-829-3676. 
*Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who furnish a false or fraudulent statement, are subject to a penalty
of fifty dollars ($50) for each such failure as imposed pursuant to section 13052 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code 
(CUIC). Employers may also be subject to an additional penalty for failure to file informational returns (Form W-2 or a 
Form 1099-MISC) to misclassified employees as provided pursuant to section 13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the penalty is 
determined based upon the unreported remuneration for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate as provided pursuant 
to section 17041 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for 
assistance. 
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FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099 (cont.) 

Do not send a copy of Form W-2 or Form W-2C to the State of California (the EDD or the Franchise Tax Board [FTB]). 
The Forms W-2 and W-2C are not filed with the state because you should already be reporting wage and withholding 
information to the EDD on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C). However, 
you must continue to send Forms W-2 and W-2C to your employees and the Social Security Administration. 

Information Return (Form 1099-MISC) 
Individuals, partnerships, corporations, or other organizations engaged in a trade or business in California may have 
a requirement to report independent contractor payments made in the course of their business. For 2019, you must 
provide a statement to each independent contractor by January 31, 2020*, containing the information furnished to the 
IRS and FTB. If you do not use the official IRS Form 1099-MISC to furnish the statement to recipients, refer to the 
IRS Publication 1179 for specific rules for substitute statements. 

How to File 
The FTB recommends that you file under the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing program. When you are approved 
and use the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing program, you only have to file once. The IRS will forward your 
California returns to the FTB. The following forms may be filed under this program: Forms 1099-DIV, 1099-G, 1099-
INT, 1099-MISC, 1099-OID, 1099-PATR, 1099-R, and 5498. For information on the IRS Combined Federal/State 
Filing program, call 1-866-455-7438. 

If you are not participating in the Combined Federal/State Filing program and file 250 or more information returns of 
one type, you must file directly with the FTB electronically. If you file less than 250 returns electronically or on paper 
with the IRS, you should use the same method to file with FTB. 

If you file paper information returns with the IRS, do not send a paper copy to the FTB. The IRS will forward the 
information to the FTB. This applies to paper filing only. 

Generally, the FTB’s reporting requirements are the same as the IRS reporting requirements. For specific differences, 
go to www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/infortrns/how_to_file.shtml. 

Publications and Contact Information 
To obtain Form 1099 reporting requirements and instructions, refer to the IRS Publication 1220 and the IRS General 
Instructions for Forms 1099, 1098, 5498, and W-2G on the IRS website at www.irs.gov or call 1-800-829-3676. For 
information on completing each form, refer to the individual instructions available for each information return type. 

NOTE: California PIT withheld from pension, annuity, and other deferred income should be reported on the IRS form 
Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. 
(Form 1099-R). For instructions on completing Form 1099-R, refer to IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-R and 
5498. To obtain instructions, access the IRS website at www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 1-800-829-3676. 

For more information, contact: 

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE 
1-866-455-7438 
www.irs.gov 
mccirp@irs.gov 

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD 
1-916-845-6304 
www.ftb.ca.gov 
irphelp@ftb.ca.gov 

*Failure to provide an Information Return (Form 1099), if required, to each independent contractor may be subject to a penalty 
as imposed pursuant to section 13052.5 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code or section 19175 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code (RTC). The amount of the penalty is determined based upon the unreported remuneration for personal services 
multiplied by the maximum rate as provided pursuant to section 17041 of the RTC. Contact the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center 
at 1-888-745-3886 for assistance. 

NOTE: As of January 1, 2018, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned 
Income Tax Credit. Refer to page 76 for details. 
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Changes to Your Business Status 

A change to your business status occurs when you: 
• Change your business name, address, or ownership. • Purchase a business with employees. 
• No longer have employees (business remains open). • Close your business. 
• Reopen your employer payroll tax account. • Selling your business. 

ACTION REQUIRED: 
Notify the EDD of any change to your business status through e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

BUSINESS NAME CHANGE 
Make changes to your business name, corporation name, personal name (e.g., marriage), or change in ownership of 
the business online through e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

MAILING ADDRESS CHANGE 
Change your mailing address online through e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

NO LONGER HAVE EMPLOYEES 
If you no longer have employees and will not be reporting wages in any future quarter, you must submit a final 
DE 88, DE 9, and DE 9C. You may close your employer payroll tax account using e-Services for Business at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. For more information, please visit the e-Services for Business FAQs 
category “Register, Close, or Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account.” 
If you currently do not have employees but may have employees in future quarters, you are still required to file your 
DE 9 and DE 9C stating you have no payroll to report, otherwise the EDD may presume you have employees and 
assess your account. 
If you resume paying wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may 
request to reopen employer payroll tax account at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

CLOSE YOUR BUSINESS 
If you close your business, you are required to submit a final DE 88, DE 9, and DE 9C within 10 days of quitting 
business, regardless of the normal due dates. You may close your employer payroll tax account using e-Services 
for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. For more information, please visit the e-Services for 
Business FAQs category “Register, Close, or Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account.” 
If you resume paying wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may 
request to reopen your employer payroll tax account at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 73 of 120 

www.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business


  
 

 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
  

 
 

  
 

 

Reopen Your Employer Payroll Tax Account 
If your employer payroll tax account was previously closed, but you recently paid wages in excess of $100 in a 
calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may submit an online request to reopen your employer 
payroll tax account at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business, or go to 
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm to complete and submit the appropriate DE 1 
registration form. 

Steps to Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account Online: 
1. Go to www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 
2. Select “Login.” 
3. Select the closed account number (in grey). 
4. Select the “Reopen” tab at the top. 
5. Complete the online registration application. 

Please allow three business days for processing, then log back into e-Services for Business to check the status of 
your request. 

If you do not have a username/password, you must first complete the Employer Services Online enrollment process. 

Note: If you are an agent, you must first add access to the employer payroll tax account. 

PURCHASE, SELL, TRANSFER, OR CHANGE OWNERSHIP 

Registered employers must report any change in business status; for example, any change in business name or 
legal entity, such as a change from partnership or limited liability company to corporation. Report changes through 
e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

When there is a change in the ownership (add or remove partners/LLC members; change corporate name/officers) of 
a business entity type, the entity normally keeps the same EDD employer payroll tax account number and continues 
to make payroll tax deposits and file reports as though it was the same type of ownership for the entire year. The EDD 
must be notified of any change in the ownership of a business entity so that the taxpayer information can be updated. 
For additional information, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, 
call 1-916-464-3502. 

REMEMBER: Report changes through e-Services for business at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. 

Purchase a Business 
If you purchase a business with employees (or a business that previously had employees), you may be held liable for 
the previous owner’s EDD liability if a Certificate of Release of Buyer (DE 2220) is not obtained. To request a DE 2220, 
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

Until a DE 2220 is issued, you (the buyer) must hold in escrow an amount sufficient to cover all amounts the seller 
owes to the EDD, up to the purchase price of the business. The DE 2220 is issued after the seller pays all amounts 
owed to the EDD. Payment must be made by cash, cashier’s check, certified check, escrow check, or money order 
payable to the Employment Development Department. 

For your protection, escrow funds should not be disbursed until the DE 2220 has been issued. For additional 
information, the Requirements for Obtaining Certificate of Release of Buyer (DE 2220) When a Business Is Sold 
(DE 3409A) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3409a.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

NOTE: If you employ any of the former owner’s workers immediately after the acquisition of the business, the wages 
paid to these employees during the same calendar year are considered as having been paid by you. Therefore, 
wages paid by the former owner in the current calendar year are applied to the taxable wage limits for 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax. 
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WHAT IS A SUCCESSOR EMPLOYER? 
A successor employer is an employer who has acquired all or part of another employer’s (predecessor’s) business 
and continues to operate the business without substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition. 
The successor employer may receive all or part of the predecessor’s UI reserve account balance by applying 
for a reserve account transfer. The transfer may result in an immediate reduction or increase of the successor’s 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax rate. The successor employer must register the acquired business with the EDD. 
For more information on reserve account transfers, refer to page 84 or call 1-916-653-7795. 
NOTE: Acquiring all or part of the stock in a corporation does not constitute a new employing unit. The corporation 

retains the same EDD employer payroll tax account number. 

IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO CHANGE/PURCHASE A BUSINESS ENTITY SOLELY 
TO OBTAIN A LOWER UI RATE 

Changing your business ownership solely for the purpose of obtaining an employer account with a lower UI 
contribution rate is not allowed. Section 1052 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides 
that a reserve account transfer will not apply to any acquisition, which is determined to have been made for the 
purpose of obtaining a more favorable UI contribution rate. The EDD aggressively pursues businesses practicing UI 
rate manipulation. To read more about UI rate manipulation, refer to page 86. 

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS 
Posting Requirements 
Once you are registered with the EDD, you will receive a notice to post in your workplace that informs your 
employees of their rights under Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), and Paid Family Leave 
(PFL). This notice must be posted in a prominent location that is easily seen by your employees. You will receive the 
following notice if you are subject to: 

• UI, DI, and PFL – Notice to Employees (DE 1857A). 
• UI only – Notice to Employees - Unemployment Insurance Benefits (DE 1857D). 
• DI and PFL only – Notice to Employees (DE 1858). 

Required Notices and Pamphlets 
Provide a copy of the following notices and pamphlets to each of your employees when appropriate: 

• The following pamphlets explain your employees’ benefit rights: 
○ For Your Benefit: California’s Programs for the Unemployed (DE 2320) – Provides information on UI, DI, 

PFL, and Workforce Services benefits available to the employee and must be given when an employer 
discharges, lays off, or places an employee on a leave of absence. 

○ Disability Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) – Provides information on the SDI program. 
○ Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) – Provides information on PFL benefits. 

NOTE: The publications listed above are available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/required_notices_and_pamphlets.htm. For additional information 
on your posting requirements, access the California Tax Service Center website at www.taxes.ca.gov. 
Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) insurers have similar literature. VPDI employers must also 
supply claim forms to their employees. For further information on VPDI, refer to page 98. 

• Notice required by the Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act (refer to page 76 for details). 
• Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship – Written notice must be given immediately to employees of 

their discharge, layoff, leave of absence, or change in employment status, along with a DE 2320. 
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ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS (cont.) 
The following sample meets the minimum requirements: 

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP 

(Issued pursuant to provisions of section 1089 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code.) 

Name __________________________________________________ SSN _____________________ 

1. You were/will be laid off/discharged on __________________, 20_______. 
(date) 

2. You were/will be on leave of absence starting __________________, 20_______. 
(date) 

3. On __________________, your employment status changed/will change as follows: 
(date) 

(Name of Employer) 

(By) 

You may wish to prepare the employee notice in duplicate and keep a copy for your files. Notices prepared by the 
employer must include the information shown on the Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship (above). 

• Notice of plant closure or mass layoff. 
ACTION REQUIRED: Post the DE 1857A and provide a DE 2320, DE 2511, and DE 2515 to each of 
your employees. Provide the Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship and/or Worker Adjustment
and Retraining Notification (WARN) as applicable. 

No written notice is required if it is a voluntary quit, promotion or demotion, change in work assignment or 
location (some changes in location require a WARN notice), or if work stopped due to a trade dispute. 

Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act 
You may be eligible to receive the California Earned Income Tax Credit (California EITC) starting with the 2015 tax 
year. The California EITC is a refundable state income tax credit for low-income working individuals and families. 
The California EITC is treated in the same manner as the federal EITC and generally will not be used to determine 
eligibility for welfare benefits under California Law. To claim the California EITC, even if you do not owe California 
taxes, you must file a California income tax return and complete and attach the California Earned Income Tax 
Credit (FTB 3514) form. For information on the availability of the credit, eligibility requirements, and how to obtain 
the necessary California forms and get help filing, contact the Franchise Tax Board at 1-800-852-5711 or visit their 
website at www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/faq/net/900.shtml. 

Employers who are subject to, and required to provide, Unemployment Insurance to their employees must provide 
EITC notification to the employee by either handing it directly to the employee or mailing it to the employee’s last 
known address. Posting of this information on an employee bulletin board will not satisfy the notification requirement. 

The notification shall be provided within one week before or after, or at the same time, that the employer provides an 
annual wage summary, including, but not limited to, a Form W-2 or a Form 1099-Misc, to the employee. The notice 
shall include instructions on how to obtain any notices available from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for this 
purpose, including, but not limited to, the IRS Notice 797 or any successor notice or form, or any notice created by 
you as long as it contains substantially the same language as the notice below. 

“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the earned income tax credit from 
the federal government. The earned income tax credit is a refundable federal income tax credit for 
low-income working individuals and families. The earned income tax credit has no effect on certain 
welfare benefits. In most cases, earned income tax credit payments will not be used to determine 
eligibility for Medicaid, supplemental security income, food stamps, low-income housing, or most 
temporary assistance for needy families’ payments. Even if you do not owe federal taxes, you 
must file a tax return to receive the earned income tax credit. Be sure to fill out the earned income 
tax credit form in the federal income tax return booklet. For information regarding your eligibility to 
receive the earned income tax credit, including information on how to obtain the IRS Notice 797, or 
any other necessary forms and instructions, contact the Internal Revenue Service at 1-800-829-3676 
or through its website at www.irs.gov.” 
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PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN) 
Federal and California Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) legislation requires covered employers 
to provide 60 days advance notice of plant closings and mass layoffs. Advance notice provides employees and their 
families some transition time to adjust to the prospective loss of employment, to seek and obtain alternative jobs, 
and, if necessary, to acquire skill training or retraining that will allow these employees to successfully compete in the 
job market. 

For the complete notification requirements of the California WARN legislation, carefully review the Labor Code 
provisions on the Department of Industrial Relations website at www.dir.ca.gov/lawsandregs.html (select 
“California Labor Code,” part 4, chapter 4, sections 1400-1408). 

The table below provides the general provisions of the federal and California WARN legislation. 

Subject Federal California 
(Assembly Bill 2957 [2002], Koretz) 

Covered Applicable only to employers with 100 or Applicable to a “covered establishment” with 
Employers more full-time employees who must have 

been employed for at least six months of the 
12 months preceding the date of required 
notice in order to be counted. 
(29 United States Code [USC] 2101 and 20 
Code Federal Regulations [CFR] 639.3) 

75 or more full- or part-time employees. As 
under the federal WARN Act, employees must 
have been employed for at least six months of 
the 12 months preceding the date of required 
notice in order to be counted. 
(California Labor Code, section 1400[a] and [h]) 

Plant Plant closings involving 50 or more employees Plant closure affecting any amount of 
Closings during a 30-day period. Layoffs within a 30-day employees. Layoff of 50 or more employees 

or Layoffs period involving 50 to 499 full-time employees within a 30-day period regardless of percent 
Requiring constituting at least 33 percent of the full-time of workforce. Relocation of at least 100 miles 

Notice workforce at a single site of employment. 
Layoffs of 500 or more employees are covered 
regardless of percentage of workforce. 
(29 USC, et seq., 2101 and 20 CFR 639.3) 

affecting any amount of employees. 
[California Labor Code section 1400 (d)-(f)] 

Legal Enforcement of WARN requirements through Suit may be brought in “any court of competent 
Jurisdiction U.S. District Courts. The court, in its discretion, 

may allow the prevailing party a reasonable 
attorney’s fee as part of the costs. 
(29 USC 2101, et seq.) 

jurisdiction.” The court may award reasonable 
attorney’s fees as part of costs to any prevailing 
plaintiff. The California WARN law is in the 
Labor Code, and the authority to investigate 
through the examination of books and records 
is delegated to the Labor Commissioner. 
(California Labor Code, sections 1404 and 1406) 

Employer An employer who violates the WARN provisions A possible civil penalty of $500 a day for each 
Liability is liable to each employee for an amount equal 

to back pay and benefits for the period of the 
violation, up to 60 days, but no more than 
one-half the number of days the employee was 
employed by the employer. 
(29 USC; 2104[a]) 

day of violation. Employees may receive 
back pay to be paid at employee’s final rate 
or three-year average rate of compensation, 
whichever is higher. In addition, employer is 
liable for cost of any medical expenses incurred 
by employees that would have been covered 
under an employee benefit plan. The employer 
is liable for a period of violation up to 60 days 
or one-half the number of days the employee 
was employed whichever period is smaller. 
(California Labor Code, section 1403) 
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PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN) (cont.) 

Subject Federal California 
(Assembly Bill 2957 [2002], Koretz) 

Notice An employer must provide written notice 60 An employer must give notice 60 days prior to
Requirements days prior to a plant closing or mass layoff to all 

of the following: 
• Employees or their representative. 
• Employment Development Department

Statewide Services Unit, MIC 50 

a plant closing, layoff, or relocation. In addition 
to the notifications required under the federal
WARN Act, notice must also be given to both of 
the following: 

• The Local Workforce Development Board. 
WARN Act Coordinator, 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

• The chief elected official of local government
within which such closing or layoff is to occur. 

(29 USC, 2102; 20 CFR 639.5 and 639.6) 

• The chief elected official of each city
and county government within which the
termination, relocation, or mass layoff 
occurs. 

(California Labor Code, section 1401) 

Exceptions Regular federal, state, local, and federally California WARN law does not apply when the
and recognized Indian tribal governments are not closing or layoff is the result of the completion

Exemptions covered. (29 USC, 2102; 20 CFR 639.3) 

The following situations are exempt from
notice: 

• There is an offer to transfer employee 
to a different site within a reasonable 
commuting distance. (29 USC, 2101[b][2];
20 CFR 639.5) 

• The closure is due to unforeseeable 

of a particular project or undertaking of an
employer subject to Wage Orders 11, 12, or 16,
regulating the Broadcast industry, regulating
the Motion Picture Industry, or Construction,
Drilling, Logging, and Mining Industries, and the
employees were hired with the understanding
that their employment was limited to the duration
of that project or undertaking.
(California Labor Code, section 1400[g]) 

business circumstances or a natural 
disaster. (29 USC, 2103; 20 CFR 639.9) 

• The closing or layoff constitutes a strike 
or constitutes a lockout not intended to 
evade the requirement of this chapter.
(29 USC, 2103[2]) 

The notice requirements do not apply to
employees involved in seasonal employment
where the employees were hired with the
understanding that their employment was
seasonal and temporary.
(California Labor Code, section 1400[g][2]) 
Notice is not required if a mass layoff, 
relocation, or plant closure is necessitated by a
physical calamity or act of war.
(California Labor Code, section 1401[c]) 
Notice of a relocation or termination is not 
required where, under multiple and specific
conditions, the employer submits documents to
DIR, and DIR determines that the employer was
actively seeking capital or business, and a WARN
notice would have precluded the employer from
obtaining the capital or business. (California
Labor Code, section 1402.5). This exception does
not apply to notice of a mass layoff as defined in
California Labor Code section 1400(d). (California
Labor Code, section 1402.5[d]) 

The EDD has established local Rapid Response Teams to assist employers and workers during a mass layoff or plant
closure. These teams, facilitated through the America’s Job Center of CaliforniaSM system, are a cooperative effort
between the Local Workforce Development Area (Local Area) and the EDD. These teams disseminate information on
the adult and dislocated worker services available under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act and through the
EDD Workforce Services and UI programs. If the dislocation is the result of foreign competition or foreign relocation,
the dislocated worker may be eligible for assistance, income support, job search assistance/relocation, and/or training
under the Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program. For information on TAA, refer to page 100. To find out more 
about or request Rapid Response services, contact your nearest Local Area. The Local Area contact information is
available on the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/local_area_listing_by_county.htm. 
For more information about California’s WARN requirements or services, visit the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/layoff_services_warn.htm. 
For additional information on the federal WARN Act, access the U.S. Department of Labor website at
www.doleta.gov/layoff/warn.cfm. 
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U.S. GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR JOB LISTING REQUIREMENTS 

Employers with U.S. Government contracts or subcontracts who meet the criteria listed in the table below are 
required to list job openings with the state employment service system or with the National Labor Exchange website 
at https://usnlx.com. In California, employers must list job openings with the EDD CalJOBSSM at 
www.caljobs.ca.gov. Furthermore, employers are required to take affirmative action to employ and advance in 
employment, qualified disabled veterans, other protected veterans, Armed Forces service medal veterans, and 
recently separated veterans. They must also file an annual VETS-4212 Federal Contract Reporting with the U.S. 
Department of Labor to disclose the total number of all current employees in each job category and at each hiring 
location. For more information, access the U.S. Department of Labor website at www.dol.gov/vets/vets4212.htm. 

The table below provides the general provisions of the Federal Contractor Reporting requirements. 

Subject Subject Prior to December 1, 2003 On or After December 1, 2003 

Job Employers with a federal government contract Government contractors with 50 or more 
Listings of $25,000 or more, entered into prior to employees and a federal government contract of 

December 1, 2003, and not modified on or after 
December 1, 2003, if more than $100,000, 
must list applicable job openings with the state 
National Labor Exchange website. In California, 
employers must list applicable jobs with the 
EDD CalJOBSSM. 

$100,000 or more, must list applicable job 
openings with the state employment service 
system or with the National Labor Exchange 
website. In California, employers must list 
applicable jobs with the EDD CalJOBSSM in any 
format acceptable to the state Employment 

(41 CFR 60-250.40) Service Delivery System. 
(41 CFR 60-300.40 and 451 CFR 60-300.5) 

VETS-4212 Employers with a federal government contract Employers with 50 or more employees and a 
Federal of $25,000 or more, entered into prior to federal government contract of $100,000 or 
Contract December 1, 2003, and not modified on or after more entered into or modified on or after 

Reporting December 1, 2003, if more than $100,000, must 
file a VETS-4212 Federal Contract Reporting. 
(38 United States Code, sections 4211 and 4212) 

December 1, 2003, must file a VETS-4212 
Federal Contract Reporting. 
(38 United States Code, sections 4211 and 4212) 

Affirmative Employers with a federal government contract Government contractors with 50 or more 
Action of $50,000 or more, entered into prior to employees and a federal government contract 

Program December 1, 2003, and not modified on or after 
December 1, 2003, if more than $100,000 and 
have 50 or more employees, must prepare, 
implement, and maintain a written Affirmative 
Action Plan (AAP) for each of its establishments. 
(41 CFR 60-250.40) 

of $100,000 or more, must prepare, implement, 
and maintain a written AAP for each of its 
establishments. 
(41 CFR 60-300.40) 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 
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RECORDKEEPING 

Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a subject 
employer or that your employees are exempt, state law requires that you maintain records of payments made to 
people who provide services to your business for at least eight years in case of an employment tax audit. Your 
records must provide a true and accurate account of all workers (employed, no longer employed, on a leave of 
absence, and independent contractors) and all payments made. Records must include the following information for 
each worker: 

• Worker’s: 
○ Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name). 
○ Social Security number. 

• Date hired, rehired, or returned to work after a temporary layoff. 

• Last date services were performed. 

• Place of work. 

• Monies paid: 
○ Dates and amounts of payment. 
○ Pay period covered. 

• Cash or cash value of in-kind wages (such as meals, lodging, bonuses, gifts, and prizes) showing the nature 
of the payment, the period that the services were performed, and the type of special payment made. 

• The amounts withheld from employee wages. (NOTE: You may be required to make withholding deposits. 
Refer to “Withholding Deposits” on page 58.) 

• Disbursement records showing payments to workers. 

• Other information necessary to determine payments to workers. 

If you have any questions on the records you must keep, please refer to the Information Sheet: Employment Tax Audit 
Process (DE 231TA). The DE 231TA form is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf or by 
contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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EMPLOYERS’ BILL OF RIGHTS 

COMMITMENT 

The EDD is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the State of California in an equitable and impartial manner. 
Toward that goal, we have developed the following information to inform you of your rights during the employment 
taxation process. 

EMPLOYER RIGHTS 

As an employer, you have the right to: 
• Courteous and timely service from EDD employees. 
• Expect that information maintained by the EDD be kept confidential and not published or made available for 

public inspection. However, in certain instances, the law requires that this information be shared with other 
governmental agencies. When those instances occur, the EDD closely follows the law to protect your rights to 
confidentiality. 

• Call upon the EDD for accurate information and assistance and to have all your questions answered. 
• Receive a clear and accurate account statement if the EDD believes you owe taxes. 
• Request a filing extension for up to 60 days. The law provides that the EDD may grant a filing extension where 

“good cause” is shown for a delay. (Refer to page 112 for the definition of “good cause.”) 
• Request a waiver of penalty by showing “good cause” for filing a report or making a payment late. 
• An impartial audit and a full explanation of our findings if your business is selected for an audit. 
• Discuss the issue(s) with an EDD representative, supervisor, office manager, and the Taxpayer Advocate 

Office if you disagree with an action taken by the EDD. 
• Appeal certain actions to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board. 

The Employers’ Bill of Rights (DE 195) brochure has been developed to inform you of your rights during the 
employment taxation process. The DE 195 is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf or by 
contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE 

The EDD Tax Branch established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible for 
providing a clear and consistent focus on protecting the rights of the taxpayer. Incorporated within OTRA are the 
Taxpayer Advocate Office and the Settlements Office. 

Taxpayer Advocate Office 

The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the payroll tax 
administration, assessment, and collection process, while also protecting the interests of the state. 

If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, and office manager, you 
may contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for assistance. This office will review the issues and facts of your case to 
ensure that your rights have been protected and work to facilitate a resolution. 

Employment Development Department 
Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Toll-free Phone: 1-866-594-4177 
Phone: 1-916-654-8957 
Fax: 1-916-654-6969 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE (cont.) 

Settlements Office 

The Settlements Program provides employers and the state an opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged litigation 
associated with resolving disputed payroll tax issues (e.g., petitions for reassessment, appeals, or denial of refund claims). 

When reviewing a settlement offer, the EDD considers the risks and costs for the state associated with litigating the 
issues, balanced against the benefit of reaching a settlement agreement. Final tax liabilities, cases still in process, 
cases involving fraud or criminal violations, and issues solely involving fairness or financial hardship are generally 
not eligible. Depending on the reduction of tax and penalties, settlement agreements are subject to approval by an 
Administrative Law Judge, the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, and/or the Attorney General’s office. 

If you have questions, please contact the Settlements Office at 1-916-653-9130. The Information Sheet: Settlements 
Program (DE 231SP) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sp.pdf or by contacting the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

Settlement offers must be in writing and be submitted to: 

Employment Development Department 
Settlements Office, MIC 93 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Phone: 1-916-653-9130 
Fax: 1-916-449-2161 
Electronically: TAXTSDSG@edd.ca.gov 

PROTECTING YOUR PRIVACY 

The EDD recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right without exception. The EDD values and 
will protect your privacy and place strict controls on the gathering and use of personally identifiable data. Your personal 
information is not disclosed, made available, or otherwise used for purposes other than those specified at or before the 
time of collection, except with your consent or as authorized by law or regulation. 

Payroll tax and benefit information collected and maintained by the EDD is confidential. As an employer, you have the 
right to obtain access to and inspect your records. You may also authorize your agent or representative to access your 
records through a written authorization or Power of Attorney Declaration (DE 48). The DE 48 is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf or by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, contact the Tax Information Security Office at 
1-916-654-5981. 

OFFERS IN COMPROMISE (OIC) 
An Offer in Compromise (OIC) enables a qualified applicant to reduce an employment tax liability to less than full 
value. To qualify for an OIC, all of the following are required: 

• The liability must be final and undisputed. 
• The employer’s account must be inactive and out-of-business or the applicant must no longer have a 

controlling interest or any association with the business that incurred the liability. 
• The applicant must meet all financial requirements. 
• Full financial disclosure is required before an offer can be analyzed. 

If you have questions, contact the OIC office at 1-916-464-2739. The Information Sheet: Offers in Compromise 
(DE 631C) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de631c.pdf. 
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE – TAXES 
The Unemployment Insurance (UI) program provides financial assistance to individuals who are temporarily out of 
work through no fault of their own. In California, this program is financed entirely by employers. 

METHODS OF PAYING FOR UI BENEFITS 

Experience Rating Method 
The experience rating method is used by the majority of employers. For a detailed explanation of the experience 
rating method, refer to “How Your UI Tax Rate Is Determined” below, obtain Information Sheet: California System 
of Experience Rating (DE 231Z) online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf, or contact the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

Reimbursable Method 
Public employers and nonprofit organizations described under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code have 
the option of becoming “reimbursable” employers. Employers electing the reimbursable method (also known as the 
cost-of-benefits method) are required to reimburse the UI Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their 
former employees and charged to their account. Reimbursable employers are billed quarterly and payment is due 
within 30 days of the statement date. 

For public employers, financing under the reimbursable method must remain in effect for two complete calendar 
years. For nonprofit employers, financing under the reimbursable method must remain in effect for five complete 
calendar years. Employers who terminate their reimbursable coverage remain liable for UI benefits paid to their 
former employees covered under this program for a period of three calendar years. 

For a detailed explanation of the reimbursable method, refer to Information Sheet: Nonprofit and/or Public Entities 
(DE 231NP) and Potential Liability for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Benefits When Electing the Reimbursable 
Method of Financing Under the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) (DE 1378F). To obtain these 
publications, access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm or contact 
the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. For additional information, contact: 

Employment Development Department 
Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Phone: 1-916-653-5846 

School Employees Fund (SEF) Method 
Public school districts (kindergarten through 12th grade), community colleges, and charter schools may elect to 
participate in the School Employees Fund (SEF), which is a special UI reimbursable financing method available for 
school districts. Additional information is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/school_employees_fund.htm or by contacting the SEF Unit at 1-916-653-5380. 

HOW YOUR UI TAX RATE IS DETERMINED 

Tax Rate Schedules 
The UI tax rates are based on one of seven tax rate schedules (AA through F) established by law. The first step in the 
annual process of establishing the UI tax rates for the calendar year is for the EDD to determine which of the seven 
tax rate schedules will be in effect. Employers are assigned their UI tax rates from the same rate schedule. 

New Employer – UI Tax Rate and Reserve Account 
A UI reserve account is a nonmonetary account that is set up when an employer registers with the EDD. New 
employers are assigned a 3.4 percent (.034) UI contribution rate for a period of two to three years. This will depend 
on when the employer meets the criteria under section 982(b) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). 
After that, an employer’s UI contribution rate is determined by his/her experience rating and the condition of the UI 
Fund. 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 
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NOTICE OF TAX RATES 

Each December, the EDD mails the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI Reserve Account (DE 2088)
that shows your Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
tax rates and taxable wage limits for the upcoming year. If you have address changes and/or agent updates, please 
contact the EDD immediately in order to receive your notice timely. 

Any item on the DE 2088 may be protested except the ETT and SDI tax rates, which are specifically set by law. The 
protest must be filed in writing and postmarked within 60 days of the issued date shown on the notice. Please include
your employer payroll tax account number, the specific item you wish to protest, and the reason you are protesting. 
You may request up to a 60-day extension. The extension request must be in writing, show good cause, and be 
postmarked before the protest deadline. 

For further information, please refer to the Explanation of the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI
Reserve Account (DE 2088) for the Period of January 1, 2019, to December 31, 2019 (DE 2088C) included with the
DE 2088 or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. The DE 2088C is available online at
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf. 

FEDERAL UNEMPLOYMENT TAX ACT (FUTA) CERTIFICATION 

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) uses the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) certification process to verify 
that the total taxable wages claimed on the Employer’s Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return (Form
940) or the federal Household Employment Taxes (Form 1040, Schedule H) was actually paid to the state. Under
this “dual” system, you are subject to both the state and federal payroll tax requirements. 

You are required to file reports and pay UI taxes with the EDD. You are also required to file a Form 940 with IRS to 
report total taxable UI wages and pay any federal Unemployment Tax due. Generally, you can take a federal credit 
against your FUTA tax for the UI taxes you paid to California. You may request a FUTA Recertification online at 
https://askedd.edd.ca.gov and follow the prompts under Payroll Tax. 

On an annual basis, the IRS and the EDD compare amounts reported on your IRS Form 940 to the Total Subject 
Wages (Line C) and UI Taxable Wages (Line D2) reported on your EDD Quarterly Contribution Return and Report
of Wages (DE 9). When an “out-of-balance” condition exists, reconciliation must be made or an assessment may
be issued by either the IRS or the EDD. A common reason for an “out-of-balance” is a change of entity or federal 
employer identification number (FEIN) that has not been updated with the EDD. You can update your FEIN and make 
changes to your account online at www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. For more information, contact the 
EDD FUTA Certification Unit at 1-916-654-8545. 

RESERVE ACCOUNT TRANSFERS 

When an employer acquires all or part of an ongoing business and continues to operate the business without
substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition, the employer may request the previous owner’s UI 
reserve account balance be transferred to the new ownership by completing an Application for Transfer of Reserve 
Account (DE 4453). This form can also be filed electronically by accessing the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. If the EDD approves the transfer, the UI tax rate will be redetermined 
and may result in an immediate reduction or increase in the UI tax rate. For further information regarding reserve
account transfers, call 1-916-653-7795. 

NOTE: 
• When a UI reserve account transfer has been approved, the employer requesting the transfer will receive a

revised DE 2088 stating the UI tax rate. 
• Employers who receive a reserve account transfer accept responsibility for the UI benefit charges for the

previous owner’s former employees. This may increase your UI tax rate in future years. 
• A reserve account transfer cannot be reversed once it has been completed. 
• There are time limits to qualify for a reserve account transfer. Apply for a reserve account transfer immediately 

after purchasing an ongoing business. 

WAGES IN ANOTHER STATE 

Section 930.1 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides that a California employer who pays
wages to an employee for employment subject to the unemployment insurance laws of another state (and reports to
that state), can use such wages in computing the UI taxable wage limit in the same calendar year if the individual is
subsequently transferred to California. Such wages may not be used to arrive at the taxable wage limit for disability
insurance purposes. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 84 of 120 

www.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf
https://askedd.edd.ca.gov
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business


  
 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 
 

  

  

 
 
 

 

 

INTERSTATE RECIPROCAL COVERAGE ELECTIONS FOR MULTISTATE WORKERS 

When an individual performs services in two or more states and the services are not localized in any one state, under 
the provisions of California Unemployment Insurance Code (sections 602 and 603), the employer may request to 
report the individual’s services to one state. 

Upon approval for Unemployment and Disability Insurance purposes, the employer may report to any state in which 
(a) services are performed, (b) the employee has residence, or (c) the employer maintains a place of business. 

NOTE: Special reporting may be required for California Personal Income Tax withholding purposes. 

For additional information, the Information Sheet: Multistate Employment (DE 231D) is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231d.pdf or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

TIPS FOR REDUCING YOUR UI TAX RATE 

UI tax works like any other insurance premium. An employer may pay a lower rate when former employees make 
fewer claims on the employer’s payroll tax account. The following steps may help reduce your UI tax rate: 

• Maintain a stable workforce; it could save you UI taxes. High employee turnover increases the potential for 
benefits to be charged to your reserve account. 

• Submit your Payroll Tax Deposit, DE 88, within the required time limits to ensure your UI contributions are 
included in calculating your UI tax rate for the following year. 

• Respond timely to the Benefit Audit (DE 1296B and DE 1296NER). It may lead to the reversal of related 
charges to your reserve or reimbursable account. For additional information, refer to “Benefit Audits to 
Determine Fraud” on page 93. 

• Respond timely to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) if you 
believe that a former employee does not meet the UI eligibility criteria. A timely response to a DE 1101CZ or 
DE 1101ER may reduce charges to your reserve account. For added convenience, employers and third-party 
administrators can elect to electronically receive and respond to the DE 1101CZ through the State Information 
Data Exchange System (SIDES). Learn more at www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES. 

• Respond timely to the Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim (DE 1545) if you believe 
the wages used to establish a claim are incorrect, the employee is still working, or if you believe a former 
employee does not meet the UI eligibility criteria. A timely response to a DE 1545 may reduce charges to your 
reserve account. 

• Conduct and document an exit interview to help you to understand why the employee is leaving. This may 
result in changes to your policies or procedures that will assist you in retaining your employees. Written 
documentation of the exit interview may be important in supporting your protest. 

• Permit leaves of absence because they may help keep fully trained personnel. 
• Keep good personnel records to justify any action(s) taken. Give written warnings prior to discharging an 

employee and keep a copy of these warnings and other supporting information. 
• Protest UI benefit claims for former employees who you believe are not eligible for benefits (e.g., employee 

voluntarily quit or was discharged for misconduct, etc.). Answer UI claim notices promptly, accurately, and in detail. 
• Rehire former employees who are currently receiving UI benefits that may be charged against your 

reserve account. 
• Report refusals of work to the EDD. 
• Provide clear, specific answers to phone interview questions from EDD personnel. 
• Review your Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) and report inaccuracies within the protest 

time limits. 
• Bring witnesses with firsthand knowledge of pertinent facts when attending an appeal hearing. 

For additional information on the UI program or assistance in reducing UI costs, the booklet Managing Unemployment 
Insurance Costs (DE 4527) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4527.pdf. 

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/. 
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FRAUD PREVENTION DETECTION AND REPORTING 

The EDD recognizes your concerns about imposter fraud and the threat of identity theft. Imposter fraud and identity 
theft occurs when someone steals your employees’ employment and/or personal information and uses that information 
for personal gain. We actively investigate cases of imposter fraud and are committed to taking the steps necessary to 
protect the integrity of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) Fund. To assist in these efforts, you may receive a Request 
for Additional Information (DE 1326ER) asking you to validate information provided to us by an individual when we 
suspect a UI claim may have potential identity or imposter issues. Completing and returning the DE 1326ER with 
the requested information will assist us in resolving these issues promptly. Information about our fraud detection and 
prevention activities is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/responding_to_ui_claim_notices.htm. 

We also encourage you to take all necessary steps to protect your employees’ Social Security numbers (SSN) and 
other identifying information. A key way to protect yourself and your employees is by properly disposing of your old 
payroll records. California law requires you to properly destroy (e.g., shred, erase, etc.) the personal information on 
all records under your control. Your employees may sue you for civil damages if you fail to protect their confidential 
information. For more information on California privacy legislation and protecting yourself and your employees from 
identity theft, visit the Office of Privacy Protection website at http://oag.ca.gov/privacy. 

To minimize potential fraud and protect your UI reserve account, we urge you to carefully review each EDD statement 
and/or notice and respond as directed in a timely manner to any items for which you have questions. If you suspect 
your payroll or personnel data has been compromised, please report the incident immediately to our Fraud Hotline at 
1-800-229-6297 or submit the fraud reporting form online from the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_prevention.htm. 

Additionally, the Social Security Administration (SSA) offers employers and authorized agents a service for verifying 
employees’ SSNs. For information on how to access the SSA’s SSN verification service, access the SSA website at 
www.ssa.gov/employer/ssnv.htm or contact your local SSA office. 

To learn about steps that you can take to fight imposter fraud, protect your employees, and control your UI costs, 
the brochure How You Can Prevent Unemployment Insurance Imposter Fraud (DE 2360ER) is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2360er.pdf. 

UI RATE MANIPULATION 

There are several types of schemes businesses use to unlawfully lower their UI contribution rates. These UI rate 
manipulation schemes typically involve a business with a high UI tax rate obtaining a lower UI rate through the 
creation of a new corporate entity or through the purchase of a shell business with a low UI rate. The practice of UI 
rate manipulation threatens the stability of California’s UI Fund and creates an unfair advantage for those businesses 
that use these schemes to lower their rates. 

In 2005, California implemented a law to prevent UI rate manipulation; it requires employers who are illegally 
lowering their UI rates to pay at the highest rate provided by law plus an additional 2 percent. The law also provides 
for the greater of a $5,000 penalty or 10 percent of underreported contributions, penalty, or interest for anyone 
knowingly advising another person or business to violate California’s UI rate and reporting laws. 

This law also made changes regarding the transfer of UI reserve account balances and specified that whenever a 
business transferred all or part of its business or payroll to another employer, the reserve account attributable to the 
transferred business will also be transferred if they are under common ownership, management, or control. It also 
provides that the transfer will be denied if the acquisition was for the purpose of obtaining a lower UI rate. 

For more information about UI rate manipulation, access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/suta_dumping.htm or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) FUNDING 
The California UI program is funded through payroll taxes paid by employers. These taxes are placed in the UI 
Fund and benefits are paid to qualified claimants from this fund. The individual tax reserve account established for 
each employer has no monetary value. The reserve account is an accounting tool used to keep track of credits and 
charges made against the employer’s account to determine his/her annual UI tax rate. For additional information, 
please refer to “Unemployment Insurance Taxes” on page 83. 

BENEFIT AMOUNT 
The maximum amount of UI benefits payable to a claimant during a regular benefit year is 26 times the claimant’s 
weekly benefit amount or one-half of the total base period earnings, whichever is less. The benefit year is a 52-week 
period starting on the effective date of a new UI claim. The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three 
months each. When a base period begins and which calendar quarters are used depends on the date the claim 
begins and whether the claim is for UI or for Disability Insurance (DI). 
For UI, there are two types of base periods that may be used to establish a claim: the Standard Base Period (SBP) 
and the Alternate Base Period (ABP). The SBP is the FIRST four of the last five completed calendar quarters prior 
to the beginning date of the UI claim. If a claimant does not have sufficient wages in the SBP to establish a claim, 
the EDD will consider whether the claimant qualifies to file a claim using the ABP. The ABP is the four most recently 
completed calendar quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim. The ABP can ONLY be used to file a UI claim 
when there are not enough wages earned in the SBP to file a monetarily valid UI claim. Refer to page 95 for more 
information about the ABP. 

Current Weekly UI Benefit Amount 
Year Minimum Maximum 
2019 $40 $450 

Maximum Charged to
Reserve Account for Each 

Employee for a Regular Claim
$11,700 

2018 $40 $450 $11,700 

BENEFIT QUALIFICATIONS 
To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must: 

• Be unemployed through no fault of their own. 
• Be totally or partially unemployed and registered 

for work with the EDD, as required. 
• Accurately report on all earnings during their 

weekly claim certification – even those from 
part-time or temporary work. 

• Be physically able to work in their usual 
occupation or in other work for which they are 
reasonably qualified. 

• Be available for work by being ready and willing 
to immediately accept suitable work in their usual 
occupation or in an occupation for which they are 
reasonably qualified. 

• Be actively seeking work on their own behalf. 
• Have received a minimum amount of wages 

during the base period. (For additional 
information, please refer to “Qualifying UI Wages” 
on page 88.) 

• Comply with regulations in regard to filing claims. 

Once a claim is filed, EDD staff will determine if there 
are eligibility issues. An EDD representative may call 
employers as well as claimants to resolve eligibility issues. 

A claimant may be ineligible for UI benefits if the claimant: 

• Was discharged for misconduct connected to his/her 
work. (Proof of misconduct rests with the employer.) 

• Voluntarily quit without “good cause” (includes 
quitting for personal reasons, to go to school, or 
to move). 

• Files a UI claim during a recess period, if he/she 
worked for a school employer, and had reasonable 
assurance of returning to work for a school employer. 

• Refused suitable work without “good cause.” 
• Failed to take part in reemployment services. 
• Failed to apply for a job when referred by a public 

employment office. 
• Failed to make reasonable efforts to look for work. 
• Failed to comply with regulations. 
• Made false statements or withheld information for 

the purpose of receiving UI benefits. 
• Is not legally entitled to work in the U.S. 
• Is not able to work or is not available for work. 
• Is working full-time or earns wages totaling more 

than 25 percent of their weekly UI benefit amount. 
• Voluntarily left work due to a trade dispute. 

Certain types of employees are not covered for UI 
benefits. For additional information, please refer to: 

• Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE). 
• Information Sheet: Types of Payments (DE 231TP). 

Online at www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_
publications.htm. 
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QUALIFYING UI WAGES 

To have a valid Unemployment Insurance (UI) claim, individuals must have earned: 

• $1,300 or more in covered employment wages in one quarter of the base period, or 
• $900 or more in covered employment wages in the base-period quarter with the highest earnings and 

earned at least 1.25 times the high quarter earnings during the entire base period. 

Certain types of payments made to employees are not considered covered employment (wages) for UI purposes. For 
additional information, refer to Information Sheet: Types of Payments (DE 231TP) online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf. The table shows if certain types of jobs and types of income are 
taxable for UI. If the table shows that a job or type of income is “not subject” to UI tax, then that income is excluded 
from establishing a UI claim. 

UI ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) schedules fact-finding phone interviews or sends questionnaires 
when there are eligibility questions regarding a claim. Our staff will talk to the claimant, employer, and appropriate 
third parties as necessary to make a decision. Based on the decision, benefits will either be paid or denied. If benefits 
are denied, a notice will be issued to the claimant. If the employer responds timely to the first notice sent by the EDD 
and addresses the issue being decided, a notice will also be sent to the employee. 

NOTE: The maximum amount an employer can be charged on a regular claim is $11,700. Refer to “Benefit Amount” 
on page 87. In addition, an employer’s reserve account may be subject to charges for benefits paid on a 
Training Extension (TE) claim. Claimants who have been approved for California Training Benefits (a program 
established to retain displaced workers who need new skills to return to work) may be eligible for a TE claim. 
A claimant with a TE claim is eligible to receive a maximum of 52 times his/her weekly benefit amount on the 
regular claim, which includes the maximum benefit award of the regular claim. 

HOW TO DESIGNATE AN AGENT OR SINGLE ADDRESS 

Tax-Rated Employers or Reimbursable Employers 
Tax-Rated or Reimbursable Employers may make address changes or designate an agent by contacting the EDD 
Tax Branch. Refer to Change of Status information on page 73. 

Reimbursable Employers 
Public entity and nonprofit employers should also submit the single agent address or agent information to the EDD 
Tax Branch to have the address on file changed. To have the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed 
(DE 1101CZ) and tax forms sent to the designated single address, refer to “Changes to Your Business Status” 
information on page 73. 

In addition, public entity and nonprofit employers and their agents must elect to have the notice of new or additional 
claim (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) sent to a designated single address, per section 806 of the California Unemployment 
Insurance Code. 

Requests for designation of a single address should be sent to: 

Employment Development Department
Unemployment Insurance Division, MIC 40
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Fax: 1-916-654-8117 

HOW TO REQUEST AN ELECTRONIC DE 1545 

Employers and their agents may electronically obtain the Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
Claim (DE 1545) through the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI). To obtain information about EDI, contact: 

Employment Development Department
Employer Assistance Unit, MIC 16
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Phone: 1-916-464-2325 
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RESPONDING TO NOTICES 

You need to respond timely and in writing to the Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or 
DE 1101ER), Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim (DE 1545), or the Notice of Potential 
Increased Liability For Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE) if: 

• The claimant was terminated or voluntarily quit. 
• You have knowledge of information that might affect the claimant’s eligibility for UI benefits. 
• The claimant’s name and Social Security number are not correct. 
• You want a written decision of eligibility that provides you appeal rights to the EDD’s decision. 
• The claimant’s work was in non-covered employment for UI purposes and the wages should not be used to 

establish a UI claim, including work performed as an elected official. 

If you believe the claimant is not entitled to benefits, it is important to protest in writing when you receive the first 
notice and within the protest time limits. Refer to page 90 for the Claim Notices and Protest Time Limits table. Your 
response must include any facts that may affect the claimant’s eligibility for UI benefits or the potential liability of your 
UI reserve account for benefits paid to the claimant. 

Protests to the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, DE 1545R, or DE 1545TE should be in writing and mailed to the 
address noted on the form within the protest time limits of that form. Employers and third-party administrators can elect 
to electronically receive and respond to the EDD’s Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ) using 
SIDES. Learn more at www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES. Protests may be written on the notice or included in a separate letter 
and should contain the following information: 

• Employer’s payroll tax account number, name, and address. 
• Claimant’s name and Social Security number. 
• Beginning date of the claim. 
• Date of separation from employment. 
• Dates of separation(s) and rehire(s) during and following the quarters shown on the DE 1545. 
• Information supporting your belief of the claimant’s ineligibility. (Refer to page 87 for a list of disqualifying 

events.) Protests should include specific facts and circumstances. General statements (e.g., employee was 
fired for misconduct) should be supported with specific events and documentation. This will result in better 
eligibility decisions based on the facts. 

• If the wage information listed on the DE 1545 or DE 1545TE is incorrect, please inform the EDD in writing at: 

Employment Development Department
Employers Assistance Unit, MIC 16 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Include the following information with your correction of wage information: 

○ Employer’s payroll tax account number, name, and address. 
○ Claimant’s name and Social Security number. 
○ Beginning date of the claim. 
○ Correction to the wage information. Please provide supporting documentation to the correction, such as 

a copy of the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) or Quarterly 
Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ). 

○ Name, signature, and phone number of the employer or employer representative preparing the wage 
correction. 

○ Date of the wage correction. 
• The protest should be signed by the person having personal knowledge of the facts or having access to 

records containing the facts. 

REMEMBER: If a written protest is not submitted, or submitted untimely, for the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or 
DE 1545TE, you waive your right to protest your UI reserve account’s potential liability for benefits paid to the claimant 
and your right to appeal the EDD determination. 
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SUBSEQUENT BENEFIT YEAR 

If you receive a notice that a subsequent benefit year has been established, you must resubmit any facts you 
furnished on the initial Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) to be entitled to 
a determination and/or ruling based on such facts for the later benefit year. 

CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS 

Notice Postmarked Within 

DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER Ten (10) calendar days of the date mailed to you (the 
Mailed to the last employer when a current or former date is printed on the top-right side of the DE 1101CZ 
employee files a new UI claim or an existing claim is and the DE 1101ER). 
reopened. 

DE 1545 
Issued to all base-period employers after a claimant 
receives the first UI payment. This notice informs each 
employer of the wages used to establish the claim and 
the amount of potential charges to their UI reserve 
account for that claim. 

NOTE: Employers and their agents may obtain the 
DE 1545 electronically. (Refer to “How to 
Request an Electronic DE 1545” on page 88.) 

The deadline to submit a ruling request is located on the 
top-right side of the DE 1545. 

To request a ruling, submit separation information within 
fifteen (15) calendar days from the mail date. If wage 
information is incorrect, submit the information within 
thirty (30) calendar days. 

DE 1545TE 
Mailed to base-period employers only when a former 
employee has been approved for the California Training 
Benefits (CTB) program. This form will inform you of 
the maximum amount of potential benefits payable, 
including training extension benefits, and the amount 
of potential charges to your UI reserve account. When 
protesting a former employee’s eligibility for the CTB 
program, employers should address the particular 
criteria that individuals must meet under section 1269 
and 1269.1 of the California Unemployment Insurance 
Code (CUIC). 

Fifteen (15) calendar days from the mail date. 

NOTE: If you respond untimely, provide the reason you are submitting the eligibility information untimely and the 
EDD will determine if you had “good cause” for not submitting your response timely. If there is a finding of 
“good cause,” you will be entitled to receive a notice of determination or ruling. If it is determined that you 
did not have “good cause” for the late response, a Response to Employer Communication (DE 4614) will 
be issued. This form can be appealed if you disagree with the determination. Also, if you respond untimely 
with eligibility information, the EDD will conduct a determination of eligibility with the claimant regardless of 
whether you are entitled to a notice of determination or ruling. 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 
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NOTICES OF DETERMINATION, RULING, OR MODIFICATION 

You will receive one of the following DE 1080 notices in response to eligibility issues you reported on the Notice 
of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER), Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) Claim (DE 1545), or the Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits 
(DE 1545TE). 

Notice Purpose 
DE 1080EZ: 

• Notice of Determination 

• Notice of Determination/Ruling 

• Notice of Ruling 

Reimbursable Employer(s): 
Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER, 
and who submits information about quits and discharges. The notice 
informs the employer whether or not the claimant was found eligible for 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits. 
Tax-rated and Reimbursable Employers(s): 
Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, 
DE 1545, or DE 1545TE, or who provides eligibility information about 
issues other than quits or discharges that can affect a claimant’s eligibility 
for UI benefits, such as job refusals or a claimant’s unavailability for work 
because of school attendance, lack of child care, etc. The notice informs 
the employer whether or not the claimant was found eligible to receive UI 
benefits. Refer to page 87 for a list of disqualifying events. 

Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ 
or DE 1101ER with eligibility information regarding a voluntary quit or 
discharge. The ruling portion of this notice informs the employer whether or 
not the reserve account will be charged for UI benefits paid. 

Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with 
separation information. The separation must have occurred during or after 
the base period of the claim. This notice informs the employer whether or 
not the reserve account will be charged for UI benefits paid. 

REMEMBER: Employers who finance UI coverage under one of the reimbursable financing methods receive Notices 
of Determination, but do not receive Notices of Ruling because they do not have a UI reserve account. 
The Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE) provides base-period 
employers with a timely notice of maximum amount of potential UI benefits, including training extension benefits that 
may be charged to their accounts. This form is mailed to base-period employers only when a former employee has 
been approved for the California Training Benefits (CTB) program. When protesting a claimant’s eligibility for the CTB 
program, employers should address the particular criteria that individuals must meet under section 1269 and 1269.1 
of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). 
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) BENEFITS – APPEAL RIGHTS 

You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with a decision made by the Employment Development 
Department (EDD) about your: 

• Former employee’s right to receive UI benefits. 
• UI reserve account being charged for benefits paid to a former employee. 

You must send your written appeal to the EDD within thirty (30) calendar days of the date the decision was mailed 
to you. The EDD will send you an acknowledgment of receipt and registration of your appeal with the phone number 
for the Office of Appeal hearing the case. The Office of Appeal will schedule a hearing with an Administrative Law 
Judge (ALJ). Both you and your former employee will be notified of the date, time, and place of the hearing at least 
ten (10) days before the hearing date. If you are filing an appeal to a Notice of Ruling (DE 1080EZ), the employee is 
not considered a party to the proceeding and is not notified of the hearing. The ALJ will conduct a hearing and give all 
interested parties the opportunity to present their evidence. The ALJ will consider the facts presented at the hearing 
and issue a written decision that is mailed to all concerned parties. 

If you do not agree with the ALJ’s decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals 
Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB reviews appeals to decisions rendered by the ALJ. Both the CUIAB and the ALJs operate 
impartially and independently of the EDD. 

The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an administrative hearing: 
• Appeals Procedure (DE 1433) 
• Office of Appeals Tax Hearing Information Pamphlet (DE 6412TF) 

For copies of these publications, write to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board at the address shown 
on the following . You may also download these forms from the CUIAB website at www.cuiab.ca.gov/forms.asp. If 
you have any questions about filing an appeal, please contact the EDD at 1-800-300-5616. 

NOTE: An EDD Appeal Form (DE 1000M) is enclosed with all DE 1080s. The DE 1000M is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1000m.pdf. 
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FALSE STATEMENT PENALTY 

Section 1142(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides that an employer and/or the 
employer’s agent may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount if 
it is determined that the employer, employer representative, employer officer, or employer agent willfully made 
a false statement or misrepresentation or failed to report a material fact concerning the claimant’s termination 
of employment. 

Section 1142(b) of the CUIC provides that an employer and/or the employer’s agent may be assessed a cash 
penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer 
representative, employer officer, or employer agent willfully made a false statement or representation or willfully 
fails to report a material fact concerning the claimant’s reasonable assurance of reemployment as defined in 
section 1253.3 of the CUIC. 

Section 1142.1 of the CUIC provides that an employer may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the 
claimant’s weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer representative, employer officer, 
or employer agent, where the claimant was performing services for an educational institution as defined in 
section 1253.3, willfully makes a false statement or representation or fails to report a material fact concerning the 
claimant’s termination of employment or regarding any week during which services were performed (as provided in 
section 1253.3) or any time granted to the claimant for professional development while working for that employer. 

If you are not in agreement with the Notice of Determination or Assessment Under UI Code Section 1142(A) 
(DE 3807 SEP) or Notice of Determination or Assessment Under UI Code Section 1142(B) (DE 3807 RA), you may 
file a Notice of Petition Rights (DE 2350) to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the California Unemployment 
Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB, established separate and apart from the EDD, reviews, hears, and 
renders impartial and independent decisions in tax and benefit matters related to the CUIC. 

Prepare an original and a copy of the petition. The petition may be informal but must be in writing and should: 
• Show your EDD employer payroll tax account number and the date of the assessment. For faster processing, 

enclose a copy of the DE 3807 SEP or DE 3807 RA with your petition. 
• Provide the claimant’s name and Social Security number. 
• Clearly indicate that it is a “Petition for Reassessment.” 
• Describe the reason for the petition and specify the facts or grounds for requesting a reassessment. 
• Be signed by you or your authorized agent. 
• State your address or that of your agent, if any. 

To be timely, the petition must be mailed or delivered to the office shown below within thirty (30) calendar days from 
the date of assessment. The time to protest can be extended by an ALJ for not more than thirty (30) days but only if 
“good cause” for the delay is shown. Mail or deliver the original and a copy of your petition for reassessment to: 

California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
Sacramento Office of Appeals
2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 150
Sacramento, CA 95833-4224 

BENEFIT AUDITS TO DETERMINE FRAUD 

The benefit audit process leads to the recovery of improper Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit payments and the 
potential reversal of related charges to the employer’s reserve account when the EDD determines that the claimant 
was not entitled to UI benefits. The Benefit Audit (DE 1296B) identifies individuals who may have improperly received 
UI benefits for weeks in which they worked and had earnings. The EDD has several processes to detect and deter 
fraud; thereby, protecting the integrity of the UI program. Each quarter, as part of the EDD fraud detection efforts, 
DE 1296B audit forms are mailed to employers to request wage information for specific weeks that their California 
employees may have worked. 

Each quarter, the EDD also runs a cross-match with other states’ wage records. If it appears an individual may have 
worked in another state while receiving California UI benefits, then an Interstate Unemployment Insurance Benefit 
Payment Audit (IB 8605) form will be sent to out-of-state employers. 
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BENEFIT AUDITS TO DETERMINE FRAUD (cont.) 
Additionally, as part of our continuing efforts to detect and deter fraud, the EDD cross-matches the Social Security 
number and Start-of-Work Date (SWD) from the New Employee Registry information reported by employers with UI 
benefit payment information. An accurate SWD (not the hire date) is important for this cross match process. If a match 
is identified, a New Employee Registry Benefit Audit (DE 1296NER) audit form will be sent to the employer requesting 
earnings and eligibility information. The returned employer information is used to identify benefit overpayments and to 
recover the improper benefit payments. 

The DE 1296NER audit form enables the EDD to detect fraud up to six months sooner than the quarterly Benefit Audit 
Process and protects the UI Fund by reducing overpayments. Employers who have responded to the DE 1296NER audit 
form will not receive a DE 1296B for the same employee for the same quarter. 

Employers are required by state and federal laws to respond to the DE 1296B, the DE 1296NER, and the IB 8605 
benefit audits. Employers’ participation in these processes is essential to detect potential fraud and to protect 
the integrity of the UI program. 

Questions or comments about the benefit audit process should be sent to: 
Employment Development Department
PO Box 3038, MIC 16A
Sacramento, CA 95812-3038 

Phone: 1-866-401-2849 

Additional information is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/FAQ_-_Benefit_Audits.htm. 

BACK PAY AWARD 

Employees who receive Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits and later receive back pay awards or settlements 
must have the Back Pay Award or settlement allocated to the period for which it was awarded. The EDD must be 
reimbursed an amount that equals the amount of UI benefits received if the Back Pay Award covers the same period 
for which UI benefits were paid. Back pay is considered wages and should be reported within thirty (30) days from 
the settlement or agreement date. 

A determination must be made regarding who is responsible to repay the EDD for the overpaid benefit 
amounts. If the Back Pay Award agreement states that the employer will withhold overpayment amounts 
from the Back Pay Award or settlement, the employer is responsible for submitting the amounts withheld 
to the EDD to clear the overpayment. The employer must provide the claimant’s name and complete Social 
Security number and information concerning the period covered by the Back Pay Award. 

At the employer’s request, the EDD will determine the amount of UI benefits to be repaid, establish an overpayment, 
and notify the claimant and employer. (“Employer” refers to both tax-rated and reimbursable employers.) 
Reimbursable employers will receive credits against their future charges only after the liability has been paid. For 
further information, contact: 

Employment Development Department
Back Pay Awards Coordinator, MIC 8, OARG
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

Phone: 1-714-687-4400 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS 

Employees who received UI benefits and later receive workers’ compensation benefits in the form of Temporary Total 
Disability (TTD) benefits, Vocational Rehabilitation Maintenance Allowance (VRMA), or settlements for the same 
period must repay the EDD an amount equal to the UI benefits received. For further information, contact: 

Employment Development Department
Workers’ Compensation Specialist
PO Box 2588 
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670 

Phone: 1-916-464-0713 
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STATEMENT OF CHARGES 

Each September, the annual Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T) is mailed to you. This statement 
notifies you of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit charges and credits to your reserve account for the prior 
one-year period from July 1 through June 30. Charges are itemized and based on the UI benefits paid to your 
former employees. Charges to your reserve account may increase your UI contribution rate for the next tax year. It is 
important to review your statement carefully and respond timely if you do not agree with the charges. You have sixty 
(60) days from the issued date on your statement to protest any charges you believe are incorrect. An extension of 
up to sixty (60) days may be granted for good cause if your request is submitted before the protest deadline. When 
filing your protest, you must include your EDD employer payroll tax account number, the claimant’s name, Social 
Security number, claim date, the dollar amount, total number of claimants being protested, and the specific reason. 

Mail your protest to: 

Employment Development Department 
Contribution Rate Group 
PO Box 826831 
Sacramento, CA 94230-6831 

For a sample form and detailed instructions on how to file a protest, visit the EDD’s website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/Forms and refer to the DE 428T Protest Sample Form (DE 428C) and the Statement of Charges 
to Reserve Account, DE 428T (DE 428I) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

To ensure your DE 428T is received timely, please make the necessary updates to your address and/or agent 
information. For your convenience, these updates can be submitted online using e-Services for Business. 

ALTERNATE BASE PERIOD 

The Alternate Base Period (ABP) program requires the EDD to use more recently earned wages to calculate 
monetary eligibility for new UI claims for unemployed individuals who do not qualify for a UI claim using the Standard 
Base Period (SBP). The “Standard” Base Period uses the wages earned in the first four of the last five completed 
calendar quarters prior to the beginning date of the UI claim. The “Alternate” Base Period uses the wages earned in 
the four most recently completed calendar quarters. 

The ABP legislation does not change the legal requirements for employers’ quarterly wage reporting. 

In addition to employers’ current quarterly wage reporting, if the ABP wages are not showing in the EDD database, 
employers will be asked to provide the wages for claimants. At times, employers may be asked to provide wages 
prior to the quarterly wage reporting. The EDD will only request wages from employers if it appears that claimants 
have enough wages to qualify for a UI claim using the ABP. If it is necessary for the EDD to obtain the wages from 
the employer, the EDD will mail the employer a Request for Wages (DE 1919) to request wage information for each 
of the five most recently completed quarters. This will assist the EDD in determining if the claimant qualifies for a 
claim using the SBP or ABP. Employers have ten (10) days to respond to the EDD request. 

In addition to mailing the employer a DE 1919, the EDD will mail the claimant an Affidavit of Wages (DE 23A) to 
request the wage information. If the employer does not respond to the EDD request for wage information within the 
ten (10) days, and the claimant provides the DE 23A along with tangible evidence of the wages earned, the EDD will 
file the claim based on the wage information provided by the claimant. 

If the base period wages on an ABP claim are later adjusted when the quarterly wages are reported by the employer, 
an overpayment may not be established on the ABP claim unless the claim was based on fraudulent information 
provided by the claimant. This means that, if employers do not respond timely to the EDD original DE 1919, they may 
incur reserve account charges they might not have otherwise incurred. 
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LAYOFF ALTERNATIVES 

Partial UI Claims 

The Partial UI Claim program enables employers to keep trained employees who are partially employed during slow 
business periods. Employers may use the Partial UI Claim program if employees are temporarily working reduced 
hours or have been placed on layoff status for no more than two consecutive weeks. For information about partial 
claims and the partial forms, Notice of Reduced Earnings (DE 2063) and Notice of Reduced Earnings (Fisherperson) 
(DE 2063F), access the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/faq_-_partial_claims.htm. 

If you participate in the program, you should: 
• Instruct your employees to call the EDD UI toll-free numbers to file a UI claim by phone.
• Instruct your employees to advise the EDD that he/she is participating in the Partial UI Claims program.
• Complete the employer portion of the Notice of Reduced Earnings (DE 2063) and issue it to your employees. 
• Instruct employees to complete and sign the DE 2063 and mail it to the EDD. 

If an employee has no wages (does not work) for two consecutive weeks, instruct the employee to contact the EDD 
to obtain the regular Continued Claim (DE 4581) form. Participation in this program may increase the employer’s UI 
tax rate. 

For more information about partial UI claims, contact one of the toll-free UI phone numbers on page 109 or access 
the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/partial_claims.htm. 

Work Sharing Program 
The Work Sharing program is available to employers who reduce employee wages and hours as an alternative to 
a layoff. The affected workforce or work unit(s) must consist of two or more employees who comprise at least 10 
percent of the workforce or work unit(s) and the employer must meet other requirements in order to participate. 
The employer must sign a Work Sharing (WS) Unemployment Insurance Plan Application (DE 8686) with the EDD 
and comply with all requirements to remain eligible for participation. The DE 8686 must be periodically renewed. 
Participation in this program may increase the employer’s UI tax rate. If you are interested in participating in the 
program or would like additional information, access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/work_sharing_claims.htm or contact: 

Employment Development Department
Special Claims Office
PO Box 419076 
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076 

Phone: 1-916-464-3343 
Fax: 1-916-464-2616 
Alternate fax: 1-916-464-3333 

NOTE: Employees participating in the Work Sharing or Partial Claims programs cannot use Tele-CertSM or the EDD 
UI OnlineSM to certify for Unemployment Insurance (UI) weekly benefits. Participants of these programs are 
required to continue using the existing paper continued claim form by mail. 

NOTICE OF LAYOFF 

Employers with at least 100 full-time employees who plan plant closures resulting in employment loss of 50 or more 
full-time employees within a 30-day period or mass layoffs of 50 to 499 full-time employees constituting at least 33% 
of the full-time workforce at a single site of employment within a 30-day period or layoff of 500 or more employees 
regardless of percentage of workforce, must give affected employees at least 60 days written notice. Please refer to 
“Plant Closure or Mass Layoff (WARN)” on page 77 for additional information. 

WAGES NOTICES 

In the event of a layoff or business closure involving 10 or more employees, the EDD Wages Notice Group will 
investigate and post Electronic Wages Notices (EWN) for staff in the EDD offices to use. The EWNs contain wage 
findings (e.g., findings on in-lieu-of-notice pay and bonuses) to ensure consistent determinations when several 
employees may be affected by the same set of facts. For additional information, access the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/mass_layoffs_and_wage_notices.htm. 
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STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) PROGRAM 
The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible workers who need
time off work. The SDI program is state mandated and funded by employee payroll deductions. 
DI is a component of the SDI program. DI provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible California workers
who have a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related 
illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. 
PFL is also a component of the SDI program. PFL provides benefits to eligible workers who take time off work to care 
for a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner. 
Benefits are also available to new parents who need time to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster
care placement. 
Employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and voluntary plan administrators may securely submit DI and PFL
claim information online. For additional information, visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability. 

TAXES – WHO PAYS FOR SDI? 
The SDI program (DI and PFL) is funded through mandatory employee payroll deductions for most California
workers. California law requires employers to provide coverage for employees with payroll in excess of $100 in a
calendar quarter. There are a few exceptions. Those specifically excluded are:

• Some domestic workers.
• Some governmental employees.
• Employees of interstate railroads.
• Employees of some nonprofit agencies.
• Individuals claiming a religious exemption. 

NOTE: When a worker has more than one employer during a calendar year, it is possible that excess SDI 
contributions may be withheld from the worker’s wages. Workers should request a refund of excess SDI 
withholdings on their California income tax return. 

The SDI tax rate may be adjusted annually to not more than 1.5 percent (.015) or less than 0.1 percent (.001)
depending on the balance in the Disability Fund. Employee contributions withheld are paid by the employer to either
the Disability Fund or a Voluntary Plan (refer to page 98). 

EMPLOYEE BENEFITS 
Eligible claimants may file for DI or PFL benefits for each occurrence of disability or period of family leave.The Disability
Insurance Provisions (DE 2515) brochure contains general information on DI eligibility. The Paid Family Leave (DE 2511) 
brochure contains general information on PFL eligibility. The Claim for Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits (DE 2501) and 
Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE 2501F) are forms that contain additional program information and
applications to apply for benefits. Claimants can also apply through SDI Online at www.edd.ca.gov/disability. 
California employers whose employees are subject to SDI contributions must provide new employees the DE 2515 and
the DE 2511 and post the Notice to Employees (DE 1857A) poster. The California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC)
requires employers to provide general DI information to each employee leaving work due to a non-occupational illness or
injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. Employers are also required to provide PFL information to each employee leaving work
to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster care placement. The
brochures and applications are provided to employers at no cost. Additional copies may be ordered online at
www.edd.ca.gov/Forms or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

CLAIM NOTICES 
When a DI claim is filed, the employer(s) reported on the DI claim form will receive a Notice to Employer of Disability
Insurance Claim Filed (DE 2503). When a PFL claim is filed, the employer(s) will receive a Notice of Paid Family
Leave (PFL) Claim Filed (DE 2503F). Employers are required to complete and return the DE 2503 or DE 2503F
within two working days. The DE 2503 can also be submitted electronically using SDI Online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/disability. 
To deter fraud, please respond immediately if you are not the employer shown on the DE 2503 or DE 2503F, or if
the claimant: 

• Is not your employee.
• Has quit his/her job.
• Is receiving wages.
• Has not stopped working.
• Is known to be working for another employer. 

NOTE: Your Unemployment Insurance reserve account will not be affected when your employees file DI and/or PFL
claims. Because employees pay for DI and PFL through payroll deductions, you will not be notified of claimant
eligibility for DI/PFL benefits. 

SDI ONLINE 
SDI Online is an electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and
voluntary plan administrators for submission of DI and PFL claim information. Employers can securely submit 
employee information (e.g., wages earned, last day worked, etc.) for DI claims online. For additional information,
visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/disability. 
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VOLUNTARY PLAN 
California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a Voluntary Plan (VP) for the payment of 
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits in place of the mandatory State Disability Insurance 
(SDI) coverage. A VP must provide all the benefits of SDI, at least one benefit that is better than SDI, and it cannot 
cost employees more than SDI. To be approved for a VP, the employer must post a security deposit with the EDD. 
Once a VP is approved, the employer is no longer required to send SDI withholdings to the EDD for those employees 
covered by the VP. Instead, the employer holds the VP contributions in a trust fund to pay DI or PFL benefit claims 
and approved expenses. The VP employer pays a quarterly assessment to the EDD based on the taxable wages of 
employees participating in the plan and other factors. 
A VP must provide better coverage without additional cost to the employees. Based on claims experience, excess 
funds may be used to increase benefit levels or lower contributions. Please note that any money collected for VP 
purposes must be used only for the benefit of employees who contribute to the plan. 
An employer considering a VP commitment should be aware that the employer takes ultimate responsibility for 
the plan benefits and expenses. If the accumulated VP trust fund is inadequate to cover benefits or expenses, the 
employer is responsible to cover the deficit; employer loans made to the VP may be recovered from future excess 
VP trust funds. If a plan terminates and there are insufficient trust funds, the employer must assume the financial 
obligation until all plan liabilities have been met. 
Additional information about the VP option is available online at 
www.edd.ca.gov/disability/vp_information.htm, or call 1-916-653-6839, TTY at 1-800-563-2441, or write to: 

Employment Development Department
Disability Insurance Branch, MIC 29 VP
Voluntary Plan Group
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 

SELF-EMPLOYED BENEFITS 
Any self-employed individual who receives the major part of his or her income from the trade, business, or 
occupation in which he or she is self-employed may elect coverage for themselves. Under provisions in the California 
Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC), self-employed individuals, who are employers, may elect Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) or SDI coverage only for themselves. Self-employed individuals, 
who are not employers, may only elect SDI coverage for themselves. 
Self-employed individuals who elect coverage pay at a rate determined by the prior annual combined usage of all 
participants. 
For further information on elective coverage, the Information Sheet: Elective Coverage for Employers and 
Self-Employed Individuals (DE 231EC) is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ec.pdf. 
For additional information, the Fact Sheet: Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Program (DIEC) (DE 8714CC) 
is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8714cc.pdf, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE 
Workers’ compensation insurance is an employer paid indemnity that provides benefits to eligible workers 
experiencing a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to an 
occupational illness or injury. Generally, employees are not eligible for SDI when receiving workers’ compensation 
benefits unless the SDI rate is greater than the workers’ compensation rate. For additional information, visit the 
Department of Industrial Relations website at www.dir.ca.gov. 
If you have any employees, you are required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance. Failure to do so is a 
crime and may result in penalties and closure of your business. 
If you have questions about workers’ compensation insurance or how to obtain coverage, contact your insurance 
agent or the Division of Workers’ Compensation at 1-800-736-7401. 

SDI FRAUD 
To provide affordable benefits to eligible workers, the SDI program has systems in place to detect and deter fraud. 
Report suspected fraudulent activity to the EDD Fraud Hotline at 1-800-229-6297 or at www.edd.ca.gov/disability. 
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EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICES 

EDD WORKFORCE SERVICES 
The EDD Workforce Services Branch provides services to bring California employers together with qualified job 
seekers. The EDD Workforce Services Branch offers an Internet-based system called CalJOBSSM, a self-service 
labor exchange, which provides quick access to a large pool of job-ready applicants. Employers with Internet access 
can enter their own job listings and update or close orders. 
Employers without Internet access, or who have special requirements, can be served by customer service 
representatives who take job opening information by phone or fax, and assist employers in finding qualified 
applicants. There are no fees to use CalJOBSSM. 
To register with CalJOBSSM, you will need your EDD employer payroll tax account number. To access CalJOBSSM, 
visit the website at www.caljobs.ca.gov or call the Customer Support Desk at 1-800-758-0398 for assistance. If you 
do not have an EDD employer payroll tax account number, please refer to page 7 for information about obtaining one. 
For more information on these and other services, visit the EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/employers_businesses.htm or contact your nearest America’s Job Center of 
CaliforniaSM. To locate your nearest office, go to www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/. 

EMPLOYMENT TRAINING PANEL (ETP) 
The Employment Training Panel (ETP) is a statewide business-labor training and economic development program. 
The ETP provides funding to employers to assist in upgrading the skills of their workers through training that leads 
to good paying, long-term jobs. The ETP was created in 1982 by the California State Legislature and has invested 
approximately $1.5 billion for the successful training and employment retention of more than 1.1 million workers 
for nearly 80,500 California businesses to date. The ETP is a funding agency, not a training agency. Businesses 
determine their own training needs and how best to provide training. 

Purpose: The ETP funds training to foster job creation and the retention of workers in secure, full-time employment 
in targeted industries in order to improve California’s competitiveness in a global economy and to advance the skills 
of the state’s workforce. The ETP’s Core Funding Program primarily funds retraining of currently employed workers in 
companies threatened by out-of-state competition and has placed special emphasis on training for small businesses 
with fewer than 100 employees in California. 

Funding 
The legislature established the Employment Training Tax (ETT) in 1982. All tax-rated employers, including new 
employers, are subject to the ETT. Employers with positive reserve accounts are assessed 0.1 percent (.001) on the 
first $7,000 of each employee’s wages. Employers do not pay the ETT while their accounts have a negative reserve 
balance, but they must pay a higher rate of Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax. The maximum ETT collected is $7 per 
employee, per year. The ETP’s Core Funding Program is funded by the ETT. The ETP has also received additional 
funding for alternative programs. This additional funding has been through partnerships with the California Energy 
Commission (CEC), as well as through funding from the Labor and Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) to fund 
specific training programs. 

How Is ETP Different? 
The ETP’s performance-based contracts ensure that ETP funded training results in good-paying, secure jobs. Before 
an employer may earn training cost reimbursement, trainees must receive a certain number of training hours and 
must complete the required retention period at their job, depending on the contract type, as well as meet the required 
ETP minimum wage. The employer determines the training courses, trainers, and types of training that best meet 
their business needs. 
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
The ETP contracts directly with tax-rated employers, groups of employers (including associations and chambers 
of commerce), training agencies, vocational schools, Workforce Development Boards (WDB), and grant recipients 
under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA). 

Under its Core Funding Program, the ETP funds the following types of training to promote a healthy labor market in 
a growing and competitive economy: 

• Retraining – Helps companies facing out-of-state competition by upgrading the job skills of current 
employees. 

• New-Hire Training – Trains unemployed workers eligible to receive California UI benefits or who have 
exhausted UI benefits within 24 months of the start of training. 

• Special Employment Training (SET) – The ETP provides limited funding for SET projects to improve 
the skills and employment security of frontline workers (workers directly producing goods or services) in 
occupations that pay at least the state average hourly wage. SET projects are not subject to ETP’s out-of-
state competition requirement, but are a priority for workforce training. SET funding also allows training of 
frontline workers who earn below the state average, if they are in the following categories: 
○ Workers in High Unemployment Areas – Provides training funds for workers in areas where the 

unemployment rate is significantly higher than the state average. 
○ Small Business Skills – Training for small business owners to enhance the competitive position of their 

business. Owners must have at least one, but no more than nine, full-time employee(s). 
○ Workers With Multiple Barriers to Employment – Training for individuals with barriers to full-

time employment, such as, but not limited to, physical disabilities, lack of work history, and limited 
communication and literacy skills. 

○ Seasonal Industries – Training funds for workers employed by companies in seasonal industries. 

Additional information can be found on the ETP website at www.etp.ca.gov including how to apply for funds, eligible 
entities, training methods, reimbursement rates, and ETP Annual Reports. Interested parties may also contact one of 
the following ETP offices: 

Sacramento Central Office ............................................... 1-916-327-5640 
North Hollywood Regional Office ..................................... 1-818-755-1313 
Sacramento Regional Office ............................................ 1-916-327-5239 
San Diego Regional Office ............................................... 1-619-881-1777 
San Francisco Bay Area Regional Office ......................... 1-650-655-6930 

TRADE ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE 
The Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program is a federal program established to help American workers who 
have lost their jobs or had their hours and wages reduced as a result of foreign trade. 

The TAA program is administered by the Employment Development Department (EDD) and may provide training, 
job search assistance, relocation assistance, and weekly income support to trade impacted workers. To obtain and 
file a Petition for Trade Adjustment Assistance (ETA 9042), workers may access the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) 
website at www.doleta.gov/tradeact, contact any local EDD Workforce Services Office, America’s Job Center of 
CaliforniaSM partner, or call the EDD TAA Coordinator at 1-916-654-7570. 

For additional information on the TAA program, call the DOL at 1-202-693-3560 or 1-888-365-6822. 

Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at 
www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm. 
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WORK OPPORTUNITY TAX CREDIT 

The Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) is a federal tax credit available to employers for hiring individuals from 
certain target groups who have consistently faced significant barriers to employment. 

To be considered for the tax credit, employers must submit properly completed forms to the Employment 
Development Department (EDD) within 28 days of the employee’s start date to determine if their new hire meets the 
eligibility criteria. 

For identification of target groups and additional information, visit the EDD website at www.edd.ca.gov/wotc, call 
1-866-593-0173 or email WOTCSupport@edd.ca.gov. 

eWOTC 

eWOTC is an online service to submit, view, and manage Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) Request for 
Certification applications. This system significantly increases efficiency in processing new applications and decreases 
the waiting period for approvals. 

To take full advantage of the benefits offered by eWOTC, employers with 25 or more employees and all agents/ 
consultants must complete a one-time eWOTC enrollment process to be able to submit WOTC Request for 
Certification applications online. Additional information is available online at www.edd.ca.gov/wotc. 

Employers with 24 employees or less, without agent/consultant representation, are also encouraged to submit new 
applications online through eWOTC, but they may also mail applications to the address below. Please note that 
mailed applications will take longer to process. 

Employment Development Department 
Work Opportunity Tax Credit Authorization Center
2901 50th Street 
Sacramento, CA 95817 

WORKFORCE INNOVATION AND OPPORTUNITY ACT 

The federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) of 2014 provides a comprehensive range of workforce 
development activities to help job seekers access employment, education, training, and supportive services to 
succeed in the labor market and to match employers with the skilled workers they need to compete in the global 
economy. Workforce development activities authorized under WIOA are provided at the local level to adults, 
dislocated workers, youth, veterans, including persons with disabilities and individuals with barriers to employment. 
The purpose of WIOA is to promote employment, earnings, and occupational skills of participants. In turn, this 
improves the quality of the workforce and enhances the productivity and competitiveness of California’s economy. 

The WIOA authorizes a variety of services to employers. Services are designed and administered by Local Workforce 
Development Boards (Local Board). Local services are provided by America’s Job Center of CaliforniaSM locations and 
may include: 

• Applicant screening/referral
• Business closure assistance 

• Job placement assistance
• Labor market information 

• Customized training
• Enterprise zone tax credits
• Entrepreneurial training 

• On-the-job training
• Training subsidies 

In California, 45 Local Workforce Development Areas (Local Area) are designated by the Governor to administer local 
WIOA services. The chief local official of each Local Area appoints a Local Board which consists of representatives 
from private sector businesses, organized labor, community-based organizations, local government agencies, and 
local education agencies. The Local Boards designate America’s Job Center of CaliforniaSM operators, provide policy 
guidance, and oversee the workforce development activities within their Local Area. 

For more information, visit the EDD’s WIOA website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/workforce_innovation_and_opportunity_act.htm. 
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LABOR MARKET INFORMATION 
The EDD Labor Market Information Division (LMID) collects, analyzes, and publishes information about California’s 
labor market and economy. Labor market information helps employers, policy makers, and researchers develop 
plans and make important business decisions. 

What Labor Market Information Is Available Online? 

The LMID website at www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov organizes information by customer type. For instance, 
selecting “More…” under “LMI by Customer” will lead to the Business/Employers section for information specific to 
employers’ needs. This page contains links to: 

• Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity Planning Information – Get population, labor force, and 
summary occupational information to help with developing affirmative action programs. 

• Local Area Profile – Find an overview of labor market information in the state or a county, including 
employment and unemployment, industry payroll information, wages, the consumer price index, and more. 

• Labor Market Information for Employers – Find links to wage statistics, benefits information, data for your 
business plans, local labor market profiles, and more. 

• National Compensation Survey – A federal survey of employee salaries, wages, and benefits. 
• Quarterly Census of Employment Wages – The program serves as a near census of monthly employment and 

quarterly wage information at the state and county levels and provides the most detailed industry data available. 
• Other EDD resources, labor market publications, and the data library. 
• Information about workplace issues, including those related to benefits, meal breaks, and pay are available 

from the Department of Industrial Relations, and can be accessed at www.dir.ca.gov. 
For assistance, contact your local Labor Market (LM) consultant. Contact information for the LM consultants can be 
found at www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/file/resource/LMIConsultants.pdf or you can contact the LMID at 
1-916-262-2162. 

Multiple Location and/or Function Employers 
When an employer maintains a business with more than one physical location or conducts more than one business 
activity/function at the same location, and the secondary location has a total of 10 or more employees, the employer 
is considered to be a multiple establishment employer. A primary location is defined as the one with the highest 
number of employees. If your firm fits the multiple location criteria and you are not currently completing a Multiple 
Worksite Report (BLS 3020), please contact the LMID’s Employment and Payroll Group at 1-916-262-1856. 

REMEMBER: Filing the Multiple Worksite Report (BLS 3020) is mandatory and must be done on a quarterly basis. 

The LMID mails the federal form BLS 3020 to multiple worksite business owners at the close of each quarter (e.g., 
December 31, 2018). Employers have until the end of the following month (e.g., January 31, 2019) to return the 
BLS 3020 form to the EDD. 

How Your Industry Code Is Determined 

All businesses and government organizations are assigned an industry classification code from the North American 
Industry Classification System (NAICS), which allows the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics to tabulate national and 
state economic data by industry. Most new employers are assigned an industry code based on their response to 
Section P (industry activity) of the Commercial Employer Account Registration and Update Form (DE 1). Each year, 
selected employers are sent an Industry Verification Form (BLS 3023 NVS or NVM) to verify the accuracy of their 
industry code and physical location address. This process is known as the Annual Refile Survey. Other employers, 
who have not yet been assigned an industry code, may receive an Industry Classification Form (BLS 3023 NCA). 
Please answer ALL questions about your business and industry thoroughly when completing these forms. For 
additional information, call 1-800-562-3366. 

NOTE: The BLS 3023-NVS form can now be filed electronically by using the Web ID and Password located in the 
upper right-hand corner of the form. To complete the form electronically, log on to https://idcfars.bls.gov/. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 102 of 120 

www.edd.ca.gov
www.dir.ca.gov
www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/file/resource/LMIConsultants.pdf
https://idcfars.bls.gov
http:www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov


  
 

 
 
 

 

 

 

 

LABOR MARKET INFORMATION (cont.) 

The Importance of Occupational Information 

The LMID collects data directly from employers primarily using surveys, such as the Occupational Employment 
Statistics (OES) Survey, to learn about the occupations used by employers and the wages paid for those occupations. 
The OES program produces employment and wage estimates annually for more than 827 occupations by industry and 
geographic area. 

Occupational information forms the basis of good decisions made by employers, job seekers, workforce and 
economic development professionals, educators, public program planners, and policy makers. For example: 

• Employers use occupational information for salary negotiations, to project future skills needs, and to keep a 
competitive edge in the local community. 

• Job seekers use occupational information to become better informed about the education, training, skill, and 
ability requirements for specific occupations thus enabling them to make better decisions when preparing and 
applying for desired jobs. 

• Economic developers use wage data for business attraction and retention. 

• Educators and trainers use occupational information to identify areas where vocational and educational 
programs are needed and to create or modify curriculum to better prepare students to meet the needs of 
employers. 

It is extremely important that you respond to a request for information from the LMID. Our ability to obtain information 
from employers about the occupations found in California is essential for the development of tools used by decision 
makers throughout our economy. If you have received an OES Survey, or would like more information about this 
program, contact the EDD at 1-800-826-4896 or send an email to LMIOccupationalSurvey@edd.ca.gov. 

To access occupational information from the LMID, go to www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov and select 
“Occupations” or “Wages” under the “LMI by Subject” section of the website. 
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INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE BY TOPIC 

If you have any questions regarding the following topics, please contact the designated agency or office. 

TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

California Personal 
Income Tax (PIT) 
Withholding 

To request the California PIT withholding 
tables or for information on whether 
payments are subject to California PIT
withholding. 

EDD 
Taxpayer Assistance Center 
Phone: 1-888-745-3886 
Outside the U.S. or Canada, call 
1-916-464-3502 
www.edd.ca.gov 

Information on programming your Statistical Research Section 
computer or acceptable computer Franchise Tax Board MS 351 
software programs to calculate California PO Box 1468 
PIT withholding. Sacramento, CA 95812-1468 
NOTE: When you call the Franchise Automated phone service:

Tax Board’s (FTB) assistance 1-916-845-7057 tax practitioner line
number, please request to speak 
to their Statistical Research Assistance: 1-800-852-5711 
Section so they can provide the Hearing-impaired (TTY):
appropriate assistance. 1-800-822-6268 

www.ftb.ca.gov 
California Tax Service This is a joint tax agency website. It www.taxes.ca.gov 
Center (CTSC) contains tax-related information from the 

Employment Development Department, the
Franchise Tax Board, California Department
of Tax and Fee Adminstration, and the 
Internal Revenue Service. 

CalJOBSSM An online labor exchange system
featuring self-service options to search
for jobs, build résumés, find qualified
candidates for employment, and gather
information on education and training 
programs. 
Employers and job seekers may contact
the nearest America’s Job Center of 
CaliforniaSM for additional assistance. 
To locate your nearest office, visit:
www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator. 

CalJOBSSM Helpline
Monday through Friday
8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (PT) 
y English....................1-800-758-0398 
y Spanish ..................1-855-716-3518 
www.caljobs.ca.gov 

Workforce Services Division, MIC 50 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training 

Disability Insurance (DI) Disability Insurance (DI) is a component
of the State Disability Insurance (SDI)
program. DI provides partial wage
replacement benefits to California
workers who are unable to work due 
to a non-work-related illness or injury, 

EDD 
Disability Insurance: 
y English....................1-800-480-3287 
y Spanish ..................1-866-658-8846 
Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-563-2441 

pregnancy, or childbirth. Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
Phone: 1-855-342-3645 
This phone number is dedicated to
employers and physicians/practitioners only. 
www.edd.ca.gov/disability 

e-Services for Business A convenient and secure method for 
managing your employer payroll tax 
account, filing most of your returns and 
reports, and paying tax deposits and 
liabilities over the Internet. Refer to 
page 50 for additional information. 

EDD 
Email: ecom@edd.ca.gov 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_
Business 
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

Economic Development The EDD Labor Market Information 
Division offers data on occupational 
wages and outlook, employment by 
industry, and state and local labor market. 

EDD 
Labor Market Information Division 

Phone: 1-916-262-2162 
www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov 

Employee Eligibility to Under federal law, employers are required U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
Work to verify that every individual (citizen, 

national, or alien) whom they hire has the 
right to work in the U.S. 
The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
Services (USCIS) requires you to 
complete an Employment Eligibility 
Verification (Form I-9) for each person 
hired to verify employment eligibility. 

Services 
Business Liaison 
Automated phone service: 
1-800-357-2099 
Request a copy of the Handbook for 
Employers: Guidance for Completing 
Form I-9 (M-274). 
www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis 

Employer Requirements The Taxpayer Assistance Center can 
answer your payroll tax questions 
(e.g., employee and independent 
contractor status, employer registration, 
independent contractor reporting, and 
new employee reporting). 

EDD 
Taxpayer Assistance Center 
Phone: 1-888-745-3886 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
contact_us_about_payroll_taxes.htm 

Employer Rights During Employer rights are protected by the EDD 
the Employment Tax Taxpayer Advocate Office during the Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93 
Audit and Collection employment tax audit and collection PO Box 826880 
Process process. You may request assistance 

from this office after first attempting 
to resolve an issue with the EDD 
representative, supervisor, and office 

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Toll-Free: 1-866-594-4177 
Phone: 1-916-654-8957 
Fax: 1-916-654-6969 manager. 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
taxpayer_advocate.htm 

Employment Provides a variety of information on EDD 
Development the EDD programs and services, forms www.edd.ca.gov 
Department (EDD) and publications, and links to other
Website government sites. 

Employment Tax Rates A Notice of Contribution Rates and 
Statement of UI Reserve Account 
(DE 2088) is mailed annually by 
December 31 to notify employers of their 
UI, ETT, and SDI tax rates. For additional 
information, refer to page 84. 
Protests to the DE 2088 must be 
submitted within 60 days of the “issued 
date” on the notice. 

EDD 
Rate Management Group, MIC 4 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Phone: 1-916-653-7795 
(24-hour automated phone system) 

Employment Training Provides employers funding to train and Employment Training Panel 
Panel retain workers in targeted industries in 

performance-based contracts. Includes 
retraining current employees, training 

Sacramento 
Central Office 1-916-327-5640 

new hires (unemployed individuals), and 
Special Employment Training program. 
For additional information, refer to 
page 99. 

Regional Offices: 
North Hollywood 1-818-755-1313 
Sacramento 1-916-327-5239 
San Diego 1-619-881-1777 
San Francisco Bay Area 1-650-655-6930 
www.etp.ca.gov 
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

Federal Tax For federal employment tax and Internal Revenue Service 
Requirements personal income tax requirements, 

contact the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS). The federal Employer’s Tax 
Guide (Publication 15, Circular E) and 
Employer’s Supplemental Tax Guide 
(Publication 15-A) are available from IRS. 

Phone: 1-800-829-4933 
www.irs.gov 

Federal Unemployment The method the IRS uses to verify with EDD 
Tax Act (FUTA) the states that the credit claimed on the FUTA Certification Unit 
Certification Form 940 or Form 1040, Schedule H, 

was actually paid to the state. Refer to 
page 84 for additional information. 

Phone: 1-916-654-8545 

Forms 
• Alternate Tax Forms The requirements and approval for using 

alternate forms to file your payroll tax 
reports can be obtained by contacting the 
alternate forms coordinator. 

EDD 
Alternate Forms Coordinator 
Phone: 1-916-255-0649 

• Tax Forms and 
Publications 

Tax forms and publications are available 
on the Internet and Employment Tax 
Offices. 

EDD 
Less than 25 copies: 1-888-745-3886 
25 copies or more: 1-916-322-2835 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_
and_publications.htm 
www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/ 

Job Referral and All questions regarding the EDD EDD or local America’s Job Center of 
Recruitment Services Workforce Services or Workforce 

Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) 
services. 

CaliforniaSM 

www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/ 
Employers: 
www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/
Employers_Businesses.htm 
WIOA: 
www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/
Job_Seeker_Information.htm 

Labor Law Requirements Information about workplace issues, 
including those related to benefits, meal 
breaks, and pay are available on the DIR 
website. 

Department of Industrial Relations 
www.dir.ca.gov 

Labor Market California’s labor market information can EDD 
Information help with important business decisions. 

Data available includes occupational 
employment and wage data, industry 
employment, labor force, and selected 
population characteristics. 

Labor Market Information Division 

Phone: 1-916-262-2162 
www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov 
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

Paid Family Leave (PFL) Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component 
of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
program. PFL provides partial wage 
replacement benefits to California 
workers who take time off work to care for 
a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, 
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, 
or registered domestic partner. Benefits 
are also available to new parents who 
need time off to bond with a new child 

EDD 
Paid Family Leave: 
y English....................1-877-238-4373 
y Spanish ..................1-877-379-3819 
y Cantonese ..............1-866-692-5592 
y Vietnamese.............1-866-692-5596 
y Armenian ................1-866-627-1567 
y Punjabi ...................1-866-627-1569 
y Tagalog...................1-866-627-1568 
Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-445-1312 

through birth, adoption, or foster care 
placement. 

Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
Phone: 1-855-342-3645 
This phone number is dedicated to
employers and physicians/practitioners only. 
www.edd.ca.gov/disability 

Payroll Tax Seminars Seminar topics include reporting 
requirements, how to complete payroll 
tax forms, and independent contractor 
and employee issues. 

EDD 
Taxpayer Assistance Center 
Phone: 1-888-745-3886 
Register online at
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/. 

Reimbursable Method of Public employers and certain nonprofit EDD 
Paying Unemployment 
Insurance (UI) Benefits 

organizations have the option of
becoming “reimbursable” employers.
Employers using this method to pay UI
benefits are required to reimburse the UI
Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all UI 
benefits paid to their former employees. 

Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280 
Phone: 1-916-653-5846 

School Employees Fund Only public school employers EDD 
(SEF) (kindergarten through 12th grade), School Employees Fund, MIC 13

community colleges, and charter schools PO Box 826880 
may elect to participate in the SEF (UI Sacramento, CA 94280 
program) to finance UI benefits. Phone: 1-916-653-5380 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
school_employees_fund.htm 

Small Business 
Assistance Center 

Located on the California Tax Service 
Center website, it provides helpful
information about starting, running, or
closing your business. 

www.taxes.ca.gov 

State Disability The SDI program provides two benefits: EDD 
Insurance (SDI) Program Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Disability Insurance:

Leave (PFL). DI provides partial wage y English....................1-800-480-3287 
replacement benefits to California workers y Spanish ..................1-866-658-8846 
who are unable to work due to a non- Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-563-2441
work-related illness, or injury, pregnancy, 
or childbirth. PFL provides partial wage 
replacement benefits to California workers 
who take time off work to care for a 
seriously ill family member. Benefits are 
also available to new parents who need 
time to bond with a new child through 
birth, adoption, or foster care placement. 
The SDI program is funded through 

Paid Family Leave: 
y English....................1-877-238-4373 
y Spanish ..................1-877-379-3819 
y Cantonese ..............1-877-692-5595 
y Vietnamese.............1-866-692-5596 
y Armenian ................1-866-627-1567 
y Punjabi ...................1-866-627-1569 
y Tagalog...................1-866-627-1568 

employee payroll deductions. Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-445-1312 
Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
Phone: 1-855-342-3645 
This phone number is dedicated to
employers and physicians/practitioners only. 
www.edd.ca.gov/disability 
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

SDI Online SDI Online is an electronic claim filing 
system available to claimants and 
physicians/practitioners, for submission of 
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family 
Leave claim information. Employers and 
voluntary plan (VP) administrators can 
securely submit employee information for 
DI claims online. 

EDD 
Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
1-855-342-3645 
This phone number is dedicated to
employers and physicians/practitioners only. 
www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_online.
htm 

State Information Data SIDES is a secure and timely way for EDD 
Exchange System employers and third party administrators SIDES E-Response Technical Support: 
(SIDES) to electronically receive and respond 

to the EDD’s Notice of Unemployment 
Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ). 

1-855-327-7057 
NASWA 
SIDES Web Service Technical Support

SIDES streamlines communication 
to helps employers manage their UI 
account and reduce improper payments. 

tom.byerley@itsc.org 
This number is for employers with 
inquiries related specifically to SIDES. 
Employers with questions about the 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) program 
should use the phone numbers listed 
below under Unemployment Insurance 
(UI) Benefits. 

Tax Debt – California 
Payroll Taxes 

• Offers in 

Enables a qualified tax debtor to 
eliminate an employment tax liability at 
less than full value. 

EDD 
Offers in Compromise 
Phone: 1-916-464-2739 

Compromise Provides employers and the state an EDD 
opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged Settlements Office, MIC 93 

• Settlements 
Program 

litigation associated with resolving 
disputed employment tax issues. 

PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Phone: 1-916-653-9130 
Fax: 1-916-653-7986 

Taxpayer Assistance 
Center 

For general tax information, the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center staff is available 
8 a.m. to 5 p.m., PT, Monday through 
Friday. The Center is closed on state 
holidays. 

EDD 
Taxpayer Assistance Center 
Phone: 1-888-745-3886 
Outside the U.S. or Canada, call 
1-916-464-3502 

Taxpayer Advocate If you are unable to resolve an EDD 
Office employment tax problem with an EDD 

representative, supervisor, and office 
manager, you can contact the Taxpayer 
Advocate Office for assistance. 

Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93 
PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Toll-Free: 1-866-594-4177 
Phone: 1-916-654-8957 
Fax: 1-916-654-6969 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
taxpayer_advocate.htm 

Underground Economy Investigates businesses that are paying 
workers undocumented cash payments 
or not complying with labor, taxes, and 
licensing laws. 

EDD 
Underground Economy Operations 
Hotline: 1-800-528-1783 
Email: ueo@edd.ca.gov 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
underground_economy_operations.htm 
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

Unemployment Provides temporary income to EDD 
Insurance (UI) Benefits unemployed workers who meet the UI 

eligibility requirements. 
Unemployment Insurance Services 

Phone 
y English.....................1-800-300-5616 
y Spanish ...................1-800-326-8937 
y Cantonese ...............1-800-547-3506 
y Vietnamese..............1-800-547-2058 
y Mandarin .................1-866-303-0706 
Hearing Impaired (TTY)1-800-815-9387 
UI program self-service 1-866-333-4606 

Employer Information:
Employers who call should listen to the 
introduction message, select language 
choice, and press “5” for the employer 
menu (available in English and Spanish) 
that provides UI and Workforce Service 
information. Employers can access the 
EDD website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/ and 
select the “Employer Information” link. 
Claimant Information: 
File for UI benefits using one of the 
following methods:
• Online: UI OnlineSM is the fastest and 

most convenient way to file your UI 
claim. Visit www.edd.ca.gov/UI_Online
to get started. 

• Phone: Call one of the phone 
numbers listed above and speak 
with an EDD representative 8 a.m. 
to 12 noon (PT). Monday to Friday, 
except on state holidays.

• Fax or Mail: When filing a new claim 
through UI OnlineSM, some customers 
will be instructed to fax or mail their 
UI application to the EDD. If this 
occurs, the Unemployment Insurance 
Application (DE 1101I) will display. For 
faster and more secure processing, 
fax the completed form to the number 
listed on the form. If you decide to mail 
your UI application, use the address 
on the form and allow additional time 
for processing. 

Unemployment A Statement of Charges to Reserve EDD 
Insurance (UI) Benefit Account (DE 428T) is mailed annually Contribution Rate Group, MIC 4 
Charges in September. This statement is an 

itemized list of UI charges to your reserve 
account. For additional information, refer 
to page 95. 
Protests to the DE 428T must be 
submitted within 60 days of the “issued 
date” on the notice. 

PO Box 826880 
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 
Phone: 1-916-653-7795 
(24-hour automated phone system) 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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TOPIC DESCRIPTION CONTACT 

Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance 

If you have employees, you are required 
by law to have workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage. Failure to do so is 
a crime and may result in penalties and 
closure of your business. 

Your insurance agent or Division of 
Workers’ Compensation 

Phone: 1-800-736-7401 
www.dir.ca.gov 

Workforce Services The EDD Workforce Services Branch 
offers a variety of services that bring 
employers with job openings together 
with qualified job seekers. 

EDD 
Find a Workforce Services site nearest 
you at www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/. 

Work Opportunity Tax 
Credit (WOTC) 

The Employment Development 
Department is the WOTC certifying 
agency for California employers. WOTC 
promotes the hiring of individuals who 
qualify as a member of a target group, 
and provides a federal tax credit to 
employers who hire these individuals. 

EDD 
Workforce Services 
Phone: 1-866-593-0173 
www.edd.ca.gov/wotc
Email: WOTCSupport@edd.ca.gov 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 
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GLOSSARY 

Automated Clearing
House (ACH) 

Base Period 

Base Period, Alternate 
(UI) 

Base Period Employer 

Base Period, Standard 
(UI) 

CCR 

CUIAB 

California 
Unemployment
Insurance Code (CUIC) 

Cash Wages 

Charges 

Claim 

Claimant 

Contributions 

Deposit 

Any entity that operates as a clearing house for electronic debit or credit transactions 
pursuant to an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) agreement with an association that is a 
member of the National ACH Association. 

The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When a base 
period begins and which calendar quarters are used depends on what date the claim begins 
and whether the claim is for Unemployment Insurance (UI) or for State Disability Insurance. 
For UI, there are two types of base periods: the Standard Base Period (see “Base Period, 
Standard [UI]”) and Alternate Base Period (see “Base Period, Alternate [UI]”). The Alternate 
Base Period can ONLY be used to file a UI claim when there are not enough wages earned in 
the Standard Base Period to file a monetarily valid UI claim. 

The UI Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior to the 
beginning date of the claim. The Alternate Base Period can only be used if an individual 
cannot monetarily establish a valid UI claim using the Standard Base Period. 

Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a UI claim and calculate an award. 

The UI Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters 
prior to the beginning date of the claim. 

The California Code of Regulations is available online at www.calregs.com. 

The California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board is available online at 
www.cuiab.ca.gov. 

The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training 
Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) programs. 
The CUIC is available online at http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml. 

Checks, currency, and electronic debit payments paid to employees. 

Amounts deducted from an employer’s reserve account or amounts reimbursable for 
state UI benefits paid to former employees. 

An application for Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), or Paid Family 
Leave (PFL) benefits. 

• UI – The process that establishes a UI benefit year is called a new claim. Weekly 
Continued Claim (DE 4581) forms are used by claimants to certify for UI benefits 
during the benefit year. The EDD has two new methods that unemployed individuals 
may use to certify for UI benefits. Rather than filling out and submitting a paper 
DE 4581 by mail, EDD Tele-CertSM allows individuals to certify for benefits using the 
phone and EDD UI OnlineSM allows individuals to certify for UI benefits through the 
EDD website. After establishing a benefit year, claimants can interrupt their claims 
for a variety of reasons; for example, the claimant may receive a disqualification, 
obtain intervening employment, or fail to continue to certify for benefits. The claimant 
may request to reopen an existing claim with a claim balance during the benefit year. 

• DI – The application that establishes a DI benefit period is called an initial claim. 
Subsequent certifications on that DI claim are called continued claims. For each 
separate period of disability, a new first initial claim must be filed. 

• PFL – The application that establishes a PFL benefit period is called an initial 
claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued claims. For each 
separate period of family leave, an initial claim must be filed. 

A wage-earner who files a claim for UI, DI, or PFL benefits. 

Employer’s payroll tax payments for UI and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its 
provision as “contributions.” In this guide, “contributions” are generally referred to as “taxes.” 

An amount of money electronically submitted to the EDD with a Payroll Tax Deposit 
(DE 88) through the EDD e-Services for Business website at 
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business. For additional information, refer to page 57. 
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Determination 
Disability Insurance (DI) 

Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT) 

Employee 
Employer Payroll Tax 
Account Number 

Employment Taxes 

Employment Training 
Fund 
Employment Training 
Panel (ETP) 

Employment Training
Tax (ETT) 

E-file and E-pay
Mandate 

e-Services for 
Business 

Excluded Employment 

Experience Rating 

Good Cause 

Household Employment 
Independent Contractor 

Interstate Benefit Audit 

A decision regarding a claimant’s eligibility to receive UI, DI, or PFL benefits. 

Benefits paid to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when they are
unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related illness or
injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. DI is a component of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
program and funded through SDI employee payroll withholdings. 

An electronic method of remitting state payroll tax payments. Funds are transferred from 
your bank account (with payment information) to the state’s account. 

A wage-earner in employment covered by the CUIC. 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll tax
account number assigned to each registered employer (e.g., 000-0000-0). Always refer 
to your EDD employer payroll tax account number when communicating with the EDD.
Omission of your employer payroll tax account number may result in delays in processing
payments, reporting documents, and correspondence. 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding. 

A special fund in the State Treasury for depositing into or transferring all ETT
contributions collected from employers. 

Administers the employment training funds that are provided by the ETT to train and retain
workers with job skills needed by employers. Funds may be used to train unemployed
individuals or to train and retain current workers of businesses, primarily businesses facing
out-of-state competition. 

An employer-paid tax that funds jobs skills training for employees in targeted industries to
improve the competitiveness of California businesses. Employers subject to ETT pay
one-tenth of one percent (.001) of the first $7,000 in wages paid to each employee per year. 

State law requires all employers to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage
reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development Department (EDD).
Employers with 10 or more employees became subject to this requirement beginning
January 1, 2017, and all remaining employers became subject to this requirement as of
January 1, 2018. 

Online tool that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax accounts through the
Internet. New employers can register for an employer payroll tax account online. Registered
employers can access account and payment information, file most returns and reports, pay
tax deposits and tax liabilities, review statements, correspondence, and email messages,
obtain tax rates, change addresses, make payment arrangements, close and/or reopen their
account. For additional information about the EDD e-Services for Business, refer to page 50. 

Employment specifically excluded from pursuant to the CUIC. 

The system by which an employer’s UI contribution rate is determined each calendar 
year based on previous employment experience. 

A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax report or
payment late. “Good cause” cannot exist unless there are unusual circumstances or
circumstances that could not be reasonably foreseen; for example, earthquakes or floods.
For more information, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

Describes employment of a household nature. 

An independent contractor (service-provider) is any individual who is not an employee of
the service-recipient for California purposes and who receives compensation or executes
a contract for services performed for that business or government entity in or outside of
California. For additional information about filing the Report of Independent Contractor(s)
(DE 542), refer to page 55. 

Each quarter, the EDD runs a cross-match with wages earned in other states against 
California’s Unemployment Insurance Benefits paid file. When the crossmatch identifies 
an overlap between the earnings reported by the out-of-state employers and weeks
the claimant was paid UI benefits, the system automatically generates the Interstate 
Unemployment Insurance Benefit Payment Audit (IB 8605) that is mailed to the out-of-
state employer(s). 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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Labor Market 
Information 

California’s labor market information can help in making important business decisions. 
Data available includes occupational employment and wage data, industry employment, 
labor force, occupation and industry projections of employment, and selected population 
characteristics. 

Mid-month Employment The number of full-time and part-time employees who worked during or received pay 
subject to UI for the payroll period that includes the 12th day of the month. 

Multiple Establishment An employer that maintains a business at more than one physical location and/or 
Employer conducts more than one business activity/function at the same location and the 

secondary locations have a total of 10 or more employees. 

New Employee Registry California’s new hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their new or 
(NER) rehired employees within 20 days of their start-of-work date (refer to Report of New 

Employee(s) [DE 34] on page 53). 

North American The six-digit industry classification code that identifies the primary business functions of 
Industry Classification an employer’s business. Visit the United States Census Bureau website at 
System (NAICS) www.census.gov/eos/www/naics for more information. 

Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously 
ill family member or to bond with a new child. PFL is a component of the State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) program and is funded through SDI employee payroll withholdings. 

Payroll Period The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, bi-weekly (every two weeks), semi-monthly 
(twice a month), etc. 

Payroll Records Records providing an accurate account of all workers (employed, laid off, on a leave of 
absence, or an independent contractor) and all payments made. 

Payroll Taxes (State) Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding. 

Personal Income Tax All wages paid during the periods that are subject to PIT, even if they are not subject to 
(PIT) Wages PIT withholding. The PIT wages consist of all compensation for services by employees for 

their employer and include, but are not limited to, salaries, fees, bonuses, commissions, 
and payments in forms other than cash or checks. Wages in any form other than cash 
or checks are measured by the fair market value of the goods, lodging, meals, or other 
compensation given in payment for the employee’s services. The calendar year total 
for PIT wages should agree with the amount reported on the individual’s Wage and Tax 
Statement (Form W-2), in Box 16 (State Wages, Tips, etc.). 

Personal Income Tax California PIT is withheld from employees’ pay based on the Employee’s Withholding 
(PIT) Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 or DE 4) on file with the employer. 

Predecessor A previous owner registered with the EDD as an employer. 

Prepayments (UI and UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
ETT) though they are not due until the end of the quarter. 

Registered Domestic A domestic partnership registered with the Secretary of State in California pursuant to 
Partner section 297 of the Family Code. 

Reimbursable Employer A public entity employer or certain types of nonprofit employers who are permitted by law 
to be billed for UI benefits after they are paid to former employees. 

Reserve Account A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment experience 
and set the employer’s UI tax rate. 

Ruling on Benefit Claim For tax-rated employers, a ruling is the EDD decision as to whether an employer’s reserve 
account will be charged for UI benefits. The ruling is based on the reason for separation. 

Ruling on Tax Question A decision, in writing, as to an employer’s subject status or tax liability in the stated 
circumstances. 

School Employees Fund A UI financing method available only to public schools (kindergarten through 12th grade), 
(SEF) community colleges, and charter schools. 

SDI State Disability Insurance. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
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SDI Online 

Service-Provider 

Service-Recipient 

Settlement Date 

SIDES 

SSN 

State Disability
Insurance (SDI) 

Subject Employer 

Subject Quarter 

Subject Wages 

Successor 

Tax-Rated Employer 

Taxable Wage Limit 

Taxable Wages 

Unemployment
Insurance (UI) 

UI and ETT Prepayment 

Voluntary Plan (VP) 

An electronic claim filing system available to claimants and physicians/practitioners for 
submission of Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim information. 
Employers and voluntary plan administrators can securely submit employee information 
(e.g., wages earned, last day worked, etc.) for DI claims online. 
A service-provider (independent contractor) is any individual who is not an employee of 
the service-recipient for California purposes and who receives compensation or executes 
a contract for services performed for that business or government entity in or outside of 
California. 

Any business or government entity that, for California purposes, pays compensation to 
an independent contractor (service-provider) or executes a contract for services to be 
performed by an independent contractor in or outside of California. 

The date an electronic payment transaction is completed and posted on the books of the 
Federal Reserve Bank and the state’s bank account. 

State Information Data Exchange System. Allows employers and third-party administrators 
to electronically receive and respond to the EDD’s Notice of Unemployment Claim Filed 
(DE 1101CZ). 

Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim actions are filed under this 
number, rather than by name. 

The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits 
to eligible workers who need time off work. DI benefits are paid to eligible California 
workers who have a loss of wages when they are unable to work due to an illness or 
injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. PFL benefits are paid to eligible California workers who 
take time off work to bond with a new child or to care for an ill family member. The SDI 
program is funded by mandatory payroll withholdings from employee wages. 

An employer who is liable pursuant to the rules and provisions of the CUIC. 

The calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting their 
payroll taxes. 

Subject wages are used to determine UI, DI, and PFL benefits. Generally, all wages are 
considered subject wages regardless of the UI and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to 
the inside front cover of this guide for current rates and taxable wage limits. For special 
classes of employment and payments that may not be considered subject wages, refer 
to Information Sheet: Types of Employment (DE 231TE) and Information Sheet: Types of 
Payments (DE 231TP). 

A change in ownership or a new ownership of a business already registered with the EDD 
as an employer. 

An employer who is required to register with the EDD and pay UI taxes each year on 
wages paid to each of their employees, up to the UI taxable wage limit. 

The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a calendar 
year. Refer to the inside front cover of this publication for taxable wage limits. 

Compensation paid for “covered employment” up to the taxable wage limits for the 
year. Compensation includes wages and allowances such as meals, lodging, and other 
payments in lieu of money for services rendered in employment. 

Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Recipients must meet 
specific qualifications to receive benefits. UI is funded by employer payroll taxes. 

The UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
though they are not due until the end of the quarter. 

California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a VP for the 
payment of DI and PFL benefits in place of the mandatory SDI state plan. A VP must 
provide all the benefits of SDI, at least one benefit that is better than SDI, and it 
cannot cost employees more than SDI. Once a VP is approved, an employer is no 
longer required to send SDI withholdings to the EDD. Instead, the employer holds the 
contributions in a separate trust fund to pay the DI and PFL benefits and approved 
expenses. 

www.edd.ca.gov Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886 
DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) (INTERNET) Page 114 of 120 

www.edd.ca.gov


  
 

Wage Detail Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C) filed each quarter  
listing employee(s) full name, SSN, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withholding. 

Wages All payments made to employees, whether paid by check, cash, or the reasonable cash 
value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging. 

Work Opportunity Tax Federal tax credits for employers who hire and retain job seekers from any one of 10 
Credit (WOTC) different target groups. 

Worker Adjustment and Requires certain employers to give advance notice in the event of a plant closure or  
Retraining Notification mass layoff. 
(WARN) Act 
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Address Change........................................................................................................................................................ 73 
Adjustments............................................................................................................................................................... 62 
Alternate Base Period................................................................................................................................................ 95 
Alternate Filing Options ............................................................................................................................................. 57 
Appeal Rights – Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claims ............................................................................................ 92 
Back Pay Award ........................................................................................................................................................ 94 
Benefit Audits............................................................................................................................................................. 93 
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Paid Family Leave (PFL) .................................................................................................................................... 97 
State Disability Insurance (SDI) .......................................................................................................................... 97 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) ............................................................................................................................ 87 

Billings – Reimbursable UI Method ........................................................................................................................... 83 
Bonuses .................................................................................................................................................................... 15 
Business Name Change............................................................................................................................................ 73 
Claim Notices: 

Notice to Employer of Disability Insurance Claim Filed (DE 2503) ..................................................................... 97 
Notice to Employer of Paid Family Leave Claim Filed (DE 2503F) .................................................................... 97 
Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ)........................................................................... 89 
Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim (DE 1545)....................................................... 88 

Closing Business....................................................................................................................................................... 73 
Commissions............................................................................................................................................................. 15 
Cost-of-Benefits (Reimbursable) Method .................................................................................................................. 83 
Deposit: 

Correcting Payroll Tax Deposits .......................................................................................................................... 62 
Delinquent........................................................................................................................................................... 61 
Due Dates ........................................................................................................................................................... 61 
Requirements ..................................................................................................................................................... 59 

Disability Insurance: 
Self-Employed Benefits ...................................................................................................................................... 98 
State Disability Insurance (SDI) Program ........................................................................................................... 97 
Voluntary Plan..................................................................................................................................................... 98 

Discharge .................................................................................................................................................................. 87 
e-Services for Business ............................................................................................................................................ 50 
Elective Coverage (Disability Insurance)................................................................................................................... 98 
Employee – Definition................................................................................................................................................ 8 
Employee or Independent Contractor........................................................................................................................ 8 
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Definition ............................................................................................................................................................. 7 
Employer Rights.................................................................................................................................................. 81 
How to Register .................................................................................................................................................. 7 
When Do I Become an Employer?...................................................................................................................... 7 
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Notice of Determination/Ruling (DE 1080EZ) ..................................................................................................... 91 
Notice to Employer of Disability Insurance Claim Filed (DE 2503) ..................................................................... 97 
Notice to Employer of Paid Family Leave (PFL) Claim Filed (DE 2503F) .......................................................... 97 
Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ)........................................................................... 89 
Notice of Modification (DE 1080M) ..................................................................................................................... 91 
Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits (DE 1545TE) ......................................... 90 
Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim (DE 1545)....................................................... 89 

Employer Obligations for the Form W-4 or DE 4 ....................................................................................................... 14 
Employer-Sponsored Voluntary Plan......................................................................................................................... 98 
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Firing an Employee.................................................................................................................................................... 87 
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR ORDERING FORMS AND PUBLICATIONS 

Reminder: All employers are required to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax 
deposits to the Employment Development Department (EDD) as of January 1, 2018. Refer to page 49 for information 
on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties. 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) provides easy access to its forms, publications, and information 
sheets by phone or online at www.edd.ca.gov. If you require additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

By Phone: For quantities of 25 or more, call 1-916-322-2835. 
For quantities of less than 25, call 1-888-745-3886. 

Download Online 
Forms and Publications: www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm 

Internet Order Form: www.edd.ca.gov/forms/ 

Request Annual Mailing 
Employer Guide: https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/tap/open/annualguide/_/#1 

The California Employer’s Guide (DE 44) is no longer automatically mailed to all employers. The guide is available to 
view and download online at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf. Employers who wish to receive a paper guide 
each year must submit their request at https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/tap/open/annualguide/_/#1. You will receive 
a paper version of the guide each year until you access this link and specify you no longer want the paper guide. 

California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to electronically 
submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development Department. 

For the latest news and helpful information, 
refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at 

www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm. 

Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at 
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars/. 
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available 
upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats 
need to be made by calling 1-888-745-3886 (voice) or TTY 1-800-547-9565. 
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	SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED
	SEMINARS TO HELP EMPLOYERS SUCCEED
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) offers no-fee seminars, either classroom-style or online. They are 
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) offers no-fee seminars, either classroom-style or online. They are 
	customized to help educate both existing and established employers as well as new employers to better understand 
	and comply with the state payroll tax laws.

	The classroom seminars are offered in a variety of locations throughout California. The EDD also offers online 
	The classroom seminars are offered in a variety of locations throughout California. The EDD also offers online 
	seminars that allow you the flexibility to learn at your own pace and wherever you choose to access the Internet.

	The EDD offers seminars on:
	The EDD offers seminars on:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	●

	State payroll tax reporting requirements and recordkeeping. 
	State payroll tax reporting requirements and recordkeeping. 


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Determining if workers are employees or independent contractors.
	Determining if workers are employees or independent contractors.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Managing Unemployment Insurance costs.
	Managing Unemployment Insurance costs.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Calculating and completing payroll tax forms.
	Calculating and completing payroll tax forms.




	Figure
	The EDD and the Department of Industrial 
	The EDD and the Department of Industrial 
	The EDD and the Department of Industrial 
	Relations, Division of Labor Standards 
	Enforcement jointly present classes on:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	●

	Common wage and hour law application.
	Common wage and hour law application.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Employer and employee rights and 
	Employer and employee rights and 
	responsibilities.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Recordkeeping, reporting, and posting 
	Recordkeeping, reporting, and posting 
	requirements.




	The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
	The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
	The EDD and the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
	jointly offer seminars on:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	●

	Federal/state payroll reporting and
	Federal/state payroll reporting and
	 
	withholding requirements.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Online filing and payment options.
	Online filing and payment options.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Difference between employees and 
	Difference between employees and 
	independent contractors and the importance
	 
	of proper worker classification.




	The EDD offers online seminars on:
	The EDD offers online seminars on:
	The EDD offers online seminars on:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	●

	Information to help you enroll and get started using 
	Information to help you enroll and get started using 
	e-Services for Business
	 to 
	manage your employer payroll tax account online.


	 
	 
	 
	●

	Differences between employees and independent contractors.
	Differences between employees and independent contractors.




	Learn more about a tax seminar near you or register online at 
	Learn more about a tax seminar near you or register online at 
	Learn more about a tax seminar near you or register online at 

	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll

	_tax_seminars/
	.


	INTRODUCTION
	INTRODUCTION
	This guide is published to help you understand your rights and responsibilities as an employer.
	This guide is published to help you understand your rights and responsibilities as an employer.

	How to Use This Guide
	How to Use This Guide

	Information in this guide is presented in a chronological sequence, beginning with what you need to know or do first, 
	Information in this guide is presented in a chronological sequence, beginning with what you need to know or do first, 
	such as who is an employer, when to register, who is an employee, and what are wages.

	To simplify reporting requirements, the Employment Development Department (EDD) follows federal tax guidelines 
	To simplify reporting requirements, the Employment Development Department (EDD) follows federal tax guidelines 
	and due dates whenever possible; however, California laws and rates may differ from federal laws and rates. The 
	EDD administers payroll tax reporting laws according to the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) and 
	California Code of Regulations (CCR).

	Regardless of the size of your business, this guide is an important resource on the procedures required for compliance 
	Regardless of the size of your business, this guide is an important resource on the procedures required for compliance 
	with California payroll tax laws. It clarifies both the provisions of the CUIC and CCR and their application to your business.

	This guide provides general information that applies to the majority of employers. The guide provides references 
	This guide provides general information that applies to the majority of employers. The guide provides references 
	to additional information on specialized topics. Information on detailed or complex issues that only apply to a small 
	number of employers is not included in this guide.

	How to Obtain Assistance and Additional Information
	How to Obtain Assistance and Additional Information

	If you have questions that are not addressed in this guide and/or need additional information, you can access 
	If you have questions that are not addressed in this guide and/or need additional information, you can access 
	reference materials on the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
	 
	1-888-745-3886. This guide is also available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf

	.

	The EDD also offers workshops on California payroll tax reporting requirements and customized seminars and 
	The EDD also offers workshops on California payroll tax reporting requirements and customized seminars and 
	presentations to help you:

	•
	•
	 
	Understand your California payroll tax reporting requirements.

	•
	•
	 
	Avoid common pitfalls and costly mistakes.

	•
	•
	 
	Control Unemployment Insurance costs.

	•
	•
	 
	Learn the differences between employees and independent contractors.

	•
	•
	 
	Understand your reporting requirements for new employees and independent contractors.

	•
	•
	 
	Discover no-cost services and resources available to you.

	•
	•
	 
	Develop a better understanding of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) program.

	We tailor our education and outreach activities to meet your needs, such as providing seminars in Spanish, 
	We tailor our education and outreach activities to meet your needs, such as providing seminars in Spanish, 
	accommodations for the hearing-impaired, and personalized consultations. We offer seminars, workshops, and 
	presentations at locations throughout California. For additional information about a payroll tax education event near 
	you, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 or register at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll

	_tax_seminars/
	. 

	To find out more about SDI educational presentations, contact the SDI Education and Outreach Unit by email at 
	To find out more about SDI educational presentations, contact the SDI Education and Outreach Unit by email at 
	diboutreach@edd.ca.gov
	diboutreach@edd.ca.gov

	.

	Other Services
	Other Services

	This guide also contains useful information on the many services that the EDD offers specifically for employers. 
	This guide also contains useful information on the many services that the EDD offers specifically for employers. 
	The EDD supplies information on a wide range of programs, including programs offering tax credits. The EDD also 
	provides a number of employment services, such as job development and job search workshops that are designed 
	to reduce unemployment and, consequently, your taxes. Whether you are a new or established employer, we offer a 
	variety of services to assist you in building a more successful business while complying with California laws.

	We Want to Hear From You
	We Want to Hear From You

	Please let us know what we can do to improve this guide to better meet your needs. Please send your comments 
	Please let us know what we can do to improve this guide to better meet your needs. Please send your comments 
	and suggestions to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93
	Publications and Marketing Services Group, MIC 93

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Email: 
	Email: 
	pmsg@edd.ca.gov
	pmsg@edd.ca.gov


	Fax: 1-916-654-6969
	Fax: 1-916-654-6969

	Other Website of Interest
	Other Website of Interest

	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov

	 – This is a joint website sponsored by the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration, 
	the Employment Development Department, the Franchise Tax Board, and the Internal Revenue 
	Service.


	QUICK AND EASY ACCESS FOR TAX HELP
	QUICK AND EASY ACCESS FOR TAX HELP

	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	• 
	Fulfills the e-file and e-pay 
	mandate.

	• 
	Manage your employer payroll 
	tax account online.

	• 
	Register as an employer.

	• 
	File reports.

	• 
	Pay deposits and liabilities.

	• 
	Make address changes.

	To use e-Services for Business, go to
	To use e-Services for Business, go to
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.



	TR
	TD
	Online
	Access the EDD website at
	Access the EDD website at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	.

	• 
	Obtain answers to frequently asked questions at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faqs.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faqs.htm

	.

	• 
	Obtain information on payroll tax seminars at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll

	_tax_seminars/
	.

	• 
	Obtain information for tax professionals at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/tax_practitioners.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/tax_practitioners.htm

	.

	• 
	Send comments and questions to the EDD online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/contact_edd.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/contact_edd.htm

	.
	 
	Select “Ask EDD.”

	Access the California Tax Service Center website at 
	Access the California Tax Service Center website at 
	 
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov

	 for federal and California tax 
	information for businesses and individuals.



	TR
	TD
	Phone
	Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada: 
	Toll-free from the U.S. or Canada: 
	1-888-745-3886

	Hearing impaired: 1-800-547-9565
	Hearing impaired: 1-800-547-9565

	Outside the U.S. or Canada:
	Outside the U.S. or Canada:
	 
	1-916-464-3502

	Staff are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
	Staff are available from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
	Monday through Friday to answer your questions.







	Walk-In Offices
	Walk-In Offices
	Walk-In Offices
	Walk-In Offices
	Walk-In Offices
	Walk-In Offices
	Walk-In Offices
	For information and advice on your 
	For information and advice on your 
	payroll tax responsibilities, visit your 
	local Employment Tax Office from 
	 
	8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, 
	Monday through Friday.

	Anaheim
	Anaheim
	 ...............
	2099 S. State College Blvd., #401, 92806

	Fresno
	Fresno
	 ..................
	1050 O Street, 93721

	Oakland
	Oakland
	 ................
	7677 Oakport Street, Suite 400, 94621

	Redding
	Redding
	 ................
	1325 Pine Street, 96001

	Sacramento
	Sacramento
	 ..........
	3321 Power Inn Road, Suite 220, 95826

	San Bernardino
	San Bernardino
	.....
	658 East Brier Drive, Suite 300, 92408

	San Diego
	San Diego
	 .............
	10636 Scripps Summit Ct., Suite 202, 92131

	San Jose
	San Jose
	...............
	906 Ruff Drive, 95110

	Santa Fe Springs
	Santa Fe Springs
	 ..
	10330 Pioneer Blvd., Suite 150, 90670

	Van Nuys
	Van Nuys
	 ..............
	6150 Van Nuys Blvd., Room 210, 91401

	To find an office near you, visit 
	To find an office near you, visit 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/

	.



	TR
	TD
	Self-Service Offices
	Tax forms and a no-cost direct-line phone are available 
	Tax forms and a no-cost direct-line phone are available 
	from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time, Monday through 
	Friday at our self-service offices.

	Bakersfield
	Bakersfield
	 ............
	1800 30th Street, Suite 240, 93301

	Chico
	Chico
	 ....................
	240 West 7th Street, 95928

	Eureka
	Eureka
	 ..................
	409 K Street, Suite 202, 95501

	Modesto
	Modesto
	 ................
	3340 Tully Road, Suite E-10, 95350

	San Francisco
	San Francisco
	.......
	745 Franklin Street, Suite 400, 94102

	Santa Rosa
	Santa Rosa
	 ...........
	50 D Street, Room 100, 95404

	Vallejo
	Vallejo
	 ...................
	1440 Marin Street, Suite 114, 94590

	Ventura
	Ventura
	 .................
	2901 N. Ventura Rd., Suite 210, 93036



	TR
	TD
	Forms and Publications
	Download and order forms, instructions, and publications 
	Download and order forms, instructions, and publications 
	at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms

	/
	.







	Figure
	Figure
	Figure
	Figure
	HOW TO GET STARTED
	HOW TO GET STARTED
	To help you meet your employer reporting and tax payment obligations, we have highlighted some 
	To help you meet your employer reporting and tax payment obligations, we have highlighted some 
	essential steps to ensure that you get off to a good start. Please keep in mind that your employer 
	requirements may not be limited to what is listed on this .

	Are You an Employer?
	Are You an Employer?

	If you employ one or more employees and pay wages for employment in excess of $100 during any calendar 
	If you employ one or more employees and pay wages for employment in excess of $100 during any calendar 
	quarter, you are an employer and must register with the Employment Development Department (EDD).

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 If you pay wages to people who work in or around your home, you may be considered a 
	household employer. Household employers are required to register only after they have paid $750 or 
	more in cash wages during any calendar quarter. Refer to
	 
	page 7
	page 7

	 
	for additional information.

	Register online for an EDD employer payroll tax account number at 
	Register online for an EDD employer payroll tax account number at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. You must register within 15 days after paying wages 
	 
	in excess of $100 for employment. 
	A “commercial employer” is a business connected with commerce 
	or trade, operating primarily for profit.

	You will be assigned an EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account number, which identifies your 
	You will be assigned an EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account number, which identifies your 
	business for the purpose of reporting and paying payroll taxes. Include your employer payroll tax account 
	number on all correspondence with the EDD. For additional information and registration options, refer to
	 
	page 
	page 

	7
	.

	ACTION REQUIRED:
	ACTION REQUIRED:

	•
	•
	 
	Report new employee(s) 
	with the online 
	Report of New Employee(s) 
	(DE 34) at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	 within 20 days of the employee’s start-of-work date. 
	All employees who are newly hired, rehired after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days, or 
	returning to work from a furlough, separation, leave of absence without pay, or termination must 
	be reported to the EDD. If you acquire an ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s 
	workers, these employees are considered new hires, and you must report them to the EDD’s New 
	Employee Registry. For additional information and available reporting methods for reporting new 
	employees, refer to
	 
	page 53
	page 53

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Report independent contractor information 
	using the online 
	Report of Independent Contractor(s) 
	(DE 542) at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	 within 20 days of EITHER paying an 
	independent contractor $600 or more for services performed OR entering into a contract for $600 
	or more, whichever is earlier. Independent contractor information must be reported to the EDD. For 
	additional information and available reporting methods for Independent Contractor Reporting, refer 
	to
	 
	page 55
	page 55

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Provide your employees with pamphlets 
	on employee withholdings, Unemployment Insurance 
	(UI), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Paid Family Leave (PFL). For additional information on 
	employee pamphlets, refer to
	 
	page 75
	page 75

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Post an employee notice
	 with UI, SDI, and PFL claim and benefit information. This notice should 
	be posted in a prominent location, easily seen by your employees. The appropriate notice will be 
	sent to you after you register. For additional information on employee notices, refer to
	 
	page 75
	page 75

	.

	Make your UI, Employment Training Tax (ETT), SDI, and California Personal Income Tax (PIT)
	Make your UI, Employment Training Tax (ETT), SDI, and California Personal Income Tax (PIT)
	 
	Payroll 
	Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88) payments online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. Your SDI and PIT 
	withholdings deposit due dates are based on your federal deposit schedule/requirement and the amount 
	of accumulated PIT that you have withheld. Your UI and ETT payments are due quarterly. For additional 
	information about deposit requirements, refer to 
	pages 58
	pages 58

	 and 
	59
	59

	.

	File a 
	File a 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9)
	 online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	 to reconcile the tax and withholding amounts with your DE 88 
	deposits for the quarter. Also, 
	file a 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 
	(DE 9C)
	 to report total subject wages paid, PIT wages, and PIT withheld for each employee for each quarter.

	These reports are due on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1 each year. These reports must be 
	These reports are due on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1 each year. These reports must be 
	submitted even if you had no payroll during a calendar quarter. For additional information and available 
	filling options, refer to 
	pages 64
	pages 64

	 
	and 
	66
	66

	.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 Failure to complete the above steps on time may result in penalty and interest charges.

	For information on your federal employment tax reporting requirements, access the IRS website at 
	For information on your federal employment tax reporting requirements, access the IRS website at 
	 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	 or contact the IRS at 1-800-829-4933.


	Step 1
	Step 1

	Step 2
	Step 2

	Step 3
	Step 3

	Step 4
	Step 4

	Step 5
	Step 5

	NO
	NO

	Did you pay wages in excess of $100
	Did you pay wages in excess of $100
	Did you pay wages in excess of $100

	in a calendar quarter?
	in a calendar quarter?


	No registration 
	No registration 
	No registration 
	required.


	Step 1
	Step 1

	YES
	YES

	Register online for an employer payroll tax account 
	Register online for an employer payroll tax account 
	Register online for an employer payroll tax account 
	number at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	Refer to
	Refer to
	 
	page 7
	page 7

	 for alternate registration options.


	Step 2
	Step 2

	Step 3
	Step 3

	Provide to the EDD
	Provide to the EDD
	Provide to the EDD
	 
	within 20 days

	DE 34 
	DE 34 
	Report of New Employee(s)

	DE 542 
	DE 542 
	Repo
	rt of Independent
	 
	 
	Contractor(s)


	Post in Workplace
	Post in Workplace
	Post in Workplace

	DE 1857A
	DE 1857A
	 
	Notice to Employees

	(If you are a public entity or not
	(If you are a public entity or not
	 
	subject to UI, refer to
	 
	page 79
	page 79

	 
	for
	 
	your posting requiremen
	ts.)


	Give to Employee(s)
	Give to Employee(s)
	Give to Employee(s)

	Form W-4/ 
	Form W-4/ 
	Employee’s Withholding 
	Allowance Certificate

	DE 2320 
	DE 2320 
	For Your Benefit: California’s 
	Programs for the Unemployed

	DE 2511 
	DE 2511 
	Paid Family Leave

	DE 2515
	DE 2515
	 
	Disability Insurance 
	Provisions


	DE 4 
	DE 4 
	DE 4 


	Continuous Filing Requirements
	Continuous Filing Requirements
	Continuous Filing Requirements

	File required reports online at
	File required reports online at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	Payroll Tax Deposit
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88)

	File online at
	File online at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	Refer to
	Refer to
	 
	page 57
	page 57

	 for deposit requirements.


	Step 4
	Step 4

	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9)

	(Reconciles tax and withholding amounts with deposits for the quarter.)
	(Reconciles tax and withholding amounts with deposits for the quarter.)

	AND
	AND

	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
	(DE 9C) 

	(Reports total subject wages and Personal Income Tax [PIT] wages paid and PIT 
	(Reports total subject wages and Personal Income Tax [PIT] wages paid and PIT 
	withheld for each employee for the quarter.)

	File online at
	File online at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business

	Refer to 
	Refer to 
	pages 64
	pages 64

	 
	and 
	66
	66

	 
	for additional information and available filing options.


	Step 5
	Step 5

	Most forms are available on the EDD website at 
	Most forms are available on the EDD website at 
	Most forms are available on the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	 or by calling the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.


	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES
	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES
	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES
	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES
	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES
	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES
	2019 FORMS AND DUE DATES


	Form
	Form
	Form
	Form


	Name
	Name
	Name


	Due
	Due
	Due



	DE 1
	DE 1
	DE 1
	DE 1


	Commercial Employer Account Registration 
	Commercial Employer Account Registration 
	Commercial Employer Account Registration 
	and Update Form
	 (If you are 
	not
	 a commercial 
	employer, refer to
	 
	page 7
	page 7

	.)


	Within 15 calendar days
	Within 15 calendar days
	Within 15 calendar days
	 after paying more 
	than $100 in wages during any calendar 
	quarter.



	DE 34
	DE 34
	DE 34
	DE 34


	Report of New Employee(s)
	Report of New Employee(s)
	Report of New Employee(s)


	Within 20 days
	Within 20 days
	Within 20 days
	 of start-of-work date for new 
	or rehired employees.



	DE 542
	DE 542
	DE 542
	DE 542


	Report of Independent Contractor(s)
	Report of Independent Contractor(s)
	Report of Independent Contractor(s)


	Within 20 days
	Within 20 days
	Within 20 days
	 of paying an independent 
	contractor $600 or more or entering into a 
	contract for $600 or more, whichever is earlier.



	Report
	Report
	Report
	Report


	Quarter
	Quarter
	Quarter


	Due
	Due
	Due


	Delinquent if Not 
	Delinquent if Not 
	Delinquent if Not 
	Filed By
	1



	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C


	1
	1
	1
	st
	 (January, February, March)


	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019



	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C


	2
	2
	2
	nd
	 (April, May, June)


	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019


	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019



	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C


	3
	3
	3
	rd
	 (July, August, September)


	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019


	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019



	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C
	DE 9/DE 9C


	4
	4
	4
	th
	 (October, November, December)


	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020


	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020






	CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS
	CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS
	CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS
	CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS
	CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS
	CALIFORNIA DEPOSIT REQUIREMENTS


	If Your Federal 
	If Your Federal 
	If Your Federal 
	If Your Federal 
	Deposit Schedule/
	Requirement Is
	1


	And You Have 
	And You Have 
	And You Have 
	Accumulated State 
	PIT Withholding Of


	If Pay Date Is
	If Pay Date Is
	If Pay Date Is


	PIT and SDI 
	PIT and SDI 
	PIT and SDI 
	Deposit Due By
	2


	California “Deposit 
	California “Deposit 
	California “Deposit 
	Schedule” box 
	 
	to indicate on 
	 
	the DE 88



	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	3


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the
	 
	following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly



	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day


	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day



	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	3


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the
	 
	following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly



	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500


	Wed., Thurs., or Fri.
	Wed., Thurs., or Fri.
	Wed., Thurs., or Fri.


	Following 
	Following 
	Following 
	Wednesday
	7


	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly



	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500


	Sat., Sun., Mon., or Tues.
	Sat., Sun., Mon., or Tues.
	Sat., Sun., Mon., or Tues.


	Following Friday
	Following Friday
	Following Friday
	7


	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly
	Semi-weekly



	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	3


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the
	 
	following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly



	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	4, 5
	 
	or
	 
	Annually
	6


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019

	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019

	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019

	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the
	 
	following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly






	1
	1
	 Electronic transactions for Next-Day deposits must be settled in the state’s bank account on or before the third business day following the 
	payroll date.

	2
	2
	 If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. For example, if a deposit is due 
	on Friday, but Friday is a holiday, the deposit due date is extended to the following Monday.

	3
	3
	 If you have accumulated less than $350 of PIT and you choose to make an additional deposit before the quarterly due date, designate the 
	“DEPOSIT SCHEDULE” as QUARTERLY on your DE 88.

	4
	4
	 If you are not required to follow one of the above federal deposit schedules/requirements, you are still required to make California payroll tax 
	deposits of accumulated SDI deductions and PIT withholdings quarterly or more often, based on the guidelines in this table. Information about 
	federal deposit schedules is located in the Internal Revenue Service’s 
	Employer Tax Guide
	 (Publication 15).

	5
	5
	 A deposit of employer UI and ETT taxes and any accumulated SDI and PIT withholdings not previously paid MUST BE DEPOSITED EACH 
	QUARTER by the due dates shown.

	6
	6
	 If your federal deposit requirement is annually, you are required to make California payroll tax deposits quarterly or monthly based on the 
	guidelines in this table. 

	7
	7
	 The transition period of the semi-weekly schedule allows employers to make deposits in any of the three business days following the last pay 
	date. If any of the transition period days is a legal holiday, you are given an extra business day to make the deposit.


	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	  Taxpayer Assistance Center 1-888-745-3886


	DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) 
	DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) 
	DE 44 Rev. 45 (1-19) 
	(INTERNET)
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	WHO IS AN EMPLOYER?
	WHO IS AN EMPLOYER?
	An employer is a person or legal entity that hires one or more persons to work for a wage, salary, or other 
	An employer is a person or legal entity that hires one or more persons to work for a wage, salary, or other 
	compensation. Employers include sole proprietors, partnerships, corporations, nonprofit organizations, charitable 
	organizations, foundations, limited liability companies, limited liability partnerships, public entities (including state and 
	federal agencies), schools, associations and trusts, estates, joint ventures, and Indian Tribes.

	When Do I Become an Employer?
	When Do I Become an Employer?

	You become an employer when you employ one or more employees and pay wages in excess of $100 during any 
	You become an employer when you employ one or more employees and pay wages in excess of $100 during any 
	calendar quarter. Wages are compensation for services performed, including, but not limited to, cash payments, 
	commissions, bonuses, and the reasonable cash value of nonmonetary payments for services, such as meals and 
	lodging. For additional information, refer to “What Are Wages?” on
	 
	page 11
	page 11

	.

	Private households, local college clubs, and local chapters of fraternities and sororities that employ workers to perform 
	Private households, local college clubs, and local chapters of fraternities and sororities that employ workers to perform 
	household services are “household employers.” Additional information about household employment is available 
	online on the EDD Household Employer web page at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/household_employer.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/household_employer.htm

	,
	 
	the 
	Household Employer’s Guide
	 (DE 8829) available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8829.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8829.pdf

	,
	 or can be 
	obtained by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 If you acquired an existing business, refer to “What Is a Successor Employer?” on
	 
	page 75
	page 75

	 for further details.

	WHEN TO REGISTER
	All employers conducting business in California are subject to the employment tax laws of the California Unemployment 
	All employers conducting business in California are subject to the employment tax laws of the California Unemployment 
	Insurance Code (CUIC). Once a business hires an employee and pays in excess of $100 during any calendar quarter, 
	the business is considered an employer and can register online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	 or 
	submit a registration form to the Employment Development Department (EDD) within 15 days after paying wages.

	Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to their employees and paying Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax 
	Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to their employees and paying Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax 
	and Employment Training Tax (ETT) on those wages, as well as withholding and remitting State Disability Insurance 
	(SDI) and California Personal Income Tax (PIT) due on those wages.

	 ACTION REQUIRED
	 ACTION REQUIRED
	: Register with the EDD for an employer payroll tax account number if you employ one or 
	more employees and pay wages in excess of $100 during any calendar quarter.

	How to Register for an EDD Employer Payroll Tax Account Number
	How to Register for an EDD Employer Payroll Tax Account Number

	Register online using the EDD e-Services for Business at 
	Register online using the EDD e-Services for Business at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	Additional Options for Registering for an Employer Payroll Tax Account Number
	Additional Options for Registering for an Employer Payroll Tax Account Number

	1. Select the appropriate registration form for your industry available online at
	1. Select the appropriate registration form for your industry available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	. These are the most common registration 
	forms available:

	•
	•
	 DE 1 Commercial 
	•
	 DE 1HW  Household

	•
	•
	 DE 1AG  Agricultural 
	•
	 DE 1NP  Nonprofit

	•
	•
	 DE 1GS  Government/Schools/Indian Tribes 
	•
	 DE 1P  Personal Income Tax Withholding Only

	2. Submit the completed registration form by mail or fax to the EDD:
	2. Submit the completed registration form by mail or fax to the EDD:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Account Services Group, MIC 28
	Account Services Group, MIC 28

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Fax: 1-916-654-9211
	Fax: 1-916-654-9211

	REMEMBER:
	REMEMBER:

	•
	•
	 Employment occurs when an employer engages the services of an employee for pay.

	•
	•
	 You become an employer when you employ one or more employees and pay wages over $100 during any 
	calendar quarter.

	•
	•
	 You must register with the EDD within 15 days of paying wages in excess of $100.

	•
	•
	 Employers are responsible for reporting wages paid to employees and paying UI and ETT on the wages, as 
	well as withholding and remitting SDI and PIT.


	WHO IS AN EMPLOYEE?
	WHO IS AN EMPLOYEE?
	An “employee” includes all of the following:
	An “employee” includes all of the following:

	•
	•
	 
	Any officer of a corporation.

	•
	•
	 
	Any worker who is an employee under the usual common law rules.

	•
	•
	 
	Any worker whose services are specifically covered by law.

	An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis. The law does not exclude services from employment 
	An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis. The law does not exclude services from employment 
	that are commonly referred to as day labor, part-time help, casual labor, temporary help, probationary, or outside labor.

	“COMMON LAW” EMPLOYEE OR INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR
	What Is “Common Law”?
	What Is “Common Law”?

	Common law, as we know it, has evolved over the years based upon judgements rendered by the courts on individual 
	Common law, as we know it, has evolved over the years based upon judgements rendered by the courts on individual 
	cases. The 
	common law
	 rules of employment, as they exist today, are based on all court decisions related to the question 
	of what constitutes an employment relationship.

	When Does an Employer-Employee Relationship Exist?
	When Does an Employer-Employee Relationship Exist?

	An employer-employee relationship exists when a person who hires an individual to perform services has the right to 
	An employer-employee relationship exists when a person who hires an individual to perform services has the right to 
	exercise control over the manner and means by which the individual performs those services. The 
	right to control
	, 
	whether or not exercised, is the most important factor in determining the relationship. Tax decisions by the California 
	Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB) are based on the 
	right to control
	 factor along with the examination of 
	secondary factors, when necessary.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 California does not provide relief under the “Safe Harbor” provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. Therefore, it 
	is important that workers are properly classified under the usual common law rules which determine employer-
	employee relationships.

	How Can I Get Additional Information on This Topic?
	How Can I Get Additional Information on This Topic?

	Incorrectly classifying your workers can be a costly mistake. If you have incorrectly treated employees as independent 
	Incorrectly classifying your workers can be a costly mistake. If you have incorrectly treated employees as independent 
	contractors, you could be liable for back taxes, penalties, and interest. To help you determine if you have correctly classified 
	your workers, the EDD has several resources available:

	•
	•
	 
	Employment Determination Guide 
	(DE 38)
	 - Asks a series of “Yes” or “No” questions regarding your treatment of 
	workers to help determine if a problem may exist and whether you need to seek additional guidance. To obtain this 
	guide, access the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de38.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de38.pdf

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Determination of Employment Work Status for Purposes of State of California Employment Taxes and 
	Personal Income Tax Withholding
	 
	(DE 1870)
	 - Provides a series of questions regarding your relationship with 
	the workers. After you complete and return this form, the EDD will send you a written determination stating whether 
	your workers are employees or independent contractors based on the facts that you have provided. To obtain this 
	publication, access the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1870.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1870.pdf

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Information Sheets
	 on general and industry-specific issues, including 
	Information Sheet: Employment
	 (DE 231).
	 
	To obtain information sheets, access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
	 
	1-
	888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 
	Independent Contractor Information
	 – 
	Frequently Asked Questions and Answers About the California 
	Independent Contractor Reporting Law
	 (DE 542FAQ) and 
	Independent Contractors Misconceptions
	 
	Brochure 
	(DE 573M) are available at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542faq.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542faq.pdf

	 
	 
	and 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573m.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de573m.pdf

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Precedent Tax Decisions by the CUIAB
	 – Available on the CUIAB website at 
	 
	www.cuiab.ca.gov/Board/precedentDecisions/index.asp
	www.cuiab.ca.gov/Board/precedentDecisions/index.asp

	.

	•
	•
	 
	Payroll Tax Seminars
	 on employee and independent contractor issues – Access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll

	_tax_seminars/
	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 
	Web-based Seminars
	 on employee and independent contractor issues are available in both English and Spanish.
	 
	Access the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Web_Based_Seminars.htm

	 for additional information.

	•
	•
	 
	Live Assistance
	 on worker classification issues – Contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	REMEMBER:
	REMEMBER:

	•
	•
	 
	An employee includes any officer of a corporation, a worker who is an employee under common law, and a worker 
	whose services are specifically covered by law. Refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment
	 (DE 231TE) at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf

	.

	•
	•
	 
	An employee may perform services on a temporary or less than full-time basis.

	•
	•
	 
	The 
	right to control
	 is the most important factor in determining an employer-employee relationship.

	•
	•
	 
	The EDD has several resources available to help you correctly classify your workers.


	Story
	WHAT ARE STATE
	WHAT ARE STATE
	 
	PAYROLL TAXES?


	WHAT ARE STATE PAYROLL TAXES?
	WHAT ARE STATE PAYROLL TAXES?
	The EDD administers the following California payroll tax programs:
	The EDD administers the following California payroll tax programs:

	•
	•
	 Unemployment Insurance (UI) Tax

	•
	•
	 Employment Training Tax (ETT) 

	•
	•
	 State Disability Insurance (SDI) Tax

	•
	•
	 California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component of the SDI program. 

	UI and ETT are employer paid contributions. SDI and PIT are withheld from employee wages. Wages are generally 
	UI and ETT are employer paid contributions. SDI and PIT are withheld from employee wages. Wages are generally 
	subject to all four payroll taxes unless otherwise stated.

	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) TAX
	What Is UI Tax?
	What Is UI Tax?

	The UI program was established as part of a national program administered by the U.S. Department of Labor under 
	The UI program was established as part of a national program administered by the U.S. Department of Labor under 
	the Social Security Act. The UI program provides temporary payments to individuals who are unemployed through no 
	fault of their own.

	Who Pays It?
	Who Pays It?

	The UI program is funded through payroll taxes paid by the employer. Tax-rated employers pay a percentage on 
	The UI program is funded through payroll taxes paid by the employer. Tax-rated employers pay a percentage on 
	the first $7,000 in wages paid to each employee in a calendar year. The UI rate schedule and amount of taxable 
	wages are determined annually. New employers pay 3.4 percent (.034) for a period of two to three years. The UI 
	rate could increase to a maximum of 6.2 percent (.062) or decrease to a minimum of 1.5 percent (0.015) based on 
	an employer’s experience rating and the balance in the UI Fund. For a detailed explanation of the experience rating 
	method, refer to 
	Information Sheet: California System of Experience Rating 
	(DE 231Z) by accessing the EDD website 
	at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf

	.

	Government entities and certain nonprofit employers may elect the reimbursable method of financing UI in which they 
	Government entities and certain nonprofit employers may elect the reimbursable method of financing UI in which they 
	reimburse the UI Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their former employees.

	EMPLOYMENT TRAINING TAX (ETT)
	What Is ETT?
	What Is ETT?

	ETT provides funds to train employees in targeted industries to improve the competitiveness of California 
	ETT provides funds to train employees in targeted industries to improve the competitiveness of California 
	businesses. The ETT Fund promotes a healthy labor market by helping California businesses invest in a skilled and 
	productive workforce and develop the skills of new and incumbent workers.

	Who Pays It?
	Who Pays It?

	ETT is an employer-paid tax. Employers are subject to pay 0.1 percent (.001) for ETT on the first $7,000 in wages 
	ETT is an employer-paid tax. Employers are subject to pay 0.1 percent (.001) for ETT on the first $7,000 in wages 
	paid to each employee in a calendar year. The tax rate is set by statute at 0.1 percent (.001) of UI taxable wages for 
	employers with positive UI reserve account balances and subject to section 977(c) of the California Unemployment 
	Insurance Code (CUIC). The maximum tax is $7 per employee per year ($7,000 x .001).

	STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) TAX
	What Is SDI Tax?
	What Is SDI Tax?

	SDI tax allows the Disability Fund to pay Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible 
	SDI tax allows the Disability Fund to pay Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible 
	claimants. DI benefits are paid to eligible California workers who lose wages when they are unable to perform their 
	regular or customary work due to a non-work-related illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. 

	PFL benefits are paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously ill child, parent, 
	PFL benefits are paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously ill child, parent, 
	parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner. Benefits are also available to 
	new parents who need time to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster care placement. 

	Who Pays It?
	Who Pays It?

	The SDI program is funded through a payroll deduction from employees’ wages. Employers withhold 1.0 percent (.01) 
	The SDI program is funded through a payroll deduction from employees’ wages. Employers withhold 1.0 percent (.01) 
	for SDI on the first $118,371 in wages paid to each employee in a calendar year.

	CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT)
	What Is California PIT?
	What Is California PIT?

	California PIT is a tax levied on the income of California residents and on income that California nonresidents derive 
	California PIT is a tax levied on the income of California residents and on income that California nonresidents derive 
	within California. The EDD administers the reporting, collection, and enforcement of PIT wage withholding. The 
	Franchise Tax Board (FTB) and the EDD administer the California PIT program to provide resources needed for 
	California public services such as schools, public parks, roads, health, and human services.

	Who Pays It?
	Who Pays It?

	California PIT is either withheld from employees’ wages based on the 
	California PIT is either withheld from employees’ wages based on the 
	Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate
	 
	 
	(Form W-4 or DE 4) on file with their employer or based on the supplemental tax rates, refer to
	 
	page 15
	page 15

	.


	STATE PAYROLL TAXES
	STATE PAYROLL TAXES
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	Who Pays?
	Who Pays?
	Who Pays?
	Who Pays?


	Employer
	Employer
	Employer


	Employer
	Employer
	Employer


	Employee (employer 
	Employee (employer 
	Employee (employer 
	withholds from 
	employee wages)


	Employee (employer 
	Employee (employer 
	Employee (employer 
	withholds from 
	employee wages)



	Taxable Wages
	Taxable Wages
	Taxable Wages
	Taxable Wages


	First $7,000 of 
	First $7,000 of 
	First $7,000 of 
	subject wages per 
	employee, per year.


	First $7,000 of 
	First $7,000 of 
	First $7,000 of 
	subject wages per 
	employee, per year.


	First $118,371 of 
	First $118,371 of 
	First $118,371 of 
	subject wages per 
	employee, per year.


	No limit. Refer to 
	No limit. Refer to 
	No limit. Refer to 
	the PIT withholding 
	schedules on the 
	EDD website at 
	www.
	www.
	edd.ca.gov/payroll_
	taxes/rates_and_
	withholding.htm

	.



	Tax Rate
	Tax Rate
	Tax Rate
	Tax Rate


	New employer tax rate 
	New employer tax rate 
	New employer tax rate 
	is 3.4 percent (.034) 
	for a period of two to 
	three years. Following 
	this period, the tax 
	rate is calculated 
	annually based on 
	each employer’s 
	previous experience 
	and the condition of 
	the UI Fund. The EDD 
	notifies employers of 
	their new rate each 
	December.


	Set by statute at 
	Set by statute at 
	Set by statute at 
	0.1 percent (.001) 
	of UI taxable wages 
	for employers with 
	positive UI reserve 
	account balances 
	and employers 
	subject to section 
	977(c) of the CUIC.


	The 2019 SDI 
	The 2019 SDI 
	The 2019 SDI 
	withholding rate 
	is 1.0 percent (.01). 
	 
	The SDI taxable 
	wages and tax rate 
	are set by law and 
	may change each 
	year.


	Withheld based on 
	Withheld based on 
	Withheld based on 
	the employee’s 
	 
	Form W-4 or DE 4.



	Maximum Tax 
	Maximum Tax 
	Maximum Tax 
	Maximum Tax 
	(Except when 
	employer is subject 
	to section 977[c] of 
	 
	the CUIC.)


	$434 per employee, 
	$434 per employee, 
	$434 per employee, 
	per year. (The amount 
	has been calculated 
	at the highest UI tax 
	rate of 6.2 percent 
	[$7000 x .062].)


	$7 per employee, 
	$7 per employee, 
	$7 per employee, 
	per year 
	 
	($7,000 x .001).


	$1,183.71 per 
	$1,183.71 per 
	$1,183.71 per 
	employee, per year 
	($118,371 x .01).


	No maximum.
	No maximum.
	No maximum.



	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 Some types of employment are not subject to payroll taxes and/or PIT withholding. Refer to 
	Information 
	Sheet: Types of Employment
	 (DE 231TE) online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf

	. Certain 
	types of wages and benefits are not subject to payroll taxes. Refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of 
	Payments
	 (DE 231TP) online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf

	.
	 
	For additional assistance, 
	contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.






	HELP US FIGHT FRAUD
	The “underground economy” is a term that refers to those individuals and businesses that deal in cash and/or use 
	The “underground economy” is a term that refers to those individuals and businesses that deal in cash and/or use 
	other schemes to conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government licensing, regulatory and taxing 
	agencies. Underground economy is also refered to as tax evasion, tax fraud, cash pay, tax gap, payments under-
	the-table and off-the-books. When businesses operate in the underground economy, they gain an unfair competitive 
	advantage over businesses that comply with the law because they do not pay workers’ compensation and state and 
	federal payroll taxes. This causes unfair competition in the marketplace and forces law-abiding businesses to pay 
	higher taxes. To address this, the EDD, in partnership with several other governmental agencies, follows up on leads 
	and conducts on-site inspections of businesses throughout the state.* To learn more about the EDD Underground 
	Economy Operations (UEO) programs, access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/underground_economy_operations.htm
	.

	To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry workers’ compensation 
	To report businesses that are paying workers undocumented cash payments, failing to carry workers’ compensation 
	insurance, or not complying with labor and licensing laws, please download and complete an 
	Underground Economy 
	Operations Lead Referral/Complaint Form
	 (DE 660 in English or DE 660/S in Spanish) available at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660.pdf

	 or 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660s.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de660s.pdf

	 or contact the UEO at:

	Hotline:  1-800-528-1783 Email:  
	Hotline:  1-800-528-1783 Email:  
	ueo@edd.ca.gov
	ueo@edd.ca.gov


	Fax:  1-916-227-2772 Online: 
	Fax:  1-916-227-2772 Online: 
	https://askedd.edd.ca.gov/ReportFraud.aspx

	•
	•
	 To obtain the brochure 
	Paying Cash Wages “Under the Table”
	 (DE 573CA in English or DE 573CA/S in 
	Spanish), access the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	 or 
	order copies using our online order form at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms

	.

	•
	•
	 Further information about how to help the EDD fight fraud may be found in the 
	Help Us Fight Fraud
	 (DE 2370) 
	brochure at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2370.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2370.pdf

	.

	*More information about the Joint Enforcement Strike Force effort may be found in 
	*More information about the Joint Enforcement Strike Force effort may be found in 
	Joint Enforcement Strike Force 
	Booklet 
	(DE 663)
	 
	available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de663.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de663.pdf

	.


	WHAT ARE WAGES?
	WHAT ARE WAGES?
	Wages are all compensation for an employee’s personal services, whether paid by check, cash, electronic debit or 
	Wages are all compensation for an employee’s personal services, whether paid by check, cash, electronic debit or 
	the reasonable cash value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging. The method of payment, whether by 
	private agreement, consent, or mandate, does not change the taxability of wages paid to employees. Payments are 
	considered wages even if the employee is a casual worker, a day or contract laborer, part-time or temporary worker, 
	or paid by the day, hour, or any other method or measurement. Supplemental payments, including bonuses, overtime 
	pay, sales awards, commissions, and vacation pay are also considered wages.

	SUBJECT WAGES
	Generally, all wages, unless excluded under the California Unemployment Insurance Code, are considered subject 
	Generally, all wages, unless excluded under the California Unemployment Insurance Code, are considered subject 
	wages and are used to determine the amount of Unemployment Insurance (UI) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) and 
	Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits a claimant should receive. Subject wages are the full amount of wages, regardless 
	of the UI and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to the inside front cover for UI/SDI taxable wage limits. Enter the Total 
	Subject Wages in “Item F” for each employee on the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 
	(DE 9C). Certain types of employment and payments are not considered subject. Refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of 
	Employment
	 (DE 231TE) and 
	Information Sheet: Types of Payments
	 (DE 231TP) available online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-
	745-3886.

	PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WAGES
	Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to state income tax. Wages that must 
	Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages are cash and noncash payments subject to state income tax. Wages that must 
	be reported on an individual’s California income tax return are PIT wages. Most payments for employees’ services 
	are reportable as PIT wages. An employee’s calendar year total for PIT wages should agree with the amount 
	reported on the employee’s federal 
	Wage and Tax Statement 
	(Form W-2) in Box 16 (state wages, tips, etc.). The PIT 
	wages for each employee must be reported quarterly in “Item G” on the DE 9C. For additional information, refer to 
	Information Sheet: Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages 
	(Continuation) (DE 9C) 
	(DE 231PIT) available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231pit.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231pit.pdf

	 or contact the 
	Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 Some wages excluded from PIT withholding are still considered PIT wages and must be reported to the EDD; 
	for example, wages paid to agricultural workers.

	ARE SUBJECT WAGES AND PIT WAGES THE SAME?
	In most situations, when wages are subject to UI, ETT, SDI, and PIT withholding, subject wages and PIT wages are 
	In most situations, when wages are subject to UI, ETT, SDI, and PIT withholding, subject wages and PIT wages are 
	the same. Examples of when subject wages and PIT wages are different are:

	•
	•
	 Employee salary reduction contributions to a qualified retirement or pension plan are generally included as 
	subject wages, but are not reportable as PIT wages. Refer to the “Retirement and Pension Plans” section of 
	Information Sheet: Types of Payments
	 (DE 231TP) available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 Under certain situations, wages paid to family employees (a child under age of 18 years employed by own 
	father or mother, an individual employed by own son, daughter, spouse, or registered domestic partner) may 
	 
	not be reported as subject wages but are reportable as PIT wages. Refer to the “Family Employees” section 
	 
	of 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment
	 (DE 231TE) available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 Payments made to employees of churches are not reported as subject wages, but are reportable as PIT wages. 
	Refer to the “Nonprofit Organization Employees” section of 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment
	 (DE 231TE) 
	available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231te.pdf

	 
	or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
	1-888-745-3886.

	EMPLOYERS SUBJECT TO CALIFORNIA PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) ONLY
	Employers who are only required to withhold California PIT, but not the other payroll taxes, are still required to register 
	Employers who are only required to withhold California PIT, but not the other payroll taxes, are still required to register 
	with the EDD using 
	Registration Form for Employers Depositing Only Personal Income Tax Withholding
	 (DE 1P). The 
	employer is liable for the required PIT, whether or not it is withheld. By law, the filing of federal Form 1099-MISC (issued 
	to the worker) with the Internal Revenue Service or Franchise Tax Board does not relieve the employer of liability.


	MEALS AND LODGING
	MEALS AND LODGING
	Meals and lodging that are provided free of charge or at a reduced rate to an employee are wages. If your employees 
	Meals and lodging that are provided free of charge or at a reduced rate to an employee are wages. If your employees 
	are covered under a contract of employment or union agreement, the taxable value of meals and lodging cannot be 
	less than the estimated value stated in the contract or agreement. Meals and lodging furnished for the employer’s 
	convenience and on the employer’s premises are not subject to Personal Income Tax (PIT).

	If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union agreement, please refer to the table below for the 
	If the cash value is not stated in an employment contract or union agreement, please refer to the table below for the 
	value of the meals and/or lodging. To determine the value of lodging, multiply the amount you could rent the property 
	for (ordinary rental value) by 66 2/3 percent (0.6667). Ordinary rental value may be calculated on a monthly or weekly 
	basis as follows:

	Value of Meals
	Value of Meals
	Value of Meals
	Value of Meals
	Value of Meals
	Value of Meals

	Value of Lodging
	Value of Lodging


	Year
	Year
	Year
	Year


	3 Meals 
	3 Meals 
	3 Meals 
	 
	Per Day


	Breakfast
	Breakfast
	Breakfast


	Lunch
	Lunch
	Lunch


	Dinner
	Dinner
	Dinner


	Meal Not 
	Meal Not 
	Meal Not 
	Identified


	Minimum 
	Minimum 
	Minimum 
	Per Week


	Maximum 
	Maximum 
	Maximum 
	Per Month



	2019
	2019
	2019
	2019


	$ 11.80
	$ 11.80
	$ 11.80


	$ 2.40
	$ 2.40
	$ 2.40


	$ 3.65
	$ 3.65
	$ 3.65


	$ 5.75
	$ 5.75
	$ 5.75


	$ 4.25
	$ 4.25
	$ 4.25


	$ 49.55
	$ 49.55
	$ 49.55


	$ 1,528
	$ 1,528
	$ 1,528



	2018
	2018
	2018
	2018


	$ 11.60
	$ 11.60
	$ 11.60


	$ 2.40
	$ 2.40
	$ 2.40


	$ 3.55
	$ 3.55
	$ 3.55


	$ 5.65
	$ 5.65
	$ 5.65


	$ 4.15
	$ 4.15
	$ 4.15


	$ 47.25
	$ 47.25
	$ 47.25


	$ 1,456
	$ 1,456
	$ 1,456






	The values above apply to non-maritime employees only.
	The values above apply to non-maritime employees only.

	For more information on meals and lodging, including values for those provided to maritime employees, access the 
	For more information on meals and lodging, including values for those provided to maritime employees, access the 
	EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/rates_and_withholding.htm

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
	Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.

	The 
	The 
	Tax Rates, Wages Limits, and Value of Meals and Lodging
	 (DE 3395) provides historical rate information for the 
	last eight years and is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3395.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3395.pdf

	.

	ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
	•
	•
	 Who Is An Employee? 
	Refer to page 8
	Refer to page 8

	.

	•
	•
	 EDD forms and publications: 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm


	•
	•
	 Information Sheets:

	○ DE 231A – 
	○ DE 231A – 
	Wages

	○ DE 231TE – 
	○ DE 231TE – 
	Types of Employment

	○ DE 231TP – 
	○ DE 231TP – 
	Types of Payments

	○ DE 231PIT – 
	○ DE 231PIT – 
	Personal Income Tax Wages Reported on the Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of 
	 
	 Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C)

	○ DE 231W
	○ DE 231W
	 – Personal Income Tax Adjustment Process


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	Subscribe to no-fee EDD email subscription services at
	Subscribe to no-fee EDD email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WAGES SUBJECT TO CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING
	PERSONAL INCOME TAX (PIT) WAGES SUBJECT TO CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING
	With certain exceptions, compensation for services performed by an employee is considered wages and subject to 
	With certain exceptions, compensation for services performed by an employee is considered wages and subject to 
	California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding. California wages include, but are not limited to, salaries, bonuses, 
	commissions, fees (except fees paid to public officials), and payments in forms other than checks or cash. Wages 
	in any form other than checks or cash are measured by the fair market value of the goods, lodging, meals, or other 
	compensation given in payment for the employee’s services.

	HOW TO DETERMINE WHICH WAGES REQUIRE PIT WITHHOLDING
	Most wages require California PIT withholding. To determine which wages require PIT withholding, refer to 
	Most wages require California PIT withholding. To determine which wages require PIT withholding, refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment 
	(DE 231TE) and 
	Information Sheet: Types of Payments 
	(DE 231TP). These 
	information sheets identify special classes of employment and special types of payments and their treatment for UI, 
	ETT, SDI, and California PIT wages and withholding. Also refer to “Who is an Employee?” on
	 
	page 8
	.

	To obtain information sheets for specific industries and types of services, access the EDD website at 
	To obtain information sheets for specific industries and types of services, access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
	 
	1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, contact 1-916-464-3502.

	MARITAL STATUS, WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCES, AND EXEMPTIONS
	FORM W-4 AND DE 4
	The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
	The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) 
	Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate 
	(Form W-4) is a federal form 
	normally used for California PIT withholding. However, if an employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or a 
	different number of allowances than are claimed for federal withholding purposes, the employee must file the state form 
	Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate
	 (DE 4). For instance, California recognizes the “Head of Household” 
	status, and an employee would need to file a DE 4 to claim that status. Additionally, a spouse of a military service 
	member must file a DE 4 to exclude wages from California PIT withholdings if the spouse’s tax domicile is outside of 
	California and the spouse moves to California to be with the service member who is in the state due to military orders.

	If employees expect to itemize deductions on their California income tax return, they can claim additional 
	If employees expect to itemize deductions on their California income tax return, they can claim additional 
	withholding allowances, which are greater than their regular withholding allowances. When reduced withholding 
	amounts are appropriate because of large amounts of itemized deductions, employees 
	must
	 complete a DE 
	4, including the attached worksheets, to support additional allowances for the itemized deductions. An online 
	DE 4 calculator is available at the California Tax Service Center website at 
	www.
	edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	pdf/de4-online-

	calculator.pdf
	calculator.pdf

	. For information on treatment of additional withholding allowances for estimated 
	deductions, refer to “Instructions for Additional Withholding Allowances for Estimated Deductions” on 
	page17
	page17

	 
	and the “Estimated Deduction” table on
	 
	page 19
	page 19

	.

	Use of the DE 4 is optional; however, if employees provide you with a DE 4, you must use it to determine their 
	Use of the DE 4 is optional; however, if employees provide you with a DE 4, you must use it to determine their 
	California PIT withholdings. To obtain the DE 4, access the EDD website at 
	www.
	edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	pdf/de4-online-

	calculator.pdf
	calculator.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	Employees may request that no California PIT be withheld if they:
	Employees may request that no California PIT be withheld if they:

	•
	•
	 Incurred no liability for federal income tax for the preceding taxable year 
	and

	•
	•
	 Anticipate that no federal income tax liability will be incurred for the current taxable year.

	ACTION REQUIRED:
	ACTION REQUIRED:
	 Each employee must complete an IRS Form W-4 for federal and California PIT 
	withholding. If the employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or different number of allowances for 
	California PIT withholding, the employee also must complete a DE 4.

	If
	If
	If
	If
	If
	If

	Then
	Then


	Employee does not file a DE 4
	Employee does not file a DE 4
	Employee does not file a DE 4
	Employee does not file a DE 4


	You 
	You 
	You 
	must
	 use the marital status and allowances claimed (including any 
	additional allowances) by the employee on the federal Form W-4 to calculate the 
	employee’s California PIT withholding.

	Exception:
	Exception:
	 Do not withhold any California PIT from wages of employees who have 
	filed “EXEMPT” on their Form W-4 unless you receive a written notice from the IRS 
	or Franchise Tax Board (FTB) to withhold at a special rate. To maintain “EXEMPT” 
	status, the employee 
	must
	 file a new Form W-4 
	each year
	 on or before February 15.



	Employee files a DE 4
	Employee files a DE 4
	Employee files a DE 4
	Employee files a DE 4


	You 
	You 
	You 
	must
	 use the DE 4 to calculate and withhold California PIT.



	Employee’s marital status 
	Employee’s marital status 
	Employee’s marital status 
	Employee’s marital status 
	cannot be determined from the 
	Form W-4 or DE 4


	Request the employee correct the Form W-4 or DE 4 or submit a new one. Until 
	Request the employee correct the Form W-4 or DE 4 or submit a new one. Until 
	Request the employee correct the Form W-4 or DE 4 or submit a new one. Until 
	the new or corrected form is received, consider the employee as single with zero 
	withholding allowances for California PIT withholding purposes.



	Employee admits that 
	Employee admits that 
	Employee admits that 
	Employee admits that 
	 
	Form W-4 or DE 4 is false


	When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT 
	When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT 
	When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT 
	withholding. Tell the employee that it is invalid and ask for another one. If the 
	employee does not give you a valid one, withhold PIT as if the employee was 
	single and claiming no withholding allowances. However, if you have an earlier 
	Form W-4 of DE 4 for this worker that is valid, withhold as you did before.







	EMPLOYER’S OBLIGATIONS FOR THE FORM W-4 AND DE 4
	EMPLOYER’S OBLIGATIONS FOR THE FORM W-4 AND DE 4
	When you hire an employee, you must have the employee complete and furnish a signed withholding exemption 
	When you hire an employee, you must have the employee complete and furnish a signed withholding exemption 
	certificate, federal Form W-4 or state DE 4, relating to marital status, the number of withholding exemptions claimed, 
	and any additional amount to use when you deduct state income tax from the employee’s pay. If an employee fails 
	to give you a properly completed federal Form W-4 or state DE 4, you must withhold state income taxes from the 
	employee’s wages as if the employee were single and claiming no withholding allowances. 

	The requirements for a complete exemption from state wage withholding are the same as the federal requirements. 
	The requirements for a complete exemption from state wage withholding are the same as the federal requirements. 
	You shall not deduct and withhold any tax upon a payment of wages made to an employee if there is in effect, for 
	the federal income tax purposes, with respect to the payment a withholding exemption certificate furnished to the 
	employer by the employee which contains statements that: 

	•
	•
	 The employee incurred no liability for federal income tax imposed for the preceding taxable year; and

	•
	•
	 The employee anticipates that they will incur no liability for federal income tax for the current taxable year.

	A Form W-4 or DE 4 claiming exemption from withholding is valid for only the calendar year in which it is filed with the 
	A Form W-4 or DE 4 claiming exemption from withholding is valid for only the calendar year in which it is filed with the 
	employer. To continue to be exempt from withholding in the next year, an employee must give you a new 
	 
	Form W-4 or DE 4 claiming exempt status by February 15 of that year. If the employee does not give you a new 
	 
	Form W-4 or DE 4, withhold tax as if the employee is single, with no withholding allowances. However, if you have an 
	earlier Form W-4 or DE 4 (not claiming exempt status) for this employee that is valid, withhold as you did before.

	If the employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or different number of allowances for California Personal 
	If the employee wants to claim a different marital status and/or different number of allowances for California Personal 
	Income Tax (PIT) withholding, the employee must also complete a DE 4. Employers must retain the federal 
	 
	Form W-4 and/or state DE 4 for payroll records.

	The Form W-4/DE 4 is considered invalid* if either of the following two conditions exist: 
	The Form W-4/DE 4 is considered invalid* if either of the following two conditions exist: 

	•
	•
	 The employee makes major changes to Form W-4 or DE 4, such as crossing out words or writing more than is 
	asked.

	•
	•
	 The employee admits that Form W-4 or DE 4 is false.

	When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT withholding. Tell the employee that it is 
	When you receive an invalid Form W-4 or DE 4, do not use it to calculate PIT withholding. Tell the employee that it is 
	invalid and ask for another one. If the employee does not give you a valid one, withhold PIT as if the employee was 
	single and claiming no withholding allowances. However, if you have an earlier Form W-4 or DE 4 for this worker that 
	is valid, withhold as you did before. 

	The reporting of the certificates to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) shall satisfy state reporting requirements. A 
	The reporting of the certificates to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) shall satisfy state reporting requirements. A 
	federal determination that a withholding exemption certificate is invalid or incorrect shall also be effective for state 
	withholding purposes. Thus, if you are instructed by the IRS to withhold as though an employee were a single person 
	claiming no exemptions, then you must do likewise for state withholding purposes. If the IRS specifies marital status 
	and the permissible number of exemptions an employee may claim, such a federal determination shall also be 
	effective for state withholding purposes.

	The Franchise Tax Board or the EDD may, by special direction in writing, require you, as the employer, to submit a 
	The Franchise Tax Board or the EDD may, by special direction in writing, require you, as the employer, to submit a 
	Form W-4 or DE-4 when such forms are necessary for the administration of the withholding tax programs.

	*Pursuant to section 31.3402(f)(2)-1(e) of Title 26, Code of Federal Regulations, and section 4340-1(b) of Title 22, 
	*Pursuant to section 31.3402(f)(2)-1(e) of Title 26, Code of Federal Regulations, and section 4340-1(b) of Title 22, 
	California Code of Regulations.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	HOW TO DETERMINE PIT WITHHOLDING AMOUNTS
	HOW TO DETERMINE PIT WITHHOLDING AMOUNTS
	Refer to
	Refer to
	 
	page 17
	page 17

	 for the 2019 California Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding schedules and information on how to 
	calculate withholdings.

	 
	 

	What if Your Employee Wants Additional PIT Withholding?
	What if Your Employee Wants Additional PIT Withholding?

	In addition to the tax required to be withheld from salaries and wages, you may, upon written request from the 
	In addition to the tax required to be withheld from salaries and wages, you may, upon written request from the 
	employee, agree to withhold an additional amount from the employee’s wages. This agreement will be effective for 
	the periods you and the employee mutually agree upon or until written termination of the agreement. 

	If employees rely on the Form W-4 instructions when calculating California withholding allowances, their California PIT 
	If employees rely on the Form W-4 instructions when calculating California withholding allowances, their California PIT 
	could be significantly underwithheld. This is particularly true if the household income is derived from more than one 
	source. If an employee wants more California PIT withheld than the schedules and the alternate methods allow, the 
	employee should either request additional withholding or, if married, indicate “single” on the DE 4. For more information, 
	refer to the DE 4 form and instructions. An online DE 4 calculator is available at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/pdf/de4-online-calculator.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/pdf/de4-online-calculator.pdf

	.

	 
	 

	HOW TO WITHHOLD PIT ON SUPPLEMENTAL WAGES
	Supplemental wages include, but are not limited to, bonuses, overtime pay, sales awards, commissions, stock 
	Supplemental wages include, but are not limited to, bonuses, overtime pay, sales awards, commissions, stock 
	options, vacation pay, and dismissal or severance pay. Under certain circumstances, bonuses and stock options are 
	taxed at a different flat rate than other types of supplemental wages (refer to “Supplemental Wages” below). This only 
	applies to stock options that are considered wages subject to PIT withholding.

	 
	 

	If the supplemental wage is given to the employee at the same time as the employee’s regular wages are paid, you 
	If the supplemental wage is given to the employee at the same time as the employee’s regular wages are paid, you 
	are 
	required
	 to treat the sum of the payments as regular wages and withhold PIT based on the regular payroll period 
	using the PIT withholding schedules. 

	 
	 

	If the supplemental wage is 
	If the supplemental wage is 
	not
	 given to the employee at the same time as the employee’s regular wages are paid, 
	you may use either of the following two options:

	1. Compute the amount of PIT to withhold from the supplemental wage based on the combined regular wages 
	1. Compute the amount of PIT to withhold from the supplemental wage based on the combined regular wages 
	and the supplemental wage. Compute the PIT withholding on the total of the supplemental wage and the 
	current or most recent regular (gross) wage payment using the PIT withholding schedules. From that amount, 
	subtract the PIT you withheld from the regular wages. The difference is the PIT amount you should withhold 
	from the supplemental wages.

	 
	 
	or

	2. Withhold the percentage noted below on the following types of supplemental wages without allowing for any 
	2. Withhold the percentage noted below on the following types of supplemental wages without allowing for any 
	withholding allowances claimed by the employee:

	Supplemental Wages Percentage
	Supplemental Wages Percentage

	Bonuses and stock options 10.23 percent (.1023)
	Bonuses and stock options 10.23 percent (.1023)

	Other types (such as overtime pay, commissions,
	Other types (such as overtime pay, commissions,
	 
	sales awards, severance, and vacation pay) 6.6 percent (.066)

	To find out if stock options are wages subject to PIT withholding, obtain 
	To find out if stock options are wages subject to PIT withholding, obtain 
	Information Sheet: Stock Options
	 
	(DE 231SK) by accessing the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sk.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sk.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer 
	Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	QUARTERLY ESTIMATED PAYMENTS
	Wages are subject to mandatory California PIT withholding at the time they are paid to the employee. Quarterly 
	Wages are subject to mandatory California PIT withholding at the time they are paid to the employee. Quarterly 
	estimates paid directly to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) are intended to satisfy taxes on income that is not subject 
	to withholding. Quarterly estimates paid by an employee directly to the FTB in lieu of proper withholdings from wages 
	may result in an assessment to the employer. If you have questions regarding quarterly estimated payments, contact 
	the FTB at 1-800-852-5711.


	WAGES PAID TO CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS
	WAGES PAID TO CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS
	If
	If
	If
	If
	If
	If

	Then
	Then


	A California resident 
	A California resident 
	A California resident 
	A California resident 
	performs services in 
	California or in another 
	state.


	Wages paid to the resident employee are subject to California PIT withholding, and 
	Wages paid to the resident employee are subject to California PIT withholding, and 
	Wages paid to the resident employee are subject to California PIT withholding, and 
	PIT must be withheld from all wages paid, in accordance with the employee’s 
	 
	Form W-4 or DE 4.

	The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the 
	The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the 
	Quarterly Contribution 
	Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
	(DE 9C). The PIT withheld must also be 
	reported on the DE 9C.



	A California resident 
	A California resident 
	A California resident 
	A California resident 
	performs services that are 
	subject to personal income 
	tax withholding laws of 
	both California and another 
	state, political subdivision, 
	or the District of Columbia.


	Make the withholding required by the other jurisdiction, and:
	Make the withholding required by the other jurisdiction, and:
	Make the withholding required by the other jurisdiction, and:

	•
	•
	 For California, withhold the amount by which the California withholding 
	amount exceeds the withholding amount for the other jurisdiction, or

	•
	•
	 Do not withhold any California PIT if the withholding amount for the other 
	jurisdiction is equal to, or greater than, the withholding amount for California.

	The wages reported as PIT wages on the 
	The wages reported as PIT wages on the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report 
	of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) are the same wages that are entered in “Box 16” on 
	your employee’s Form W-2. The PIT withheld must also be reported on the DE 9C.






	WAGES PAID TO NONRESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA
	If
	If
	If
	If
	If
	If

	Then
	Then


	A nonresident employee 
	A nonresident employee 
	A nonresident employee 
	A nonresident employee 
	performs all services in 
	California (may include 
	spouse of a military service 
	member).


	The wages paid to the nonresident employee are subject to California PIT withholding. 
	The wages paid to the nonresident employee are subject to California PIT withholding. 
	The wages paid to the nonresident employee are subject to California PIT withholding. 
	 
	The PIT must be withheld from all wages paid in accordance with the employee’s 
	 
	Form W-4 or DE 4. However, the spouse of a military service member may exclude 
	 
	wages from California PIT withholding by filing a DE 4 (refer to
	 
	page 13
	page 13

	).

	The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 9C. The PIT withheld 
	The wages paid must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 9C. The PIT withheld 
	must also be reported on the DE 9C.



	A nonresident employee 
	A nonresident employee 
	A nonresident employee 
	A nonresident employee 
	performs services both 
	in California as well as in 
	another state.


	Only the wages earned in California are subject to California PIT withholding. The 
	Only the wages earned in California are subject to California PIT withholding. The 
	Only the wages earned in California are subject to California PIT withholding. The 
	amount of wages subject to California PIT withholding is that portion of the total 
	number of working days employed in California compared to the total number of 
	working days employed in both California and the other state.

	The California wages must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 9C. The PIT 
	The California wages must be reported as PIT wages on the DE 9C. The PIT 
	withheld must also be reported on the DE 9C.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 For employees whose compensation depends on the volume of business 
	transacted, the amount of earnings subject to California PIT withholding is that 
	portion received for the volume of business transacted in California compared 
	to the total volume of business in both California and the other state.






	PIT WITHHOLDING ON PAYMENTS TO NONRESIDENT INDEPENDENT CONTRACTORS
	Please refer to the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB) 
	Please refer to the Franchise Tax Board’s (FTB) 
	Resident and Nonresident Withholding Guidelines
	 (Publication 1017) 
	for guidance regarding PIT withholding on payments to nonresident independent contractors for services performed 
	in California. Publication 1017 can be obtained by contacting the FTB at 1-888-792-4900 or by accessing their 
	website at 
	www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1017.pdf
	www.ftb.ca.gov/forms/misc/1017.pdf

	.

	ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
	•
	•
	 EDD website (forms and publications): 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm


	•
	•
	 Information Sheets:

	○ DE 231D – 
	○ DE 231D – 
	Multistate Employment

	○ DE 231P – 
	○ DE 231P – 
	Withholding From Pensions, Annuities, and Certain Other Deferred Income

	○ DE 231PS – 
	○ DE 231PS – 
	Personal Income Tax Withholding – Supplemental Wage Payments, Moving Expense
	 
	 Reimbursement – WARN Act Payments

	○ DE 231R – 
	○ DE 231R – 
	Third-Party Sick Pay

	○ DE 231TE – 
	○ DE 231TE – 
	Types of Employment

	○ DE 231TP – 
	○ DE 231TP – 
	Types of Payments


	   CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2019   California provides two methods for determining the amount of wages and salaries to be withheld for state personal income tax:  • METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD (Limited to wages/salaries less than $1 million) • METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD    METHOD A provides a quick and easy way to select the appropriate withholding amount, based on the payroll period,       filing status, and number of withholding allowances (regular and additional) if claimed.
	  CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2019   METHOD A - WAGE BRACKET TABLE METHOD   To determine the amount of tax to be withheld follow these steps:   Step 1 Determine if the employee's gross wages are less than, or equal to, the amount shown in “TABLE 1 - LOW INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE.”  If so, no income tax is required to be withheld.  Step 2 If the employee claims any additional withholding allowances for deductions, subtract the amount shown in "TABLE 2 - ESTIMATED DEDUCTION TABLE" from the gross wages. 
	UNMARRIEDHEAD OF '0' OR '1'HOUSEHOLD$280$280$561$561$561$561$1,121$1,121$607$607$1,214$1,214$1,214$1,214$2,429$2,429$3,643$3,643$7,287$7,287$7,287$7,287$14,573$14,573$14,573$14,573$29,146$29,146$56$56$112$112BI-      SEMI-   SEMI-   WEEKLYWEEKLYMONTHLYMONTHLYQUARTERLYANNUALANNUALDAILY/MISC.1$19$38$42$83$250$500$1,000$42$38$77$83$167$500$1,000$2,000$83$58$115$125$250$750$1,500$3,000$124$77$154$167$333$1,000$2,000$4,000$155$96$192$208$417$1,250$2,500$5,000$196$115$231$250$500$1,500$3,000$6,000$237$135$269$292
	SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIEDIF WAGES ARE...BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE$1$1601601700.881701800.991801901.101902001.212002101.322102201.432202301.542302401.652402501.762502601.942602702.162702802.382802902.600.112903002.820.333003103.040.553103203.260.773203303.480.993303403.701.213403503.921.433503604.141.653603704.361.873703804.582.093803904.802.313904005.022.530.034004105.242.750.254104205.462.970.474204305.683.190.694304405.903.410.914404506.123.631.134504606.343.851.354604806.674.181.684
	BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE$1$1601601700.881701800.991801901.101902001.212002101.322102201.432202301.542302401.652402501.762502601.872602701.982702802.092802902.202903002.313003102.423103202.530.043203302.640.153303402.750.263403502.860.373503602.970.483603703.080.593703803.190.703803903.300.813904003.410.924004103.521.034104203.661.164204303.881.384304404.101.604404604.431.934604804.872.374805005.312.815005205.753.255205406.193.695405606.634.135605807.074.570.215806007.515.010.656006207.955.451.0
	BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE88090014.6712.177.254.762.2690092015.5513.057.695.202.700.2092094016.4313.938.135.643.140.6494096017.3114.818.596.093.601.1096098018.1915.699.476.974.481.98980100019.0716.5710.357.855.362.860.361000102019.9517.4511.238.736.243.741.241020104020.8318.3312.119.617.124.622.121040106021.7119.2112.9910.498.005.503.000.511060108022.5920.0913.8711.378.886.383.881.391080110023.4720.9714.7512.259.767.264.762.271100112024.3521.8515.6313.1310.648.145.643.150.651120114025.2322.7316.5
	IF WAGES ARE...BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE$1$2502502600.942602701.052702801.162802901.272903001.383003101.493103201.603203301.713303401.823403501.933503602.043603702.153703802.263803902.373904002.484004102.590.104104202.700.214204302.810.324304402.920.434404503.030.544504603.140.654604703.250.764704803.360.874804903.470.984905003.581.095005203.881.385205404.321.825405604.762.265605805.202.700.205806005.643.140.646006206.083.581.086206406.524.021.526406606.964.461.966606807.404.902.406807007.845.34
	IF WAGES ARE...BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE$1$2602602801.112803001.333003201.553203401.773403601.993603802.213804002.434004202.654204402.874404603.094604803.314805003.535005203.895205404.335405604.775605805.210.215806005.650.656006206.091.096206406.531.536406606.971.976606807.412.416807007.852.857007208.293.297207408.733.737407609.174.177607809.614.6178080010.055.050.0680082010.495.490.5082086011.156.151.1686090012.037.032.0490094012.917.912.9294098014.029.034.04980102015.7810.795.800.801020107017.
	BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE$1$2602602801.112803001.333003201.553203401.773403601.993603802.213804002.434004202.654204402.874404603.094604803.314805003.535005203.755205403.975405604.195605804.415806004.636006204.856206405.070.076406605.290.296606805.510.516807005.730.737007205.950.957207406.171.177407606.391.397607806.611.617808006.831.838008207.052.058208407.322.338408607.762.778608808.203.218809008.643.659009209.084.099209409.524.539409609.964.9796098010.405.41980100010.845.851000102011.286.29102
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE1500154022.5017.518.793.791540158023.3818.399.674.671580162024.2619.2710.555.550.561620166025.1420.1511.436.431.441660170026.0221.0312.317.312.321700174026.9021.9113.198.193.201740178028.4623.4614.079.074.081780182030.2225.2214.959.954.961820186031.9826.9815.8310.835.840.851860190033.7428.7416.7111.716.721.731900194035.5030.5018.0613.078.073.081940198037.2632.2619.8214.839.834.841980202039.0234.0221.5816.5911.596.601.612020206040.7835.7823.3418.3513.358.363.3720602100
	BUTATLESS012345678910LEASTTHANOR MORE$1$5605605802.555806002.776006202.996206403.216406603.436606803.656807003.877007204.097207404.317407604.537607804.757808004.978008205.190.198208405.410.418408605.630.638608805.850.858809006.071.079009206.291.299209406.511.519409606.731.739609806.951.9598010007.172.17100010407.752.76104010808.633.64108011209.514.521120116010.395.400.411160120011.276.281.291200125012.267.272.281250130013.368.373.381300135014.469.474.481350140015.5610.575.580.581400145016.6611.676.681.68145
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$3003003201.393203401.613403601.833603802.053804002.274004202.494204402.714404602.934604803.154805003.375005403.705405804.375806205.256206606.130.726607007.011.607007407.892.487407808.773.367808209.654.2482086010.535.1286090011.416.000.5990094012.296.881.4794098013.177.762.35980102014.058.643.231020106015.219.804.381060110016.9711.566.140.731100114018.7313.327.902.491140118020.4915.089.664.251180122022.2516.8411.426.010.601220126024.0118.6013.187.772.361260130025.77
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$3003003201.393203401.613403601.833603802.053804002.274004202.494204402.714404602.934604803.154805003.375005203.595205403.815405604.035605804.255806004.476006204.696206404.916406605.136606805.356807005.570.167007205.790.387207406.010.607407606.230.827607806.451.047808006.671.268008206.891.488208407.111.708408607.331.928608807.552.148809007.772.369009208.152.749209408.593.189409609.033.629609809.474.0698010009.914.501000104010.575.161040108011.456.041080112012.336.92
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE1600164023.7718.368.923.501640168024.6519.249.804.381680172025.5320.1210.685.261720176026.4121.0011.566.140.731760180027.2921.8812.447.021.611800184028.1722.7613.327.902.491840188029.0523.6414.208.783.371880192030.5625.1515.089.664.251920196032.3226.9115.9610.545.131960200034.0828.6716.8411.426.010.602000204035.8430.4317.7212.306.891.482040208037.6032.1918.7113.307.892.472080212039.3633.9520.4715.069.654.232120216041.1235.7122.2316.8211.415.990.582160220042.8837.4723.
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$6006006202.686206402.906406603.126606803.346807003.567007203.787207404.007407604.227607804.447808004.668008204.888208405.108408605.328608805.540.128809005.760.349009406.090.679409806.531.1198010206.971.55102010607.411.99106011007.862.45110011408.743.33114011809.624.211180122010.505.091220126011.385.970.561260130012.266.851.441300135013.257.842.431350140014.358.943.531400145015.4510.044.631450150016.5511.145.730.311500155017.6512.246.831.411550160018.7513.347.932.51
	SINGLE PERSONS, DUAL INCOME MARRIEDOR MARRIED WITH MULTIPLE EMPLOYERS----MONTHLY PAYROLL PERIODIF WAGES ARE...BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$6006006402.796406803.236807203.677207604.117608004.558008404.998408805.438809205.879209606.3196010006.75100010507.24105011007.79110011508.85115012009.951200125011.050.231250130012.151.331300135013.252.431350140014.353.531400145015.454.631450150016.555.731500160018.207.381600170020.409.581700180022.6011.780.951800190024.8013.983.151900200027.0016.185.3520002
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$6006006402.796406803.236807203.677207604.117608004.558008404.998408805.438809205.879209606.3196010006.75100010407.19104010807.63108011208.07112011608.51116012008.95120012409.39124012809.831280132010.271320136010.711360140011.150.321400144011.590.761440148012.031.201480152012.471.641520156012.912.081560160013.352.521600164013.792.961640168014.233.401680172014.673.841720176015.114.281760180015.554.721800184016.315.481840188017.196.361880192018.077.241920196018.958.12
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE2860292039.8529.0210.132920298041.1730.3411.450.632980304042.4931.6612.771.953040310043.8132.9814.093.273100316045.1334.3015.414.593160322046.4535.6216.735.913220328047.7736.9418.057.233280334049.0938.2619.378.553340340050.4139.5820.699.873400346051.7340.9022.0111.190.363460352053.0542.2223.3312.511.683520358054.3743.5424.6513.833.003580364055.6944.8625.9715.154.323640370057.0146.1827.2916.475.643700380058.9348.1029.0518.237.403800390063.3352.5031.2520.439.60390040006
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$11400140014507.61145015008.16150015508.71155016009.26160016509.811650170010.361700175010.910.081750180011.460.631800185012.011.181850190012.561.731900195013.112.281950200013.662.832000205014.213.382050210014.763.932100215015.314.482150220016.055.222200225017.156.322250230018.257.422300235019.358.522350240020.459.622400245021.5510.722450250022.6511.821.002500260024.3013.472.652600270026.5015.674.852700280028.7017.877.052800290030.9020.079.252900300033.1022.2711.450.63
	IF WAGES ARE...BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$2828300.1330320.1532340.1834360.2036380.2238400.2440420.2642440.2944460.3146480.3348500.3550540.4154580.5058620.580.0962660.670.1866700.760.2770740.850.3574780.940.4478821.020.530.0382861.110.620.1286901.200.710.2190941.290.790.3094981.400.910.41981021.581.080.590.091021061.751.260.760.271061101.931.430.940.441101142.101.611.110.620.121141182.281.791.290.800.301181222.461.961.470.970.481221262.632.141.641.150.650.161261312.832.341.841.350.850.3613113
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$3232340.1834360.2036380.2238400.2440420.2642440.2944460.3146480.3348500.3550520.3752540.4054560.4256580.4458600.4660620.4862640.510.0164660.530.0366680.550.0668700.570.0870720.590.1072740.620.1274760.640.1476780.660.1778800.680.1980820.700.2182840.730.2384860.770.2886880.820.3288900.860.3690920.900.4192940.950.4594960.990.5096981.040.54981001.080.581001021.120.631021041.170.671041061.210.721061081.260.761081101.300.801101121.340.851121141.390.890.031141181.450.960.
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE1501542.251.750.880.391541582.331.840.970.481581622.421.931.060.560.071621662.512.011.150.650.161661702.602.101.240.740.251701742.692.191.320.830.331741782.842.351.410.920.421781823.022.521.501.000.510.011821863.192.701.591.090.600.101861903.372.871.681.180.690.191901953.573.071.831.340.840.351952003.793.292.051.561.060.570.072002054.013.512.271.781.280.790.292052104.233.732.492.001.501.010.510.022102154.453.952.712.221.721.230.730.242152204.674.172.932.441.941.450.95
	BUT ATLESS 012345678910LEASTTHAN OR MORE$1$5656580.2558600.2860620.3062640.3264660.3466680.3668700.3970720.4172740.4374760.4576780.4778800.5080820.520.0282840.540.0584860.560.0786880.580.0988900.610.1190920.630.1392940.650.1694960.670.18961000.710.211001040.770.281041080.860.371081120.950.451121161.040.540.051161211.140.640.151211261.250.750.261261311.360.860.371311361.470.970.481361411.581.080.590.091411461.691.190.700.201461511.801.300.810.311511561.911.410.920.421561612.021.521.030.530.041611662.131.631.
	CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2019  METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD  This method is based upon applying a given percentage to the wages (after deductions) which fall within a taxable            income class, adding to this product the accumulated tax for all lower tax brackets; and then subtracting a tax credit                    based upon the number of allowances claimed on the Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate (Form W-4 or DE 4).           This method also takes into consideration t
	CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2019   METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD (CONTINUED)  EXAMPLE C:  Monthly earnings of $4,100 married, and claiming five withholding allowances on form W-4 or DE 4.  Step 1 Earnings for the monthly payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW          INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($2,429.00); therefore, income tax should be withheld.  Earnings for monthly payroll period..........................           $4,100.00 Step 2 Not applicable - no estimated d
	 CALIFORNIA WITHHOLDING SCHEDULES FOR 2019   METHOD B - EXACT CALCULATION METHOD (CONTINUED)  EXAMPLE F: Annual earnings of $45,000, monthly pay period, married, and claiming four allowances on form W-4 or DE 4.  Step 1 Earnings for the annual payroll period are GREATER than the amount shown in "TABLE 1 - LOW           INCOME EXEMPTION TABLE" ($29,146); therefore, income tax should be withheld.  Annualized wages and/or monthly salary (12 x $3,750).......     .                                                
	UNMARRIEDHEAD OF'0' OR '1' HOUSEHOLD$280$280$561$561$561$561$1,121$1,121$607$607$1,214$1,214$1,214$1,214$2,429$2,429$3,643$3,643$7,287$7,287$7,287$7,287$14,573$14,573$14,573$14,573$29,146$29,146$56$56$112$112BI-SEMI-       SEMI-       WEEKLYWEEKLYMONTHLYMONTHLY QUARTERLYANNUALANNUALDAILY/MISC.1$19$38$42$83$250$500$1,000$42$38$77$83$167$500$1,000$2,000$83$58$115$125$250$750$1,500$3,000$124$77$154$167$333$1,000$2,000$4,000$155$96$192$208$417$1,250$2,500$5,000$196$115$231$250$500$1,500$3,000$6,000$237$135$269$
	UNMARRIEDHEAD OF '0' OR '1'HOUSEHOLD$85$85$169$169$169$169$339$339$183$183$367$367$367$367$734$734$1,100$1,100$2,201$2,201$2,201$2,201$4,401$4,401$4,401$4,401$8,802$8,802$17$17$34$34BI-SEMI-     SEMI-   WEEKLYWEEKLYMONTHLYMONTHLYQUARTERLYANNUALANNUALDAILY/MISC.0    $0.00    $0.00    $0.00    $0.00    $0.00    $0.00$0.00    $0.001$2.50$4.99$5.41$10.82$32.45$64.90$129.80$0.502$4.99$9.98$10.82$21.63$64.90$129.80$259.60$1.003$7.49$14.98$16.23$32.45$97.35$194.70$389.40$1.504$9.98$19.97$21.63$43.27$129.80$259.60$
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	E-FILE AND E-PAY MANDATE
	E-FILE AND E-PAY MANDATE
	California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to electronically 
	California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to electronically 
	submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development 
	Department (EDD). Depending on the number of employees, the requirement was phased-in as follows:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	January 1, 2017 - Employers with 10 or more employees are required to electronically submit employment 
	January 1, 2017 - Employers with 10 or more employees are required to electronically submit employment 
	tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	January 1, 2018 - All remaining employers are required to electronically file and pay.
	January 1, 2018 - All remaining employers are required to electronically file and pay.



	Benefits of Electronic Filing and Payment
	Benefits of Electronic Filing and Payment

	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	Increases data accuracy.
	Increases data accuracy.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Protects data through encryption.
	Protects data through encryption.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Reduces paper and mailing cost.
	Reduces paper and mailing cost.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Eliminates lost mail.
	Eliminates lost mail.



	Penalty
	Penalty
	Penalty
	Penalty
	Penalty
	Penalty


	Paper Submittal
	Paper Submittal
	Paper Submittal
	Paper Submittal


	Penalty
	Penalty
	Penalty



	Tax Return:
	Tax Return:
	Tax Return:
	Tax Return:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9)


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return
	Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return
	 (DE 3HW)


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Quarterly Contribution Return
	Quarterly Contribution Return
	 (DE 3D)




	$50 per return
	$50 per return
	$50 per return



	Wage Report:
	Wage Report:
	Wage Report:
	Wage Report:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation) 
	(DE 9C)


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings
	Employer of Household Worker(s) Quarterly Report of Wages and Withholdings
	 
	(DE 3BHW)




	$20 per wage item
	$20 per wage item
	$20 per wage item



	Payroll Tax Deposit:
	Payroll Tax Deposit:
	Payroll Tax Deposit:
	Payroll Tax Deposit:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	Payroll Tax Deposit
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88)




	15% of amount due
	15% of amount due
	15% of amount due






	Waiver
	Waiver

	Employers may request a waiver from the mandate due to lack of automation, severe economic hardship, 
	Employers may request a waiver from the mandate due to lack of automation, severe economic hardship, 
	current exemption from the federal government, or other good cause. The 
	E-file and E-pay Mandate Waiver 
	Request
	 (DE 1245W) can be downloaded from 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1245w.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1245w.pdf

	, ordered online 
	at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms

	, or obtained by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 
	Instructions and mailing address are on the waiver request form.

	For more information about the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties, visit 
	For more information about the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties, visit 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate
	www.edd.ca.gov/EfileMandate

	.

	Enroll in e-Services for Business to help you meet the requirements
	Enroll in e-Services for Business to help you meet the requirements
	 
	of the e-file and e-pay mandate.

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business

	Fast, easy, and secure!
	Fast, easy, and secure!


	Figure
	ONLINE SERVICES
	ONLINE SERVICES
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business

	e-Services for Business allows employers and employer representatives/payroll agents to manage employer payroll tax 
	e-Services for Business allows employers and employer representatives/payroll agents to manage employer payroll tax 
	accounts online at no cost. With a simple one-time enrollment, e-Services for Business can be used to electronically 
	submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payments 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	 
	Fast, easy, and secure!

	Features:
	Features:

	•
	•
	 Register for an employer payroll tax account number.

	•
	•
	 File, adjust, and print returns/reports.

	•
	•
	 Make payments.

	•
	•
	 View and update account information.

	•
	•
	 Close or re-open an employer payroll tax account. 

	•
	•
	 View notices and letters regarding registration, payments, returns, 
	 
	and more.

	•
	•
	 File a
	 Report of New Employee(s)
	 (DE 34)
	.
	*

	•
	•
	 File a
	 Report of Independent Contractor(s)
	 (DE 542)
	.
	*

	Benefits:
	Benefits:

	•
	•
	 Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate for employers.

	•
	•
	 No cost to enroll and use.

	•
	•
	 Provides confirmation when your return, report, or payment is received
	.

	•
	•
	 Saves time by saving basic account information for future transactions.

	•
	•
	 Reduces paper and mailing cost.

	*
	*
	The DE 34 and DE 542 may be filed from 5 a.m. to 12 midnight, Pacific Time, 7 days a week. All other services on 
	this page may be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.


	Figure
	Additional e-Services for Business Information
	Additional e-Services for Business Information
	Additional e-Services for Business Information
	Additional e-Services for Business Information
	Additional e-Services for Business Information
	Additional e-Services for Business Information
	Additional e-Services for Business Information


	View tutorials on how to:
	View tutorials on how to:
	View tutorials on how to:
	View tutorials on how to:


	View answers to frequently asked questions about:
	View answers to frequently asked questions about:
	View answers to frequently asked questions about:



	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	Enroll for a 
	Enroll for a 
	username
	 and password.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Register for an employer payroll tax account 
	Register for an employer payroll tax account 
	 
	number
	.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	File an employment tax return/wage report.
	File an employment tax return/wage report.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Make a payroll tax deposit.
	Make a payroll tax deposit.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	And more.
	And more.



	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	_taxes/
	 
	e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm



	 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	•

	Recovering
	Recovering
	 username and/or resetting password.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Handling lock-outs.
	Handling lock-outs.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Updating account information.
	Updating account information.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	Closing or reopening an employer payroll 
	Closing or reopening an employer payroll 
	tax 
	account.


	 
	 
	 
	•

	And more.
	And more.



	www
	www
	www
	.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	_taxes/
	 
	FAQ_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm








	ONLINE SERVICES (cont.)
	ONLINE SERVICES (cont.)
	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	 
	1-
	888-745-3886
	 
	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	e-Services for Business Tutorials and User Guide
	e-Services for Business Tutorials and User Guide

	T
	T
	he EDD has created tutorials so employers, agents, and representatives can become familiar with e-Services for 
	Business. These tutorials are available online at 
	 
	ww
	ww

	w.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business_tutorials.htm
	.

	The
	The
	 e-Services for Business User Guide
	 (DE 160) available at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de160.pdf
	 provides 
	detailed step-by-step instructions on how to complete common tasks within e-Services for Business such as, creating 
	a username and password, filing a tax return and wage report, making a payroll tax deposit, and more.

	Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
	Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

	For answers to frequently asked questions regarding our electronic services, such as filing returns 
	For answers to frequently asked questions regarding our electronic services, such as filing returns 
	and reports, 
	making payments, bulk transfer options, and more, visit 
	 
	http://edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/FAQ_-_e-Services_for_Business.htm
	. 

	For more information regarding the e-Services for Business programs, visit e-Services for Business at
	For more information regarding the e-Services for Business programs, visit e-Services for Business at

	www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
	www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
	, or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	REQUIRED FORMS
	REQUIRED FORMS
	Under California law, you are required to report specific information periodically or upon notification or request. 
	Under California law, you are required to report specific information periodically or upon notification or request. 
	Timely filing of the required forms will avoid penalty and interest charges. In addition, it will enable the Employment 
	Development Department (EDD) to pay Unemployment Insurance, State Disability Insurance, and Paid Family Leave 
	benefits. Timely filing also assists the California Department of Child Support Services and the Department of Justice 
	in the collection of delinquent child support obligations.

	The required reporting forms are:
	The required reporting forms are:

	•
	•
	 
	Report of New Employee(s)
	 (DE 34)

	•
	•
	 
	Report of Independent Contractor(s)
	 (DE 542)

	•
	•
	 
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88) 

	•
	•
	 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9)

	•
	•
	 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) 


	REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S) (DE 34)
	REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S) (DE 34)
	Overview
	Overview

	All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired employees to the New Employee 
	All employers are required by law to report all newly hired or rehired employees to the New Employee 
	Registry (NER) wit
	hin 20 days of their start-of-work date, which is the first day services were performed for 
	wages. 

	• 
	• 
	NEWLY HIRED
	 employees are those individuals who have not previously been included on your payroll.

	• 
	• 
	REHIRED
	 employees are those individuals who were previously included on your payroll, left your employment, 
	and were rehired after a separation of at least 60 consecutive days.

	If you acquire an ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s workers, these employees are considered 
	If you acquire an ongoing business and employ any of the former owner’s workers, these employees are considered 
	new hires, and you should report them to the EDD’s NER. The NER assists California’s Department of Child Support 
	Services and Department of Justice in locating parents to collect delinquent child support payments. Employers must 
	also report the actual start-of-work date (not the date hired) for each newly hired or rehired employee so that the 
	NER data can be cross-matched to the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit payment file. This will result in the early 
	detection and prevention of UI benefit overpayments.

	Filing Options for Reporting New or Rehired Employees:
	Filing Options for Reporting New or Rehired Employees:

	1. File online at 
	1. File online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. It’s fast, easy, and secure.

	2. Download the DE 34 form online at 
	2. Download the DE 34 form online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de34.pdf

	.

	3. Order DE 34 forms using the EDD online order form at 
	3. Order DE 34 forms using the EDD online order form at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms

	.

	When Due: You must report
	When Due: You must report
	 all newly hired or rehired employees 
	within 20 days
	 of the start-of-work date. If an 
	employee returns to work after a layoff or leave of absence and is required to complete a new IRS 
	Employee’s 
	Withholding Allowance Certificate
	 (Form W-4), you must report the employee as a new hire. If the returning employee 
	had been separated or removed from payroll records for at least 60 consecutive days, then you need to report the 
	employee as a rehire.

	The following information must be included when reporting new employees:
	The following information must be included when reporting new employees:

	Employer Information
	Employer Information
	Employer Information
	Employer Information
	Employer Information
	Employer Information
	Employer Information


	Employee Information
	Employee Information
	Employee Information



	•
	•
	•
	•
	 EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account number 
	(if applicable)

	•
	•
	 Federal employer identification number (FEIN)

	•
	•
	 Business name

	•
	•
	 Business address

	•
	•
	 Contact person and phone number


	•
	•
	•
	 First name, middle initial, and last name

	•
	•
	 Social Security number

	•
	•
	 Home address

	•
	•
	 Start-of-work date






	Refer to sample DE 34 form o
	Refer to sample DE 34 form o
	n
	 
	page 54
	page 54

	.

	Filing an Informal Report
	Filing an Informal Report

	If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the employee’s Form W-4 to 
	If you are not able to obtain a DE 34 by the due date, file an informal report or a copy of the employee’s Form W-4 to 
	avoid penalty and interest charges. Your informal report must include all the information listed in the table above.

	Mail or fax your new employee information to:
	Mail or fax your new employee information to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Document Management Group, MIC 96
	Document Management Group, MIC 96

	PO Box 997016
	PO Box 997016

	West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016
	West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016

	Fax: 1-916-319-4400
	Fax: 1-916-319-4400

	Employers who hire employees in more than one state may elect to electronically report all newly hired employees to 
	Employers who hire employees in more than one state may elect to electronically report all newly hired employees to 
	one state in which they have employees. Multistate employers who choose to file to one state must notify the Office 
	of Child Support Enforcement at 
	 
	www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/ocse
	www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/ocse

	-multistate-employer-registration-contacts
	. 

	You can file online using e-Services for Business at 
	You can file online using e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. It’s fast, easy, 
	and secure. 
	IF YOU FILE ELECTRONICALLY, DO NOT FILE A PAPER DE 34.
	 For additional information on new 
	employee electronic filing, refer to the 
	Electronic Filing Guide for the New Employee Registry Program
	 (DE 340) 
	available at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de340.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de340.pdf

	, the NER FAQs at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_new_employee_registry.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_new_employee_registry.htm

	, or contact the Taxpayer 
	Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.


	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

	DE 34 Rev. 10 (3-17) (INTERNET)    Page 1 of 2         MAIL TO:  Employment Development Department / PO Box 997016, MIC 96                            CU                                    West Sacramento, CA 95799-7016 or fax to 916-319-4400   REPORT OF NEW EMPLOYEE(S)NOTE:  Failure to provide all of the information below may result in             this form being rejected and/or a penalty being assessed.ADDRESSSTREETSTATEZIP CODECITYBUSINESS NAMECONTACT PERSONPHONE NUMBERSTREET NAMESTREET NUMBERUNIT/APTSOCI
	 
	 
	 
	 
	e-Services for Business at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	REPORT OF INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S) (DE 542)
	REPORT OF INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S) (DE 542)
	Overview
	Overview

	Any business or government entity that is required to file a federal Form 1099-MISC for personal services 
	Any business or government entity that is required to file a federal Form 1099-MISC for personal services 
	performed must also report specific information to the Employment Development Department (EDD) 
	regarding any independent contractor providing services to you or your business.
	 The Independent Contractor 
	Reporting (ICR) information assists California’s Department of Child Support Services and Department of Justice 
	in locating parents for the purpose of collecting delinquent child support payments. An independent contractor is an 
	individual who is not a common law or statutory employee of a business/government entity for California purposes 
	and who receives compensation for, or executes a contract for, services performed for a business/government entity, 
	either in or outside of California.

	Filing Options for Reporting Independent Contractors:
	Filing Options for Reporting Independent Contractors:

	1. File online at 
	1. File online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. It’s fast, easy, and secure.

	2. Download the DE 542 form online at 
	2. Download the DE 542 form online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542.pdf

	.

	3. Order DE 542 forms using the EDD online order form at 
	3. Order DE 542 forms using the EDD online order form at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms
	www.edd.ca.gov/forms

	.

	When Due:
	When Due:
	 Independent contractor information must be reported to the EDD within 20 days of EITHER making 
	payments totaling $600 or more, OR entering into a contract for $600 or more with an independent contractor in any 
	calendar year, whichever occurs first. This is in addition to your requirement to report the total annual payments to 
	the Internal Revenue Service on a Form 1099-MISC after the close of the calendar year.

	The following information must be included when reporting independent contractors:
	The following information must be included when reporting independent contractors:

	Business or Government Entity
	Business or Government Entity
	Business or Government Entity
	Business or Government Entity
	Business or Government Entity
	Business or Government Entity
	Business or Government Entity

	(Service-Recipient) Information
	(Service-Recipient) Information


	Independent Contractor
	Independent Contractor
	Independent Contractor

	(Service-Provider) Information
	(Service-Provider) Information



	•
	•
	•
	•
	 Federal employer identification number (FEIN)

	•
	•
	 EDD eight-digit employer payroll tax account 
	number (if applicable)

	•
	•
	 Social Security number (if no FEIN number or 
	eight-digit EDD employer payroll tax account 
	number)

	•
	•
	 Business or government entity name, address, 
	 
	and phone number

	•
	•
	 Contact person


	•
	•
	•
	 First name, middle initial, and last name (do not 
	use company name) 

	•
	•
	 Social Security number (do not use FEIN)

	•
	•
	 Address

	•
	•
	 Start date of contract

	•
	•
	 Amount of contract (including cents)

	•
	•
	 Contract expiration date or check box if the 
	contract is ongoing






	Refer to sample DE 542 on
	Refer to sample DE 542 on
	 
	page 56
	page 56

	.

	Filing an Informal Report
	Filing an Informal Report

	If you are not able to obtain a DE 542 by the due date, you may file an informal report to avoid penalty and interest 
	If you are not able to obtain a DE 542 by the due date, you may file an informal report to avoid penalty and interest 
	charges. Your informal report must include all the information listed in the table above.

	Mail or fax your independent contractor information to:
	Mail or fax your independent contractor information to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Document Management Group, MIC 96
	Document Management Group, MIC 96

	PO Box 997350
	PO Box 997350

	Sacramento, CA 95899-7350
	Sacramento, CA 95899-7350

	Fax: 1-916-319-4410
	Fax: 1-916-319-4410

	If you are reporting a large number of independent contractors, we encourage you to send the information 
	If you are reporting a large number of independent contractors, we encourage you to send the information 
	electronically. You can file online using e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. 
	IF 
	YOU FILE ELECTRONICALLY, DO NOT FILE A PAPER DE 542
	. For additional information on ICR electronic filing, 
	refer to the 
	Electronic Filing Guide for the Independent Contractor Reporting Program
	 (DE 542M) at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542m.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542m.pdf

	, the ICR FAQs at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542faq.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542faq.pdf

	, online 
	at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_independent_contractor_reporting.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/faq_-_california_independent_contractor_reporting.htm

	, or by contacting the 
	Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.


	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

	REPORT OFINDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR(S) 05420101 See detailed instructions on reverse side. Please type or print.    SERVICE-PROVIDER (INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR):ADDRESS DATECA EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBERSERVICE-RECIPIENT (BUSINESS OR GOVERNMENT ENTITY):SERVICE-RECIPIENT NAME / BUSINESS NAMESOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERPHONE NUMBERFEDERAL ID NUMBER             ZIP CODE CONTACT PERSONCITYSTATEFIRST NAMEMILAST NAMESTART  DATE  OF CONTRACTCONTRACT EXPIRATION DATECHECK HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOINGCHECK HERE IF CONTRACT IS ONGOINGC
	 
	 
	 
	 
	e-Services for Business at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88)
	Overview
	Overview

	The 
	The 
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88) is used to report and pay Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training 
	Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax withholding, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding to the EDD. 
	Employers can enroll and use e-Services for Business immediately to make deposits.

	Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 
	Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 

	•
	•
	 As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits. Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for
	 
	additional information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties.
	 

	•
	•
	 Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate. 

	•
	•
	 Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.

	•
	•
	 Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

	•
	•
	 Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business through 
	 
	a third-party access.

	•
	•
	 For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to
	 
	page 50
	page 50

	.

	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	When Due: 
	When Due: 

	•
	•
	 If you do not withhold PIT or if accumulated PIT withholdings are less than $350, taxes (UI, ETT, SDI, and 
	PIT) are due each quarter on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1.

	•
	•
	 
	If PIT withholdings are $350 or more, SDI and PIT may need to be deposited more often.
	 Refer to 
	page 59
	page 59

	 for the California Deposit Requirements table. 

	•
	•
	 Refer to
	 
	page 60
	page 60

	 for additional deposit information and due dates. 

	NOTE: A penalty of 15 percent plus interest 
	NOTE: A penalty of 15 percent plus interest 
	will be charged on late payroll tax payments.

	Your online e-Services for Business account has your UI, ETT, and SDI tax rates available.
	Your online e-Services for Business account has your UI, ETT, and SDI tax rates available.

	For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside of the U.S. or 
	For additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside of the U.S. or 
	Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.

	File online at 
	File online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	Figure
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	Withholding Deposits
	Withholding Deposits

	As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to
	As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for 
	information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties. Employers can enroll and use 
	e-Services for Business immediately to submit a 
	Payroll Tax Deposit 
	(DE 88) electronically. Although employer 
	contributions of Unemployment Insurance (UI) and Employment Training Tax (ETT) are due quarterly, withholdings 
	from employees’ wages for State Disability Insurance (SDI) and California Personal Income Tax (PIT) may need to be 
	deposited more often. The SDI and PIT deposit due dates are based on each employer’s federal deposit schedule/
	requirement and the amount of accumulated PIT the employer has withheld. Details are provided below and in the 
	table on
	 
	page 61
	page 61

	. For information on federal deposit schedules, download the IRS 
	Employer’s Tax Guide
	 (Publication 
	15, Circular E) from the IRS website at 
	www.irs.gov
	 or contact the IRS at 1-800-829-3676.

	A penalty of 15 percent plus interest will be charged on 
	A penalty of 15 percent plus interest will be charged on 
	late payroll tax payments.

	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	DEPOSIT
	 REQUIREMENTS

	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	CALIFORNIA 
	DEPOSIT 
	SCHEDULE


	REQUIREMENT DEFINITION
	REQUIREMENT DEFINITION
	REQUIREMENT DEFINITION



	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day


	You are required to make next-day SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal next-
	You are required to make next-day SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal next-
	You are required to make next-day SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal next-
	day deposits AND you accumulate more than $500* in California PIT during one or more payroll 
	periods. 
	If you accumulate $350 to $500* in PIT during one or more pay periods, refer to 
	Monthly requirements below.

	The next-day deposit schedule requires deposits to be made by the next business day. Business 
	The next-day deposit schedule requires deposits to be made by the next business day. Business 
	days do not include Saturdays, Sundays, or legal holidays.



	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly


	You are required to make semiweekly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	You are required to make semiweekly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	You are required to make semiweekly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	semiweekly deposits AND you accumulate more than $500* in California PIT during one or more 
	payroll periods. 
	If you accumulate $350 to $500* in PIT during one or more pay periods, refer 
	to monthly requirements below.

	The semiweekly deposit schedule requires deposits for paydays on Wednesday, Thursday, and 
	The semiweekly deposit schedule requires deposits for paydays on Wednesday, Thursday, and 
	Friday to be made by the following Wednesday. For paydays on Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or 
	Tuesday, deposits must be made by the following Friday.

	Semiweekly depositors always have three business days after the end of the semiweekly period to 
	Semiweekly depositors always have three business days after the end of the semiweekly period to 
	make a deposit. If any of the three business days after the end of the semiweekly period is a legal 
	holiday, you will have an additional business day to make your deposit.



	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly


	You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	annual, quarterly, or monthly deposits AND you accumulate $350 or more in California PIT during 
	one or more months of a quarter.

	Monthly deposits are due by the 15
	Monthly deposits are due by the 15
	th
	 day of the following month. If the 15
	th
	 is a Saturday, Sunday, 
	or legal holiday, the last timely date would be the next business day.

	You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	You are required to make monthly SDI and PIT deposits if you are required to make federal 
	semiweekly or next-day deposits and you accumulate $350 to $500* in California PIT during 
	one or more months of a quarter.



	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly


	Quarterly tax payments are due and delinquent on the same dates as the 
	Quarterly tax payments are due and delinquent on the same dates as the 
	Quarterly tax payments are due and delinquent on the same dates as the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return 
	and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C). Refer to the monthly deposit schedule if you are a quarterly 
	depositor but accumulate $350 or more in California PIT during one or more months of the quarter.

	Employer contributions for UI and ETT are due quarterly. However, they may be submitted more 
	Employer contributions for UI and ETT are due quarterly. However, they may be submitted more 
	often with any required SDI and PIT deposits.






	*California PIT deposit threshold may be adjusted annually.
	*California PIT deposit threshold may be adjusted annually.


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	Withholding Deposits
	Withholding Deposits

	California Deposit Requirements
	California Deposit Requirements
	California Deposit Requirements
	California Deposit Requirements
	California Deposit Requirements
	California Deposit Requirements
	California Deposit Requirements



	If Your Federal 
	If Your Federal 
	If Your Federal 
	If Your Federal 
	Deposit 
	Schedule/ 
	Requirement Is
	1


	And You Have 
	And You Have 
	And You Have 
	Accumulated 
	State PIT 
	Withholding Of


	If Pay Date Is
	If Pay Date Is
	If Pay Date Is


	PIT and SDI Deposit
	PIT and SDI Deposit
	PIT and SDI Deposit
	 
	Due By
	2


	California “Deposit 
	California “Deposit 
	California “Deposit 
	Schedule” to 
	indicate on 
	 
	the DE 88



	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019

	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019

	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019

	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly



	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Next business day
	Next business day
	Next business day


	Next-Day
	Next-Day
	Next-Day



	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	3

	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019

	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019

	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019

	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500
	$350 to $500


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly



	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500


	Wed., Thurs., or Fri.
	Wed., Thurs., or Fri.
	Wed., Thurs., or Fri.


	Following Wednesday
	Following Wednesday
	Following Wednesday
	7


	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly



	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500
	More than $500


	Sat., Sun., Mon.,
	Sat., Sun., Mon.,
	Sat., Sun., Mon.,
	 
	or Tues.


	Following Friday
	Following Friday
	Following Friday
	7


	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly
	Semiweekly



	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	3

	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019

	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019

	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019

	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly



	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	4,5
	 or 
	Annually
	6


	Less than $350
	Less than $350
	Less than $350


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019

	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019

	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019

	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020


	Quarterly
	Quarterly
	Quarterly



	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more
	$350 or more


	Any payday
	Any payday
	Any payday


	15
	15
	15
	th
	 of the following month


	Monthly
	Monthly
	Monthly






	1
	1
	 Electronic payment transactions for next-day deposits must be settled* in the state’s bank account on or before the third business day 
	following the payroll date. *Refer to
	 
	page 114
	page 114

	 for a definition of settlement date. 

	2
	2
	 If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day. For example, if a deposit is due on 
	Friday, but Friday is a holiday, the deposit due date is extended to the following Monday. 

	3
	3
	 If you have accumulated less than $350 of PIT and you choose to make an additional deposit before the quarterly due date, designate the 
	“DEPOSIT SCHEDULE” as QUARTERLY on your DE 88. 

	4
	4
	 If you are not required to follow one of the above federal deposit schedules/requirements, you are still required to make California payroll tax 
	deposits of accumulated SDI deductions and PIT withholding quarterly or more often based on the guidelines in this table. 

	5
	5
	 A deposit of employer UI and ETT taxes and any accumulated SDI and PIT withholdings not previously paid MUST BE DEPOSITED EACH 
	QUARTER by the due dates shown.

	6
	6
	 If your federal deposit schedule/requirement is annually, you are required to make California payroll tax deposits quarterly or monthly based 
	on the guidelines in this table.

	7
	7
	 The transition period of the semiweekly schedule allows employers to make a deposit in any of the three business days following the last pay 
	date. If any of the transition period days is a legal holiday, you are given an extra business day to make your deposit. 

	 Note:
	 Note:
	 As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. 


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	Withholding Deposits
	Withholding Deposits

	REMINDERS:
	REMINDERS:

	•
	•
	 Once you make a next-day deposit to the IRS, your federal deposit schedule automatically becomes 
	semiweekly for the remainder of that calendar year and all of the following calendar year.

	•
	•
	 Semiweekly depositors always have three business days after the end of the semiweekly period to make 
	a deposit. If any of the three weekdays after the end of a semiweekly period is a holiday, you will have one 
	additional business day to deposit.

	•
	•
	 To ensure your DE 88 credit card payment is timely, you must use the same due dates as shown on the 
	schedule on
	 
	page 61
	page 61

	.

	•
	•
	 As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax 
	deposits to the EDD. Electronic payment transactions for quarterly deposits must settle into the state’s bank account 
	on or before the business day following the last timely date. For the timely settlement dates, refer to
	 
	page 61
	page 61

	. 
	Additional electronic payment options are available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/File_and_Pay.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/File_and_Pay.htm

	. 


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	Due Dates for Quarterly Tax Deposits
	Due Dates for Quarterly Tax Deposits

	Using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)
	Using Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

	EFT transactions, regardless of the method of transmission (e-Services for Business, vendor, or Federal/State 
	EFT transactions, regardless of the method of transmission (e-Services for Business, vendor, or Federal/State 
	Employment Taxes program), for quarterly Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State 
	Disability Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding payments must settle in the state’s bank 
	account on or before the timely settlement date. Refer to the last column in the table below for specific settlement 
	dates.

	2019 Quarterly Payment Table
	2019 Quarterly Payment Table

	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period


	Taxes Due
	Taxes Due
	Taxes Due


	Last Timely Date 
	Last Timely Date 
	Last Timely Date 
	(initiate on or before)


	Timely Settlement 
	Timely Settlement 
	Timely Settlement 
	Date



	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March


	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019


	May 1, 2019
	May 1, 2019
	May 1, 2019



	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June


	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019


	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019


	August 1, 2019
	August 1, 2019
	August 1, 2019



	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September


	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019


	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019


	November 1, 2019
	November 1, 2019
	November 1, 2019



	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December


	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020


	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020


	February 1, 2020
	February 1, 2020
	February 1, 2020






	To ensure timely settlement of your electronic payments, please note:
	To ensure timely settlement of your electronic payments, please note:

	•
	•
	 EFT Automated Clearing House (ACH) 
	debit
	 transactions must be 
	completed
	 before 3 p.m., Pacific Time, 
	 
	on or before the last timely date to ensure a timely settlement date
	.

	•
	•
	 The EFT ACH credit transactions are processed based on individual bank requirements. Ask your bank what 
	day you should report your payment to ensure a timely settlement date
	.

	Using a 
	Using a 
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88) Coupon

	As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to
	As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for 
	additional information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties. Employers who have 
	an approved e-file and e-pay mandate waiver can mail your tax payments with a DE 88 to the EDD. 
	A penalty of 15 
	percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments.
	 The filing due dates and delinquency dates 
	for 2019 quarterly payroll tax deposits are:

	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period
	Reporting Period


	Filing Due Date
	Filing Due Date
	Filing Due Date


	Delinquent if Not Paid By
	Delinquent if Not Paid By
	Delinquent if Not Paid By



	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March


	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019



	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June


	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019


	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019



	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September


	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019


	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019



	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December


	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020


	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020






	Late Deposit, Penalty, and Interest
	Late Deposit, Penalty, and Interest

	When tax payments are remitted electronically, the settlement date is used to determine timeliness. When your tax 
	When tax payments are remitted electronically, the settlement date is used to determine timeliness. When your tax 
	payments are mailed to the EDD, the postmark date is used to determine timeliness. If the last timely filing date falls 
	on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the next business day is considered to be the last timely date. 
	A penalty of 
	15 percent plus interest will be charged on late payroll tax payments.
	 The interest rate is reestablished every six 
	months. Refer to the interest table online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/interest_rate.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/interest_rate.htm

	.

	NOTE: If you do not 
	NOTE: If you do not 
	make timely payments, you will receive a 
	Statement of Account
	 (DE 2176) that provides details 
	of the delinquent balance due. If the delinquency is not paid, a tax lien may be issued. If a tax lien is issued, it will be 
	recorded at the county recorder’s office. Tax lien information is a matter of public record after it is recorded.

	Penalty for Failure to Deposit Payroll Taxes
	Penalty for Failure to Deposit Payroll Taxes

	Employers are required to withhold payroll taxes and send them to the EDD. Any person or employer who fails to do 
	Employers are required to withhold payroll taxes and send them to the EDD. Any person or employer who fails to do 
	this, even by mistake, can be charged with a misdemeanor. If convicted, the person or employer can be fined up to 
	$1,000 or sentenced to jail for up to one year, or both, at the discretion of the court.


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	Correcting Previously Submitted 
	Correcting Previously Submitted 
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88)

	Deposits can be corrected online through e-Services for Business at 
	Deposits can be corrected online through e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
	 
	even if the deposit was made using another electronic payment method or a paper DE 88 coupon.

	 
	 
	The following tables clarify when to notify the EDD of adjustments and how to make them.

	NormalParagraphStyle
	Table
	TBody
	TR
	TD
	Correcting 
	Correcting 
	a 
	Payroll 
	Tax Deposit 
	(DE 88)


	Reason for Adjustment
	Reason for Adjustment
	Reason for Adjustment


	How to Make an Adjustment
	How to Make an Adjustment
	How to Make an Adjustment


	Form to Use
	Form to Use
	Form to Use



	Overpaid
	Overpaid
	Overpaid
	Overpaid


	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or 
	PIT on a DE 88 
	prior to 
	filing your 
	Quarterly 
	Contribution Return and 
	Report of Wages
	 (DE 9)
	.


	On the next DE 88 (for the 
	On the next DE 88 (for the 
	On the next DE 88 (for the 
	same 
	calendar quarter
	), reduce the 
	amount of taxes due by the 
	amount of the overpayment. Do 
	not show credits on the DE 88.


	DE 88 (DO NOT 
	DE 88 (DO NOT 
	DE 88 (DO NOT 
	use a 
	Quarterly 
	Contribution and 
	Wage Adjustment 
	Form
	 [DE 9ADJ])



	Overpaid
	Overpaid
	Overpaid
	Overpaid


	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
	on a DE 88 prior to filing 
	your DE 9, and you cannot 
	reduce the overpayment on 
	your next deposit within the 
	quarter.


	Claim refund on Line J when you 
	Claim refund on Line J when you 
	Claim refund on Line J when you 
	file your DE 9 for the quarter. Do 
	not apply overpayment to another 
	quarter.


	File DE 9 at the 
	File DE 9 at the 
	File DE 9 at the 
	end of the quarter. 
	(DO NOT use a 
	9ADJ.)



	Over-
	Over-
	Over-
	Over-
	withheld


	PIT and:
	PIT and:
	PIT and:

	•
	•
	 DE 9 was filed.

	•
	•
	 Form W-2 was issued 
	to the employee.

	•
	•
	 DE 9C was filed.


	DO NOT:
	DO NOT:
	DO NOT:

	•
	•
	 Refund PIT overwithholding 
	to the employee,

	•
	•
	 Change the California PIT 
	withholding amount shown on 
	the Form W-2, or 

	•
	•
	 File a claim for refund with 
	the EDD.

	The employee will receive a credit 
	The employee will receive a credit 
	for the PIT overwithholding when 
	filing a California State income 
	tax return with the Franchise Tax 
	Board (FTB).


	None
	None
	None



	Underpaid
	Underpaid
	Underpaid
	Underpaid


	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/or PIT 
	prior to filing your DE 9
	.


	Submit a DE 88 for the additional 
	Submit a DE 88 for the additional 
	Submit a DE 88 for the additional 
	amount due, including penalty and 
	interest. Indicate the payroll date 
	on the DE 88.


	DE 88 (DO NOT 
	DE 88 (DO NOT 
	DE 88 (DO NOT 
	use a DE 9ADJ.)



	Overpaid/
	Overpaid/
	Overpaid/
	Overpaid/
	Underpaid


	Provided incorrect UI, ETT, 
	Provided incorrect UI, ETT, 
	Provided incorrect UI, ETT, 
	SDI, and/or PIT information 
	on DE 9.


	File a DE 9ADJ with correct 
	File a DE 9ADJ with correct 
	File a DE 9ADJ with correct 
	information. 
	NOTE:
	 If taxes are 
	due, make a payment for tax 
	amount plus penalty and interest, 
	if any, with the DE 9ADJ.


	Complete the 
	Complete the 
	Complete the 
	DE 9ADJ, 
	Sections I, II, and 
	III, with the correct 
	information.



	Allocated the wrong amounts to specific 
	Allocated the wrong amounts to specific 
	Allocated the wrong amounts to specific 
	Allocated the wrong amounts to specific 
	funds on a DE 88.


	DO NOT ADJUST:
	DO NOT ADJUST:
	DO NOT ADJUST:
	 The EDD will 
	make the necessary adjustments 
	at the end of the quarter when 
	your DE 9 is filed.


	No form required.
	No form required.
	No form required.






	Additional information and samples of the 
	Additional information and samples of the 
	Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ) are 
	available on
	 
	page 68
	page 68

	 or online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adj.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adj.pdf

	.


	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	PAYROLL TAX DEPOSIT (DE 88) (cont.)
	Correcting Payroll Tax Deposits 
	Correcting Payroll Tax Deposits 
	(cont.)

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit payroll tax deposits to the EDD. 
	 
	Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for additional information on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance 
	penalties.

	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	 Failure to electronically submit a completed DE 88 with your payment may cause a misallocation of 
	funds which could result in penalties and interest.

	When 
	When 
	written permission
	 is obtained from an employee, you are authorized to adjust any over or underwithholding 
	of California PIT from the employee if the adjustment is made within the same calendar year and before the IRS 
	Form W-2 is issued. You should obtain a receipt from the employee whenever a credit adjustment or repayment of 
	overwithheld tax is made.

	Overwithheld SDI and/or California PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit 
	Overwithheld SDI and/or California PIT must be credited or refunded to your employee before you can take a credit 
	or receive a refund from the EDD. This overpayment can be adjusted in one of the following ways:

	•
	•
	 If you have issued an IRS Form W-2 to the employee, you cannot adjust any overwithholding of PIT reported. 
	The employee will receive credit for any overwithholding when he/she files a California state income tax return 
	with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB).

	•
	•
	 If you have issued the IRS Form W-2 showing the wrong amount, you must issue an IRS 
	Corrected Wage and 
	Tax Statement
	 (Form W-2C) to the employee. 
	DO NOT 
	send the state copy of the IRS Form W-2C to the EDD 
	or the FTB.

	NOTE
	NOTE
	:
	 A claim for credit or refund must be filed within three years of the delinquent date for the quarter being adjusted
	.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (DE 9)
	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (DE 9)
	Overview
	Overview

	Employers use the 
	Employers use the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9) to reconcile payroll tax 
	payments and 
	total subject wages reported for the quarter. 
	You must submit a DE 9 AND a 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and 
	Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) each quarter.

	2019 Due Dates for the 
	2019 Due Dates for the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9)

	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering


	Due Date
	Due Date
	Due Date


	Delinquent if Not Filed By
	Delinquent if Not Filed By
	Delinquent if Not Filed By



	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March


	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019



	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June


	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019


	July 31
	July 31
	July 31
	, 2019



	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September


	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019


	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019



	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December


	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020


	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020






	NOTE
	NOTE
	:
	 For reporting purposes, wages are taxable when paid, when constructively paid, or when an employee 
	receives remuneration other than cash. 

	You must file a DE 9 each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter.
	You must file a DE 9 each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter.
	 Penalty and interest will be 
	charged on late reports. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the 
	next business day.

	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	  
	As of January 1, 2018, employers must electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, 
	and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for additional information on the e-file and e-pay 
	mandate and related noncompliance penalities
	. 

	Quarter-End Payment Due:
	Quarter-End Payment Due:
	 If your DE 9 shows payroll taxes due, submit a 
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 (DE 88) payment and 
	include the correct payment quarter.

	 
	 

	Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 
	Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 

	•
	•
	 Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate, refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for additional information.

	•
	•
	 Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online.

	•
	•
	 Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

	•
	•
	 Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business through a 
	third-party access.

	•
	•
	 For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to
	 
	page 50
	page 50

	.

	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	 Your 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9) and 
	Quarterly Contribution Return 
	and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) 
	must be filed electronically together
	.






	For assistance completing your DE 9, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. 
	For assistance completing your DE 9, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. 

	or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.
	or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	•
	 California law requires employers to report all UI/SDI subject California wages paid and California PIT 
	withheld during the quarter.

	 •
	 •
	 A penalty of 15 percent plus interest will be 
	charged for underpayment of contributions and California 
	PIT withheld pursuant to section 1112(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).


	Figure
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.


	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (DE 9) (cont.)
	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (DE 9) (cont.)
	Correcting a Previously Filed DE 9
	Correcting a Previously Filed DE 9

	If you made an error on a 
	If you made an error on a 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9), you can make a correction
	 
	as follows:

	Online
	Online

	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 

	Log in to e-Services for Business at 
	Log in to e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	2. 
	2. 
	2. 

	Access the original DE 9 filed previously.
	Access the original DE 9 filed previously.


	3. 
	3. 
	3. 

	Select “Adjust Return.”
	Select “Adjust Return.”


	4. 
	4. 
	4. 

	Make the changes to the form and select “Submit” to send your request to the EDD.
	Make the changes to the form and select “Submit” to send your request to the EDD.



	Paper
	Paper

	Complete and mail the 
	Complete and mail the 
	Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ). Refer to
	 
	page 69
	page 69

	 for 
	additional information and a sample form.


	File and pay online using the EDD e-Services for Business at
	File and pay online using the EDD e-Services for Business at
	/e-Services_for_Business.
	www.edd.ca.gov

	Subscribe to no-fee EDD email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	For the latest news and helpful information,refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at.
	For the latest news and helpful information,refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at.
	 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	 


	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (CONTINUATION) (DE 9C)
	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (CONTINUATION) (DE 9C)
	Overview
	Overview

	Employers use the 
	Employers use the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) to report employee 
	wages subject to Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
	tax, and to report Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages and PIT withheld.

	2019 Due Dates for the
	2019 Due Dates for the
	 Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C)

	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering
	Report Covering


	Due Date
	Due Date
	Due Date


	Delinquent if Not Filed By
	Delinquent if Not Filed By
	Delinquent if Not Filed By



	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March
	January, February, March


	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019
	April 1, 2019


	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019
	April 30, 2019



	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June
	April, May, June


	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019
	July 1, 2019


	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019
	July 31, 2019



	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September
	July, August, September


	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019
	October 1, 2019


	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019
	October 31, 2019



	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December
	October, November, December


	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020
	January 1, 2020


	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020
	January 31, 2020






	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 For reporting purposes, wages are taxable when paid, when constructively paid, or when an employee 
	receives remuneration other than cash. If wages are still unpaid at the time the DE 9C is due, wages 
	due to an employee that were not paid within the time required by law should be reported by filing the 
	Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ) online through e-Services for Business with 
	the caption “Wages Legally Due but Unpaid” noted as the reason for adjustment. This will ensure that an 
	employee receives proper wage credit for the quarter when the wages should have been paid. However, 
	the employment taxes due on these wages should be paid when the wages are actually or constructively 
	paid for the employee. For additional information, refer to the e-Services for Business tutorial at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Tutorials.htm

	.

	You must electronically file a DE 9C each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter
	You must electronically file a DE 9C each quarter even if you paid no wages during the quarter
	. Penalty and 
	interest will be charged on late reports. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the due date 
	 
	is extended to the next business day. If you no longer have employees or you are no longer in business, refer to 
	page 73
	page 73

	 for filing instructions
	.

	 
	 

	Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 
	Electronic Filing with e-Services for Business: 

	•
	•
	 Fulfills the e-file and e-pay mandate, refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for additional information.

	•
	•
	 
	Fast, easy, and secure way to manage your payroll taxes online
	. 

	•
	•
	 Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 

	•
	•
	 Payroll agents can manage their clients’ payroll tax accounts by enrolling in e-Services for Business through a 
	third-party access.

	•
	•
	 For additional e-Services for Business features, refer to
	 
	page 50
	page 50

	.

	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
	Enroll in e-Services for Business today at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	IMPORTANT:
	 Your 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) and 
	Quarterly 
	Contribution Return and Report of Wages
	 (DE 9) 
	must be filed together electronically
	.






	For assistance completing your DE 9C, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. 
	For assistance completing your DE 9C, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. 
	 
	or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502 or you can also file online with e-Services for Business at 

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	Figure
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.
	e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.


	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (CONTINUATION) (DE 9C) (cont.)
	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION RETURN AND REPORT OF WAGES (CONTINUATION) (DE 9C) (cont.)
	NOTE:
	NOTE:

	•
	•
	 As an active employer, you must file a DE 9C even if you paid no wages during the quarter. If you have no 
	payroll during a quarter, you are still considered an employer and are required to file a DE 9C electronically.

	•
	•
	 Wages are reported when they are paid to the employee, not when the employee earns the wages. Because 
	UI and SDI benefits are based on the highest quarter of wages, it is important that wages are reported for 
	the correct quarter. If you have any questions on reporting your employees’ wages, contact the Taxpayer 
	Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 A wage item penalty of 
	$20 per employee
	 will be charged for late reporting or unreported employee wages.

	•
	•
	 As of January 1, 2018, employers are required to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, 
	and payroll tax deposits to the EDD. Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for additional information on the e-file and e-pay 
	mandate and related noncompliance penalties. 

	•
	•
	 If your reports are filed late or you do not make timely payments, you will receive a 
	Statement of Account
	 
	(DE 2176) that provides details of the delinquent balance due. If the delinquency is not paid, a tax lien may be 
	issued. If a tax lien is issued, it will be recorded at the county recorder office. Tax lien information is a matter of 
	public record after it is recorded.

	•
	•
	 Before submitting your DE 9C, make sure the following are correct: the quarter you are reporting, your 
	employer payroll tax account number, the names of your employees, and their Social Security numbers.

	Correcting a Previously Filed DE 9C
	Correcting a Previously Filed DE 9C

	The DE 9C can be corrected through 
	The DE 9C can be corrected through 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	 even if originally filed using 
	another electronic filing method or a paper form.

	Online
	Online

	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 

	Log in to e-Services for Business at 
	Log in to e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	2. 
	2. 
	2. 

	Access the previously filed DE 9C that needs to be corrected.
	Access the previously filed DE 9C that needs to be corrected.


	3. 
	3. 
	3. 

	Select “Adjust Return.”
	Select “Adjust Return.”


	4. 
	4. 
	4. 

	Make the changes to the form and select “Submit” to send your request to the EDD.
	Make the changes to the form and select “Submit” to send your request to the EDD.



	Paper
	Paper

	Complete and mail the 
	Complete and mail the 
	Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ). Refer to
	 
	page 68
	page 68

	 
	and
	 
	69
	69

	 
	for additional information and a sample form.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM (DE 9ADJ)
	QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION AND WAGE ADJUSTMENT FORM (DE 9ADJ)
	Overview
	Overview

	Employers use the 
	Employers use the 
	Quarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ) to make corrections to previously 
	filed reports. Corrections may also be made electronically through e-Services for Business available at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	Form
	Form
	Form
	Form
	Form
	Form
	Form


	Reason for 
	Reason for 
	Reason for 
	Adjustment


	How to Make an Adjustment
	How to Make an Adjustment
	How to Make an Adjustment



	Correcting previously 
	Correcting previously 
	Correcting previously 
	Correcting previously 
	filed 
	Quarterly 
	Contribution Return 
	and Report of Wages 
	(DE 9)


	Provided incorrect 
	Provided incorrect 
	Provided incorrect 
	UI, ETT, SDI, and/

	or PIT information.
	or PIT information.


	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and II with the correct 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and II with the correct 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and II with the correct 
	information. If DE 9C forms were filed incorrectly, also complete 
	Section III of the DE 9ADJ.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 If taxes are due, send a payment for the tax amount plus 
	penalty and interest, if any, with the DE 9ADJ.



	Correcting previously 
	Correcting previously 
	Correcting previously 
	Correcting previously 
	filed 
	Quarterly 
	Contribution Return 
	and Report of Wages 
	(Continuation)
	 (DE 9C)


	Incorrect employee 
	Incorrect employee 
	Incorrect employee 
	Social Security 
	number (SSN) or 
	name reported.


	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires two 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires two 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires two 
	entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, incorrect SSN, employee 
	name, and enter zeros in total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT 
	withheld fields. For the second entry, enter the corrected information. 
	For examples, refer to
	 
	page 2
	page 2

	 of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.



	Incorrect wages 
	Incorrect wages 
	Incorrect wages 
	Incorrect wages 
	and/or PIT 
	information 
	for employees 
	previously 
	reported.


	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with correct wages and/
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with correct wages and/
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with correct wages and/
	or PIT information for each employee by quarter. For examples, refer 
	to
	 
	page 2
	page 2

	 
	of the DE 9ADJ-I Instructions.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 If DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also 
	complete Section II.



	No SSN reported 
	No SSN reported 
	No SSN reported 
	No SSN reported 
	for employee.


	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III. Section III requires 
	two entries. For the first entry, enter the quarter, all zeros for the 
	SSN filed, employee name, and zeros in subject wages, PIT wages, 
	and PIT withheld fields. In the second entry, enter the corrected 
	information. For examples, refer to
	 
	page 2
	page 2

	 of the DE 9ADJ-I 
	Instructions.



	Employee(s) 
	Employee(s) 
	Employee(s) 
	Employee(s) 
	not previously 
	reported.


	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with unreported 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with unreported 
	File a DE 9ADJ. Complete Sections I and III with unreported 
	employee(s) SSN and full name, total subject wages, PIT wages, 
	and PIT withheld by quarter.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 If a DE 9 has been filed with incorrect information, also 
	complete Section II.






	Detailed DE 9ADJ instructions are provided on the
	Detailed DE 9ADJ instructions are provided on the
	 Instructions for Completing the Quarterly Contribution and 
	Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ-I) available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adji.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de9adji.pdf

	 or contact the 
	Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for additional assistance.

	A completed sample DE 9ADJ is shown on
	A completed sample DE 9ADJ is shown on
	 
	pages 69
	pages 69

	 
	and
	 
	70
	70

	.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

	Examples were created using 2018 rates.
	Examples were created using 2018 rates.
	Examples were created using 2018 rates.
	Refer to inside front cover for 2019 rates.


	DE9ADJ Rev.3 (7-13) (INTERNET)                                                         Page 1 of 2CUQUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION ANDWAGEADJUSTMENT FORMYou can file this adjustment form online through the Employment Development Department’s (EDD) e-Services for Business. Please visit our website at www.edd.ca.gov. See Instructions for Completing theQuarterly Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form (DE 9ADJ-I) for completing this form.SECTION I: (PLEASE PRINT)YEAR/QUARTERBUSINESS NAMEEMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO.ADDRESSCITY, 
	 
	 
	 
	 
	e-Services for Business at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	1st
	1st
	1st


	Jane Smith
	Jane Smith
	Jane Smith


	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY
	FOR ILLUSTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY

	Examples were created using 2018 rates.
	Examples were created using 2018 rates.
	Examples were created using 2018 rates.
	Refer to inside front cover for 2019 rates.


	DE 9AD Rev. 3 (7-13) (INTERNET) Page 2 of 2   TERLY NTRITION WE STMENT FORM      EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NO. BUSINESS NAME    SEION III TERLY WE WITOLN STMENTS Enter amonts tt sl ve een reporte ncnge, leave fl lan Correctng t Socl Secry Nmer or Name rees to entrs. See nstructions for ompleting the uarterly ntribution and age justment Form (DE 9AD-I), Sectn III, for aonal formatn an strctns. YEAR / UARTER SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER EMPLOYEE NAME (FIRST, MIDDLE INITIAL, LAST)  TOTAL SUBECT WAES  PIT WAES  PIT WITHHELD  
	 
	 
	 
	 
	e-Services for Business at

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099
	FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099
	Wage and Tax Statement 
	Wage and Tax Statement 
	(Form W-2)
	 
	As an employer, you are required to prepare a federal 
	Wage and Tax Statement
	 (Form W-2) for each of your 
	employees. For 2019, you are required to provide your employees with Form W-2 by January 31, 2020*. Prepare the 
	Form W-2 on the federal/state four-part paper form. To obtain these forms, go to 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	.

	If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the IRS 
	If you need information on Form W-2 reporting requirements, refer to the IRS 
	Employer’s Tax Guide
	 (Publication 15, 
	Circular E). For federal instructions on completing Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 2018 General Instructions 
	for Forms W-2 and W-3. To obtain these publications, access the IRS website at 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	 or call the IRS at 
	1-800-829-3676.

	In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages, PIT 
	In addition to the federal information required, you must include California Personal Income Tax (PIT) wages, PIT 
	withholding, and State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax withheld in the following Form W-2 boxes:

	FORM W-2
	FORM W-2
	FORM W-2
	FORM W-2
	FORM W-2
	FORM W-2


	Box
	Box
	Box
	Box


	Enter
	Enter
	Enter



	Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.)
	Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.)
	Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.)
	Box 16 (State wages, tips, etc.)


	California PIT wages
	California PIT wages
	California PIT wages



	Box 17 (State income tax)
	Box 17 (State income tax)
	Box 17 (State income tax)
	Box 17 (State income tax)


	California PIT withheld
	California PIT withheld
	California PIT withheld



	Box 19 (Local income tax)
	Box 19 (Local income tax)
	Box 19 (Local income tax)
	Box 19 (Local income tax)


	The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld 
	The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld 
	The abbreviation “CASDI” and SDI withheld 
	 
	(For additional information, refer to “NOTE” below.)






	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	If Box 19 has local taxes, use “Box 14-Other.” If no boxes are available, you are required to provide your 
	employees with a separate written statement containing:

	•
	•
	 Your business or entity name, address, federal employer identification number, and the Employment 
	Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll tax account number.

	•
	•
	 The employee’s name, address, state, and Social Security number.

	•
	•
	 The amount of SDI tax actually withheld and/or paid directly by you under the 
	state plan.

	•
	•
	 If the wages were not subject to SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero).

	•
	•
	 If you pay SDI taxes without withholding SDI from the employee’s wages, you should show the SDI taxes 
	as if withheld and increase the amount you report according to the formula as shown on 
	Information Sheet: 
	Social Security/Medicare/State Disability Insurance/Federal Income Taxes Paid by an Employer
	 (DE 231Q). 
	The DE 231Q is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231q.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer 
	Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 If you are covered under an authorized Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI), enter “VPDI” and the 
	VPDI amount actually withheld.

	Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 (Box 16, state wages) is the same as the 
	Generally, the amount reported as California PIT wages on Form W-2 (Box 16, state wages) is the same as the 
	federal wages (Box 1). However, the amounts may differ based on:

	•
	•
	 Federal and California differences in definition of:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	○

	Employee (refer to 
	Employee (refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment
	 [DE 231TE]).


	 
	 
	 
	○

	Taxable wages (refer to 
	Taxable wages (refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of Payments
	 [DE 231TP])
	.



	•
	•
	 The DE 231TE and DE 231TP are available online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	 
	or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
	Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	•
	•
	 Residency of the employee (refer to
	 
	page 16
	page 16

	).

	•
	•
	 If the employee performs services in more than one state.

	For additional information on federal and California differences, please contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
	For additional information on federal and California differences, please contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
	1-888-745-3886. If the employee performs services in more than one state, contact the other state(s) for guidance on 
	how to complete the Form W-2 for that state.

	If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 
	If you discover an error on a previously issued Form W-2, refer to the IRS publication 
	General Instructions for Forms 
	W-2C and W-3C
	 for guidance on completing an IRS 
	Corrected Wage and Tax Statement 
	(Form W-2C). To obtain 
	these forms, access the IRS website at 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	 or call 1-800-829-3676.

	*Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who furnish a false or fraudulent statement, are subject to a 
	*Employers failing to provide a Form W-2 to each employee, or who furnish a false or fraudulent statement, are subject to a 
	penalty 
	of fifty dollars ($50)
	 for each such failure as imposed pursuant to section 13052 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code 
	(CUIC). Employers may also be subject to an additional penalty for failure to file informational returns (Form W-2 or a 
	 
	Form 1099-MISC) to misclassified employees as provided pursuant to section 13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the penalty is 
	determined based upon the unreported remuneration for personal services multiplied by the maximum rate as provided pursuant 
	to section 17041 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Contact the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 for 
	assistance.


	FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099 (cont.)
	FEDERAL FORMS W-2 AND 1099 (cont.)
	Do not
	Do not
	 send a copy of Form W-2 or Form W-2C to the State of California (the EDD or the Franchise Tax Board [FTB]). 
	The Forms W-2 and W-2C are not filed with the state because you should already be reporting wage and withholding 
	information to the EDD on the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C). However, 
	you must continue to send Forms W-2 and W-2C to your employees and the Social Security Administration.

	Information Return
	Information Return
	 (Form 1099-MISC)

	Individuals, partnerships, corporations, or other organizations engaged in a trade or business in California may have 
	Individuals, partnerships, corporations, or other organizations engaged in a trade or business in California may have 
	a requirement to report independent contractor payments made in the course of their business. For 2019, you must 
	provide a statement to each independent contractor by January 31, 2020*, containing the information furnished to the 
	IRS and FTB. If you do not use the official IRS Form 1099-MISC to furnish the statement to recipients, refer to the 
	IRS Publication 1179 for specific rules for substitute statements.

	How to File
	How to File

	The FTB recommends that you file under the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing program. When you are approved 
	The FTB recommends that you file under the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing program. When you are approved 
	and use the IRS Combined Federal/State Filing program, you only have to file once. The IRS will forward your 
	California returns to the FTB. The following forms may be filed under this program: Forms 1099-DIV, 1099-G, 1099-
	INT, 1099-MISC, 1099-OID, 1099-PATR, 1099-R, and 5498. For information on the IRS Combined Federal/State 
	Filing program, call 1-866-455-7438.

	If you are not participating in the Combined Federal/State Filing program and file 250 or more information returns of 
	If you are not participating in the Combined Federal/State Filing program and file 250 or more information returns of 
	one type, you must file directly with the FTB electronically. If you file less than 250 returns electronically or on paper 
	with the IRS, you should use the same method to file with FTB.

	If you file paper information returns with the IRS, 
	If you file paper information returns with the IRS, 
	do not send a paper copy to the FTB
	. The IRS will forward the 
	information to the FTB. This applies to paper filing only. 

	Generally, the FTB’s reporting requirements are the same as the IRS reporting requirements. For specific differences, 
	Generally, the FTB’s reporting requirements are the same as the IRS reporting requirements. For specific differences, 
	go to 
	www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/infortrns/how_to_file.shtml
	www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/infortrns/how_to_file.shtml

	.

	Publications and Contact Information
	Publications and Contact Information

	To obtain Form 1099 reporting requirements and instructions, refer to the IRS Publication 1220 and the IRS General 
	To obtain Form 1099 reporting requirements and instructions, refer to the IRS Publication 1220 and the IRS General 
	Instructions for Forms 1099, 1098, 5498, and W-2G on the IRS website at 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	 or call 1-800-829-3676. For 
	information on completing each form, refer to the individual instructions available for each information return type.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 California PIT withheld from pension, annuity, and other deferred income should be reported on the IRS form 
	Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or Profit-Sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc. 
	(Form 1099-R). For instructions on completing Form 1099-R, refer to IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-R and 
	5498. To obtain instructions, access the IRS website at 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	 or call the IRS at 1-800-829-3676. 

	For more information, contact:
	For more information, contact:

	INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
	INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE

	1-866-455-7438
	1-866-455-7438

	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	 

	mccirp@irs.gov
	mccirp@irs.gov
	mccirp@irs.gov


	FRANCHISE TAX BOARD
	FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

	1-916-845-6304
	1-916-845-6304

	www.ftb.ca.gov
	www.ftb.ca.gov
	www.ftb.ca.gov


	irphelp@ftb.ca.gov
	irphelp@ftb.ca.gov
	irphelp@ftb.ca.gov


	*Failure to provide an 
	*Failure to provide an 
	Information Return
	 (Form 1099), if required, to each independent contractor may be subject to a penalty 
	as imposed pursuant to section 13052.5 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code or section 19175 of the Revenue and 
	Taxation Code (RTC). The amount of the penalty is determined based upon the unreported remuneration for personal services 
	multiplied by the maximum rate as provided pursuant to section 17041 of the RTC. Contact the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center 
	at 1-888-745-3886 for assistance.

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	As of January 1, 2018, all employers are required to notify all of their employees of the federal Earned 
	Income Tax Credit. Refer to
	 
	page 76
	page 76

	 for details.


	Changes to Your Business Status
	Changes to Your Business Status
	A change to your business status occurs when you:
	A change to your business status occurs when you:

	•
	•
	 Change your business name, address, or ownership. 
	•
	 Purchase a business with employees.

	•
	•
	 No longer have employees (business remains open). 
	•
	 Close your business.

	•
	•
	 Reopen your employer payroll tax account. 
	•
	 Selling your business.

	ACTION REQUIRED: 
	ACTION REQUIRED: 

	Notify the EDD of any change to your business status through e-Services for Business at 
	Notify the EDD of any change to your business status through e-Services for Business at 

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	BUSINESS NAME CHANGE
	Make changes to your business name, corporation name, personal name (e.g., marriage), or change in ownership of 
	Make changes to your business name, corporation name, personal name (e.g., marriage), or change in ownership of 
	the business online through e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	MAILING ADDRESS CHANGE
	Change
	Change
	 your mailing address online through e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	NO LONGER HAVE EMPLOYEES
	If you no longer have employees and will not be reporting wages in any future quarter, you must submit a final 
	If you no longer have employees and will not be reporting wages in any future quarter, you must submit a final 
	DE 88, DE 9, and DE 9C. You may close your employer payroll tax account using e-Services for Business at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. For more information, please visit the e-Services for Business FAQs 
	category “Register, Close, or Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account.”

	If you currently do not have employees but may have employees in future quarters, you are still required to file your 
	If you currently do not have employees but may have employees in future quarters, you are still required to file your 
	DE 9 and DE 9C stating you have no payroll to report, otherwise the EDD may presume you have employees and 
	assess your account.

	If you resume paying wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may 
	If you resume paying wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may 
	request to reopen employer payroll tax account at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	CLOSE YOUR BUSINESS
	If you close your business, 
	If you close your business, 
	you are required
	 to submit a final DE 88, DE 9, and DE 9C 
	within 10 days
	 of quitting 
	business, 
	regardless
	 of the normal due dates. You may close your employer payroll tax account using e-Services 
	for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. For more information, please visit the e-Services for 
	Business FAQs category “Register, Close, or Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account.”

	If you resume paying wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may 
	If you resume paying wages in excess of $100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may 
	request to reopen your employer payroll tax account at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	Reopen Your Employer Payroll Tax Account
	Reopen Your Employer Payroll Tax Account
	If your employer payroll tax account was previously closed, but you recently paid wages in excess of $100 in a 
	If your employer payroll tax account was previously closed, but you recently paid wages in excess of $100 in a 
	calendar quarter (or $750 for household employers), you may submit an online request to reopen your employer 
	payroll tax account at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	, or go to 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm

	 to complete and submit the appropriate DE 1 
	registration form.

	Steps to Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account Online
	Steps to Reopen an Employer Payroll Tax Account Online
	:

	1. 
	1. 
	1. 
	1. 

	Go to 
	Go to 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.


	2. 
	2. 
	2. 

	Select “Login.”
	Select “Login.”


	3. 
	3. 
	3. 

	Select the closed account number (in grey).
	Select the closed account number (in grey).


	4. 
	4. 
	4. 

	Select the “Reopen” tab at the top.
	Select the “Reopen” tab at the top.


	5. 
	5. 
	5. 

	Complete the online registration application.
	Complete the online registration application.



	Please allow three business days for processing, then log back into e-Services for Business to check the status of 
	Please allow three business days for processing, then log back into e-Services for Business to check the status of 
	your request.

	If you do not have a username/password, you must first complete the Employer Services Online enrollment process.
	If you do not have a username/password, you must first complete the Employer Services Online enrollment process.

	Note:
	Note:
	 If you are an agent, you must first add access to the employer payroll tax account.

	PURCHASE, SELL, TRANSFER, OR CHANGE OWNERSHIP
	Registered employers must report any change in business status; for example, any change in business name or 
	Registered employers must report any change in business status; for example, any change in business name or 
	legal entity, such as a change from partnership or limited liability company to corporation. Report changes through 
	e-Services for Business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	When there is a change in the ownership (add or remove partners/LLC members; change corporate name/officers) of 
	When there is a change in the ownership (add or remove partners/LLC members; change corporate name/officers) of 
	a business entity type, the entity normally keeps the same EDD employer payroll tax account number and continues 
	to make payroll tax deposits and file reports as though it was the same type of ownership for the entire year. The EDD 
	must be notified of any change in the ownership of a business entity so that the taxpayer information can be updated. 
	For additional information, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada,
	 
	call 1-916-464-3502.

	REMEMBER: 
	REMEMBER: 
	Report changes through e-Services for business at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	.

	Purchase a Business
	Purchase a Business

	If you purchase a business with employees (or a business that previously had employees), you may be held liable for 
	If you purchase a business with employees (or a business that previously had employees), you may be held liable for 
	the previous owner’s EDD liability if a 
	Certificate of Release of Buyer
	 (DE 2220) is not obtained. To request a DE 2220, 
	contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.

	Until a DE 2220 is issued, you (the buyer) must hold in escrow an amount sufficient to cover all amounts the seller 
	Until a DE 2220 is issued, you (the buyer) must hold in escrow an amount sufficient to cover all amounts the seller 
	owes to the EDD, up to the purchase price of the business. The DE 2220 is issued after the seller pays all amounts 
	owed to the EDD. Payment must be made by cash, cashier’s check, certified check, escrow check, or money order 
	payable to the Employment Development Department.

	For your protection, escrow funds should not be disbursed until the DE 2220 has been issued. For additional 
	For your protection, escrow funds should not be disbursed until the DE 2220 has been issued. For additional 
	information, the 
	Requirements for Obtaining Certificate of Release of Buyer (DE 2220) When a Business Is Sold
	 
	(DE 3409A) is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3409a.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de3409a.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
	Center at 1-888-745-3886. If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 
	If you employ any of the former owner’s workers immediately after the acquisition of the business, the wages 
	paid to these employees during the same calendar year are considered as having been paid by you. Therefore, 
	wages paid by the former owner in the current calendar year are applied to the taxable wage limits for 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) tax.


	WHAT IS A SUCCESSOR EMPLOYER?
	WHAT IS A SUCCESSOR EMPLOYER?
	A successor employer is an employer who has acquired all or part of another employer’s (predecessor’s) business 
	A successor employer is an employer who has acquired all or part of another employer’s (predecessor’s) business 
	and continues to operate the business without substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition. 
	The successor employer may receive all or part of the predecessor’s UI reserve account balance by applying 
	for a reserve account transfer. The transfer may result in an immediate reduction or increase of the successor’s 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax rate. The successor employer must register the acquired business with the EDD.

	For more information on reserve account transfers, refer to
	For more information on reserve account transfers, refer to
	 
	page 84
	page 84

	 or call 1-916-653-7795.

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	Acquiring all or part of the stock in a corporation does not constitute a new employing unit. The corporation 
	retains the same EDD employer payroll tax account number.

	IT IS AGAINST THE LAW TO CHANGE/PURCHASE A BUSINESS ENTITY SOLELYTO OBTAIN A LOWER UI RATE
	 

	Changing your business ownership solely for the purpose of obtaining an employer account with a lower UI 
	Changing your business ownership solely for the purpose of obtaining an employer account with a lower UI 
	contribution rate is not allowed.
	 Section 1052 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides 
	that a reserve account transfer will not apply to any acquisition, which is determined to have been made for the 
	purpose of obtaining a more favorable UI contribution rate. The EDD aggressively pursues businesses practicing UI 
	rate manipulation. To read more about UI rate manipulation, refer to
	 
	page 86
	page 86

	.

	ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
	Posting Requirements
	Posting Requirements

	Once you are registered with the EDD, you will receive a notice to post in your workplace that informs your 
	Once you are registered with the EDD, you will receive a notice to post in your workplace that informs your 
	employees of their rights under Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), and Paid Family Leave 
	(PFL). This notice must be posted in a prominent location that is easily seen by your employees. You will receive the 
	following notice if you are subject to: 

	•
	•
	 UI, DI, and PFL – 
	Notice to Employees
	 (DE 1857A).

	•
	•
	 UI only – 
	Notice to Employees - Unemployment Insurance Benefits
	 (DE 1857D).

	•
	•
	 DI and PFL only – 
	Notice to Employees
	 (DE 1858).

	Required Notices and Pamphlets
	Required Notices and Pamphlets

	Provide a copy of the following notices and pamphlets to each of your employees when appropriate: 
	Provide a copy of the following notices and pamphlets to each of your employees when appropriate: 

	•
	•
	 The following pamphlets explain your employees’ benefit rights:

	○
	○
	 For Your Benefit
	: 
	California’s Programs for the Unemployed
	 (DE 2320) – Provides information on UI, DI, 
	PFL, and Workforce Services benefits available to the employee and must be given when an employer 
	discharges, lays off, or places an employee on a leave of absence.

	○
	○
	 Disability Insurance Provisions
	 (DE 2515) – Provides information on the SDI program.

	○
	○
	 Paid Family Leave
	 (DE 2511) – Provides information on PFL benefits.

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	The publications listed above are available online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/required_notices_and_pamphlets.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/required_notices_and_pamphlets.htm

	. For additional information 
	on your posting requirements, access the California Tax Service Center website at 
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov

	. 
	Voluntary Plan Disability Insurance (VPDI) insurers have similar literature. VPDI employers must also 
	supply claim forms to their employees. For further information on VPDI, refer to
	 
	page 98
	page 98

	.

	•
	•
	 Notice required by the Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act (refer to
	 
	page 76
	page 76

	 for details).

	•
	•
	 Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship – Written notice must be given immediately to employees of 
	their discharge, layoff, leave of absence, or change in employment status, along with a DE 2320.

	ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS (cont.)
	The following sample meets the minimum requirements:
	The following sample meets the minimum requirements:

	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP
	NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE AS TO CHANGE IN RELATIONSHIP

	(Issued pursuant to provisions of section 1089 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code.)
	(Issued pursuant to provisions of section 1089 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code.)

	Name __________________________________________________
	Name __________________________________________________
	 
	SSN _____________________

	1.
	1.
	 
	You were/will be laid off/discharged on __________________,
	 
	20_______.

	(date)
	(date)

	2.
	2.
	 
	You were/will be on leave of absence starting __________________,
	 
	20_______.

	(date)
	(date)

	3.
	3.
	 
	On __________________, your employment status changed/will change as follows:

	(date)
	(date)

	________________________________________________
	________________________________________________

	(Name of Employer)
	(Name of Employer)

	________________________________________________
	________________________________________________

	(By)
	(By)






	You may wish to prepare the employee notice in duplicate and keep a copy for your files. Notices prepared by the 
	You may wish to prepare the employee notice in duplicate and keep a copy for your files. Notices prepared by the 
	employer 
	must
	 include the information shown on the Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship (above).

	•
	•
	 Notice of plant closure or mass layoff.

	ACTION REQUIRED:
	ACTION REQUIRED:
	 Post the DE 1857A and provide a DE 2320, DE 2511, and DE 2515 to each of 
	your employees. Provide the Notice to Employee as to Change in Relationship and/or Worker Adjustment 
	and Retraining Notification (WARN) as applicable.

	No written notice is required if it is a voluntary quit, promotion or demotion, change in work assignment or 
	No written notice is required if it is a voluntary quit, promotion or demotion, change in work assignment or 
	location (some changes in location require a WARN notice), or if work stopped due to a trade dispute.

	Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act
	Earned Income Tax Credit Information Act

	You may be eligible to receive the California Earned Income Tax Credit (California EITC) starting with the 2015 tax 
	You may be eligible to receive the California Earned Income Tax Credit (California EITC) starting with the 2015 tax 
	year. The California EITC is a refundable state income tax credit for low-income working individuals and families. 
	The California EITC is treated in the same manner as the federal EITC and generally will not be used to determine 
	eligibility for welfare benefits under California Law. To claim the California EITC, even if you do not owe California 
	taxes, you must file a California income tax return and complete and attach the 
	California Earned Income Tax 
	Credit
	 (FTB 3514) form. For information on the availability of the credit, eligibility requirements, and how to obtain 
	the necessary California forms and get help filing, contact the Franchise Tax Board at 1-800-852-5711 or visit their 
	website at 
	www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/faq/net/900.shtml
	www.ftb.ca.gov/individuals/faq/net/900.shtml

	. 

	Employers who are subject to, and required to provide, Unemployment Insurance to their employees must provide 
	Employers who are subject to, and required to provide, Unemployment Insurance to their employees must provide 
	EITC notification to the employee by either handing it directly to the employee or mailing it to the employee’s last 
	known address. Posting of this information on an employee bulletin board 
	will not
	 satisfy the notification requirement.

	The notification shall be provided within one week before or after, or at the same time, that the employer provides an 
	The notification shall be provided within one week before or after, or at the same time, that the employer provides an 
	annual wage summary, including, but not limited to, a Form W-2 or a Form 1099-Misc, to the employee. The notice 
	shall include instructions on how to obtain any notices available from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) for this 
	purpose, including, but not limited to, the IRS Notice 797 
	or
	 any successor notice or form, or any notice created by 
	you as long as it contains substantially the same language as the notice below.

	“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the earned income tax credit from 
	“Based on your annual earnings, you may be eligible to receive the earned income tax credit from 
	the federal government. The earned income tax credit is a refundable federal income tax credit for 
	low-income working individuals and families. The earned income tax credit has no effect on certain 
	welfare benefits. In most cases, earned income tax credit payments will not be used to determine 
	eligibility for Medicaid, supplemental security income, food stamps, low-income housing, or most 
	temporary assistance for needy families’ payments. Even if you do not owe federal taxes, you 
	must file a tax return to receive the earned income tax credit. Be sure to fill out the earned income 
	tax credit form in the federal income tax return booklet. For information regarding your eligibility to 
	receive the earned income tax credit, including information on how to obtain the IRS Notice 797, or 
	any other necessary forms and instructions, contact the Internal Revenue Service at 1-800-829-3676 
	or through its website at 
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov

	.”


	PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN)
	PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN)
	Federal and California Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) legislation requires covered employers 
	Federal and California Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification (WARN) legislation requires covered employers 
	to provide 60 days advance notice of plant closings and mass layoffs. Advance notice provides employees and their 
	families some transition time to adjust to the prospective loss of employment, to seek and obtain alternative jobs, 
	and, if necessary, to acquire skill training or retraining that will allow these employees to successfully compete in the 
	job market.

	For the complete notification requirements of the California WARN legislation, carefully review the Labor Code 
	For the complete notification requirements of the California WARN legislation, carefully review the Labor Code 
	provisions on the Department of Industrial Relations website at 
	www.dir.ca.gov/lawsandregs.html
	www.dir.ca.gov/lawsandregs.html

	 (select 
	“California Labor Code,” part 4, chapter 4, sections 1400-1408).

	The table below provides the general provisions of the federal and California WARN legislation.
	The table below provides the general provisions of the federal and California WARN legislation.

	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject


	Federal
	Federal
	Federal


	California
	California
	California

	(Assembly Bill 2957 [2002], Koretz)
	(Assembly Bill 2957 [2002], Koretz)



	Covered 
	Covered 
	Covered 
	Covered 
	Employers


	Applicable only to employers with 100 or 
	Applicable only to employers with 100 or 
	Applicable only to employers with 100 or 
	more full-time employees who must have 
	been employed for at least six months of the 
	12 months preceding the date of required 
	notice in order to be counted.

	(29 United States Code [USC] 2101 and 20 
	(29 United States Code [USC] 2101 and 20 
	Code Federal Regulations [CFR] 639.3)


	Applicable to a “covered establishment” with 
	Applicable to a “covered establishment” with 
	Applicable to a “covered establishment” with 
	75 or more full- or part-time employees. As 
	under the federal WARN Act, employees must 
	have been employed for at least six months of 
	the 12 months preceding the date of required 
	notice in order to be counted.

	(California Labor Code, section 1400[a] and [h])
	(California Labor Code, section 1400[a] and [h])



	Plant 
	Plant 
	Plant 
	Plant 
	Closings 
	or Layoffs 
	Requiring 
	Notice


	Plant closings involving 50 or more employees 
	Plant closings involving 50 or more employees 
	Plant closings involving 50 or more employees 
	during a 30-day period. Layoffs within a 30-day 
	period involving 50 to 499 full-time employees 
	constituting at least 33 percent of the full-time 
	workforce at a single site of employment. 
	Layoffs of 500 or more employees are covered 
	regardless of percentage of workforce.

	(29 USC, et seq., 2101 and 20 CFR 639.3)
	(29 USC, et seq., 2101 and 20 CFR 639.3)


	Plant closure affecting any amount of 
	Plant closure affecting any amount of 
	Plant closure affecting any amount of 
	employees. Layoff of 50 or more employees 
	within a 30-day period regardless of percent 
	of workforce. Relocation of at least 100 miles 
	affecting any amount of employees.

	[California Labor Code section 1400 (d)-(f)]
	[California Labor Code section 1400 (d)-(f)]



	Legal 
	Legal 
	Legal 
	Legal 
	Jurisdiction


	Enforcement of WARN requirements through 
	Enforcement of WARN requirements through 
	Enforcement of WARN requirements through 
	U.S. District Courts. The court, in its discretion, 
	may allow the prevailing party a reasonable 
	attorney’s fee as part of the costs.

	(29 USC 2101, et seq.)
	(29 USC 2101, et seq.)


	Suit may be brought in “any court of competent 
	Suit may be brought in “any court of competent 
	Suit may be brought in “any court of competent 
	jurisdiction.” The court may award reasonable 
	attorney’s fees as part of costs to any prevailing 
	plaintiff. The California WARN law is in the 
	Labor Code, and the authority to investigate 
	through the examination of books and records 
	is delegated to the Labor Commissioner.

	(California Labor Code, sections 1404 and 1406)
	(California Labor Code, sections 1404 and 1406)



	Employer 
	Employer 
	Employer 
	Employer 
	Liability


	An employer who violates the WARN provisions 
	An employer who violates the WARN provisions 
	An employer who violates the WARN provisions 
	is liable to each employee for an amount equal 
	to back pay and benefits for the period of the 
	violation, up to 60 days, but no more than 
	one-half the number of days the employee was 
	employed by the employer.

	(29 USC; 2104[a])
	(29 USC; 2104[a])


	A possible civil penalty of $500 a day for each 
	A possible civil penalty of $500 a day for each 
	A possible civil penalty of $500 a day for each 
	day of violation. Employees may receive 
	back pay to be paid at employee’s final rate 
	or three-year average rate of compensation, 
	whichever is higher. In addition, employer is 
	liable for cost of any medical expenses incurred 
	by employees that would have been covered 
	under an employee benefit plan. The employer 
	is liable for a period of violation up to 60 days 
	or one-half the number of days the employee 
	was employed whichever period is smaller.

	(California Labor Code, section 1403)
	(California Labor Code, section 1403)



	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject


	Federal
	Federal
	Federal


	California
	California
	California
	 
	(Assembly Bill 2957 [2002], Koretz)



	Notice 
	Notice 
	Notice 
	Notice 
	Requirements


	An employer must provide written notice 60 
	An employer must provide written notice 60 
	An employer must provide written notice 60 
	days prior to a plant closing or mass layoff to all 
	of the following:

	•
	•
	 Employees or their representative.

	•
	•
	 Employment Development Department

	Statewide Services Unit, MIC 50
	Statewide Services Unit, MIC 50

	WARN Act Coordinator, 
	WARN Act Coordinator, 

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	•
	•
	 The chief elected official of local government 
	within which such closing or layoff is to occur.

	(29 USC, 2102; 20 CFR 639.5 and 639.6)
	(29 USC, 2102; 20 CFR 639.5 and 639.6)


	An employer must give notice 60 days prior to 
	An employer must give notice 60 days prior to 
	An employer must give notice 60 days prior to 
	a plant closing, layoff, or relocation. In addition 
	to the notifications required under the federal 
	WARN Act, notice must also be given to both of 
	the following: 

	•
	•
	 The Local Workforce Development Board.

	•
	•
	 The chief elected official of each city 
	and county government within which the 
	termination, relocation, or mass layoff 
	occurs.

	(California Labor Code, section 1401)
	(California Labor Code, section 1401)



	Exceptions 
	Exceptions 
	Exceptions 
	Exceptions 
	and 
	Exemptions


	Regular federal, state, local, and federally 
	Regular federal, state, local, and federally 
	Regular federal, state, local, and federally 
	recognized Indian tribal governments are not 
	covered. (29 USC, 2102; 20 CFR 639.3)

	The following situations are exempt from 
	The following situations are exempt from 
	notice: 

	•
	•
	 There is an offer to transfer employee 
	to a different site within a reasonable 
	commuting distance. (29 USC, 2101[b][2]; 
	20 CFR 639.5)

	•
	•
	 The closure is due to unforeseeable 
	business circumstances or a natural 
	disaster. (29 USC, 2103; 20 CFR 639.9)

	•
	•
	 The closing or layoff constitutes a strike 
	or constitutes a lockout not intended to 
	evade the requirement of this chapter.
	 
	(29 USC, 2103[2])


	California WARN law does not apply when the 
	California WARN law does not apply when the 
	California WARN law does not apply when the 
	closing or layoff is the result of the completion 
	of a particular project or undertaking of an 
	employer subject to Wage Orders 11, 12, or 16, 
	regulating the Broadcast industry, regulating 
	the Motion Picture Industry, or Construction, 
	Drilling, Logging, and Mining Industries, and the 
	employees were hired with the understanding 
	that their employment was limited to the duration 
	of that project or undertaking. 
	 
	(California Labor Code, section 1400[g])

	The notice requirements do not apply to 
	The notice requirements do not apply to 
	employees involved in seasonal employment 
	where the employees were hired with the 
	understanding that their employment was 
	seasonal and temporary.

	(California Labor Code, section 1400[g][2])
	(California Labor Code, section 1400[g][2])

	Notice is not required if a mass layoff, 
	Notice is not required if a mass layoff, 
	relocation, or plant closure is necessitated by a 
	physical calamity or act of war.

	(California Labor Code, section 1401[c])
	(California Labor Code, section 1401[c])

	Notice of a relocation or termination is not 
	Notice of a relocation or termination is not 
	required where, under multiple and specific 
	conditions, the employer submits documents to 
	DIR, and DIR determines that the employer was 
	actively seeking capital or business, and a WARN 
	notice would have precluded the employer from 
	obtaining the capital or business. (California 
	Labor Code, section 1402.5). This exception does 
	not apply to notice of a mass layoff as defined in 
	California Labor Code section 1400(d). (California 
	Labor Code, section 1402.5[d])






	The EDD has established local Rapid Response Teams to assist employers and workers during a mass layoff or plant 
	The EDD has established local Rapid Response Teams to assist employers and workers during a mass layoff or plant 
	closure. These teams, facilitated through the America’s Job Center of California
	SM
	 system, are a cooperative effort 
	between the Local Workforce Development Area (Local Area) and the EDD. These teams disseminate information on 
	the adult and dislocated worker services available under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act and through the 
	EDD Workforce Services and UI programs. If the dislocation is the result of foreign competition or foreign relocation, 
	the dislocated worker may be eligible for assistance, income support, job search assistance/relocation, and/or training 
	under the Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program. For information on TAA, refer to
	 
	page 100
	page 100

	. To find out more 
	about or request Rapid Response services, contact your nearest Local Area. The Local Area contact information is 
	available on the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/local_area_listing_by_county.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/local_area_listing_by_county.htm

	.

	For more information about California’s WARN requirements or services, visit the EDD website at 
	For more information about California’s WARN requirements or services, visit the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/layoff_services_warn.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/layoff_services_warn.htm

	.

	For additional information on the federal WARN Act, access the U.S. Department of Labor website at
	For additional information on the federal WARN Act, access the U.S. Department of Labor website at

	www.doleta.gov/layoff/warn.cfm
	www.doleta.gov/layoff/warn.cfm
	www.doleta.gov/layoff/warn.cfm

	.


	PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN) (cont.)
	PLANT CLOSURE OR MASS LAYOFF (WARN) (cont.)

	U.S. GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR JOB LISTING REQUIREMENTS
	U.S. GOVERNMENT CONTRACTOR JOB LISTING REQUIREMENTS
	Employers with U.S. Government contracts or subcontracts who meet the criteria listed in the table below are 
	Employers with U.S. Government contracts or subcontracts who meet the criteria listed in the table below are 
	required to list job openings with the state employment service system or with the National Labor Exchange website 
	at 
	https://usnlx.com
	. In California, employers must list job openings with the EDD CalJOBS
	SM
	 at 
	 
	www.caljobs.ca.gov
	www.caljobs.ca.gov

	. Furthermore, employers are required to take affirmative action to employ and advance in 
	employment, qualified disabled veterans, other protected veterans, Armed Forces service medal veterans, and 
	recently separated veterans. They must also file an annual VETS-4212 Federal Contract Reporting with the U.S. 
	Department of Labor to disclose the total number of all current employees in each job category and at each hiring 
	location. For more information, access the U.S. Department of Labor website at 
	www.dol.gov/vets/vets4212.htm
	www.dol.gov/vets/vets4212.htm

	.

	The table below provides the general provisions of the Federal Contractor Reporting requirements.
	The table below provides the general provisions of the Federal Contractor Reporting requirements.

	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject
	Subject


	Subject Prior to December 1, 2003
	Subject Prior to December 1, 2003
	Subject Prior to December 1, 2003


	On or After December 1, 2003
	On or After December 1, 2003
	On or After December 1, 2003



	Job 
	Job 
	Job 
	Job 

	Listings
	Listings


	Employers with a federal government contract 
	Employers with a federal government contract 
	Employers with a federal government contract 
	of $25,000 or more, entered into prior to 
	December 1, 2003, and not modified on or after 
	December 1, 2003, if more than $100,000, 
	must list applicable job openings with the state 
	National Labor Exchange website. In California, 
	employers must list applicable jobs with the 
	EDD CalJOBS
	SM
	.

	(41 CFR 60-250.40)
	(41 CFR 60-250.40)


	Government contractors with 50 or more 
	Government contractors with 50 or more 
	Government contractors with 50 or more 
	employees and a federal government contract of

	$100,000 or more, must list applicable job 
	$100,000 or more, must list applicable job 
	openings with the state employment service 
	system or with the National Labor Exchange 
	website. In California, employers must list 
	applicable jobs with the EDD CalJOBS
	SM 
	in any 
	format acceptable to the state Employment 
	Service Delivery System.

	(41 CFR 60-300.40 and 451 CFR 60-300.5)
	(41 CFR 60-300.40 and 451 CFR 60-300.5)



	VETS-4212 
	VETS-4212 
	VETS-4212 
	VETS-4212 
	Federal 
	Contract 
	Reporting


	Employers with a federal government contract 
	Employers with a federal government contract 
	Employers with a federal government contract 
	of $25,000 or more, entered into prior to 
	December 1, 2003, and not modified on or after 
	December 1, 2003, if more than $100,000, must 
	file a VETS-4212 Federal Contract Reporting.

	(38 United States Code, sections 4211 and 4212)
	(38 United States Code, sections 4211 and 4212)


	Employers with 50 or more employees and a 
	Employers with 50 or more employees and a 
	Employers with 50 or more employees and a 
	federal government contract of $100,000 or 
	 
	more entered into or modified on or after 
	December 1, 2003, must file a VETS-4212 
	Federal Contract Reporting.

	(38 United States Code, sections 4211 and 4212)
	(38 United States Code, sections 4211 and 4212)



	Affirmative 
	Affirmative 
	Affirmative 
	Affirmative 

	Action 
	Action 

	Program
	Program


	Employers with a federal government contract 
	Employers with a federal government contract 
	Employers with a federal government contract 
	of $50,000 or more, entered into prior to 
	December 1, 2003, and not modified on or after 
	December 1, 2003, if more than $100,000 and 
	have 50 or more employees, must prepare, 
	implement, and maintain a written Affirmative 
	Action Plan (AAP) for each of its establishments.

	(41 CFR 60-250.40)
	(41 CFR 60-250.40)


	Government contractors with 50 or more 
	Government contractors with 50 or more 
	Government contractors with 50 or more 
	employees and a federal government contract 
	of $100,000 or more, must prepare, implement, 
	and maintain a written AAP for each of its 
	establishments. 

	(41 CFR 60-300.40)
	(41 CFR 60-300.40)







	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	RECORDKEEPING
	RECORDKEEPING
	Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a subject 
	Employers are required to keep payroll records for at least four years. If you believe that you are not a subject 
	employer or that your employees are exempt, state law requires that you maintain records of payments made to 
	people who provide services to your business for at least eight years in case of an employment tax audit. Your 
	records must provide a true and accurate account of all workers (employed, no longer employed, on a leave of 
	absence, and independent contractors) and all payments made. Records must include the following information for 
	each worker: 

	•
	•
	 Worker’s:

	○ Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).
	○ Full name (first name, middle initial, and last name).

	○ Social Security number.
	○ Social Security number.

	•
	•
	 Date hired, rehired, or returned to work after a temporary layoff.

	•
	•
	 Last date services were performed.

	•
	•
	 Place of work.

	•
	•
	 Monies paid:

	○ Dates and amounts of payment.
	○ Dates and amounts of payment.

	○ Pay period covered.
	○ Pay period covered.

	•
	•
	 Cash or cash value of in-kind wages (such as meals, lodging, bonuses, gifts, and prizes) showing the nature 
	of the payment, the period that the services were performed, and the type of special payment made.

	•
	•
	 The amounts withheld from employee wages. (
	NOTE:
	 You may be required to make withholding deposits. 
	Refer to “Withholding Deposits” on
	 
	page 58
	page 58

	.)

	•
	•
	 Disbursement records showing payments to workers.

	•
	•
	 Other information necessary to determine payments to workers.

	If you have any questions on the records you must keep, please refer to the 
	If you have any questions on the records you must keep, please refer to the 
	Information Sheet: Employment Tax Audit 
	Process
	 (DE 231TA). The DE 231TA form is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ta.pdf

	 or by 
	contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	EMPLOYERS’ BILL OF RIGHTS
	EMPLOYERS’ BILL OF RIGHTS
	COMMITMENT
	The EDD is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the State of California in an equitable and impartial manner. 
	The EDD is committed to applying the payroll tax laws of the State of California in an equitable and impartial manner. 
	Toward that goal, we have developed the following information to inform you of your rights during the employment 
	taxation process.

	EMPLOYER RIGHTS
	As an employer, you have the right to:
	As an employer, you have the right to:

	•
	•
	 Courteous and timely service from EDD employees.

	•
	•
	 Expect that information maintained by the EDD be kept confidential and not published or made available for 
	public inspection. However, in certain instances, the law requires that this information be shared with other 
	governmental agencies. When those instances occur, the EDD closely follows the law to protect your rights to 
	confidentiality.

	•
	•
	 Call upon the EDD for accurate information and assistance and to have all your questions answered.

	•
	•
	 Receive a clear and accurate account statement if the EDD believes you owe taxes.

	•
	•
	 Request a filing extension for up to 60 days. The law provides that the EDD may grant a filing extension where 
	“good cause” is shown for a delay. (Refer to
	 
	page 112
	page 112

	 for the definition of “good cause.”)

	•
	•
	 Request a waiver of penalty by showing “good cause” for filing a report or making a payment late.

	•
	•
	 An impartial audit and a full explanation of our findings if your business is selected for an audit.

	•
	•
	 Discuss the issue(s) with an EDD representative, supervisor, office manager, and the Taxpayer Advocate 
	Office if you disagree with an action taken by the EDD. 

	•
	•
	 Appeal certain actions to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

	The 
	The 
	Employers’ Bill of Rights
	 (DE 195) brochure has been developed to inform you of your rights during the 
	employment taxation process. The DE 195 is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf

	 or by 
	contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE
	The EDD Tax Branch established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible for 
	The EDD Tax Branch established the Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate (OTRA), which is responsible for 
	providing a clear and consistent focus on protecting the rights of the taxpayer. Incorporated within OTRA are the 
	Taxpayer Advocate Office and the Settlements Office.

	Taxpayer Advocate Office
	Taxpayer Advocate Office

	The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the payroll tax 
	The Taxpayer Advocate Office is responsible for protecting the rights of taxpayers during all phases of the payroll tax 
	administration, assessment, and collection process, while also protecting the interests of the state.

	If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, 
	If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax problem with an EDD representative, supervisor, 
	and
	 office manager, you 
	may contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office for assistance. This office will review the issues and facts of your case to 
	ensure that your rights have been protected and work to facilitate a resolution.

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93
	Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Toll-free Phone: 1-866-594-4177
	Toll-free Phone: 1-866-594-4177

	Phone: 1-916-654-8957
	Phone: 1-916-654-8957

	Fax: 1-916-654-6969
	Fax: 1-916-654-6969


	OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE (cont.)
	OFFICE OF THE TAXPAYER RIGHTS ADVOCATE (cont.)
	Settlements Office
	Settlements Office

	The Settlements Program provides employers and the state an opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged litigation 
	The Settlements Program provides employers and the state an opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged litigation 
	associated with resolving disputed payroll tax issues (e.g., petitions for reassessment, appeals, or denial of refund claims).

	When reviewing a settlement offer, the EDD considers the risks and costs for the state associated with litigating the 
	When reviewing a settlement offer, the EDD considers the risks and costs for the state associated with litigating the 
	issues, balanced against the benefit of reaching a settlement agreement. Final tax liabilities, cases still in process, 
	cases involving fraud or criminal violations, and issues solely involving fairness or financial hardship are generally 
	not eligible. Depending on the reduction of tax and penalties, settlement agreements are subject to approval by an 
	Administrative Law Judge, the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board, and/or the Attorney General’s office. 

	If you have questions, please contact the Settlements Office at 1-916-653-9130. The 
	If you have questions, please contact the Settlements Office at 1-916-653-9130. The 
	Information Sheet: Settlements 
	Program
	 (DE 231SP) is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sp.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231sp.pdf

	 or by contacting the 
	Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	Settlement offers must be in writing and be submitted to:
	Settlement offers must be in writing and be submitted to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Settlements Office, MIC 93
	Settlements Office, MIC 93

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-916-653-9130
	Phone: 1-916-653-9130

	Fax: 1-916-449-2161
	Fax: 1-916-449-2161

	Electronically: 
	Electronically: 
	TAXTSDSG@edd.ca.gov
	TAXTSDSG@edd.ca.gov


	PROTECTING YOUR PRIVACY
	The EDD recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right without exception. The EDD values and 
	The EDD recognizes that your privacy is a personal and fundamental right without exception. The EDD values and 
	 
	will protect your privacy and place strict controls on the gathering and use of personally identifiable data. Your personal 
	information is not disclosed, made available, or otherwise used for purposes other than those specified at or before the 
	time of collection, except with your consent or as authorized by law or regulation.

	Payroll tax and benefit information collected and maintained by the EDD is confidential. As an employer, you have the 
	Payroll tax and benefit information collected and maintained by the EDD is confidential. As an employer, you have the 
	right to obtain access to and inspect your records. You may also authorize your agent or representative to access your 
	records through a written authorization or 
	Power of Attorney Declaration
	 (DE 48). The DE 48 is available online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de48.pdf

	 or by contacting the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, contact the Tax Information Security Office at 
	If you have further questions regarding your privacy rights, contact the Tax Information Security Office at 
	 
	1-916-654-5981.

	OFFERS IN COMPROMISE (OIC)
	An Offer in Compromise (OIC) enables a qualified applicant to reduce an employment tax liability to less than full 
	An Offer in Compromise (OIC) enables a qualified applicant to reduce an employment tax liability to less than full 
	value. To qualify for an OIC, all of the following are required:

	•
	•
	 The liability must be final and undisputed.

	•
	•
	 The employer’s account must be inactive and out-of-business or the applicant must no longer have a 
	controlling interest or any association with the business that incurred the liability.

	•
	•
	 The applicant must meet all financial requirements.

	•
	•
	 Full financial disclosure is required before an offer can be analyzed.

	If you have questions, contact the OIC office at 1-916-464-2739. The 
	If you have questions, contact the OIC office at 1-916-464-2739. The 
	Information Sheet: Offers in Compromise
	 
	(DE 631C) is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de631c.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de631c.pdf

	.


	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE – TAXES
	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE – TAXES
	The Unemployment Insurance (UI) program provides financial assistance to individuals who are temporarily out of 
	The Unemployment Insurance (UI) program provides financial assistance to individuals who are temporarily out of 
	work through no fault of their own. In California, this program is financed entirely by employers.

	METHODS OF PAYING FOR UI BENEFITS
	Experience Rating Method
	Experience Rating Method

	The experience rating method is used by the majority of employers. For a detailed explanation of the experience 
	The experience rating method is used by the majority of employers. For a detailed explanation of the experience 
	rating method, refer to “How Your UI Tax Rate Is Determined” below, obtain 
	Information Sheet: California System 
	of Experience Rating
	 (DE 231Z) online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231z.pdf

	, or contact the Taxpayer 
	Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	Reimbursable Method
	Reimbursable Method

	Public employers and nonprofit organizations described under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code have 
	Public employers and nonprofit organizations described under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code have 
	the option of becoming “reimbursable” employers. Employers electing the 
	reimbursable method
	 (also known as the 
	cost-of-benefits method) are required to reimburse the UI Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid to their 
	former employees and charged to their account. Reimbursable employers are billed quarterly and payment is due 
	within 30 days of the statement date.

	For public employers, financing under the reimbursable method 
	For public employers, financing under the reimbursable method 
	must
	 remain in effect for 
	two
	 complete calendar 
	years. For nonprofit employers, financing under the reimbursable method 
	must
	 remain in effect for 
	five
	 complete 
	calendar years. Employers who terminate their reimbursable coverage remain liable for UI benefits paid to their 
	former employees covered under this program for a period of 
	three
	 calendar years.

	For a detailed explanation of the reimbursable method, refer to 
	For a detailed explanation of the reimbursable method, refer to 
	Information Sheet: Nonprofit and/or Public Entities
	 
	(DE 231NP) and 
	Potential Liability for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Benefits When Electing the Reimbursable 
	Method of Financing Under the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) 
	(DE 1378F). To obtain these 
	publications, access the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_publications.htm

	 or contact 
	the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. For additional information, contact:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19
	Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-916-653-5846
	Phone: 1-916-653-5846

	School Employees Fund (SEF) Method
	School Employees Fund (SEF) Method

	Public school districts (kindergarten through 12
	Public school districts (kindergarten through 12
	th
	 grade), community colleges, and charter schools may elect to 
	participate in the School Employees Fund (SEF), which is a special UI reimbursable financing method available for 
	school districts. Additional information is available online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/school_employees_fund.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/school_employees_fund.htm

	 or by contacting the SEF Unit at 1-916-653-5380.

	HOW YOUR UI TAX RATE IS DETERMINED
	Tax Rate Schedules
	Tax Rate Schedules

	The UI tax rates are based on one of seven tax rate schedules (AA through F) established by law. The first step in the 
	The UI tax rates are based on one of seven tax rate schedules (AA through F) established by law. The first step in the 
	annual process of establishing the UI tax rates for the calendar year is for the EDD to determine which of the seven 
	tax rate schedules will be in effect. Employers are assigned their UI tax rates from the same rate schedule.

	New Employer – UI Tax Rate and Reserve Account
	New Employer – UI Tax Rate and Reserve Account

	A UI reserve account is a nonmonetary account that is set up when an employer registers with the EDD. New 
	A UI reserve account is a nonmonetary account that is set up when an employer registers with the EDD. New 
	employers are assigned a 3.4 percent (.034) UI contribution rate for a period of two to three years. This will depend 
	on when the employer meets the criteria under section 982(b) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). 
	After that, an employer’s UI contribution rate is determined by his/her experience rating and the condition of the UI 
	Fund.


	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	NOTICE OF TAX RATES
	NOTICE OF TAX RATES
	Each December, the EDD mails the 
	Each December, the EDD mails the 
	Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI Reserve Account
	 (DE 2088) 
	that shows your Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training Tax (ETT), and State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
	tax rates and taxable wage limits for the upcoming year. If you have address changes and/or agent updates, please 
	contact the EDD immediately in order to receive your notice timely.

	Any item on the DE 2088 may be protested except the ETT and SDI tax rates, which are specifically set by law. The 
	Any item on the DE 2088 may be protested except the ETT and SDI tax rates, which are specifically set by law. The 
	protest must be filed in writing and postmarked within 60 days of the issued date shown on the notice. Please include 
	your employer payroll tax account number, the specific item you wish to protest, and the reason you are protesting. 
	You may request up to a 60-day extension. The extension request must be in writing, show good cause, and be 
	postmarked before the protest deadline.

	For further information, please refer to the 
	For further information, please refer to the 
	Explanation of the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI 
	Reserve Account (DE 2088) for the Period of January 1, 2019, to December 31, 2019
	 (DE 2088C) included with the 
	DE 2088 or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. The DE 2088C is available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2088c.pdf

	.

	FEDERAL UNEMPLOYMENT TAX ACT (FUTA) CERTIFICATION
	The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) uses the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) certification process to verify 
	The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) uses the Federal Unemployment Tax Act (FUTA) certification process to verify 
	that the total taxable wages claimed on the 
	Employer’s Annual Federal Unemployment (FUTA) Tax Return
	 (Form 
	940) or the federal
	 Household Employment Taxes
	 (Form 1040, Schedule H) was actually paid to the state. Under 
	 
	this “dual” system, you are subject to both the state and federal payroll tax requirements.

	You are required to file reports and pay UI taxes with the EDD. You are also required to file a Form 940 with IRS to 
	You are required to file reports and pay UI taxes with the EDD. You are also required to file a Form 940 with IRS to 
	report total taxable UI wages and pay any federal Unemployment Tax due. Generally, you can take a federal credit 
	against your FUTA tax for the UI taxes you paid to California. You may request a FUTA Recertification online at 
	https://askedd.edd.ca.gov
	https://askedd.edd.ca.gov

	 and follow the prompts under Payroll Tax.

	On an annual basis, the IRS and the EDD compare amounts reported on your IRS Form 940 to the Total Subject 
	On an annual basis, the IRS and the EDD compare amounts reported on your IRS Form 940 to the Total Subject 
	Wages (Line C) and UI Taxable Wages (Line D2) reported on your EDD 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report 
	of Wages 
	(DE 9). When an “out-of-balance” condition exists, reconciliation must be made or an assessment may 
	be issued by either the IRS or the EDD. A common reason for an “out-of-balance” is a change of entity or federal 
	employer identification number (FEIN) that has not been updated with the EDD. You can update your FEIN and make 
	changes to your account online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
	. For more information, contact the 
	EDD FUTA Certification Unit at 1-916-654-8545.

	RESERVE ACCOUNT TRANSFERS
	When an employer acquires all or part of an ongoing business and continues to operate the business without 
	When an employer acquires all or part of an ongoing business and continues to operate the business without 
	substantial reduction of personnel resulting from the acquisition, the employer may request the previous owner’s UI 
	reserve account balance be transferred to the new ownership by completing an 
	Application for Transfer of Reserve 
	Account
	 (DE 4453). This form can also be filed electronically by accessing the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. If the EDD approves the transfer, the UI tax rate will be redetermined 
	and may result in an immediate reduction or increase in the UI tax rate. For further information regarding reserve 
	account transfers, call 1-916-653-7795.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:

	•
	•
	 When a UI reserve account transfer has been approved, the employer requesting the transfer will receive a 
	revised DE 2088 stating the UI tax rate.

	•
	•
	 Employers who receive a reserve account transfer accept responsibility for the UI benefit charges for the 
	previous owner’s former employees. This may increase your UI tax rate in future years.

	•
	•
	 A reserve account transfer cannot be reversed once it has been completed.

	•
	•
	 There are time limits to qualify for a reserve account transfer. Apply for a reserve account transfer immediately 
	after purchasing an ongoing business.

	WAGES IN ANOTHER STATE
	Section 930.1 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides that a California employer who pays 
	Section 930.1 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides that a California employer who pays 
	wages to an employee for employment subject to the unemployment insurance laws of another state (and reports to 
	that state), can use such wages in computing the UI taxable wage limit in the same calendar year if the individual is 
	subsequently transferred to California. Such wages may not be used to arrive at the taxable wage limit for disability 
	insurance purposes.


	INTERSTATE RECIPROCAL COVERAGE ELECTIONS FOR MULTISTATE WORKERS
	INTERSTATE RECIPROCAL COVERAGE ELECTIONS FOR MULTISTATE WORKERS
	When an individual performs services in two or more states and the services are not localized in any one state, under 
	When an individual performs services in two or more states and the services are not localized in any one state, under 
	the provisions of California Unemployment Insurance Code (sections 602 and 603), the employer may request to 
	report the individual’s services to one state.

	Upon approval for Unemployment and Disability Insurance purposes, the employer may report to any state in which 
	Upon approval for Unemployment and Disability Insurance purposes, the employer may report to any state in which 
	(a) services are performed, (b) the employee has residence, or (c) the employer maintains a place of business.

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	Special reporting may be required for California Personal Income Tax withholding purposes.

	For additional information, the 
	For additional information, the 
	Information Sheet: Multistate Employment
	 (DE 231D) is available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231d.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231d.pdf

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	TIPS FOR REDUCING YOUR UI TAX RATE
	UI tax works like any other insurance premium. An employer may pay a lower rate when former employees make 
	UI tax works like any other insurance premium. An employer may pay a lower rate when former employees make 
	fewer claims on the employer’s payroll tax account. The following steps may help reduce your UI tax rate:

	•
	•
	 Maintain a stable workforce; it could save you UI taxes. High employee turnover increases the potential for 
	benefits to be charged to your reserve account.

	•
	•
	 Submit your 
	Payroll Tax Deposit,
	 DE 88, within the required time limits to ensure your UI contributions are 
	included in calculating your UI tax rate for the following year.

	•
	•
	 Respond timely to the 
	Benefit Audit
	 (DE 1296B and DE 1296NER). It may lead to the reversal of related 
	charges to your reserve or reimbursable account. For additional information, refer to “Benefit Audits to 
	Determine Fraud” on
	 
	page 93
	page 93

	.

	•
	•
	 Respond timely to the 
	Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed
	 (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) if you 
	believe that a former employee does not meet the UI eligibility criteria. A timely response to a DE 1101CZ or 
	DE 1101ER may reduce charges to your reserve account. For added convenience, employers and third-party 
	administrators can elect to electronically receive and respond to the DE 1101CZ through the State Information 
	Data Exchange System (SIDES). Learn more at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES
	www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES

	.

	•
	•
	 Respond timely to the 
	Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim
	 (DE 1545) if you believe 
	the wages used to establish a claim are incorrect, the employee is still working, or if you believe a former 
	employee does not meet the UI eligibility criteria. A timely response to a DE 1545 may reduce charges to your 
	reserve account. 

	•
	•
	 Conduct and document an exit interview to help you to understand why the employee is leaving. This may 
	result in changes to your policies or procedures that will assist you in retaining your employees. Written 
	documentation of the exit interview may be important in supporting your protest. 

	•
	•
	 Permit leaves of absence because they may help keep fully trained personnel.

	•
	•
	 Keep good personnel records to justify any action(s) taken. Give written warnings prior to discharging an 
	employee and keep a copy of these warnings and other supporting information.

	•
	•
	 Protest UI benefit claims for former employees who you believe are not eligible for benefits (e.g., employee 
	voluntarily quit or was discharged for misconduct, etc.). Answer UI claim notices promptly, accurately, and in detail.

	•
	•
	 Rehire former employees who are currently receiving UI benefits that may be charged against your
	 
	reserve account.

	•
	•
	 Report refusals of work to the EDD.

	•
	•
	 Provide clear, specific answers to phone interview questions from EDD personnel.

	•
	•
	 Review your 
	Statement of Charges to Reserve Account
	 (DE 428T) and report inaccuracies within the protest 
	time limits.

	•
	•
	 Bring witnesses with firsthand knowledge of pertinent facts when attending an appeal hearing.

	For additional information on the UI program or assistance in reducing UI costs, the booklet 
	For additional information on the UI program or assistance in reducing UI costs, the booklet 
	Managing Unemployment 
	Insurance Costs
	 (DE 4527) is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4527.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de4527.pdf

	.


	Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
	Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
	_tax_seminars/.
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll


	FRAUD PREVENTION DETECTION AND REPORTING
	FRAUD PREVENTION DETECTION AND REPORTING
	The EDD recognizes your concerns about imposter fraud and the threat of identity theft. Imposter fraud and identity 
	The EDD recognizes your concerns about imposter fraud and the threat of identity theft. Imposter fraud and identity 
	theft occurs when someone steals your employees’ employment and/or personal information and uses that information 
	for personal gain. We actively investigate cases of imposter fraud and are committed to taking the steps necessary to 
	protect the integrity of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) Fund. To assist in these efforts, you may receive a 
	Request 
	for Additional Information
	 (DE 1326ER) asking you to validate information provided to us by an individual when we 
	suspect a UI claim may have potential identity or imposter issues. Completing and returning the DE 1326ER with 
	the requested information will assist us in resolving these issues promptly. Information about our fraud detection and 
	prevention activities is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/responding_to_ui_claim_notices.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/responding_to_ui_claim_notices.htm

	. 

	We also encourage you to take all necessary steps to protect your employees’ Social Security numbers (SSN) and 
	We also encourage you to take all necessary steps to protect your employees’ Social Security numbers (SSN) and 
	other identifying information. A key way to protect yourself and your employees is by properly disposing of your old 
	payroll records. California law requires you to properly destroy (e.g., shred, erase, etc.) the personal information on 
	all records under your control. Your employees may sue you for civil damages if you fail to protect their confidential 
	information. For more information on California privacy legislation and protecting yourself and your employees from 
	identity theft, visit the Office of Privacy Protection website at 
	http://oag.ca.gov/privacy
	http://oag.ca.gov/privacy

	. 

	To minimize potential fraud and protect your UI reserve account, we urge you to carefully review each EDD statement 
	To minimize potential fraud and protect your UI reserve account, we urge you to carefully review each EDD statement 
	and/or notice and respond as directed in a timely manner to any items for which you have questions. If you suspect 
	your payroll or personnel data has been compromised, please report the incident immediately to our Fraud Hotline at 
	1-800-229-6297 or submit the fraud reporting form online from the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_prevention.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/fraud_prevention.htm

	.

	Additionally, the Social Security Administration (SSA) offers employers and authorized agents a service for verifying 
	Additionally, the Social Security Administration (SSA) offers employers and authorized agents a service for verifying 
	employees’ SSNs. For information on how to access the SSA’s SSN verification service, access the SSA website at 
	www.ssa.gov/employer/ssnv.htm
	www.ssa.gov/employer/ssnv.htm

	 or contact your local SSA office.

	To learn about steps that you can take to fight imposter fraud, protect your employees, and control your UI costs, 
	To learn about steps that you can take to fight imposter fraud, protect your employees, and control your UI costs, 
	 
	the brochure 
	How You Can Prevent Unemployment Insurance Imposter Fraud
	 (DE 2360ER) is available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2360er.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2360er.pdf

	. 

	UI RATE MANIPULATION
	There are several types of schemes businesses use to unlawfully lower their UI contribution rates. These UI rate 
	There are several types of schemes businesses use to unlawfully lower their UI contribution rates. These UI rate 
	manipulation schemes typically involve a business with a high UI tax rate obtaining a lower UI rate through the 
	creation of a new corporate entity or through the purchase of a shell business with a low UI rate. The practice of UI 
	rate manipulation threatens the stability of California’s UI Fund and creates an unfair advantage for those businesses 
	that use these schemes to lower their rates.

	In 2005, California implemented a law to prevent UI rate manipulation; it requires employers who are illegally 
	In 2005, California implemented a law to prevent UI rate manipulation; it requires employers who are illegally 
	lowering their UI rates to pay at the highest rate provided by law plus an additional 2 percent. The law also provides 
	for the greater of a $5,000 penalty or 10 percent of underreported contributions, penalty, or interest for anyone 
	knowingly advising another person or business to violate California’s UI rate and reporting laws. 

	This law also made changes regarding the transfer of UI reserve account balances and specified that whenever a 
	This law also made changes regarding the transfer of UI reserve account balances and specified that whenever a 
	business transferred all or part of its business or payroll to another employer, the reserve account attributable to the 
	transferred business will also be transferred if they are under common ownership, management, or control. It also 
	provides that the transfer will be denied if the acquisition was for the purpose of obtaining a lower UI rate.

	For more information about UI rate manipulation, access the EDD website at 
	For more information about UI rate manipulation, access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/suta_dumping.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/suta_dumping.htm

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.
	 
	If outside the U.S. or Canada, call 1-916-464-3502.


	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) FUNDING
	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) FUNDING
	The California UI program is funded through payroll taxes paid by employers. These taxes are placed in the UI 
	The California UI program is funded through payroll taxes paid by employers. These taxes are placed in the UI 
	Fund and benefits are paid to qualified claimants from this fund. The individual tax reserve account established for 
	each employer has no monetary value. The reserve account is an accounting tool used to keep track of credits and 
	charges made against the employer’s account to determine his/her annual UI tax rate. For additional information, 
	please refer to “Unemployment Insurance Taxes” on
	 
	page 83
	page 83

	.

	BENEFIT AMOUNT
	The maximum amount of UI benefits payable to a claimant during a regular benefit year is 26 times the claimant’s 
	The maximum amount of UI benefits payable to a claimant during a regular benefit year is 26 times the claimant’s 
	weekly benefit amount or one-half of the total base period earnings, whichever is less. The benefit year is a 52-week 
	period starting on the effective date of a new UI claim. The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three 
	months each. When a base period begins and which calendar quarters are used depends on the date the claim 
	begins and whether the claim is for UI or for Disability Insurance (DI).

	For UI, there are two types of base periods that may be used to establish a claim: the Standard Base Period (SBP) 
	For UI, there are two types of base periods that may be used to establish a claim: the Standard Base Period (SBP) 
	and the Alternate Base Period (ABP). The SBP is the 
	FIRST
	 four of the last five completed calendar quarters prior 
	to the beginning date of the UI claim. If a claimant does not have sufficient wages in the SBP to establish a claim, 
	the EDD will consider whether the claimant qualifies to file a claim using the ABP. The ABP is the four most recently 
	completed calendar quarters prior to the beginning date of the claim. The ABP can ONLY be used to file a UI claim 
	when there are not enough wages earned in the SBP to file a monetarily valid UI claim. Refer to
	 
	page 95
	page 95

	 for more 
	information about the ABP.

	    
	    
	Maximum Charged to

	 Current Weekly UI Benefit Amount Reserve Account for Each
	 Current Weekly UI Benefit Amount Reserve Account for Each

	 Year Minimum Maximum Employee for a Regular Claim
	 Year Minimum Maximum Employee for a Regular Claim

	 2019 $40 $450 $11,700
	 2019 $40 $450 $11,700

	 2018 $40 $450 $11,700
	 2018 $40 $450 $11,700

	BENEFIT QUALIFICATIONS
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:
	To be eligible for UI benefits, claimants must:

	•
	•
	 Be unemployed through no fault of their own.

	• 
	• 
	Be totally or partially unemployed and registered 
	for work with the EDD, as required.

	• 
	• 
	Accurately report on all earnings during their 
	weekly claim certification – even those from 
	 
	part-time or temporary work.

	• 
	• 
	Be physically 
	able to work
	 in their usual 
	occupation or in other work for which they are 
	reasonably qualified.

	• 
	• 
	Be 
	available for work
	 by being ready and willing 
	to immediately accept suitable work in their usual 
	occupation or in an occupation for which they are 
	reasonably qualified.

	•
	•
	 Be actively 
	seeking work
	 on their own behalf.

	•
	•
	 Have received a minimum amount of wages 
	during the base period. (For additional 
	information, please refer to “Qualifying UI Wages” 
	on
	 
	page 88
	page 88

	.)

	•
	•
	 Comply with regulations in regard to filing claims.

	Once a claim is filed, EDD staff will determine if there 
	Once a claim is filed, EDD staff will determine if there 
	are eligibility issues. An EDD representative may call 
	employers as well as claimants to resolve eligibility issues.


	A claimant may be ineligible for UI benefits if the claimant:
	A claimant may be ineligible for UI benefits if the claimant:
	A claimant may be ineligible for UI benefits if the claimant:

	•
	•
	 Was discharged for misconduct connected to his/her 
	work. (Proof of misconduct rests with the employer.)

	•
	•
	 Voluntarily quit without “good cause” (includes 
	quitting for personal reasons, to go to school, or 
	to move).

	•
	•
	 Files a UI claim during a recess period, if he/she 
	worked for a school employer, and had reasonable 
	assurance of returning to work for a school employer.

	•
	•
	 Refused suitable work without “good cause.”

	•
	•
	 Failed to take part in reemployment services.

	•
	•
	 Failed to apply for a job when referred by a public 
	employment office.

	•
	•
	 Failed to make reasonable efforts to look for work.

	•
	•
	 Failed to comply with regulations.

	•
	•
	 Made false statements or withheld information for 
	the purpose of receiving UI benefits.

	•
	•
	 Is not legally entitled to work in the U.S.

	•
	•
	 Is not able to work or is not available for work.

	•
	•
	 Is working full-time or earns wages totaling more 
	than 25 percent of their weekly UI benefit amount.

	•
	•
	 Voluntarily left work due to a trade dispute.

	Certain types of employees are not covered for UI 
	Certain types of employees are not covered for UI 
	benefits. For additional information, please refer to:

	•
	•
	 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment
	 (DE 231TE).

	•
	•
	 
	Information Sheet: Types of Payments
	 (DE 231TP).

	Online at 
	Online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_and_
	publications.htm

	.







	QUALIFYING UI WAGES
	QUALIFYING UI WAGES
	To have a valid Unemployment Insurance (UI) claim, individuals must have earned:
	To have a valid Unemployment Insurance (UI) claim, individuals must have earned:

	•
	•
	 $1,300 or more in 
	covered employment wages
	 in one quarter of the base period, or

	•
	•
	 $900 or more in 
	covered employment wages
	 in the base-period quarter with the highest earnings and 
	earned at least 1.25 times the high quarter earnings during the entire base period.

	Certain types of payments made to employees are not considered covered employment (wages) for UI purposes. For 
	Certain types of payments made to employees are not considered covered employment (wages) for UI purposes. For 
	additional information, refer to 
	Information Sheet: Types of Payments
	 (DE 231TP) online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231tp.pdf

	. The table shows if certain types of jobs and types of income are 
	taxable for UI. If the table shows that a job or type of income is “not subject” to UI tax, then that income is excluded 
	from establishing a UI claim.

	UI ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) schedules fact-finding phone interviews or sends questionnaires 
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) schedules fact-finding phone interviews or sends questionnaires 
	when there are eligibility questions regarding a claim. Our staff will talk to the claimant, employer, and appropriate 
	third parties as necessary to make a decision. Based on the decision, benefits will either be paid or denied. If benefits 
	are denied, a notice will be issued to the claimant. If the employer responds timely to the first notice sent by the EDD 
	and addresses the issue being decided, a notice will also be sent to the employee.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 The maximum amount an employer can be charged on a regular claim is $11,700. Refer to “Benefit Amount” 
	on
	 
	page 87
	page 87

	. In addition, an employer’s reserve account may be subject to charges for benefits paid on a 
	Training Extension (TE) claim. Claimants who have been approved for California Training Benefits (a program 
	established to retain displaced workers who need new skills to return to work) may be eligible for a TE claim. 
	A claimant with a TE claim is eligible to receive a maximum of 52 times his/her weekly benefit amount on the 
	regular claim, which includes the maximum benefit award of the regular claim.

	HOW TO DESIGNATE AN AGENT OR SINGLE ADDRESS
	Tax-Rated Employers or Reimbursable Employers
	Tax-Rated Employers or Reimbursable Employers

	Tax-Rated or Reimbursable Employers may make address changes or designate an agent by contacting the EDD 
	Tax-Rated or Reimbursable Employers may make address changes or designate an agent by contacting the EDD 
	Tax Branch. Refer to Change of Status information on
	 
	page 73
	page 73

	.

	Reimbursable Employers
	Reimbursable Employers

	Public entity and nonprofit employers should also submit the single agent address or agent information to the EDD 
	Public entity and nonprofit employers should also submit the single agent address or agent information to the EDD 
	Tax Branch to have the address on file changed. To have the 
	Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed 
	 
	(DE 1101CZ) and tax forms sent to the designated single address, refer to “Changes to Your Business Status” 
	information on
	 
	page 73
	page 73

	.

	In addition, public entity and nonprofit employers and their agents must elect to have the notice of new or additional 
	In addition, public entity and nonprofit employers and their agents must elect to have the notice of new or additional 
	claim (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) sent to a designated single address, per section 806 of the California Unemployment 
	Insurance Code.

	Requests for designation of a single address should be sent to:
	Requests for designation of a single address should be sent to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Unemployment Insurance Division, MIC 40
	Unemployment Insurance Division, MIC 40

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Fax: 1-916-654-8117
	Fax: 1-916-654-8117

	HOW TO REQUEST AN ELECTRONIC DE 1545
	Employers and their agents may electronically obtain the 
	Employers and their agents may electronically obtain the 
	Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
	Claim
	 (DE 1545) through the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI). To obtain information about EDI, contact:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Employer Assistance Unit, MIC 16
	Employer Assistance Unit, MIC 16

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-916-464-2325 
	Phone: 1-916-464-2325 


	RESPONDING TO NOTICES
	RESPONDING TO NOTICES
	You need to respond timely and in writing to the 
	You need to respond timely and in writing to the 
	Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed
	 (DE 1101CZ or 
	DE 1101ER), 
	Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment Insurance (UI) Claim
	 (DE 1545), or the 
	Notice of Potential 
	Increased Liability For Training Extension Benefits
	 (DE 1545TE) if:

	•
	•
	 The claimant was terminated or voluntarily quit.

	•
	•
	 You have knowledge of information that might affect the claimant’s eligibility for UI benefits.

	•
	•
	 The claimant’s name and Social Security number are not correct.

	•
	•
	 You want a written decision of eligibility that provides you appeal rights to the EDD’s decision.

	•
	•
	 The claimant’s work was in non-covered employment for UI purposes and the wages should not be used to 
	establish a UI claim, including work performed as an elected official.

	If you believe the claimant is not entitled to benefits, it is important to protest in writing when you receive the first 
	If you believe the claimant is not entitled to benefits, it is important to protest in writing when you receive the first 
	notice and within the protest time limits. Refer to
	 
	page 90
	page 90

	 for the Claim Notices and Protest Time Limits table. Your 
	response must include any facts that may affect the claimant’s eligibility for UI benefits or the potential liability of your 
	UI reserve account for benefits paid to the claimant.

	Protests to the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, DE 1545R, or DE 1545TE should be in writing and mailed to the 
	Protests to the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, DE 1545R, or DE 1545TE should be in writing and mailed to the 
	address noted on the form within the protest time limits of that form. Employers and third-party administrators can elect 
	to electronically receive and respond to the EDD’s 
	Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed
	 (DE 1101CZ) using 
	SIDES. Learn more at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES
	www.edd.ca.gov/SIDES

	. Protests may be written on the notice or included in a separate letter 
	and should contain the following information:

	•
	•
	 Employer’s payroll tax account number, name, and address.

	•
	•
	 Claimant’s name and Social Security number.

	•
	•
	 Beginning date of the claim.

	•
	•
	 Date of separation from employment.

	•
	•
	 Dates of separation(s) and rehire(s) during and following the quarters shown on the DE 1545.

	•
	•
	 Information supporting your belief of the claimant’s ineligibility. (Refer to
	 
	page 87
	page 87

	 for a list of disqualifying 
	events.) Protests should include specific facts and circumstances. General statements (e.g., employee was 
	fired for misconduct) should be supported with specific events and documentation. This will result in better 
	eligibility decisions based on the facts.

	•
	•
	 If the wage information listed on the DE 1545 or DE 1545TE is incorrect, please inform the EDD in writing at:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Employers Assistance Unit, MIC 16
	Employers Assistance Unit, MIC 16

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Include the following information with your correction of wage information:
	Include the following information with your correction of wage information:

	○
	○
	 Employer’s payroll tax account number, name, and address.

	○
	○
	 Claimant’s name and Social Security number.

	○
	○
	 Beginning date of the claim.

	○
	○
	 Correction to the wage information. Please provide supporting documentation to the correction, such as 
	a copy of the 
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) or 
	Quarterly 
	Contribution and Wage Adjustment Form
	 (DE 9ADJ).

	○
	○
	 Name, signature, and phone number of the employer or employer representative preparing the wage 
	correction.

	○
	○
	 Date of the wage correction.

	•
	•
	 The protest should be signed by the person having personal knowledge of the facts or having access to 
	records containing the facts.

	REMEMBER: 
	REMEMBER: 
	If a written protest is not submitted, or submitted untimely, for the DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, DE 1545, or 
	DE 1545TE, you waive your right to protest your UI reserve account’s potential liability for benefits paid to the claimant 
	and your right to appeal the EDD determination.


	SUBSEQUENT BENEFIT YEAR
	SUBSEQUENT BENEFIT YEAR
	If you receive a notice that a subsequent benefit year has been established, you must resubmit any facts you 
	If you receive a notice that a subsequent benefit year has been established, you must resubmit any facts you 
	furnished on the initial 
	Notice of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed 
	(DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER) to be entitled to 
	 
	a determination and/or ruling based on such facts for the later benefit year.

	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS
	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS
	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS
	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS
	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS
	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS
	CLAIM NOTICES AND PROTEST TIME LIMITS



	Notice
	Notice
	Notice
	Notice


	Postmarked Within
	Postmarked Within
	Postmarked Within



	DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER
	DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER
	DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER
	DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER

	Mailed to the last employer when a current or former 
	Mailed to the last employer when a current or former 
	employee files a new UI claim or an existing claim is 
	reopened.


	Ten (10) calendar days of the date mailed to you (the 
	Ten (10) calendar days of the date mailed to you (the 
	Ten (10) calendar days of the date mailed to you (the 
	date is printed on the top-right side of the DE 1101CZ 
	and the DE 1101ER).



	DE 1545
	DE 1545
	DE 1545
	DE 1545

	Issued to all base-period employers after a claimant 
	Issued to all base-period employers after a claimant 
	receives the first UI payment. This notice informs each 
	employer of the wages used to establish the claim and 
	the amount of potential charges to their UI reserve 
	account for that claim.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 Employers and their agents may obtain the 
	DE 1545 electronically. (Refer to “How to 
	Request an Electronic DE 1545” on
	 
	page 88
	page 88

	.)


	The deadline to submit a ruling request is located on the 
	The deadline to submit a ruling request is located on the 
	The deadline to submit a ruling request is located on the 
	top-right side of the DE 1545.

	To request a ruling, submit separation information within 
	To request a ruling, submit separation information within 
	fifteen (15) calendar days from the mail date. If wage 
	information is incorrect, submit the information within 
	thirty (30) calendar days.



	DE 1545TE
	DE 1545TE
	DE 1545TE
	DE 1545TE

	Mailed to base-period employers only when a former 
	Mailed to base-period employers only when a former 
	employee has been approved for the California Training 
	Benefits (CTB) program. This form will inform you of 
	the maximum amount of potential benefits payable, 
	including training extension benefits, and the amount 
	of potential charges to your UI reserve account. When 
	protesting a former employee’s eligibility for the CTB 
	program, employers should address the particular 
	criteria that individuals must meet under section 1269 
	and 1269.1 of the California Unemployment Insurance 
	Code (CUIC).


	Fifteen (15) calendar days from the mail date.
	Fifteen (15) calendar days from the mail date.
	Fifteen (15) calendar days from the mail date.






	NOTE
	NOTE
	:
	 If you respond untimely, provide the reason you are submitting the eligibility information untimely and the 
	EDD will determine if you had “good cause” for not submitting your response timely. If there is a finding of 
	“good cause,” you will be entitled to receive a notice of determination or ruling. If it is determined that you 
	did not have “good cause” for the late response, a 
	Response to Employer Communication
	 (DE 4614) will 
	be issued. This form can be appealed if you disagree with the determination. Also, if you respond untimely 
	with eligibility information, the EDD will conduct a determination of eligibility with the claimant regardless of 
	whether you are entitled to a notice of determination or ruling.


	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	NOTICES OF DETERMINATION, RULING, OR MODIFICATION
	NOTICES OF DETERMINATION, RULING, OR MODIFICATION
	You will receive one of the following DE 1080 notices in response to eligibility issues you reported on the 
	You will receive one of the following DE 1080 notices in response to eligibility issues you reported on the 
	Notice 
	of Unemployment Insurance Claim Filed
	 (DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER), 
	Notice of Wages Used for Unemployment 
	Insurance (UI) Claim
	 (DE 1545), or the 
	Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits
	 
	 
	(DE 1545TE).

	Notice
	Notice
	Notice
	Notice
	Notice
	Notice
	Notice


	Purpose
	Purpose
	Purpose



	DE 1080EZ:
	DE 1080EZ:
	DE 1080EZ:
	DE 1080EZ:

	•
	•
	 Notice of Determination

	•
	•
	 Notice of Determination/Ruling

	•
	•
	 Notice of Ruling


	Reimbursable Employer(s):
	Reimbursable Employer(s):
	Reimbursable Employer(s):

	Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER, 
	Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ or DE 1101ER, 
	and who submits information about quits and discharges. The notice 
	informs the employer whether or not the claimant was found eligible for 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits.

	Tax-rated and Reimbursable Employers(s):
	Tax-rated and Reimbursable Employers(s):

	Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, 
	Sent to an employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ, DE 1101ER, 
	DE 1545, or DE 1545TE, or who provides eligibility information about 
	issues other than quits or discharges that can affect a claimant’s eligibility 
	for UI benefits, such as job refusals or a claimant’s unavailability for work 
	because of school attendance, lack of child care, etc. The notice informs 
	the employer whether or not the claimant was found eligible to receive UI 
	benefits. Refer to
	 
	page 87
	page 87

	 for a list of disqualifying events.



	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ 
	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ 
	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ 
	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1101CZ 
	or DE 1101ER with eligibility information regarding a voluntary quit or 
	discharge. The ruling portion of this notice informs the employer whether or 
	not the reserve account will be charged for UI benefits paid.



	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with 
	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with 
	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with 
	Sent to a tax-rated employer who responds timely to a DE 1545 with 
	separation information. The separation must have occurred during or after 
	the base period of the claim. This notice informs the employer whether or 
	not the reserve account will be charged for UI benefits paid.






	REMEMBER:
	REMEMBER:
	 Employers who finance UI coverage under one of the reimbursable financing methods receive Notices 
	of Determination, but do not receive Notices of Ruling because they do not have a UI reserve account.

	The 
	The 
	Notice of Potential Increased Liability for Training Extension Benefits
	 (DE 1545TE) provides base-period 
	employers with a timely notice of maximum amount of potential UI benefits, including training extension benefits that 
	may be charged to their accounts. This form is mailed to base-period employers only when a former employee has 
	been approved for the California Training Benefits (CTB) program. When protesting a claimant’s eligibility for the CTB 
	program, employers should address the particular criteria that individuals must meet under section 1269 and 1269.1 
	of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC).


	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) BENEFITS – APPEAL RIGHTS
	UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE (UI) BENEFITS – APPEAL RIGHTS
	You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with a decision made by the Employment Development 
	You have the right to file an appeal if you do not agree with a decision made by the Employment Development 
	Department (EDD) about your:

	•
	•
	 Former employee’s right to receive UI benefits.

	•
	•
	 UI reserve account being charged for benefits paid to a former employee.

	You must send your written appeal to the EDD within thirty (30) calendar days of the date the decision was mailed 
	You must send your written appeal to the EDD within thirty (30) calendar days of the date the decision was mailed 
	to you. The EDD will send you an acknowledgment of receipt and registration of your appeal with the phone number 
	for the Office of Appeal hearing the case. The Office of Appeal will schedule a hearing with an Administrative Law 
	Judge (ALJ). Both you and your former employee will be notified of the date, time, and place of the hearing at least 
	ten (10) days before the hearing date. If you are filing an appeal to a 
	Notice of Ruling
	 (DE 1080EZ), the employee is 
	not considered a party to the proceeding and is not notified of the hearing. The ALJ will conduct a hearing and give all 
	interested parties the opportunity to present their evidence. The ALJ will consider the facts presented at the hearing 
	and issue a written decision that is mailed to all concerned parties.

	If you do not agree with the ALJ’s decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals 
	If you do not agree with the ALJ’s decision, you may appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals 
	Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB reviews appeals to decisions rendered by the ALJ. Both the CUIAB and the ALJs operate 
	impartially and independently of the EDD.

	The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an administrative hearing:
	The CUIAB provides the following publications to assist in filing an appeal and preparing for an administrative hearing:

	•
	•
	 
	Appeals Procedure
	 (DE 1433)

	•
	•
	 
	Office of Appeals Tax Hearing Information Pamphlet
	 (DE 6412TF)

	For copies of these publications, write to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board at the address shown 
	For copies of these publications, write to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board at the address shown 
	on the following . You may also download these forms from the CUIAB website at 
	www.cuiab.ca.gov/forms.asp
	www.cuiab.ca.gov/forms.asp

	. If 
	you have any questions about filing an appeal, please contact the EDD at 1-800-300-5616.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 An EDD 
	Appeal Form
	 (DE 1000M) is enclosed with all DE 1080s. The DE 1000M is available online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1000m.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1000m.pdf

	.


	FALSE STATEMENT PENALTY
	FALSE STATEMENT PENALTY
	Section 1142(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides that an employer and/or the 
	Section 1142(a) of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) provides that an employer and/or the 
	employer’s agent may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount if 
	it is determined that the employer, employer representative, employer officer, or employer agent willfully made 
	a false statement or misrepresentation or failed to report a material fact concerning the claimant’s termination 
	of employment.

	Section 1142(b) of the CUIC provides that an employer and/or the employer’s agent may be assessed a cash 
	Section 1142(b) of the CUIC provides that an employer and/or the employer’s agent may be assessed a cash 
	penalty from 2 to 10 times the claimant’s weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer 
	representative, employer officer, or employer agent willfully made a false statement or representation or willfully 
	fails to report a material fact concerning the claimant’s reasonable assurance of reemployment as defined in 
	section 1253.3 of the CUIC.

	Section 1142.1 of the CUIC provides that an employer may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the 
	Section 1142.1 of the CUIC provides that an employer may be assessed a cash penalty from 2 to 10 times the 
	claimant’s weekly benefit amount if it is determined that the employer, employer representative, employer officer, 
	 
	or employer agent, where the claimant was performing services for an educational institution as defined in 
	 
	section 1253.3, willfully makes a false statement or representation or fails to report a material fact concerning the 
	claimant’s termination of employment or regarding any week during which services were performed (as provided in 
	section 1253.3) or any time granted to the claimant for professional development while working for that employer.

	If you are not in agreement with the 
	If you are not in agreement with the 
	Notice of Determination or Assessment Under UI Code Section 1142(A) 
	 
	(DE 3807 SEP) or 
	Notice of Determination or Assessment Under UI Code Section 1142(B)
	 (DE 3807 RA), you may 
	file a 
	Notice of Petition Rights 
	(DE 2350) to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) of the California Unemployment 
	Insurance Appeals Board (CUIAB). The CUIAB, established separate and apart from the EDD, reviews, hears, and 
	renders impartial and independent decisions in tax and benefit matters related to the CUIC.

	Prepare an original and a copy of the petition. The petition may be informal but must be in writing and should:
	Prepare an original and a copy of the petition. The petition may be informal but must be in writing and should:

	•
	•
	 Show your EDD employer payroll tax account number and the date of the assessment. For faster processing, 
	enclose a copy of the DE 3807 SEP or DE 3807 RA with your petition.

	•
	•
	 Provide the claimant’s name and Social Security number.

	•
	•
	 Clearly indicate that it is a “Petition for Reassessment.”

	•
	•
	 Describe the reason for the petition and specify the facts or grounds for requesting a reassessment.

	•
	•
	 Be signed by you or your authorized agent.

	•
	•
	 State your address or that of your agent, if any.

	To be timely, the petition must be mailed or delivered to the office shown below within 
	To be timely, the petition must be mailed or delivered to the office shown below within 
	thirty 
	(
	30
	)
	 calendar days
	 from 
	the date of assessment. The time to protest can be extended by an ALJ for not more than thirty (30) days but 
	only
	 if 
	“good cause” for the delay is shown. Mail or deliver the original and a copy of your petition for reassessment to:

	California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board
	California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board

	Sacramento Office of Appeals
	Sacramento Office of Appeals

	2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 150
	2400 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 150

	Sacramento, CA 95833-4224
	Sacramento, CA 95833-4224

	BENEFIT AUDITS TO DETERMINE FRAUD
	The benefit audit process leads to the recovery of improper Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit payments and the 
	The benefit audit process leads to the recovery of improper Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit payments and the 
	potential reversal of related charges to the employer’s reserve account when the EDD determines that the claimant 
	was not entitled to UI benefits. The 
	Benefit Audit 
	(DE 1296B) identifies individuals who may have improperly received 
	UI benefits for weeks in which they worked and had earnings. The EDD has several processes to detect and deter 
	fraud; thereby, protecting the integrity of the UI program. Each quarter, as part of the EDD fraud detection efforts, 
	DE 1296B audit forms are mailed to employers to request wage information for specific weeks that their California 
	employees may have worked. 

	Each quarter, the EDD also runs a cross-match with other states’ wage records. If it appears an individual may have 
	Each quarter, the EDD also runs a cross-match with other states’ wage records. If it appears an individual may have 
	worked in another state while receiving California UI benefits, then an 
	Interstate Unemployment Insurance Benefit 
	Payment Audit 
	(IB 8605) form will be sent to out-of-state employers.

	BENEFIT AUDITS TO DETERMINE FRAUD (cont.)
	Additionally, as part of our continuing efforts to detect and deter fraud, the EDD cross-matches the Social Security 
	Additionally, as part of our continuing efforts to detect and deter fraud, the EDD cross-matches the Social Security 
	number and Start-of-Work Date (SWD) from the New Employee Registry information reported by employers with UI 
	benefit payment information. An accurate SWD (not the hire date) is important for this cross match process. If a match 
	is identified, a 
	New Employee Registry Benefit Audit 
	(DE 1296NER) audit form will be sent to the employer requesting 
	earnings and eligibility information. The returned employer information is used to identify benefit overpayments and to 
	recover the improper benefit payments.

	The DE 1296NER audit form enables the EDD to detect fraud up to six months sooner than the quarterly Benefit Audit 
	The DE 1296NER audit form enables the EDD to detect fraud up to six months sooner than the quarterly Benefit Audit 
	Process and protects the UI Fund by reducing overpayments. Employers who have responded to the DE 1296NER audit 
	form will not receive a DE 1296B for the same employee for the same quarter.

	Employers are required by state and federal laws to respond to the DE 1296B, the DE 1296NER, and the IB 8605 
	Employers are required by state and federal laws to respond to the DE 1296B, the DE 1296NER, and the IB 8605 
	benefit audits. 
	Employers’ participation in these processes is essential to detect potential fraud and to protect 
	the integrity of the UI program.

	Questions or comments about the benefit audit process should be sent to:
	Questions or comments about the benefit audit process should be sent to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	PO Box 3038, MIC 16A
	PO Box 3038, MIC 16A

	Sacramento, CA 95812-3038
	Sacramento, CA 95812-3038

	Phone: 1-866-401-2849
	Phone: 1-866-401-2849

	Additional information is available online at 
	Additional information is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/FAQ_-_Benefit_Audits.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/FAQ_-_Benefit_Audits.htm

	.

	BACK PAY AWARD
	Employees who receive Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits and later receive back pay awards or settlements 
	Employees who receive Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefits and later receive back pay awards or settlements 
	must have the Back Pay Award or settlement allocated to the period for which it was awarded. The EDD must be 
	reimbursed an amount that equals the amount of UI benefits received if the Back Pay Award covers the same period 
	for which UI benefits were paid. Back pay is considered wages and should be reported within thirty (30) days from 
	the settlement 
	or agreement date.

	A determination must be made regarding who is responsible to repay the EDD for the overpaid benefit 
	A determination must be made regarding who is responsible to repay the EDD for the overpaid benefit 
	amounts. If the Back Pay Award agreement states that the employer will withhold overpayment amounts 
	from the Back Pay Award or settlement, the employer is responsible for submitting the amounts withheld 
	to the EDD to clear the overpayment. The employer must provide the claimant’s name and complete Social 
	Security number and information concerning the period covered by the Back Pay Award.

	At the employer’s request, the EDD will determine the amount of UI benefits to be repaid, establish an overpayment, 
	At the employer’s request, the EDD will determine the amount of UI benefits to be repaid, establish an overpayment, 
	and notify the
	 claimant and employer. (“Employer” refers to both tax-rated and reimbursable employers.) 
	Reimbursable employers will receive credits against their future charges only after the liability has been paid. For 
	further information, contact:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Back Pay Awards Coordinator, MIC 8, OARG
	Back Pay Awards Coordinator, MIC 8, OARG

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-714-687-4400
	Phone: 1-714-687-4400

	WORKERS’ COMPENSATION BENEFITS
	Employees who received UI benefits and later receive workers’ compensation benefits in the form of Temporary Total 
	Employees who received UI benefits and later receive workers’ compensation benefits in the form of Temporary Total 
	Disability (TTD) benefits, Vocational Rehabilitation Maintenance Allowance (VRMA), or settlements for the same 
	period must repay the EDD an amount equal to the UI benefits received. For further information, contact:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Workers’ Compensation Specialist
	Workers’ Compensation Specialist

	PO Box 2588
	PO Box 2588

	Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
	Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

	Phone: 1-916-464-0713
	Phone: 1-916-464-0713


	STATEMENT OF CHARGES
	STATEMENT OF CHARGES
	Each September, the annual 
	Each September, the annual 
	Statement of Charges to Reserve Account
	 (DE 428T) is mailed to you. This statement 
	notifies you of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit charges and credits to your reserve account for the prior 
	one-year period from July 1 through June 30. Charges are itemized and based on the UI benefits paid to your 
	former employees. Charges to your reserve account may increase your UI contribution rate for the next tax year. It is 
	important to review your statement carefully and respond timely if you do not agree with the charges. You have sixty 
	(60) days from the issued date on your statement to protest any charges you believe are incorrect. An extension of 
	up to sixty (60) days may be granted for good cause if your request is submitted before the protest deadline. When 
	filing your protest, you must include your EDD employer payroll tax account number, the claimant’s name, Social 
	Security number, claim date, the dollar amount, total number of claimants being protested, and the specific reason.

	Mail your protest to:
	Mail your protest to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department
	 
	Contribution Rate Group
	 
	PO Box 826831
	 
	Sacramento, CA 94230-6831

	For a sample form and detailed instructions on how to file a protest, visit the EDD’s website at 
	For a sample form and detailed instructions on how to file a protest, visit the EDD’s website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Forms
	 and refer to the DE 428T 
	Protest Sample Form (DE 428C)
	 and the 
	Statement of Charges 
	to Reserve Account, DE 428T
	 (DE 428I) or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. 

	To ensure your DE 428T is received timely, please make the necessary updates to your address and/or agent 
	To ensure your DE 428T is received timely, please make the necessary updates to your address and/or agent 
	information. For your convenience, these updates can be submitted online using e-Services for Business.

	ALTERNATE BASE PERIOD
	The Alternate Base Period (ABP) program requires the EDD to use more recently earned wages to calculate 
	The Alternate Base Period (ABP) program requires the EDD to use more recently earned wages to calculate 
	monetary eligibility for new UI claims for unemployed individuals who do not qualify for a UI claim using the Standard 
	Base Period (SBP). The “Standard” Base Period uses the wages earned in the first four of the last five completed 
	calendar quarters prior to the beginning date of the UI claim. The “Alternate” Base Period uses the wages earned in 
	the four most recently completed calendar quarters.

	The ABP legislation does not change the legal requirements for employers’ quarterly wage reporting.
	The ABP legislation does not change the legal requirements for employers’ quarterly wage reporting.

	In addition to employers’ current quarterly wage reporting, if the ABP wages are not showing in the EDD database, 
	In addition to employers’ current quarterly wage reporting, if the ABP wages are not showing in the EDD database, 
	employers will be asked to provide the wages for claimants. At times, employers may be asked to provide wages 
	prior to the quarterly wage reporting. The EDD will only request wages from employers if it appears that claimants 
	have enough wages to qualify for a UI claim using the ABP. If it is necessary for the EDD to obtain the wages from 
	the employer, the EDD will mail the employer a 
	Request for Wages
	 (DE 1919) to request wage information for each 
	of the five most recently completed quarters. This will assist the EDD in determining if the claimant qualifies for a 
	claim using the SBP or ABP. Employers have ten (10) days to respond to the EDD request.

	In addition to mailing the employer a DE 1919, the EDD will mail the claimant an 
	In addition to mailing the employer a DE 1919, the EDD will mail the claimant an 
	Affidavit of Wages
	 (DE 23A) to 
	request the wage information. If the employer does not respond to the EDD request for wage information within the 
	ten (10) days, and the claimant provides the DE 23A along with tangible evidence of the wages earned, the EDD will 
	file the claim based on the wage information provided by the claimant.

	If the base period wages on an ABP claim are later adjusted when the quarterly wages are reported by the employer, 
	If the base period wages on an ABP claim are later adjusted when the quarterly wages are reported by the employer, 
	an overpayment may not be established on the ABP claim unless the claim was based on fraudulent information 
	provided by the claimant. This means that, if employers do not respond timely to the EDD original DE 1919, they may 
	incur reserve account charges they might not have otherwise incurred.


	LAYOFF ALTERNATIVES
	LAYOFF ALTERNATIVES
	Partial UI Claims
	Partial UI Claims

	The Partial UI Claim program enables employers to keep trained employees who are partially employed during slow 
	The Partial UI Claim program enables employers to keep trained employees who are partially employed during slow 
	business periods. Employers may use the Partial UI Claim program if employees are temporarily working reduced 
	hours or have been placed on layoff status for no more than two consecutive weeks. For information about partial 
	claims and the partial forms, 
	Notice of Reduced Earnings
	 (DE 2063) and 
	Notice of Reduced Earnings (Fisherperson)
	 
	(DE 2063F), access the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/faq_-_partial_claims.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/faq_-_partial_claims.htm

	.

	If you participate in the program, you should:
	If you participate in the program, you should:

	•
	•
	 Instruct your employees to call the EDD UI toll-free numbers to file a UI claim by phone.

	•
	•
	 Instruct your employees to advise the EDD that he/she is participating in the Partial UI Claims program. 

	•
	•
	 Complete the employer portion of the 
	Notice of Reduced Earnings
	 (DE 2063) and issue it to your employees.

	•
	•
	 Instruct employees to complete and sign the DE 2063 and mail it to the EDD.

	If an employee has no wages (does not work) for two consecutive weeks, instruct the employee to contact the EDD 
	If an employee has no wages (does not work) for two consecutive weeks, instruct the employee to contact the EDD 
	to obtain the regular 
	Continued Claim 
	(DE 4581) form. Participation in this program may increase the employer’s UI 
	tax rate.

	For more information about partial UI claims, contact one of the toll-free UI phone numbers on
	For more information about partial UI claims, contact one of the toll-free UI phone numbers on
	 
	page 109
	page 109

	 or access 
	the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/partial_claims.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/partial_claims.htm

	.

	Work Sharing Program
	Work Sharing Program

	The Work Sharing program is available to employers who reduce employee wages and hours as an alternative to 
	The Work Sharing program is available to employers who reduce employee wages and hours as an alternative to 
	a layoff. The affected workforce or work unit(s) must consist of two or more employees who comprise at least 10 
	percent of the workforce or work unit(s) and the employer must meet other requirements in order to participate. 
	The employer must sign a 
	Work Sharing (WS) Unemployment Insurance Plan Application 
	(DE 8686) with the EDD 
	and comply with all requirements to remain eligible for participation. The DE 8686 must be periodically renewed. 
	Participation in this program may increase the employer’s UI tax rate. If you are interested in participating in the 
	program or would like additional information, access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/work_sharing_claims.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/work_sharing_claims.htm

	 or contact:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Special Claims Office
	Special Claims Office

	PO Box 419076
	PO Box 419076

	Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076
	Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076

	Phone: 1-916-464-3343
	Phone: 1-916-464-3343

	Fax: 1-916-464-2616 
	Fax: 1-916-464-2616 

	Alternate fax: 1-916-464-3333
	Alternate fax: 1-916-464-3333

	NOTE: 
	NOTE: 
	Employees participating in the Work Sharing or Partial Claims programs cannot use Tele-Cert
	SM
	 or the EDD 
	UI Online
	SM
	 to certify for Unemployment Insurance (UI) weekly benefits. Participants of these programs are 
	required to continue using the existing paper continued claim form by mail.

	NOTICE OF LAYOFF
	Employers with at least 100 full-time employees who plan plant closures resulting in employment loss of 50 or more 
	Employers with at least 100 full-time employees who plan plant closures resulting in employment loss of 50 or more 
	full-time employees within a 30-day period or mass layoffs of 50 to 499 full-time employees constituting at least 33% 
	of the full-time workforce at a single site of employment within a 30-day period or layoff of 500 or more employees 
	regardless of percentage of workforce, must give affected employees at least 60 days written notice. Please refer to 
	“Plant Closure or Mass Layoff (WARN)” on
	 
	page 77
	page 77

	 for additional information.

	WAGES NOTICES
	In the event of a layoff or business closure involving 10 or more employees, the EDD Wages Notice Group will 
	In the event of a layoff or business closure involving 10 or more employees, the EDD Wages Notice Group will 
	investigate and post Electronic Wages Notices (EWN) for staff in the EDD offices to use. The EWNs contain wage 
	findings (e.g., findings on in-lieu-of-notice pay and bonuses) to ensure consistent determinations when several 
	employees may be affected by the same set of facts. For additional information, access the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/mass_layoffs_and_wage_notices.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/mass_layoffs_and_wage_notices.htm

	.


	STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) PROGRAM
	STATE DISABILITY INSURANCE (SDI) PROGRAM
	The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible workers who need 
	The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits to eligible workers who need 
	time off work. The SDI program is state mandated and funded by employee payroll deductions.

	DI is a component of the SDI program. DI provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible California workers 
	DI is a component of the SDI program. DI provides partial wage replacement benefits to eligible California workers 
	who have a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related 
	illness or injury, pregnancy, or childbirth.

	PFL is also a component of the SDI program. PFL provides benefits to eligible workers who take time off work to care 
	PFL is also a component of the SDI program. PFL provides benefits to eligible workers who take time off work to care 
	for a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner. 
	Benefits are also available to new parents who need time to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster 
	care placement.

	Employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and voluntary plan administrators may securely submit DI and PFL 
	Employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and voluntary plan administrators may securely submit DI and PFL 
	claim information online. For additional information, visit the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability

	.

	TAXES – WHO PAYS FOR SDI?
	The SDI program (DI and PFL) is funded through mandatory employee payroll deductions for most California 
	The SDI program (DI and PFL) is funded through mandatory employee payroll deductions for most California 
	workers. California law requires employers to provide coverage for employees with payroll in excess of $100 in a 
	calendar quarter. There are a few exceptions. Those specifically excluded are:

	•
	•
	 Some domestic workers.

	•
	•
	 Some governmental employees.

	•
	•
	 Employees of interstate railroads.

	•
	•
	 Employees of some nonprofit agencies.

	•
	•
	 Individuals claiming a religious exemption.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 When a worker has more than one employer during a calendar year, it is possible that excess SDI 
	contributions may be withheld from the worker’s wages. Workers should request a refund of excess SDI 
	withholdings on their California income tax return.

	The SDI tax rate may be adjusted annually to not more than 1.5 percent (.015) or less than 0.1 percent (.001) 
	The SDI tax rate may be adjusted annually to not more than 1.5 percent (.015) or less than 0.1 percent (.001) 
	depending on the balance in the Disability Fund. Employee contributions withheld are paid by the employer to either 
	the Disability Fund or a Voluntary Plan (refer to
	 
	page 98
	page 98

	).

	EMPLOYEE BENEFITS
	Eligible claimants may file for DI or PFL benefits for each occurrence of disability or period of family leave.The 
	Eligible claimants may file for DI or PFL benefits for each occurrence of disability or period of family leave.The 
	Disability 
	Insurance Provisions
	 (DE 2515) brochure contains general information on DI eligibility. The 
	Paid Family Leave 
	(DE 2511) 
	brochure contains general information on PFL eligibility. The 
	Claim for Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits
	 (DE 2501) and 
	Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits
	 (DE 2501F) are forms that contain additional program information and 
	applications to apply for benefits. Claimants can also apply through SDI Online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability

	.

	California employers whose employees are subject to SDI contributions must provide new employees the DE 2515 and 
	California employers whose employees are subject to SDI contributions must provide new employees the DE 2515 and 
	the DE 2511 and post the 
	Notice to Employees
	 (DE 1857A) poster. The California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) 
	requires employers to provide general DI information to each employee leaving work due to a non-occupational illness or 
	injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. Employers are also required to provide PFL information to each employee leaving work 
	to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster care placement. The 
	brochures and applications are provided to employers at no cost. Additional copies may be ordered online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Forms
	www.edd.ca.gov/Forms

	 or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	CLAIM NOTICES
	When a DI claim is filed, the employer(s) reported on the DI claim form will receive a 
	When a DI claim is filed, the employer(s) reported on the DI claim form will receive a 
	Notice to Employer of Disability 
	Insurance Claim Filed
	 (DE 2503). When a PFL claim is filed, the employer(s) will receive a 
	Notice of Paid Family 
	Leave (PFL) Claim Filed 
	(DE 2503F). Employers are required to complete and return the DE 2503 or DE 2503F 
	within two working days
	. The DE 2503 can also be submitted electronically using SDI Online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability

	. 

	To deter fraud, please respond immediately if you are not the employer shown on the DE 2503 or DE 2503F, or if 
	To deter fraud, please respond immediately if you are not the employer shown on the DE 2503 or DE 2503F, or if 
	the claimant:

	•
	•
	 Is not your employee.

	•
	•
	 Has quit his/her job.

	•
	•
	 Is receiving wages.

	•
	•
	 Has not stopped working.

	•
	•
	 Is known to be working for another employer.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 Your Unemployment Insurance reserve account will not be affected when your employees file DI and/or PFL 
	claims. Because employees pay for DI and PFL through payroll deductions, you will not be notified of claimant 
	eligibility for DI/PFL benefits.

	SDI ONLINE
	SDI Online is an electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and 
	SDI Online is an electronic claim filing system available to employers, claimants, physicians/practitioners, and 
	voluntary plan administrators for submission of DI and PFL claim information. Employers can securely submit 
	employee information (e.g., wages earned, last day worked, etc.) for DI claims online. For additional information, 
	 
	visit the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability

	.


	VOLUNTARY PLAN
	VOLUNTARY PLAN
	California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a Voluntary Plan (VP) for the payment of 
	California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a Voluntary Plan (VP) for the payment of 
	Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits in place of the mandatory State Disability Insurance 
	(SDI) coverage. A VP must provide all the benefits of SDI, at least one benefit that is better than SDI, and it cannot 
	cost employees more than SDI. To be approved for a VP, the employer must post a security deposit with the EDD.

	Once a VP is approved, the employer is no longer required to send SDI withholdings to the EDD for those employees 
	Once a VP is approved, the employer is no longer required to send SDI withholdings to the EDD for those employees 
	covered by the VP. Instead, the employer holds the VP contributions in a trust fund to pay DI or PFL benefit claims 
	and approved expenses. The VP employer pays a quarterly assessment to the EDD based on the taxable wages of 
	employees participating in the plan and other factors.

	A VP must provide better coverage without additional cost to the employees. Based on claims experience, excess 
	A VP must provide better coverage without additional cost to the employees. Based on claims experience, excess 
	funds may be used to increase benefit levels or lower contributions. Please note that any money collected for VP 
	purposes must be used only for the benefit of employees who contribute to the plan.

	An employer considering a VP commitment should be aware that the employer takes ultimate responsibility for 
	An employer considering a VP commitment should be aware that the employer takes ultimate responsibility for 
	the plan benefits and expenses. If the accumulated VP trust fund is inadequate to cover benefits or expenses, the 
	employer is responsible to cover the deficit; employer loans made to the VP may be recovered from future excess 
	VP trust funds. If a plan terminates and there are insufficient trust funds, the employer must assume the financial 
	obligation until all plan liabilities have been met.

	Additional information about the VP option is available online at
	Additional information about the VP option is available online at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability/vp_information.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability/vp_information.htm

	, or call 1-916-653-6839, TTY at 1-800-563-2441, or write to:

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Disability Insurance Branch, MIC 29 VP
	Disability Insurance Branch, MIC 29 VP

	Voluntary Plan Group
	Voluntary Plan Group

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	SELF-EMPLOYED BENEFITS
	Any self-employed individual who receives the major part of his or her income from the trade, business, or 
	Any self-employed individual who receives the major part of his or her income from the trade, business, or 
	occupation in which he or she is self-employed may elect coverage for themselves. Under provisions in the California 
	Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC), self-employed individuals, who are employers, may elect Unemployment 
	Insurance (UI) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) or SDI coverage only for themselves. Self-employed individuals, 
	who are not employers, may only elect SDI coverage for themselves.

	Self-employed individuals who elect coverage pay at a rate determined by the prior annual combined usage of all 
	Self-employed individuals who elect coverage pay at a rate determined by the prior annual combined usage of all 
	participants.

	For further information on elective coverage, the 
	For further information on elective coverage, the 
	Information Sheet: Elective Coverage for Employers and
	 
	Self-Employed Individuals
	 (DE 231EC) is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ec.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de231ec.pdf

	.

	For additional information, the 
	For additional information, the 
	Fact Sheet: Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Program (DIEC) 
	(DE 8714CC) 
	is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8714cc.pdf
	www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de8714cc.pdf

	, or call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
	1-888-745-3886.

	WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE
	Workers’ compensation insurance is an employer paid indemnity that provides benefits to eligible workers 
	Workers’ compensation insurance is an employer paid indemnity that provides benefits to eligible workers 
	experiencing a loss of wages when they are unable to perform their regular or customary work due to an 
	occupational illness or injury. Generally, employees are not eligible for SDI when receiving workers’ compensation 
	benefits unless the SDI rate is greater than the workers’ compensation rate. For additional information, visit the 
	Department of Industrial Relations website at 
	www.dir.ca.gov
	www.dir.ca.gov

	.

	If you have 
	If you have 
	any
	 employees, you are required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance. Failure to do so is a 
	crime and may result in penalties and closure of your business.

	If you have questions about workers’ compensation insurance or how to obtain coverage, contact your insurance 
	If you have questions about workers’ compensation insurance or how to obtain coverage, contact your insurance 
	agent or the Division of Workers’ Compensation at 1-800-736-7401.

	SDI FRAUD
	To provide affordable benefits to eligible workers, the SDI program has systems in place to detect and deter fraud. 
	To provide affordable benefits to eligible workers, the SDI program has systems in place to detect and deter fraud. 
	Report suspected fraudulent activity to the EDD Fraud Hotline at 1-800-229-6297 or at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability

	.


	EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICES
	EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING SERVICES
	EDD WORKFORCE SERVICES
	The EDD Workforce Services Branch provides services to bring California employers together with qualified job 
	The EDD Workforce Services Branch provides services to bring California employers together with qualified job 
	seekers. The EDD Workforce Services Branch offers an Internet-based system called CalJOBS
	SM
	, a self-service 
	labor exchange, which provides quick access to a large pool of job-ready applicants. Employers with Internet access 
	can enter their own job listings and update or close orders.

	Employers without Internet access, or who have special requirements, can be served by customer service 
	Employers without Internet access, or who have special requirements, can be served by customer service 
	representatives who take job opening information by phone or fax, and assist employers in finding qualified 
	applicants. There are no fees to use CalJOBS
	SM
	.

	To register with CalJOBS
	To register with CalJOBS
	SM
	, you will need your EDD employer payroll tax account number. To access CalJOBS
	SM
	, 
	visit the website at
	 
	www.caljobs.ca.gov
	www.caljobs.ca.gov

	 or call the Customer Support Desk at 1-800-758-0398 for assistance. If you 
	do not have an EDD employer payroll tax account number, please refer to
	 
	page 7
	page 7

	 for information about obtaining one.

	For more information on these and other services, visit the EDD website at 
	For more information on these and other services, visit the EDD website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/employers_businesses.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/employers_businesses.htm

	 or contact your nearest America’s Job Center of 
	California
	SM
	. To locate your nearest office, go to 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/

	.

	EMPLOYMENT TRAINING PANEL (ETP)
	The Employment Training Panel (ETP) is a statewide business-labor training and economic development program. 
	The Employment Training Panel (ETP) is a statewide business-labor training and economic development program. 
	The ETP provides funding to employers to assist in upgrading the skills of their workers through training that leads 
	to good paying, long-term jobs. The ETP was created in 1982 by the California State Legislature and has invested 
	approximately $1.5 billion for the successful training and employment retention of more than 1.1 million workers 
	for nearly 80,500 California businesses to date. The ETP is a funding agency, not a training agency. Businesses 
	determine their own training needs and how best to provide training.

	Purpose:
	Purpose:
	 
	The ETP funds training to foster job creation and the retention of workers in secure, full-time employment 
	in targeted industries in order to improve California’s competitiveness in a global economy and to advance the skills 
	of the state’s workforce. The ETP’s Core Funding Program primarily funds retraining of currently employed workers in 
	companies threatened by out-of-state competition and has placed special emphasis on training for small businesses 
	with fewer than 100 employees in California.

	Funding
	Funding

	The legislature established the Employment Training Tax (ETT) in 1982. All tax-rated employers, including new 
	The legislature established the Employment Training Tax (ETT) in 1982. All tax-rated employers, including new 
	employers, are subject to the ETT. Employers with positive reserve accounts are assessed 0.1 percent (.001) on the 
	first $7,000 of each employee’s wages. Employers do not pay the ETT while their accounts have a negative reserve 
	balance, but they must pay a higher rate of Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax. The maximum ETT collected is $7 per 
	employee, per year. The ETP’s Core Funding Program is funded by the ETT. The ETP has also received additional 
	funding for alternative programs. This additional funding has been through partnerships with the California Energy 
	Commission (CEC), as well as through funding from the Labor and Workforce Development Agency (LWDA) to fund 
	specific training programs.

	How Is ETP Different?
	How Is ETP Different?

	The ETP’s performance-based contracts ensure that ETP funded training results in good-paying, secure jobs. Before 
	The ETP’s performance-based contracts ensure that ETP funded training results in good-paying, secure jobs. Before 
	an employer may earn training cost reimbursement, trainees must receive a certain number of training hours and 
	must complete the required retention period at their job, depending on the contract type, as well as meet the required 
	ETP minimum wage. The employer determines the training courses, trainers, and types of training that best meet 
	their business needs.


	GENERAL INFORMATION
	GENERAL INFORMATION
	The ETP contracts directly with tax-rated employers, groups of employers (including associations and chambers 
	The ETP contracts directly with tax-rated employers, groups of employers (including associations and chambers 
	of commerce), training agencies, vocational schools, Workforce Development Boards (WDB), and grant recipients 
	under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA).

	Under its Core Funding Program, the ETP funds the following types of training to promote a healthy labor market in 
	Under its Core Funding Program, the ETP funds the following types of training to promote a healthy labor market in 
	 
	a growing and competitive economy:

	•
	•
	 
	Retraining
	 – Helps companies facing out-of-state competition by upgrading the job skills of current 
	employees. 

	•
	•
	 
	New-Hire Training
	 – Trains unemployed workers eligible to receive California UI benefits or who have 
	exhausted UI benefits within 24 months of the start of training.

	•
	•
	 
	Special Employment Training (SET)
	 – The ETP provides limited funding for SET projects to improve 
	the skills and employment security of frontline workers (workers directly producing goods or services) in 
	occupations that pay at least the state average hourly wage. SET projects are not subject to ETP’s out-of-
	state competition requirement, but are a priority for workforce training. SET funding also allows training of 
	frontline workers who earn below the state average, if they are in the following categories:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	○

	Workers in High Unemployment Areas
	Workers in High Unemployment Areas
	 – Provides training funds for workers in areas where the 
	unemployment rate is significantly higher than the state average.



	 
	 
	 
	 
	○

	Small Business Skills
	Small Business Skills
	 – Training for small business owners to enhance the competitive position of their 
	business. Owners must have at least one, but no more than nine, full-time employee(s).


	 
	 
	 
	○

	Workers With Multiple Barriers to Employment
	Workers With Multiple Barriers to Employment
	 – Training for individuals with barriers to full-
	time employment, such as, but not limited to, physical disabilities, lack of work history, and limited 
	communication and literacy skills.


	 
	 
	 
	○

	Seasonal Industries
	Seasonal Industries
	 – Training funds for workers employed by companies in seasonal industries.



	Additional information can be found on the ETP website at 
	Additional information can be found on the ETP website at 
	www.etp.ca.gov
	www.etp.ca.gov

	 including how to apply for funds, eligible 
	entities, training methods, reimbursement rates, and ETP Annual Reports. Interested parties may also contact one of 
	the following ETP offices:

	Sacramento Central Office
	Sacramento Central Office
	 ...............................................
	1-916-327-5640

	North Hollywood Regional Office
	North Hollywood Regional Office
	 .....................................
	1-818-755-1313

	Sacramento Regional Office
	Sacramento Regional Office
	 ............................................
	1-916-327-5239

	San Diego Regional Office
	San Diego Regional Office
	 ...............................................
	1-619-881-1777

	San Francisco Bay Area Regional Office
	San Francisco Bay Area Regional Office
	 .........................
	1-650-655-6930

	TRADE ADJUSTMENT ASSISTANCE
	The Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program is a federal program established to help American workers who 
	The Trade Adjustment Assistance (TAA) program is a federal program established to help American workers who 
	have lost their jobs or had their hours and wages reduced as a result of foreign trade. 

	The TAA program is administered by the Employment Development Department (EDD) and may provide training, 
	The TAA program is administered by the Employment Development Department (EDD) and may provide training, 
	 
	job search assistance, relocation assistance, and weekly income support to trade impacted workers. To obtain and 
	file a 
	Petition for Trade Adjustment Assistance
	 (ETA 9042), workers may access the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) 
	website at 
	www.doleta.gov/tradeact
	www.doleta.gov/tradeact

	, contact any local EDD Workforce Services Office, America’s Job Center of 
	California
	SM
	 partner, or call the EDD TAA Coordinator at 1-916-654-7570.

	For additional information on the TAA program, call the DOL at 1-202-693-3560 or 1-888-365-6822.
	For additional information on the TAA program, call the DOL at 1-202-693-3560 or 1-888-365-6822.


	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	Subscribe to the EDD no-fee email subscription services at
	.
	www.edd.ca.gov/about_edd/get_email_notices.htm


	WORK OPPORTUNITY TAX CREDIT
	WORK OPPORTUNITY TAX CREDIT
	The Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) is a federal tax credit available to employers for hiring individuals from 
	The Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) is a federal tax credit available to employers for hiring individuals from 
	certain target groups who have consistently faced significant barriers to employment.

	To be considered for the tax credit, employers must submit properly completed forms to the Employment 
	To be considered for the tax credit, employers must submit properly completed forms to the Employment 
	Development Department (EDD) within 28 days of the employee’s start date to determine if their new hire meets the 
	eligibility criteria. 

	For identification of target groups and additional information, visit the EDD website at 
	For identification of target groups and additional information, visit the EDD website at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc
	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc

	, call 
	1-866-593-0173 or email 
	WOTCSupport@edd.ca.gov
	WOTCSupport@edd.ca.gov

	.

	eWOTC
	eWOTC is an online service to submit, view, and manage Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) Request for
	eWOTC is an online service to submit, view, and manage Work Opportunity Tax Credit (WOTC) Request for

	Certification applications. This system significantly increases efficiency in processing new applications and decreases 
	Certification applications. This system significantly increases efficiency in processing new applications and decreases 
	the waiting period for approvals.

	To take full advantage of the benefits offered by eWOTC, employers with 25 or more employees and all agents/ 
	To take full advantage of the benefits offered by eWOTC, employers with 25 or more employees and all agents/ 
	consultants must complete a one-time eWOTC enrollment process to be able to submit WOTC Request for 
	Certification applications online. Additional information is available online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc
	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc

	.

	Employers with 24 employees or less, without agent/consultant representation, are also encouraged to submit new 
	Employers with 24 employees or less, without agent/consultant representation, are also encouraged to submit new 
	applications online through eWOTC, but they may also mail applications to the address below. Please note that 
	mailed applications will take longer to process.

	Employment Development Department
	Employment Development Department

	Work Opportunity Tax Credit Authorization Center
	Work Opportunity Tax Credit Authorization Center

	2901 50th Street
	2901 50th Street

	Sacramento, CA 95817
	Sacramento, CA 95817

	WORKFORCE INNOVATION AND OPPORTUNITY ACT
	The federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) of 2014 provides a comprehensive range of workforce 
	The federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) of 2014 provides a comprehensive range of workforce 
	development activities to help job seekers access employment, education, training, and supportive services to 
	succeed in the labor market and to match employers with the skilled workers they need to compete in the global 
	economy. Workforce development activities authorized under WIOA are provided at the local level to adults, 
	dislocated workers, youth, veterans, including persons with disabilities and individuals with barriers to employment. 
	The purpose of WIOA is to promote employment, earnings, and occupational skills of participants. In turn, this 
	improves the quality of the workforce and enhances the productivity and competitiveness of California’s economy.

	The WIOA authorizes a variety of services to employers. Services are designed and administered by Local Workforce 
	The WIOA authorizes a variety of services to employers. Services are designed and administered by Local Workforce 
	Development Boards (Local Board). Local services are provided by America’s Job Center of California
	SM
	 locations and 
	may include:

	•
	•
	 Applicant screening/referral 
	•
	 Job placement assistance

	•
	•
	 Business closure assistance 
	•
	 Labor market information

	•
	•
	 Customized training 
	•
	 On-the-job training

	•
	•
	 Enterprise zone tax credits 
	•
	 Training subsidies

	•
	•
	 Entrepreneurial training

	In California, 45 Local Workforce Development Areas (Local Area) are designated by the Governor to administer local 
	In California, 45 Local Workforce Development Areas (Local Area) are designated by the Governor to administer local 
	WIOA services. The chief local official of each Local Area appoints a Local Board which consists of representatives 
	from private sector businesses, organized labor, community-based organizations, local government agencies, and 
	local education agencies. The Local Boards designate America’s Job Center of California
	SM
	 operators, provide policy 
	guidance, and oversee the workforce development activities within their Local Area.

	For more information, visit the EDD’s WIOA website at 
	For more information, visit the EDD’s WIOA website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/workforce_innovation_and_opportunity_act.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/workforce_innovation_and_opportunity_act.htm

	.


	LABOR MARKET INFORMATION
	LABOR MARKET INFORMATION
	The EDD Labor Market Information Division (LMID) collects, analyzes, and publishes information about California’s 
	The EDD Labor Market Information Division (LMID) collects, analyzes, and publishes information about California’s 
	labor market and economy. Labor market information helps employers, policy makers, and researchers develop 
	plans and make important business decisions.

	What Labor Market Information Is Available Online?
	What Labor Market Information Is Available Online?

	The LMID website at 
	The LMID website at 
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
	 organizes information by customer type. For instance, 
	selecting “More…” under “LMI by Customer” will lead to the Business/Employers section for information specific to 
	employers’ needs. This
	 
	page
	 
	contains links to:

	•
	•
	 Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity Planning Information – Get population, labor force, and 
	summary occupational information to help with developing affirmative action programs.

	•
	•
	 Local Area Profile – Find an overview of labor market information in the state or a county, including 
	employment and unemployment, industry payroll information, wages, the consumer price index, and more.

	•
	•
	 Labor Market Information for Employers – Find links to wage statistics, benefits information, data for your 
	business plans, local labor market profiles, and more.

	•
	•
	 National Compensation Survey – A federal survey of employee salaries, wages, and benefits.

	•
	•
	 Quarterly Census of Employment Wages – The program serves as a near census of monthly employment and 
	quarterly wage information at the state and county levels and provides the most detailed industry data available.

	•
	•
	 Other EDD resources, labor market publications, and the data library.

	•
	•
	 Information about workplace issues, including those related to benefits, meal breaks, and pay are available 
	from the Department of Industrial Relations, and can be accessed at 
	www.dir.ca.gov
	www.dir.ca.gov

	.

	For assistance, contact your local Labor Market (LM) consultant. Contact information for the LM consultants can be 
	For assistance, contact your local Labor Market (LM) consultant. Contact information for the LM consultants can be 
	found at 
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/file/resource/LMIConsultants.pdf
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov/file/resource/LMIConsultants.pdf

	 
	or you can contact the LMID at 
	 
	1-916-262-2162.

	Multiple Location and/or Function Employers
	Multiple Location and/or Function Employers

	When an employer maintains a business with more than one physical location or conducts more than one business 
	When an employer maintains a business with more than one physical location or conducts more than one business 
	activity/function at the same location, and the secondary location has a total of 10 or more employees, the employer 
	is considered to be a multiple establishment employer. A primary location is defined as the one with the highest 
	number of employees. If your firm fits the multiple location criteria and you are not currently completing a 
	Multiple 
	Worksite Report 
	(BLS 3020), please contact the LMID’s Employment and Payroll Group at 1-916-262-1856. 

	REMEMBER: 
	REMEMBER: 
	Filing the 
	Multiple Worksite Report
	 (BLS 3020) is mandatory and must be done on a quarterly basis.

	The LMID mails the federal form BLS 3020 to multiple worksite business owners at the close of each quarter (e.g., 
	The LMID mails the federal form BLS 3020 to multiple worksite business owners at the close of each quarter (e.g., 
	December 31, 2018). Employers have until the end of the following month (e.g., January 31, 2019) to return the 
	BLS 3020 form to the EDD.

	How Your Industry Code Is Determined
	How Your Industry Code Is Determined

	All businesses and government organizations are assigned an industry classification code from the North American 
	All businesses and government organizations are assigned an industry classification code from the North American 
	Industry Classification System (NAICS), which allows the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics to tabulate national and 
	state economic data by industry. Most new employers are assigned an industry code based on their response to 
	Section P (industry activity) of the 
	Commercial Employer Account Registration and Update Form
	 (DE 1). Each year, 
	selected employers are sent an 
	Industry Verification Form
	 (BLS 3023 NVS or NVM) to verify the accuracy of their 
	industry code and physical location address. This process is known as the Annual Refile Survey. Other employers, 
	who have not yet been assigned an industry code, may receive an 
	Industry Classification Form
	 (BLS 3023 NCA). 
	Please answer ALL questions about your business and industry thoroughly when completing these forms. For 
	additional information, call 1-800-562-3366.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 The BLS 3023-NVS form can now be filed electronically by using the Web ID and Password located in the 
	upper right-hand corner of the form. To complete the form electronically, log on to 
	https://idcfars.bls.gov
	https://idcfars.bls.gov

	/
	.

	LABOR MARKET INFORMATION (cont.)
	The Importance of Occupational Information
	The Importance of Occupational Information

	The LMID collects data directly from employers primarily using surveys, such as the Occupational Employment 
	The LMID collects data directly from employers primarily using surveys, such as the Occupational Employment 
	Statistics (OES) Survey, to learn about the occupations used by employers and the wages paid for those occupations. 
	The OES program produces employment and wage estimates annually for more than 827 occupations by industry and 
	geographic area.

	Occupational information forms the basis of good decisions made by employers, job seekers, workforce and 
	Occupational information forms the basis of good decisions made by employers, job seekers, workforce and 
	economic development professionals, educators, public program planners, and policy makers. For example:

	•
	•
	 Employers use occupational information for salary negotiations, to project future skills needs, and to keep a 
	competitive edge in the local community.

	•
	•
	 Job seekers use occupational information to become better informed about the education, training, skill, and 
	ability requirements for specific occupations thus enabling them to make better decisions when preparing and 
	applying for desired jobs.

	•
	•
	 Economic developers use wage data for business attraction and retention.

	•
	•
	 Educators and trainers use occupational information to identify areas where vocational and educational 
	programs are needed and to create or modify curriculum to better prepare students to meet the needs of 
	employers. 

	It is extremely important that you respond to a request for information from the LMID. Our ability to obtain information 
	It is extremely important that you respond to a request for information from the LMID. Our ability to obtain information 
	from employers about the occupations found in California is essential for the development of tools used by decision 
	makers throughout our economy. If you have received an 
	OES Survey
	, or would like more information about this 
	program, contact the EDD at 1-800-826-4896 or send an email to 
	LMIOccupationalSurvey@edd.ca.gov
	LMIOccupationalSurvey@edd.ca.gov

	.

	To access occupational information from the LMID, go to 
	To access occupational information from the LMID, go to 
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov

	 and select 
	“Occupations” or “Wages” under the “LMI by Subject” section of the website.


	INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE BY TOPIC
	INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE BY TOPIC
	If you have any questions regarding the following topics, please contact the designated agency or office.
	If you have any questions regarding the following topics, please contact the designated agency or office.

	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	California Personal 
	California Personal 
	California Personal 
	California Personal 
	Income Tax (PIT) 
	Withholding


	To request the California PIT withholding 
	To request the California PIT withholding 
	To request the California PIT withholding 
	tables or for information on whether 
	payments are subject to California PIT 
	withholding.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	Taxpayer Assistance Center

	Phone: 1-888-745-3886
	Phone: 1-888-745-3886

	Outside the U.S. or Canada, call 
	Outside the U.S. or Canada, call 
	 
	1-916-464-3502

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov




	Information on programming your 
	Information on programming your 
	Information on programming your 
	Information on programming your 
	computer or acceptable computer 
	software programs to calculate California 
	PIT withholding.

	NOTE:
	NOTE:
	 When you call the Franchise 
	Tax Board’s (FTB) assistance 
	number, please request to speak 
	to their Statistical Research 
	Section so they can provide the 
	appropriate assistance.


	Statistical Research Section 
	Statistical Research Section 
	Statistical Research Section 

	Franchise Tax Board MS 351
	Franchise Tax Board MS 351

	PO Box 1468
	PO Box 1468

	Sacramento, CA 95812-1468
	Sacramento, CA 95812-1468

	Automated phone service:
	Automated phone service:

	1-916-845-7057 tax practitioner line
	1-916-845-7057 tax practitioner line

	Assistance: 1-800-852-5711 
	Assistance: 1-800-852-5711 

	Hearing-impaired (TTY):
	Hearing-impaired (TTY):

	1-800-822-6268
	1-800-822-6268

	www.ftb.ca.gov
	www.ftb.ca.gov
	www.ftb.ca.gov




	California Tax Service 
	California Tax Service 
	California Tax Service 
	California Tax Service 
	Center (CTSC)


	This is a joint tax agency website. It 
	This is a joint tax agency website. It 
	This is a joint tax agency website. It 
	contains tax-related information from the 
	Employment Development Department, the 
	Franchise Tax Board, California Department 
	of Tax and Fee Adminstration, and the 
	Internal Revenue Service.


	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov




	CalJOBS
	CalJOBS
	CalJOBS
	CalJOBS
	SM


	An online labor exchange system 
	An online labor exchange system 
	An online labor exchange system 
	featuring self-service options to search 
	for jobs, build résumés, find qualified 
	candidates for employment, and gather 
	information on education and training 
	programs. 

	Employers and job seekers may contact 
	Employers and job seekers may contact 
	the nearest America’s Job Center of 
	California
	SM
	 for additional assistance. 
	 
	To locate your nearest office, visit:
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator

	.


	CalJOBS
	CalJOBS
	CalJOBS
	SM
	 Helpline
	 
	Monday through Friday

	8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (PT) 
	8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (PT) 

	 
	 
	 
	 
	y

	English
	English
	 ....................
	1-800-758-0398


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Spanish
	Spanish
	 ..................
	1-855-716-3518



	www.caljobs.ca.gov
	www.caljobs.ca.gov
	www.caljobs.ca.gov


	Workforce Services Division, MIC 50
	Workforce Services Division, MIC 50

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs

	_and_training



	Disability Insurance (DI)
	Disability Insurance (DI)
	Disability Insurance (DI)
	Disability Insurance (DI)


	Disability Insurance (DI) is a component 
	Disability Insurance (DI) is a component 
	Disability Insurance (DI) is a component 
	of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
	program. DI provides partial wage 
	replacement benefits to California 
	workers who are unable to work due 
	to a non-work-related illness or injury, 
	pregnancy, or childbirth.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Disability Insurance:
	Disability Insurance:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	y

	English
	English
	 ....................
	1
	-800-480-3287


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Spanish
	Spanish
	 ..................
	1-866-658-8846



	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-563-2441
	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-563-2441
	 
	Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
	 
	Phone: 1-855-342-3645
	 
	This phone number is dedicated to 
	employers and physicians/practitioners only.

	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability




	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business
	e-Services for Business


	A convenient and secure method for 
	A convenient and secure method for 
	A convenient and secure method for 
	managing your employer payroll tax 
	account, filing most of your returns and 
	reports, and paying tax deposits and 
	liabilities over the Internet. Refer to 
	 
	page 50
	page 50

	 
	for additional information.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Email: 
	Email: 
	ecom@edd.ca.gov
	ecom@edd.ca.gov


	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_
	Business



	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	Economic Development
	Economic Development
	Economic Development
	Economic Development


	The EDD Labor Market Information 
	The EDD Labor Market Information 
	The EDD Labor Market Information 
	Division offers data on occupational 
	wages and outlook, employment by 
	industry, and state and local labor market.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Labor Market Information Division
	Labor Market Information Division

	Phone: 1-916-262-2162
	Phone: 1-916-262-2162

	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov




	Employee Eligibility to 
	Employee Eligibility to 
	Employee Eligibility to 
	Employee Eligibility to 
	Work


	Under federal law, employers are required 
	Under federal law, employers are required 
	Under federal law, employers are required 
	to verify that every individual (citizen, 
	national, or alien) whom they hire has the 
	right to work in the U.S.

	The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
	The U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
	Services (USCIS) requires you to 
	complete an 
	Employment Eligibility 
	Verification
	 (Form I-9) for each person 
	hired to verify employment eligibility.


	U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
	U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
	U.S. Citizenship and Immigration 
	Services 

	Business Liaison
	Business Liaison

	Automated phone service:
	Automated phone service:

	1-800-357-2099
	1-800-357-2099

	Request a copy of the 
	Request a copy of the 
	Handbook for 
	Employers: Guidance for Completing 
	Form I-9
	 (M-274).

	www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis
	www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis
	www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis




	Employer Requirements
	Employer Requirements
	Employer Requirements
	Employer Requirements


	The Taxpayer Assistance Center can 
	The Taxpayer Assistance Center can 
	The Taxpayer Assistance Center can 
	answer your payroll tax questions 
	(e.g., employee and independent 
	contractor status, employer registration, 
	independent contractor reporting, and 
	new employee reporting).


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	Taxpayer Assistance Center

	Phone: 1-888-745-3886
	Phone: 1-888-745-3886

	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	contact_us_about_payroll_taxes.htm




	Employer Rights During 
	Employer Rights During 
	Employer Rights During 
	Employer Rights During 
	the Employment Tax 
	Audit and Collection 
	Process


	Employer rights are protected by the 
	Employer rights are protected by the 
	Employer rights are protected by the 
	Taxpayer Advocate Office during the 
	employment tax audit and collection 
	process. You may request assistance 
	from this office after first attempting 
	to resolve an issue with the EDD 
	representative, supervisor, and office 
	manager.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93
	Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Toll-Free:  1-866-594-4177
	Toll-Free:  1-866-594-4177

	Phone: 1-916-654-8957
	Phone: 1-916-654-8957

	Fax: 1-916-654-6969
	Fax: 1-916-654-6969

	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	taxpayer_advocate.htm




	Employment 
	Employment 
	Employment 
	Employment 
	Development 
	Department (EDD) 
	Website


	Provides a variety of information on 
	Provides a variety of information on 
	Provides a variety of information on 
	the EDD programs and services, forms 
	and publications, and links to other 
	government sites.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov




	Employment Tax Rates
	Employment Tax Rates
	Employment Tax Rates
	Employment Tax Rates


	A 
	A 
	A 
	Notice of Contribution Rates and 
	Statement of UI Reserve Account
	 
	(DE 2088) is mailed annually by 
	December 31 to notify employers of their 
	UI, ETT, and SDI tax rates. For additional 
	information, refer to
	 
	page 84
	page 84

	.

	Protests to the DE 2088 must be 
	Protests to the DE 2088 must be 
	submitted within 60 days of the “issued 
	date” on the notice.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Rate Management Group, MIC 4
	Rate Management Group, MIC 4

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-916-653-7795
	Phone: 1-916-653-7795

	(24-hour automated phone system)
	(24-hour automated phone system)



	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Panel


	Provides employers funding to train and 
	Provides employers funding to train and 
	Provides employers funding to train and 
	retain workers in targeted industries in 
	performance-based contracts. Includes 
	retraining current employees, training 
	new hires (unemployed individuals), and 
	Special Employment Training program. 
	For additional information, refer to 
	 
	page
	page
	 99

	.


	Employment Training Panel
	Employment Training Panel
	Employment Training Panel

	Sacramento
	Sacramento

	Central Office 1-916-327-5640
	Central Office 1-916-327-5640

	Regional Offices:
	Regional Offices:

	North Hollywood 1-818-755-1313
	North Hollywood 1-818-755-1313

	Sacramento 1-916-327-5239
	Sacramento 1-916-327-5239

	San Diego 1-619-881-1777
	San Diego 1-619-881-1777

	San Francisco Bay Area 1-650-655-6930
	San Francisco Bay Area 1-650-655-6930

	www.etp.ca.gov
	www.etp.ca.gov
	www.etp.ca.gov




	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	Federal Tax 
	Federal Tax 
	Federal Tax 
	Federal Tax 
	Requirements


	For federal employment tax and 
	For federal employment tax and 
	For federal employment tax and 
	personal income tax requirements, 
	contact the Internal Revenue Service 
	(IRS). The federal 
	Employer’s Tax 
	Guide
	 (Publication 15, Circular E) and 
	Employer’s Supplemental Tax Guide
	 
	(Publication 15-A) are available from IRS.


	Internal Revenue Service 
	Internal Revenue Service 
	Internal Revenue Service 

	Phone: 1-800-829-4933
	Phone: 1-800-829-4933

	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov
	www.irs.gov




	Federal Unemployment 
	Federal Unemployment 
	Federal Unemployment 
	Federal Unemployment 
	Tax Act (FUTA) 
	Certification


	The method the IRS uses to verify with 
	The method the IRS uses to verify with 
	The method the IRS uses to verify with 
	the states that the credit claimed on the 
	Form 940 or Form 1040, Schedule H, 
	was actually paid to the state. Refer to
	 
	page 84
	page 84

	 for additional information.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	FUTA Certification Unit 
	FUTA Certification Unit 

	Phone: 1-916-654-8545
	Phone: 1-916-654-8545



	Forms
	Forms
	Forms
	Forms

	•
	•
	 Alternate Tax Forms

	•
	•
	 Tax Forms and 
	Publications


	TD
	The requirements and approval for using 
	The requirements and approval for using 
	alternate forms to file your payroll tax 
	reports can be obtained by contacting the 
	alternate forms coordinator.


	TD
	EDD
	EDD

	Alternate Forms Coordinator
	Alternate Forms Coordinator

	Phone: 1-916-255-0649
	Phone: 1-916-255-0649



	Tax forms and publications are available 
	Tax forms and publications are available 
	Tax forms and publications are available 
	Tax forms and publications are available 
	on the Internet and Employment Tax 
	Offices.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Less than 25 copies: 1-888-745-3886
	Less than 25 copies: 1-888-745-3886

	25 copies or more: 1-916-322-2835
	25 copies or more: 1-916-322-2835

	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/forms_
	and_publications.htm


	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/




	Job Referral and 
	Job Referral and 
	Job Referral and 
	Job Referral and 
	Recruitment Services


	All questions regarding the EDD 
	All questions regarding the EDD 
	All questions regarding the EDD 
	Workforce Services or Workforce 
	Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) 
	services.


	EDD or local America’s Job Center of 
	EDD or local America’s Job Center of 
	EDD or local America’s Job Center of 
	California
	SM

	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/


	Employers:
	Employers:
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/
	Employers_Businesses.htm

	WIOA:
	WIOA:
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/jobs_and_training/
	Job_Seeker_Information.htm



	Labor Law Requirements
	Labor Law Requirements
	Labor Law Requirements
	Labor Law Requirements


	Information about workplace issues, 
	Information about workplace issues, 
	Information about workplace issues, 
	including those related to benefits, meal 
	breaks, and pay are available on the DIR 
	website.


	Department of Industrial Relations 
	Department of Industrial Relations 
	Department of Industrial Relations 

	www.dir.ca.gov
	www.dir.ca.gov
	www.dir.ca.gov




	Labor Market 
	Labor Market 
	Labor Market 
	Labor Market 
	Information


	California’s labor market information can 
	California’s labor market information can 
	California’s labor market information can 
	help with important business decisions. 
	Data available includes occupational 
	employment and wage data, industry 
	employment, labor force, and selected 
	population characteristics.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Labor Market Information Division
	Labor Market Information Division

	Phone: 1-916-262-2162
	Phone: 1-916-262-2162

	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov
	www.labormarketinfo.edd.ca.gov




	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	Paid Family Leave (PFL)
	Paid Family Leave (PFL)
	Paid Family Leave (PFL)
	Paid Family Leave (PFL)


	Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component 
	Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component 
	Paid Family Leave (PFL) is a component 
	of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
	program. PFL provides partial wage 
	replacement benefits to California 
	workers who take time off work to care for 
	a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, 
	grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, 
	or registered domestic partner. Benefits 
	are also available to new parents who 
	need time off to bond with a new child 
	through birth, adoption, or foster care 
	placement. 


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Paid Family Leave: 
	Paid Family Leave: 

	 
	 
	 
	 
	y

	English
	English
	 ....................
	1-877-238-4373


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Spanish
	Spanish
	 ..................
	1-877-379-3819


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Cantonese
	Cantonese
	 ..............
	1-866-692-5592


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Vietnamese
	Vietnamese
	 .............
	1-866-692-5596


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Armenian
	Armenian
	 ................
	1-866-627-1567


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Punjabi
	Punjabi
	 ...................
	1-866-627-1569


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Tagalog
	Tagalog
	 ...................
	1-866-627-1568



	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-445-1312
	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-445-1312
	 
	Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
	 
	Phone: 1-855-342-3645

	This phone number is dedicated to 
	This phone number is dedicated to 
	employers and physicians/practitioners only.

	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability




	Payroll Tax Seminars
	Payroll Tax Seminars
	Payroll Tax Seminars
	Payroll Tax Seminars


	Seminar topics include reporting 
	Seminar topics include reporting 
	Seminar topics include reporting 
	requirements, how to complete payroll 
	tax forms, and independent contractor 
	and employee issues.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	 
	Phone: 1-888-745-3886
	 
	Register online at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll

	_tax_seminars/
	.



	Reimbursable Method of 
	Reimbursable Method of 
	Reimbursable Method of 
	Reimbursable Method of 
	Paying Unemployment 
	Insurance (UI) Benefits


	Public employers and certain nonprofit 
	Public employers and certain nonprofit 
	Public employers and certain nonprofit 
	organizations have the option of 
	becoming “reimbursable” employers. 
	Employers using this method to pay UI 
	benefits are required to reimburse the UI 
	Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all UI 
	benefits paid to their former employees.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19
	Reimbursable Accounting Group, MIC 19

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280
	Sacramento, CA 94280

	Phone: 1-916-653-5846
	Phone: 1-916-653-5846



	School Employees Fund 
	School Employees Fund 
	School Employees Fund 
	School Employees Fund 
	(SEF)


	Only public school employers 
	Only public school employers 
	Only public school employers 
	(kindergarten through 12
	th
	 grade), 
	community colleges, and charter schools 
	may elect to participate in the SEF (UI 
	program) to finance UI benefits.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	School Employees Fund, MIC 13
	School Employees Fund, MIC 13

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280
	Sacramento, CA 94280

	Phone: 1-916-653-5380
	Phone: 1-916-653-5380
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	school_employees_fund.htm




	Small Business 
	Small Business 
	Small Business 
	Small Business 
	Assistance Center


	Located on the California Tax Service 
	Located on the California Tax Service 
	Located on the California Tax Service 
	Center website, it provides helpful 
	information about starting, running, or 
	closing your business.


	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov
	www.taxes.ca.gov




	State Disability 
	State Disability 
	State Disability 
	State Disability 
	Insurance (SDI) Program


	The SDI program provides two benefits: 
	The SDI program provides two benefits: 
	The SDI program provides two benefits: 
	Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family 
	Leave (PFL). DI provides partial wage 
	replacement benefits to California workers 
	who are unable to work due to a non-
	work-related illness, or injury, pregnancy, 
	or childbirth. PFL provides partial wage 
	replacement benefits to California workers 
	who take time off work to care for a 
	seriously ill family member. Benefits are 
	also available to new parents who need 
	time to bond with a new child through 
	birth, adoption, or foster care placement. 
	The SDI program is funded through 
	employee payroll deductions.


	EDD 
	EDD 
	EDD 
	 
	Disability Insurance:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	y

	English
	English
	 ....................
	1-800-480-3287


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Spanish
	Spanish
	 ..................
	1-866-658-8846



	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-563-2441
	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-563-2441

	Paid Family Leave:
	Paid Family Leave:

	 
	 
	 
	 
	y

	English
	English
	 ....................
	1-877-238-4373


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Spanish
	Spanish
	 ..................
	1-877-379-3819


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Cantonese
	Cantonese
	 ..............
	1-877-692-5595


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Vietnamese
	Vietnamese
	 .............
	1-866-692-5596


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Armenian
	Armenian
	 ................
	1-866-627-1567


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Punjabi
	Punjabi
	 ...................
	1-866-627-1569


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Tagalog
	Tagalog
	 ...................
	1-866-627-1568



	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-445-131
	Hearing Impaired (TTY): 1-800-445-131
	2
	 
	Employer/Physician-Practitioner:
	 
	Phone: 1-855-342-3645

	This phone number is dedicated to 
	This phone number is dedicated to 
	employers and physicians/practitioners only.

	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability




	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	SDI Online
	SDI Online
	SDI Online
	SDI Online


	SDI Online is an electronic claim filing 
	SDI Online is an electronic claim filing 
	SDI Online is an electronic claim filing 
	system available to claimants and 
	physicians/practitioners, for submission of 
	Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family 
	Leave claim information. Employers and 
	voluntary plan (VP) administrators can 
	securely submit employee information for 
	DI claims online.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Employer/Physician-Practitioner: 
	Employer/Physician-Practitioner: 
	1-855-342-3645

	This phone number is dedicated to 
	This phone number is dedicated to 
	employers and physicians/practitioners only.

	www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_online.
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_online.
	www.edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_online.
	htm




	State Information Data 
	State Information Data 
	State Information Data 
	State Information Data 
	Exchange System 
	(SIDES)


	SIDES is a secure and timely way for 
	SIDES is a secure and timely way for 
	SIDES is a secure and timely way for 
	employers and third party administrators 
	to electronically receive and respond 
	to the EDD’s
	 Notice of Unemployment 
	Insurance Claim Filed
	 (DE 1101CZ). 

	SIDES streamlines communication 
	SIDES streamlines communication 
	to helps employers manage their UI 
	account and reduce improper payments.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	SIDES E-Response Technical Support:
	SIDES E-Response Technical Support:
	 
	1-855-327-7057

	NASWA
	NASWA

	SIDES Web Service Technical Support
	SIDES Web Service Technical Support
	 
	tom.byerley@itsc.org
	tom.byerley@itsc.org


	This number is for employers with 
	This number is for employers with 
	inquiries related specifically to SIDES. 
	Employers with questions about the 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) program 
	should use the phone numbers listed 
	below under Unemployment Insurance 
	(UI) Benefits.



	Tax Debt – California 
	Tax Debt – California 
	Tax Debt – California 
	Tax Debt – California 
	Payroll Taxes

	•
	•
	 Offers in 
	Compromise

	•
	•
	 Settlements 
	Program


	Enables a qualified tax debtor to 
	Enables a qualified tax debtor to 
	Enables a qualified tax debtor to 
	eliminate an employment tax liability at 
	less than full value.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Offers in Compromise
	Offers in Compromise

	Phone: 1-916-464-2739
	Phone: 1-916-464-2739



	Provides employers and the state an 
	Provides employers and the state an 
	Provides employers and the state an 
	Provides employers and the state an 
	opportunity to avoid the cost of prolonged 
	litigation associated with resolving 
	disputed employment tax issues.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Settlements Office, MIC 93
	Settlements Office, MIC 93

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-916-653-9130
	Phone: 1-916-653-9130

	Fax: 1-916-653-7986
	Fax: 1-916-653-7986



	Taxpayer Assistance 
	Taxpayer Assistance 
	Taxpayer Assistance 
	Taxpayer Assistance 
	Center


	For general tax information, the Taxpayer 
	For general tax information, the Taxpayer 
	For general tax information, the Taxpayer 
	Assistance Center staff is available 
	8 a.m. to 5 p.m., PT, Monday through 
	Friday. The Center is closed on state 
	holidays.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Taxpayer Assistance Center
	Taxpayer Assistance Center

	Phone: 1-888-745-3886
	Phone: 1-888-745-3886

	Outside the U.S. or Canada, call 
	Outside the U.S. or Canada, call 

	1-916-464-3502
	1-916-464-3502



	Taxpayer Advocate 
	Taxpayer Advocate 
	Taxpayer Advocate 
	Taxpayer Advocate 
	Office


	If you are unable to resolve an 
	If you are unable to resolve an 
	If you are unable to resolve an 
	employment tax problem with an EDD 
	representative, supervisor, and office 
	manager, you can contact the Taxpayer 
	Advocate Office for assistance.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93
	Taxpayer Advocate Office, MIC 93

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Toll-Free: 1-866-594-4177
	Toll-Free: 1-866-594-4177

	Phone: 1-916-654-8957
	Phone: 1-916-654-8957

	Fax: 1-916-654-6969
	Fax: 1-916-654-6969

	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/
	taxpayer_advocate.htm




	Underground Economy
	Underground Economy
	Underground Economy
	Underground Economy


	Investigates businesses that are paying 
	Investigates businesses that are paying 
	Investigates businesses that are paying 
	workers undocumented cash payments 
	or not complying with labor, taxes, and 
	licensing laws.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Underground Economy Operations 
	Underground Economy Operations 

	Hotline: 1-800-528-1783
	Hotline: 1-800-528-1783

	Email: 
	Email: 
	ueo@edd.ca.gov
	ueo@edd.ca.gov


	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/ 
	underground_economy_operations.htm




	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	Unemployment 
	Unemployment 
	Unemployment 
	Unemployment 
	Insurance (UI) Benefits


	Provides temporary income to 
	Provides temporary income to 
	Provides temporary income to 
	unemployed workers who meet the UI 
	eligibility requirements.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Unemployment Insurance Services
	Unemployment Insurance Services

	Phone
	Phone

	 
	 
	 
	 
	y

	English
	English
	 .....................
	1-800-300-5616


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Spanish
	Spanish
	 ...................
	1-800-326-8937


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Cantonese
	Cantonese
	 ...............
	1-800-547-3506


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Vietnamese
	Vietnamese
	 ..............
	1-800-547-2058


	 
	 
	 
	y

	Mandarin
	Mandarin
	 .................
	1-866-303-0706



	Hearing Impaired (TTY)
	Hearing Impaired (TTY)
	 
	1-800-815-9387

	UI program self-service
	UI program self-service
	 
	1-866-333-4606

	  
	  

	Employer Information:
	Employer Information:

	Employers who call should listen to the 
	Employers who call should listen to the 
	introduction message, select language 
	choice, and press “5” for the employer 
	menu (available in English and Spanish) 
	that provides UI and Workforce Service 
	information. Employers can access the 
	EDD website at

	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment
	www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment

	/
	 and 
	select the “Employer Information” link. 

	Claimant Information:
	Claimant Information:

	File for UI benefits using one of the 
	File for UI benefits using one of the 
	following methods:

	• 
	• 
	• 
	• 

	Online:
	Online:
	 UI Online
	SM
	 is the fastest and 
	most convenient way to file your UI 
	claim. Visit 
	www.edd.ca.gov/UI_Online
	 
	to get started. 


	• 
	• 
	• 

	Phone:
	Phone:
	 Call one of the phone 
	numbers listed above and speak 
	with an EDD representative 8 a.m. 
	to 12 noon (PT). Monday to Friday, 
	except on state holidays.


	• 
	• 
	• 

	Fax or Mail:
	Fax or Mail:
	 When filing a new claim 
	through UI Online
	SM
	, some customers 
	will be instructed to fax or mail their 
	UI application to the EDD. If this 
	occurs, the 
	Unemployment Insurance 
	Application
	 (DE 1101I) will display. For 
	faster and more secure processing, 
	fax the completed form to the number 
	listed on the form. If you decide to mail 
	your UI application, use the address 
	on the form and allow additional time 
	for processing.





	Unemployment 
	Unemployment 
	Unemployment 
	Unemployment 
	Insurance (UI) Benefit 
	Charges


	A 
	A 
	A 
	Statement of Charges to Reserve 
	Account 
	(DE 428T) is mailed annually 
	in September. This statement is an 
	itemized list of UI charges to your reserve 
	account. For additional information, refer 
	to
	 
	page 95
	page 95

	.

	Protests to the DE 428T must be 
	Protests to the DE 428T must be 
	submitted within 60 days of the “issued 
	date” on the notice.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Contribution Rate Group, MIC 4
	Contribution Rate Group, MIC 4

	PO Box 826880
	PO Box 826880

	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
	Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

	Phone: 1-916-653-7795
	Phone: 1-916-653-7795

	(24-hour automated phone system)
	(24-hour automated phone system)



	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC
	TOPIC


	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION
	DESCRIPTION


	CONTACT
	CONTACT
	CONTACT



	Workers’ Compensation 
	Workers’ Compensation 
	Workers’ Compensation 
	Workers’ Compensation 
	Insurance


	If you have employees, you are required 
	If you have employees, you are required 
	If you have employees, you are required 
	by law to have workers’ compensation 
	insurance coverage. Failure to do so is 
	a crime and may result in penalties and 
	closure of your business.


	Your insurance agent or Division of 
	Your insurance agent or Division of 
	Your insurance agent or Division of 
	Workers’ Compensation

	Phone: 1-800-736-7401
	Phone: 1-800-736-7401

	www.dir.ca.gov
	www.dir.ca.gov
	www.dir.ca.gov




	Workforce Services
	Workforce Services
	Workforce Services
	Workforce Services


	The EDD Workforce Services Branch 
	The EDD Workforce Services Branch 
	The EDD Workforce Services Branch 
	offers a variety of services that bring 
	employers with job openings together 
	with qualified job seekers.


	EDD
	EDD
	EDD

	Find a Workforce Services site nearest 
	Find a Workforce Services site nearest 
	you at 
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/
	www.edd.ca.gov/Office_Locator/

	.



	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Credit (WOTC)


	The Employment Development 
	The Employment Development 
	The Employment Development 
	Department is the WOTC certifying 
	agency for California employers. WOTC 
	promotes the hiring of individuals who 
	qualify as a member of a target group, 
	and provides a federal tax credit to 
	employers who hire these individuals.


	EDD 
	EDD 
	EDD 

	Workforce Services 
	Workforce Services 

	Phone: 1-866-593-0173 
	Phone: 1-866-593-0173 

	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc
	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc
	www.edd.ca.gov/wotc
	 

	Email: 
	WOTCSupport@edd.ca.gov
	WOTCSupport@edd.ca.gov








	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	For the latest news and helpful information,
	 
	refer to the online quarterly 
	California Employer Newsletter
	 at
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm

	.


	GLOSSARY
	GLOSSARY

	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	Automated Clearing 
	House (ACH)


	Any entity that operates as a clearing house for electronic debit or credit transactions 
	Any entity that operates as a clearing house for electronic debit or credit transactions 
	Any entity that operates as a clearing house for electronic debit or credit transactions 
	pursuant to an Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) agreement with an association that is a 
	member of the National ACH Association.



	Base Period
	Base Period
	Base Period
	Base Period


	The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When a base 
	The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When a base 
	The base period consists of four calendar quarters of three months each. When a base 
	period begins and which calendar quarters are used depends on what date the claim begins 
	and whether the claim is for Unemployment Insurance (UI) or for State Disability Insurance. 
	For UI, there are two types of base periods: the Standard Base Period (see “Base Period, 
	Standard [UI]”) and Alternate Base Period (see “Base Period, Alternate [UI]”). The Alternate 
	Base Period can ONLY be used to file a UI claim when there are not enough wages earned in 
	the Standard Base Period to file a monetarily valid UI claim. 



	Base Period, Alternate 
	Base Period, Alternate 
	Base Period, Alternate 
	Base Period, Alternate 
	(UI)


	The UI Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior to the 
	The UI Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior to the 
	The UI Alternate Base Period is the last four completed calendar quarters prior to the 
	beginning date of the claim. The Alternate Base Period can only be used if an individual 
	cannot monetarily establish a valid UI claim using the Standard Base Period.



	Base Period Employer
	Base Period Employer
	Base Period Employer
	Base Period Employer


	Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a UI claim and calculate an award.
	Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a UI claim and calculate an award.
	Employers who paid the earnings used to establish a UI claim and calculate an award.



	Base Period, Standard 
	Base Period, Standard 
	Base Period, Standard 
	Base Period, Standard 
	(UI)


	The UI Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters 
	The UI Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters 
	The UI Standard Base Period is the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters 
	prior to the beginning date of the claim.



	CCR
	CCR
	CCR
	CCR


	The California Code of Regulations is available online at 
	The California Code of Regulations is available online at 
	The California Code of Regulations is available online at 
	www.calregs.com
	www.calregs.com

	.



	CUIAB
	CUIAB
	CUIAB
	CUIAB


	The California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board is available online at 
	The California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board is available online at 
	The California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board is available online at 
	 
	www.cuiab.ca.gov
	www.cuiab.ca.gov

	.



	California 
	California 
	California 
	California 
	 
	Unemployment 
	 
	Insurance Code (CUIC)


	The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training 
	The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training 
	The laws administering California’s Unemployment Insurance (UI), Employment Training 
	Tax (ETT), State Disability Insurance (SDI), and Personal Income Tax (PIT) programs. 
	The CUIC is available online at 
	http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
	http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml

	.



	Cash Wages
	Cash Wages
	Cash Wages
	Cash Wages


	Checks, currency, and electronic debit payments paid to employees.
	Checks, currency, and electronic debit payments paid to employees.
	Checks, currency, and electronic debit payments paid to employees.



	Charges
	Charges
	Charges
	Charges


	Amounts deducted from an employer’s reserve account or amounts reimbursable for 
	Amounts deducted from an employer’s reserve account or amounts reimbursable for 
	Amounts deducted from an employer’s reserve account or amounts reimbursable for 
	state UI benefits paid to former employees.



	Claim
	Claim
	Claim
	Claim


	An application for Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), or Paid Family 
	An application for Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), or Paid Family 
	An application for Unemployment Insurance (UI), Disability Insurance (DI), or Paid Family 
	Leave (PFL) benefits.

	•
	•
	 UI – The process that establishes a UI benefit year is called a new claim. 
	Weekly 
	Continued Claim
	 (DE 4581) forms are used by claimants to certify for UI benefits 
	during the benefit year. The EDD has two new methods that unemployed individuals 
	may use to certify for UI benefits. Rather than filling out and submitting a paper 
	DE 4581 by mail, EDD Tele-Cert
	SM
	 allows individuals to certify for benefits using the 
	phone and EDD UI Online
	SM
	 allows individuals to certify for UI benefits through the 
	EDD website. After establishing a benefit year, claimants can interrupt their claims 
	for a variety of reasons; for example, the claimant may receive a disqualification, 
	obtain intervening employment, or fail to continue to certify for benefits. The claimant 
	may request to reopen an existing claim with a claim balance during the benefit year.

	•
	•
	 DI – The application that establishes a DI benefit period is called an initial claim. 
	Subsequent certifications on that DI claim are called continued claims. For each 
	separate period of disability, a new first initial claim must be filed.

	•
	•
	 PFL – The application that establishes a PFL benefit period is called an initial 
	claim. Subsequent certifications on that claim are called continued claims. For each 
	separate period of family leave, an initial claim must be filed.



	Claimant
	Claimant
	Claimant
	Claimant


	A wage-earner who files a claim for UI, DI, or PFL benefits.
	A wage-earner who files a claim for UI, DI, or PFL benefits.
	A wage-earner who files a claim for UI, DI, or PFL benefits.



	Contributions
	Contributions
	Contributions
	Contributions


	Employer’s payroll tax payments for UI and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its 
	Employer’s payroll tax payments for UI and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its 
	Employer’s payroll tax payments for UI and ETT. The CUIC refers to taxes under its 
	provision as “contributions.” In this guide, “contributions” are generally referred to as “taxes.”



	Deposit
	Deposit
	Deposit
	Deposit


	An amount of money electronically submitted to the EDD with a 
	An amount of money electronically submitted to the EDD with a 
	An amount of money electronically submitted to the EDD with a 
	Payroll Tax Deposit
	 
	 
	(DE 88) through the EDD e-Services for Business website at 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	/e-Services_for_Business
	. For additional information, refer to
	 
	page 57
	page 57

	.



	Determination
	Determination
	Determination
	Determination


	A decision regarding a claimant’s eligibility to receive UI, DI, or PFL benefits.
	A decision regarding a claimant’s eligibility to receive UI, DI, or PFL benefits.
	A decision regarding a claimant’s eligibility to receive UI, DI, or PFL benefits.



	Disability Insurance (DI)
	Disability Insurance (DI)
	Disability Insurance (DI)
	Disability Insurance (DI)


	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when they are 
	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when they are 
	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who have a loss of wages when they are 
	unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related illness or 
	injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. DI is a component of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) 
	program and funded through SDI employee payroll withholdings.



	Electronic Funds
	Electronic Funds
	Electronic Funds
	Electronic Funds
	 
	Transfer (EFT)


	An electronic method of remitting state payroll tax payments. Funds are transferred from 
	An electronic method of remitting state payroll tax payments. Funds are transferred from 
	An electronic method of remitting state payroll tax payments. Funds are transferred from 
	your bank account (with payment information) to the state’s account.



	Employee
	Employee
	Employee
	Employee


	A wage-earner in employment covered by the CUIC.
	A wage-earner in employment covered by the CUIC.
	A wage-earner in employment covered by the CUIC.



	Employer Payroll Tax 
	Employer Payroll Tax 
	Employer Payroll Tax 
	Employer Payroll Tax 
	Account Number


	The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll tax 
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll tax 
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) eight-digit employer payroll tax 
	account number assigned to each registered employer (e.g., 000-0000-0). Always refer 
	to your EDD employer payroll tax account number when communicating with the EDD. 
	Omission of your employer payroll tax account number may result in delays in processing 
	payments, reporting documents, and correspondence.



	Employment Taxes
	Employment Taxes
	Employment Taxes
	Employment Taxes


	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
	Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding.



	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Fund


	A special fund in the State Treasury for depositing into or transferring all ETT 
	A special fund in the State Treasury for depositing into or transferring all ETT 
	A special fund in the State Treasury for depositing into or transferring all ETT 
	contributions collected from employers.



	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Employment Training 
	Panel (ETP)


	Administers the employment training funds that are provided by the ETT to train and retain 
	Administers the employment training funds that are provided by the ETT to train and retain 
	Administers the employment training funds that are provided by the ETT to train and retain 
	workers with job skills needed by employers. Funds may be used to train unemployed 
	individuals or to train and retain current workers of businesses, primarily businesses facing 
	out-of-state competition.



	Employment Training
	Employment Training
	Employment Training
	Employment Training
	 
	Tax (ETT)

	E-file and E-pay 
	E-file and E-pay 
	 
	Mandate


	An employer-paid tax that funds jobs skills training for employees in targeted industries to 
	An employer-paid tax that funds jobs skills training for employees in targeted industries to 
	An employer-paid tax that funds jobs skills training for employees in targeted industries to 
	improve the competitiveness of California businesses. Employers subject to ETT pay 
	 
	one-tenth of one percent (.001) of the first $7,000 in wages paid to each employee per year.

	State law requires all employers to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage 
	State law requires all employers to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage 
	reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development Department (EDD). 
	Employers with 10 or more employees became subject to this requirement beginning 
	January 1, 2017, and all remaining employers became subject to this requirement as of 
	January 1, 2018.



	e-Services for
	e-Services for
	e-Services for
	e-Services for
	 
	Business


	Online tool that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax accounts through the 
	Online tool that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax accounts through the 
	Online tool that allows employers to manage their employer payroll tax accounts through the 
	Internet. New employers can register for an employer payroll tax account online. Registered 
	employers can access account and payment information, file most returns and reports, pay 
	tax deposits and tax liabilities, review statements, correspondence, and email messages, 
	obtain tax rates, change addresses, make payment arrangements, close and/or reopen their 
	account. For additional information about the EDD e-Services for Business, refer to
	 
	page 50.
	page 50.




	Excluded Employment
	Excluded Employment
	Excluded Employment
	Excluded Employment


	Employment specifically excluded from pursuant to the CUIC.
	Employment specifically excluded from pursuant to the CUIC.
	Employment specifically excluded from pursuant to the CUIC.



	Experience Rating
	Experience Rating
	Experience Rating
	Experience Rating


	The system by which an employer’s UI contribution rate is determined each calendar 
	The system by which an employer’s UI contribution rate is determined each calendar 
	The system by which an employer’s UI contribution rate is determined each calendar 
	year based on previous employment experience.



	Good Cause
	Good Cause
	Good Cause
	Good Cause


	A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax report or 
	A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax report or 
	A substantial reason that provides a legal basis for an employer filing a tax report or 
	payment late. “Good cause” cannot exist unless there are unusual circumstances or 
	circumstances that could not be reasonably foreseen; for example, earthquakes or floods. 
	For more information, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.



	Household Employment
	Household Employment
	Household Employment
	Household Employment


	Describes employment of a household nature.
	Describes employment of a household nature.
	Describes employment of a household nature.



	Independent Contractor
	Independent Contractor
	Independent Contractor
	Independent Contractor

	Interstate Benefit Audit 
	Interstate Benefit Audit 


	An independent contractor (service-provider) is any individual who is not an employee of 
	An independent contractor (service-provider) is any individual who is not an employee of 
	An independent contractor (service-provider) is any individual who is not an employee of 
	the service-recipient for California purposes and who receives compensation or executes 
	a contract for services performed for that business or government entity in or outside of 
	California. For additional information about filing the 
	Report of Independent Contractor(s)
	 
	(DE 542), refer to
	 
	page 55
	page 55

	.

	Each quarter, the EDD runs a cross-match with wages earned in other states against 
	Each quarter, the EDD runs a cross-match with wages earned in other states against 
	California’s Unemployment Insurance Benefits paid file. When the crossmatch identifies 
	an overlap between the earnings reported by the out-of-state employers and weeks 
	the claimant was paid UI benefits, the system automatically generates the 
	Interstate 
	Unemployment Insurance Benefit Payment Audit 
	(IB 8605) that is mailed to the out-of-
	state employer(s).



	Labor Market
	Labor Market
	Labor Market
	Labor Market
	 
	Information


	California’s labor market information can help in making important business decisions. 
	California’s labor market information can help in making important business decisions. 
	California’s labor market information can help in making important business decisions. 
	Data available includes occupational employment and wage data, industry employment, 
	labor force, occupation and industry projections of employment, and selected population 
	characteristics.



	Mid-month Employment
	Mid-month Employment
	Mid-month Employment
	Mid-month Employment


	The number of full-time and part-time employees who worked during or received pay 
	The number of full-time and part-time employees who worked during or received pay 
	The number of full-time and part-time employees who worked during or received pay 
	subject to UI for the payroll period that includes the 12th day of the month.



	Multiple Establishment 
	Multiple Establishment 
	Multiple Establishment 
	Multiple Establishment 
	Employer


	An employer that maintains a business at more than one physical location and/or 
	An employer that maintains a business at more than one physical location and/or 
	An employer that maintains a business at more than one physical location and/or 
	conducts more than one business activity/function at the same location and the 
	secondary locations have a total of 10 or more employees.



	New Employee Registry 
	New Employee Registry 
	New Employee Registry 
	New Employee Registry 
	(NER)


	California’s new hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their new or 
	California’s new hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their new or 
	California’s new hire reporting program. Employers are required to report their new or 
	rehired employees within 20 days of their start-of-work date (refer to 
	Report of New 
	Employee(s)
	 [DE 34] on
	 
	page 53
	page 53

	).



	North American
	North American
	North American
	North American
	 
	Industry Classification 
	System (NAICS)


	The six-digit industry classification code that identifies the primary business functions of 
	The six-digit industry classification code that identifies the primary business functions of 
	The six-digit industry classification code that identifies the primary business functions of 
	an employer’s business. Visit the United States Census Bureau website at
	 
	www.census.gov/eos/www/naics
	www.census.gov/eos/www/naics

	 for more information.



	Paid Family Leave (PFL)
	Paid Family Leave (PFL)
	Paid Family Leave (PFL)
	Paid Family Leave (PFL)


	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously 
	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously 
	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who take time off work to care for a seriously 
	ill family member or to bond with a new child. PFL is a component of the State Disability 
	Insurance (SDI) program and is funded through SDI employee payroll withholdings.



	Payroll Period
	Payroll Period
	Payroll Period
	Payroll Period


	The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, bi-weekly (every two weeks), semi-monthly 
	The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, bi-weekly (every two weeks), semi-monthly 
	The frequency you pay wages: daily, weekly, bi-weekly (every two weeks), semi-monthly 
	(twice a month), etc.



	Payroll Records
	Payroll Records
	Payroll Records
	Payroll Records


	Records providing an accurate account of all workers (employed, laid off, on a leave of 
	Records providing an accurate account of all workers (employed, laid off, on a leave of 
	Records providing an accurate account of all workers (employed, laid off, on a leave of 
	absence, or an independent contractor) and all payments made.



	Payroll Taxes (State)
	Payroll Taxes (State)
	Payroll Taxes (State)
	Payroll Taxes (State)


	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
	Unemployment Insurance (UI) tax, Employment Training Tax (ETT), State Disability 
	Insurance (SDI) tax, and Personal Income Tax (PIT) withholding.



	Personal Income Tax 
	Personal Income Tax 
	Personal Income Tax 
	Personal Income Tax 
	(PIT) Wages


	All wages paid during the periods that are subject to PIT, even if they are not subject to 
	All wages paid during the periods that are subject to PIT, even if they are not subject to 
	All wages paid during the periods that are subject to PIT, even if they are not subject to 
	PIT withholding. The PIT wages consist of all compensation for services by employees for 
	their employer and include, but are not limited to, salaries, fees, bonuses, commissions, 
	and payments in forms other than cash or checks. Wages in any form other than cash 
	or checks are measured by the fair market value of the goods, lodging, meals, or other 
	compensation given in payment for the employee’s services. The calendar year total 
	for PIT wages should agree with the amount reported on the individual’s 
	Wage and Tax 
	Statement
	 (Form W-2), in Box 16 (State Wages, Tips, etc.).



	Personal Income Tax 
	Personal Income Tax 
	Personal Income Tax 
	Personal Income Tax 
	(PIT) Withholding


	California PIT is withheld from employees’ pay based on the 
	California PIT is withheld from employees’ pay based on the 
	California PIT is withheld from employees’ pay based on the 
	Employee’s Withholding 
	Allowance Certificate
	 (Form W-4 or DE 4) on file with the employer.



	Predecessor
	Predecessor
	Predecessor
	Predecessor


	A previous owner registered with the EDD as an employer.
	A previous owner registered with the EDD as an employer.
	A previous owner registered with the EDD as an employer.



	Prepayments (UI and 
	Prepayments (UI and 
	Prepayments (UI and 
	Prepayments (UI and 
	ETT)


	UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
	UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
	UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
	though they are not due until the end of the quarter.



	Registered Domestic 
	Registered Domestic 
	Registered Domestic 
	Registered Domestic 
	Partner


	A domestic partnership registered with the Secretary of State in California pursuant to 
	A domestic partnership registered with the Secretary of State in California pursuant to 
	A domestic partnership registered with the Secretary of State in California pursuant to 
	section 297 of the Family Code.



	Reimbursable Employer
	Reimbursable Employer
	Reimbursable Employer
	Reimbursable Employer


	A public entity employer or certain types of nonprofit employers who are permitted by law 
	A public entity employer or certain types of nonprofit employers who are permitted by law 
	A public entity employer or certain types of nonprofit employers who are permitted by law 
	to be billed for UI benefits after they are paid to former employees.



	Reserve Account
	Reserve Account
	Reserve Account
	Reserve Account


	A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment experience 
	A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment experience 
	A book account kept for each tax-rated employer to measure employment experience 
	and set the employer’s UI tax rate.



	Ruling on Benefit Claim
	Ruling on Benefit Claim
	Ruling on Benefit Claim
	Ruling on Benefit Claim


	For tax-rated employers, a ruling is the EDD decision as to whether an employer’s reserve 
	For tax-rated employers, a ruling is the EDD decision as to whether an employer’s reserve 
	For tax-rated employers, a ruling is the EDD decision as to whether an employer’s reserve 
	account will be charged for UI benefits. The ruling is based on the reason for separation.



	Ruling on Tax Question
	Ruling on Tax Question
	Ruling on Tax Question
	Ruling on Tax Question


	A decision, in writing, as to an employer’s subject status or tax liability in the stated 
	A decision, in writing, as to an employer’s subject status or tax liability in the stated 
	A decision, in writing, as to an employer’s subject status or tax liability in the stated 
	circumstances.



	School Employees Fund 
	School Employees Fund 
	School Employees Fund 
	School Employees Fund 
	(SEF)


	A UI financing method available only to public schools (kindergarten through 12
	A UI financing method available only to public schools (kindergarten through 12
	A UI financing method available only to public schools (kindergarten through 12
	th
	 grade), 
	community colleges, and charter schools.



	SDI
	SDI
	SDI
	SDI


	State Disability Insurance.
	State Disability Insurance.
	State Disability Insurance.



	SDI Online
	SDI Online
	SDI Online
	SDI Online


	An electronic claim filing system available to claimants and physicians/practitioners for 
	An electronic claim filing system available to claimants and physicians/practitioners for 
	An electronic claim filing system available to claimants and physicians/practitioners for 
	submission of Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) claim information. 
	Employers and voluntary plan administrators can securely submit employee information 
	(e.g., wages earned, last day worked, etc.) for DI claims online.



	Service-Provider
	Service-Provider
	Service-Provider
	Service-Provider


	A service-provider (independent contractor) is any individual who is not an employee of 
	A service-provider (independent contractor) is any individual who is not an employee of 
	A service-provider (independent contractor) is any individual who is not an employee of 
	the service-recipient for California purposes and who receives compensation or executes 
	a contract for services performed for that business or government entity in or outside of 
	California.



	Service-Recipient
	Service-Recipient
	Service-Recipient
	Service-Recipient


	Any business or government entity that, for California purposes, pays compensation to 
	Any business or government entity that, for California purposes, pays compensation to 
	Any business or government entity that, for California purposes, pays compensation to 
	an independent contractor (service-provider) or executes a contract for services to be 
	performed by an independent contractor in or outside of California.



	Settlement Date 
	Settlement Date 
	Settlement Date 
	Settlement Date 

	SIDES
	SIDES


	The date an electronic payment transaction is completed and posted on the books of the 
	The date an electronic payment transaction is completed and posted on the books of the 
	The date an electronic payment transaction is completed and posted on the books of the 
	Federal Reserve Bank and the state’s bank account.

	State Information Data Exchange System. Allows employers and third-party administrators 
	State Information Data Exchange System. Allows employers and third-party administrators 
	to electronically receive and respond to the EDD’s 
	Notice of Unemployment Claim Filed 
	(DE 1101CZ).



	SSN
	SSN
	SSN
	SSN


	Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim actions are filed under this 
	Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim actions are filed under this 
	Social Security number. All employee wage records and claim actions are filed under this 
	number, rather than by name.



	State Disability
	State Disability
	State Disability
	State Disability
	 
	Insurance (SDI)


	The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits 
	The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits 
	The SDI program provides Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits 
	to eligible workers who need time off work. DI benefits are paid to eligible California 
	workers who have a loss of wages when they are unable to work due to an illness or 
	injury, pregnancy, or childbirth. PFL benefits are paid to eligible California workers who 
	take time off work to bond with a new child or to care for an ill family member. The SDI 
	program is funded by mandatory payroll withholdings from employee wages.



	Subject Employer
	Subject Employer
	Subject Employer
	Subject Employer


	An employer who is liable pursuant to the rules and provisions of the CUIC.
	An employer who is liable pursuant to the rules and provisions of the CUIC.
	An employer who is liable pursuant to the rules and provisions of the CUIC.



	Subject Quarter
	Subject Quarter
	Subject Quarter
	Subject Quarter


	The calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting their 
	The calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting their 
	The calendar quarter when an employer first meets the requirements for reporting their 
	payroll taxes.



	Subject Wages
	Subject Wages
	Subject Wages
	Subject Wages


	Subject wages are used to determine UI, DI, and PFL benefits. Generally, all wages are 
	Subject wages are used to determine UI, DI, and PFL benefits. Generally, all wages are 
	Subject wages are used to determine UI, DI, and PFL benefits. Generally, all wages are 
	considered subject wages regardless of the UI and SDI taxable wage limits. Refer to 
	the inside front cover of this guide for current rates and taxable wage limits. For special 
	classes of employment and payments that may not be considered subject wages, refer 
	to 
	Information Sheet: Types of Employment 
	(DE 231TE) and 
	Information Sheet: Types of 
	Payments
	 (DE 231TP).



	Successor
	Successor
	Successor
	Successor


	A change in ownership or a new ownership of a business already registered with the EDD 
	A change in ownership or a new ownership of a business already registered with the EDD 
	A change in ownership or a new ownership of a business already registered with the EDD 
	as an employer.



	Tax-Rated Employer
	Tax-Rated Employer
	Tax-Rated Employer
	Tax-Rated Employer


	An employer who is required to register with the EDD and pay UI taxes each year on 
	An employer who is required to register with the EDD and pay UI taxes each year on 
	An employer who is required to register with the EDD and pay UI taxes each year on 
	wages paid to each of their employees, up to the UI taxable wage limit.



	Taxable Wage Limit
	Taxable Wage Limit
	Taxable Wage Limit
	Taxable Wage Limit


	The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a calendar 
	The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a calendar 
	The maximum amount of an employee’s wages that certain taxes apply to in a calendar 
	year. Refer to the inside front cover of this publication for taxable wage limits.



	Taxable Wages
	Taxable Wages
	Taxable Wages
	Taxable Wages


	Compensation paid for “covered employment” up to the taxable wage limits for the 
	Compensation paid for “covered employment” up to the taxable wage limits for the 
	Compensation paid for “covered employment” up to the taxable wage limits for the 
	year. Compensation includes wages and allowances such as meals, lodging, and other 
	payments in lieu of money for services rendered in employment.



	Unemployment
	Unemployment
	Unemployment
	Unemployment
	 
	Insurance (UI)


	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Recipients must meet 
	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Recipients must meet 
	Benefits paid to eligible California workers who are unemployed. Recipients must meet 
	specific qualifications to receive benefits. UI is funded by employer payroll taxes.



	UI and ETT Prepayment
	UI and ETT Prepayment
	UI and ETT Prepayment
	UI and ETT Prepayment


	The UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
	The UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
	The UI or ETT taxes that an employer voluntarily sends to the EDD during a quarter even 
	though they are not due until the end of the quarter.



	Voluntary Plan (VP)
	Voluntary Plan (VP)
	Voluntary Plan (VP)
	Voluntary Plan (VP)


	California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a VP for the 
	California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a VP for the 
	California law allows an employer to apply to the EDD for approval of a VP for the 
	payment of DI and PFL benefits in place of the mandatory SDI state plan. A VP must 
	provide all the benefits of SDI, at least one benefit that is better than SDI, and it 
	cannot cost employees more than SDI. Once a VP is approved, an employer is no 
	longer required to send SDI withholdings to the EDD. Instead, the employer holds the 
	contributions in a separate trust fund to pay the DI and PFL benefits and approved 
	expenses.







	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail
	Wage Detail


	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	Quarterly Contribution Return and Report of Wages (Continuation)
	 (DE 9C) filed each quarter 
	listing employee(s) full name, SSN, total subject wages, PIT wages, and PIT withholding.






	Wages
	Wages


	TD
	All payments made to employees, whether paid by check, cash, or the reasonable cash 
	All payments made to employees, whether paid by check, cash, or the reasonable cash 
	value of noncash payments, such as meals and lodging.



	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Work Opportunity Tax 
	Credit (WOTC)


	Federal tax credits for employers who hire and retain job seekers from any one of 10 
	Federal tax credits for employers who hire and retain job seekers from any one of 10 
	Federal tax credits for employers who hire and retain job seekers from any one of 10 
	different target groups.



	Worker Adjustment and 
	Worker Adjustment and 
	Worker Adjustment and 
	Worker Adjustment and 
	Retraining Notification 
	(WARN) Act


	Requires certain employers to give advance notice in the event of a plant closure or
	Requires certain employers to give advance notice in the event of a plant closure or
	Requires certain employers to give advance notice in the event of a plant closure or
	 
	mass layoff.
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	Reminder:
	Reminder:
	 All employers are required to electronically submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax 
	deposits to the Employment Development Department (EDD) as of January 1, 2018. Refer to
	 
	page 49
	page 49

	 for information 
	on the e-file and e-pay mandate and related noncompliance penalties.

	The Employment Development Department (EDD) provides easy access to its forms, publications, and information 
	The Employment Development Department (EDD) provides easy access to its forms, publications, and information 
	sheets by phone or online at 
	www.edd.ca.gov
	www.edd.ca.gov

	. If you require additional assistance, contact the Taxpayer Assistance 
	Center at 1-888-745-3886.

	By Phone:
	By Phone:
	 For quantities of 25 or more, call 1-916-322-2835.

	 For quantities of less than 25, call 1-888-745-3886.
	 For quantities of less than 25, call 1-888-745-3886.
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	/_/#1
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	The 
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	. You will receive 
	 
	a paper version of the guide each year until you access this link and specify you no longer want the paper guide.

	California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to electronically 
	California passed Assembly Bill (AB) 1245 (Chapter 222, Statutes of 2015) requiring all employers to electronically 
	submit employment tax returns, wage reports, and payroll tax deposits to the Employment Development Department.


	For the latest news and helpful information,refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at.
	For the latest news and helpful information,refer to the online quarterly California Employer Newsletter at.
	 
	 
	www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/california_employer_newsletter.htm
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	Learn more about payroll taxes through our seminars and online courses at
	_tax_seminars/.
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