
The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with 
disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1‑888‑745‑3886. TTY users, please call the 
California Relay Service at 711.
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Fact Sheet

Who is covered?
Anyone who receives a major part of their income 
from their self‑employment or business may elect to 
be covered by DIEC. Limited partners and corporate 
officers are not eligible since they are considered to be 
employees subject to the mandatory provisions of the 
California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC). 

What are the requirements to participate?
In order to participate, you must:

•	Own a business or be self‑employed.

•	Have a minimum income of $4,600 annually.

•	Possess a valid license, if required by the occupation.

•	Be able to perform all normal duties on a full‑time 
basis at the time the application is submitted.

•	Derive the major portion of your income from your 
trade, business, or occupation.

•	Be engaged in year‑round employment (cannot be 
seasonal).

•	Remain enrolled for two calendar years, unless your 
business is discontinued or moves out of California.

Eligibility and Benefits
DI benefits are payable up to 39 weeks for your own 
disability. PFL benefits are payable up to eight weeks 
to care for a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, 
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered 
domestic partner. PFL benefits are available to bond 
with a new child entering the family through birth, 
adoption, or foster care placement. PFL benefits are also 
available to participate in a qualifying event resulting 
from a spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, or 
child’s military deployment to a foreign country.

To receive benefit payments, you must:

•	Be approved for elective coverage before becoming 
disabled.

•	File a claim by mail in accordance with regulations.

•	Serve a 7‑day non‑payable waiting period (for DI 
claims).

•	Have paid contributions for at least one quarter during 
the 12‑month base period of the claim.

•	File a certificate of disability that is signed by an 
authorized medical or religious practitioner for your 
own disability (for DI) or for the care recipient (for 
PFL).

What is the cost to participate?
Contributions to this program are based on your 
businesses net profits as reported on Internal Revenue 
Service schedule SE or schedule C. Contributions may 
be reduced, if you become disabled for a portion of the 
payable quarter.

Disqualifications
Benefit payments cannot be made to persons who 
willfully make false statements or withhold material facts 
to gain benefits. You are also ineligible for benefits if:

•	Your coverage was terminated prior to becoming 
disabled (there is no vested interest).

•	You are in legal custody as the result of a conviction or 
when confined by a court order.

•	You are no longer in business.

•	Your quarterly contribution return is delinquent.

Applications and More Information
For additional information and to apply to the DIEC 
program, visit Self Employed Eligibility (edd.ca.gov/
Disability/Self-Employed_Eligibility.htm) or visit the 
nearest Employment Tax Office listed on the EDD’s 
Office Locator Page (edd.ca.gov/office_locator). You may 
also contact a DIEC Customer Service Representative at 
1‑916‑654‑6288 or the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 
1‑888‑745‑3886.

California’s Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) program provides Disability Insurance (DI) benefits to eligible 
self‑employed business owners who have a loss of income as a result of illness, injury, or pregnancy. Paid Family Leave 
(PFL) benefits are available to eligible self-employed business owners who take time off work to care for a seriously ill 
family member, to bond with a new child, or to assist a family member during a qualifying military event.

Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Program

http://edd.ca.gov/Disability/Self-Employed_Eligibility.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/office_locator


El EDD ofrece igualdad de oportunidad al empleo, acceso a sus programas y servicios. Servicios de asistencia para las personas 
con discapacidades están disponibles cuando se soliciten. Para pedir servicios, asistencia y/o formatos alternos, comuníquese al  
1‑888‑745‑3886 o por TTY  (teletipo) al 711.

Hoja de información
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Programa de Cobertura Electiva del Seguro de 
Incapacidad

¿Quién está cubierto?
Cualquier individuo que trabaje por cuenta propia y que 
gane la mayoría de sus ingresos principalmente de su 
oficio u negocio, puede elegir la cobertura del DIEC. Los 
socios limitados y los funcionarios de una empresa no son 
elegibles para esta cobertura, puesto que se les considera 
como empleados que son sujetos a las provisiones 
obligatorias del Código de Seguro de Desempleo de 
California (CUIC, por sus siglas en inglés).

¿Cuáles son los requisitos para participar?
Para participar, usted debe:
•	Ser propietario de un negocio o trabajar por cuenta 

propia. 
•	Tener un ingreso mínimo de $4,600 anualmente. 
•	Poseer una licencia válida para operar, si su ocupación 

así lo requiere. 
•	Estar capacitado para desempeñar todas las funciones 

regulares de empleo de tiempo completo en el momento 
en que presente la solicitud. 

•	Ganar la mayor parte de su ingreso directamente de su 
oficio, negocio, u ocupación. 

•	Trabajar durante todo el año (no puede ser de 
temporada). 

•	Permanecer inscrito durante dos años calendarios 
completos, a menos que el negocio deje de operar o se 
traslade fuera de California.

Elegibilidad y beneficios
Los beneficios del DI se pagan por un período máximo de 
39 semanas para su propia incapacidad. Los beneficios 
de PFL se pagan por un período máximo de 8 semanas 
para cuidar de un familiar gravemente enfermo tal como 
un niño, padre, suegro, abuelo, nieto, hermano, esposo 
o pareja domestica debidamente registrada; o para 
establecer un vínculo paternal con un hijo recién nacido, 
adoptado o bajo el cuidado de crianza temporal (foster 
care). Usted también puede ser elegible para los beneficios 
del PFL si participa en un evento aprobado como resultado 
del despliegue militar de su esposo, pareja domestica 
debidamente registrada, padre o hijo a un país extranjero. 
Para recibir pagos de beneficios, usted debe:
•	Ser aprobado para recibir cobertura electiva antes de 

estar incapacitado.   

•	Presentar una solicitud por correo postal de acuerdo a la 
regulación. 

•	Cumplir con un período de espera de siete días sin pago 
(para solicitudes del DI).

•	Haber pagado las contribuciones en por lo menos un 
trimestre durante el período reglamentario de los 12 
meses de la solicitud. 

•	Presentar un certificado que compruebe su incapacidad, 
firmado por un médico/profesional médico o médico 
practicante religioso para su propia incapacidad (para el 
DI) o por la persona que está recibiendo el cuidado (para 
PFL). 

¿Cuál es el costo para participar?
Las contribuciones hechas a este programa son basadas 
en las ganancias netas del negocio declaradas al Servicio 
de Impuestos Internos, en el Anexo SE o Anexo C. Las 
contribuciones pueden ser reducidas, si desarrolla una 
incapacidad durante la porción del trimestre elegible.

Descalificaciones
Los pagos de beneficios no se pueden hacer a los 
participantes que intencionalmente hacen declaraciones 
falsas o retienen información importante para intentar 
recibir beneficios. Usted tampoco es elegible para recibir 
beneficios si:
•	La cobertura se dio por terminado antes de que 

desarrollara la incapacidad (no hay intereses adquiridos).
•	Se encuentra en custodia legal (encarcelado) como 

resultado de una condena judicial o internado por medio 
de una orden de la corte judicial.

•	Ya no tiene el negocio.
•	Falló en declarar sus ingresos en un trimestre anterior.

Solicitudes e información adicional
Para obtener información adicional y solicitar para el 
programa de DIEC, visite la página titulada en inglés Self 
Employed Elegibility (edd.ca.gov/Disability/Self-Employed_
Eligibility.htm), o visite la oficina de impuestos más cercana 
a usted. Para localizar la oficina más cercana, visite la página 
titulada Localizador de Oficinas (edd.ca.gov/office_locator/
espanol.htm). También puede comunicarse con un 
representante del DIEC al 1-916-654-6288 o el Centro de 
Asistencia al Contribuyente del EDD, llamando al  
1-888-745-3886.

El programa de Cobertura Electiva del Seguro de Incapacidad de California (DIEC, por sus siglas en inglés) proporciona beneficios 
del Seguro de Incapacidad (DI, por sus siglas en inglés) a propietarios de negocios o individuos que trabajan por cuenta propia 
que son elegibles y que han sufrido una pérdida de ingresos a causa de una enfermedad, lesión o embarazo. Los beneficios del 
Permiso Familiar Pagado (PFL, por sus siglas en inglés) están disponibles para propietarios de negocios o individuos que trabajan 
por cuenta propia que deben ausentarse del empleo para cuidar de un familiar que se encuentra gravemente enfermo, para 
establecer un vínculo paternal con un nuevo hijo o para asistir a un miembro de familia durante un evento militar aprobado.

http://edd.ca.gov/Disability/Self-Employed_Eligibility.htm
http://edd.ca.gov/Disability/Self-Employed_Eligibility.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/office_locator/espanol.htm

