

What Is Nonindustrial Disability Insurance-Family Care Leave?

Nonindustrial Disability Insurance-Family Care Leave (NDI-FCL) provides partial-wagereplacement benefits to covered state government employees who have a loss of income due to:

- Caring for a seriously ill family member.
- · Bonding with a new child.
- Participating in a qualifying military event.

How Do I Apply?

Get a Claim for Nonindustrial Disability Insurance - Family Care Leave (NDI-FCL) (DE 8501F):

- From the attendance clerk or department personnel office.
- By calling the State Employee Claim Office at 1-866-758-9768.

For NDI-FCL claims, the attendance clerk will complete Part A of the claim form. The remaining parts should be completed according to the specific claim type. Please review "How to Complete the DE 8501F" on page 1 of the application for instructions on completing the application.

What Are the Eligibility Requirements for NDI-FCL?

Benefits should be paid to covered employees who can't do their regular work because of one of these reasons:

- To care for a seriously ill child, parent, parentin-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner.
- To bond with a new child entering the family through birth, adoption, or foster care placement.
- To participate in a qualifying event when a spouse, registered domestic partner, parent, or child is on military deployment to a foreign country.

Benefits will not be paid:

- For any day of entitlement to temporary workers' compensation benefits or Industrial Disability Leave.
- For any day that wages are paid as sick leave, vacation, compensatory time off, or catastrophic leave.
- For any day that unemployment benefits are paid.
- For any day on or after separation or retirement from state service.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879. TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.

This pamphlet is for general information only and does not have the force and effect of law, rule, and regulation.

DE 8502F Rev. 4 (10-24) Internet



Page 1 of 2





Who Is Covered?

NDI-FCL benefits are for permanent or probationary full-time, part-time, or intermittent employees. They must be members of the Public Employees' Retirement System (PERS) or the State Teachers' Retirement System (STRS).

Employees do not have to contribute any money, fees, or exams to be covered. To qualify, permanent part-time and intermittent employees must have been paid for 6 months in the 18 months prior to being disabled.

NDI-FCL also covers:

- California State University employees who are halftime or more for at least one year of service or one academic year.
- Employees are enrolled in the Annual Leave Program. This includes those excluded or represented by a specific bargaining unit that has NDI-FCL language in their Memorandum of Understanding. Contact your personnel specialist for more details.
- Full-time, permanent part-time, or intermittent officers or employees of the State Legislature who are not members of the civil service.

Who Is Not Covered?

Some state employees are not covered by NDI-FCL. They may be covered by State Disability Insurance (SDI) and receive Paid Family Leave (PFL), depending on their bargaining unit and eligibility.

For more information on SDI for state employees, visit <u>SDI for State Employee's FAQ</u> (edd.ca.gov/disability/FAQ_DI_State_Employees.htm).



Once your Attendance Clerk or Payroll Officer has completed Part A - Employee Information, the following will be completed:

Care Claims

Complete Part B. The care recipient will complete Part D and the treating licensed health professional will complete Part E. You must have a licensed health professional to certify the claim.

Bonding Claims

Complete Parts B and C. You must provide proof of relationship with one of these documents:

- 1. Copy of the birth certificate.
- 2. Adoptive placement agreement.
- Foster care placement record.

Military Assist Claims

Complete Parts B and F. You must have supporting military documentation.

Allow at least 14 days for for the claim to be processed. If you are eligible for benefits, an Authorization to Pay Nonindustrial Disability Insurance or Nonindustrial Disability Insurance - Family Care Leave (DE 8500A) will be mailed to your employer. It will include the dates you may be paid by your employer.

You will receive a *Nonindustrial Disability Insurance* or *Nonindustrial Disability Insurance - Family Care Leave* (DE 8500). It will inform you of the dates you are eligible for benefits. Benefits will be paid only for the days for which you are entitled.

How Much Can I Receive?

Benefits are paid monthly. NDI-FCL provides up to 50% or more of your pay for 6 weeks (42 days) in a 12-month period. The benefit amount and leave credits vary according to your employment status and collective bargaining agreement.

Eligible employees who participate in the state's Annual Leave Program can receive NDI-FCL benefits. You will receive up to 50 percent of your paycheck. You can supplement this with leave credits to receive 75 or 100 percent of your paycheck.

State and federal taxes will be withheld from NDI-FCL benefits. Voluntary deductions will be subtracted from NDI-FCL benefits unless cancelled. These include health insurance premiums, credit union loans, savings accounts, bonds, parking fees, etc. If you keep health insurance premium deductions, the state's employer contribution will also continue.

What if I'm Denied?

If your benefits are denied, you will get a Notice of Determination (DE 8517) by mail. It will state the reason for the denial and the time.

Direct questions about benefit eligibility to the State Employee Claims Office at 1-866-758-9768. You may appeal the decision by the State Employee Claim Office by submitting a written request for a hearing.

