

More Considerations

- We may contact you and your patient to get more information for a longer disability period, or to find out how symptoms or diagnosis is disabling.
- We may request an exam by an independent medical examination to determine the patient's ability to perform their regular work. The examiner prepares a report which we review to confirm or adjust the allowable duration of the disability.
- If you would like to become an independent medical examiner for Paid Family Leave and disability claims, visit Roles of Licensed Health Professional in State Disability Insurance (edd.ca.gov/en/ disability/Physicians-Practitioners).

You may also contact us at 1-916-654-8621.



Contact Information

For more information about disability, visit <u>State Disability Insurance</u> (edd.ca.gov/Disability).

Phone

1-800-480-3287 English

1-866-658-8846 Spanish

SDI Online help line for licensed health professionals 1-855-342-3645.



State of California

Employment Development Department

This pamphlet is for general information only, and does not have the force and effect of the law, rule or regulation.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer or program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.



Licensed
Health
Professionals'
Guide to
Disability
Insurance





What Is Disability Insurance?

Disability Insurance (DI) is part of the State Disability Insurance (SDI) program and provides short-term wage replacement to eligible California workers. Disability provides:

- Benefits to workers unable to perform their regular or customary work due to a non-work-related illness or injury.
- Customers with about 70 to 90 percent of past wages for up to 52 weeks.

DI is funded entirely by workers' payroll deductions and administered by the EDD.

What does Disability Include?

- Any illness or injury, either physical or mental, preventing an individual from working.
- Elective surgery, pregnancy, or pregnancy-related conditions.
- Acute drug-induced illness being medically treated, and subject to certain conditions, including resident status in a recovery facility licensed and certified by the State Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs.

 Not able to work because of an order issued by a state or local health office for an individual who is, or may be, infected with a communicable disease.

Disability Is Not Workers' Compensation and Social Security Disability Insurance

Workers' compensation (WC) is employer-funded insurance covering short and long-term work-related injuries or illnesses. WC includes several types of benefit payments and supplemental services.

In most cases, disability and WC benefits cannot be paid for the same or overlapping period.

Social Security Disability Insurance is a federal program providing benefits to individuals with long-term disabilities or terminal conditions. DI is a component of a state program which provides short-term benefits to individuals with disabilities.

What is My Role as a Licensed Health Professional?

You determine whether your patient's physical or mental health condition causes a wage loss.

Be sure to include the following in your medical certification:

- · Your name.
- Your medical license number.

- · Your signature.
- Your patient's diagnosis and corresponding International Classification of Diseases (ICD) code.
- Estimated duration your patient is unable to work.

How Do I Submit a Medical Certification?

You can complete the medical certification of *Claim for Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits* (DE 2501) through **myedd.edd.ca.gov** or by mail. Your patient depends on your prompt submission to receive timely payments.

- Online: Enter the receipt number (provided by the individual filing for EDD benefits) and their last name. To submit your portion online, the individual filing for benefits must have already submitted their part of the DE 2501 electronically. For step-by-step directions on how to complete your portion online, visit SDI Online Tutorials (edd.ca.gov/disability/SDI_Online_Tutorials.htm).
- Mail: Sign Part B Physician and Practitioner's Certification of the DE 2501 paper form.

Who Can Certify a Disability?

The following are authorized to complete the medical certification:

- Licensed medical or osteopathic physician or surgeon.
- Authorized medical officer of a U.S. government facility.

- · Chiropractor.
- · Podiatrist.
- · Optometrist.
- Dentist.
- · Psychologist.
- Nurse practitioner or physician assistant.
- Licensed midwife, nurse-midwife, nurse practitioner for pregnancy, childbirth or postpartum conditions consistent with the scope of their professional licensing.
- · Accredited religious practitioner.

Medical Extensions

If your patient's disability continues, you will need to certify to the continued disability period. Use your SDI Online account to submit extension information.

Your patient must return the medical extension form that you have completed and signed to continue receiving benefits. You can also submit the form electronically through SDI Online.

Submit the extension form within 20 days of the issue date. We cannot continue paying benefits to the customer until this information is received.