## **Notice to Employees**



Your employer is registered with and reporting wages to the Employment Development Department (EDD) as required by law. Wages are used for the following benefit programs, which are available to you.

## **Disability Insurance**

You may be eligible for partial wage-replacement benefits through Disability Insurance (DI) when you are unable to work due to a non-work-related illness, injury, pregnancy, or disability.

Your employer must provide the *Disability Insurance Provisions* (DE 2515) brochure to each newly hired employee to describe benefits and eligibility requirements. You must meet all eligibility requirements to receive disability benefits.

- Request claim forms from your licensed health professional, employer, or from any California State Disability Insurance (SDI) Claims Management office. You can also order claim forms online by visiting <u>EDD Forms and Publications</u> (forms.edd.ca.gov/forms).
- File your Claim for Disability Insurance (DI) Benefits (DE 2501) within 49 days of the first day of your disability to avoid losing benefits.
- If you have disability coverage under your employer's voluntary plan, get disability claim forms from your employer or the designated third-party administrator.
- Visit <u>Disability Insurance</u> (edd.ca.gov/Disability/Disability\_Insurance.htm) to learn how to apply for benefits.

## **Paid Family Leave**

You may be eligible for partial wage-replacement benefits through Paid Family Leave (PFL) when you stop working or reduce your work hours to:

- Care for a family member who is seriously ill.
- Bond with a new child.
- Take part in a qualifying event resulting from a family member's military deployment to a foreign country.

Your employer must provide a copy of the *California Paid Family Leave* (DE 2511) brochure to each newly hired employee to describe benefits and eligibility requirements. You must meet all eligibility requirements to receive family leave benefits.

- Request claim forms from your licensed health professional, employer, from any California SDI Claims Management office. You can also order claim forms online by visiting <u>EDD Forms and Publications</u> (forms.edd.ca.gov/Forms).
- File your Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits (DE 2501F) within 41 days of the first day of your family leave to avoid losing benefits.
- If you have PFL coverage under your employer's voluntary plan, get PFL forms from your employer or designated third-party administrator.

For more information about DI and PFL, visit <u>State Disability Insurance</u> (edd.ca.gov/Disability).

DI: Call 1-800-480-3287. TTY (for deaf or hearing-impaired individuals only) 1-800-563-2441.

PFL: Call 1-877-238-4373. TTY (for deaf or hearing-impaired individuals only) 1-800-445-1312.

State Government employees should call 1-866-352-7675 for DI and 1-877-945-4747 for PFL.

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.

DE 1858 Rev. 7 (4-22) (INTERNET)
Page 1 of 1