California’s

Paid Family Leave

Moments matter.

Paid Family Leave Claimant Overview
State Disability Insurance Program
Employment Development Department




Provides up to 8 weeks
of partially paid leave in a
12-month period.

Can be used to
bond with a new child
or to care for an
ill family member.
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Pald Family Leave

Can be used intermittently
overa 12-month period.

Thereis no
waiting period.
Payment begins

the first day of leave.

You pay into the State

Disability Insurance (SDI)

program. Itis not

government assistance.
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Paid Family Leave
and Caregivers

California’s Paid Family Leave (PFL) pays eligible employees up to
eight weeks of benefits to be there for the moments that matter

most.
PFL Care provides partially paid leave if you are:

» Caring for a seriously ill or injured child, parent, parent-in-law,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered
domestic partner.

» Caring for an out-of-state or out-of-country family member.

You receive approximately 60 to 70 percent of your salary while
using PFL.

State of California



Paid Family Leave
and Bonding

PFL Bonding provides up to eight weeks of partially paid leave for
mothers and fathers to bond with a new child within the child's first
year.

» Use to bond with a biological, foster, or adopted child.

» Requires documentation showing proof of relationship such as
the child’s birth certificate, birth record, or foster/adoptive
placement agreement.

You receive approximately 60 to 70 percent of your salary while
using PFL.




L

Disability Insurance, Paid Famlly

Leave, and New/Expecting Mothers

New mothers file for Disability Insurance (DI) followed by PFL, for example:

Disability Insurance Paid Family Leave

A

Recovery Bonding

Pregnancy

(4 weeks before birth)

(6 - 8 weeks after birth) (8 weeks after recovery)*

mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

State of California

*You can break up your eight weeks of PFL. You do not have to use it all at once.



Filing a Paid Family Leave Claim

Complete and submit your PFL claim within 41 days from the date

your family leave begins by:

C(% SDI Online: Filing electronically through SDI Online is strongly
recommended because it expedites the review process.

@ Mail

*A PFL claim form will automatically be sent to new moms electronically or by mail at the end of their pregnancy-related DI claim.

...........

Personal Information
Full Name:

Mailing Address:

Residence Address:

E-mail Address:

Current Disability Insurance Claim(s)

EDD Customer Account Number:

Phone Number:

Cell Phone Number:
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Paid Family Leave
and SDI Online

@a Online

SDI Online is a fast, convenient, and secure way to
submit your PFL claim online. If you file electronically, do
not send in the paper form.

Create or access your account by visiting
SDI Online.

Personal Information

Full Name: EDD Customer Account Number:

Mailing Address: Phone Number:

Cell Phone Number:

E-mail Add 2

Current Disability Insurance Claim(s)

Found

Pending Disability Insurance Claim Application(s)

Submitted Paid Family Leave Claim Forms
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https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/SDI_Online.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/SDI_Online.htm
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Filing a Paid Family Leave
Care Claim

@ By mail

A properly completed PFL care claim will include:

» PartA - Statement of Claimant

» Page 2 - Care Recipient’s Authorization

» Part C - Statement of Care Recipient

» PartD - Physician/Practitioner’s Certification

Obtain the Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits
(DE 2501F) application by ordering through

Online Forms and Publications, calling 1-877-238-4373,
or picking one up at your local SDI office.
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https://forms.edd.ca.gov/forms
https://forms.edd.ca.gov/forms
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Filing a Paid Family Leave
Bonding Claim

@ By mail

A properly completed PFL bonding claim will include:

NO SEPARE LAS PAGINAS

» PartA - Statement of Claimant
» PartB - Bonding Certification

» Supporting documentation verifying the relationship between
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you and the new child.

Obtain the DE 2501F application by ordering through
Online Forms and Publications, calling 1-877-238-4373, or
picking one up at your local SDI office.
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https://forms.edd.ca.gov/forms
https://forms.edd.ca.gov/forms

Calculating the Benefit Amount

EDD::: Q

Your weekly benefit amount is determined by your highest quarter of earnings in your “base
Calentaor-Pisbility insutance aRaiald period” (wages subject to SDI tax earned 5-18 months prior to your claim start date).

Family Leave
Step 2 of 3 . ) ) ) )
The “base period” covers a 12-month period and is broken into 4 consecutive quarters. For

nearest dollar) for the following months:

|| Check here if your salary was the same for each month.

example, if your PFL claim begins in April, May, or June, your weekly benefit amount is

* July 2017
0

calculated from your highest quarter of earnings paid to you between January 1 and

* August 2017
0

SE— ; December 31 of the prior year.

0

* October 2017

0 _ Simplify this process by using the Disability Insurance and Paid Family Leave Weekly

* Novem*

Benefits Calculator to estimate your weekly benefit amount.
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https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/PFL_Calculator.htm

Determining Paid Family Leave
Eligibility

Have you paid into California’s SDI program (usually noted as CASDI on a paystub) in
the past 5-18 months prior to taking leave?

» “YES” - You are most likely eligible for benefits.
» “NO” - Not all employees pay into SDI, thus you are not eligible for these programs.
Review paystubs before assuming eligibility.

Eligibility is not based on length of service or the number of employees your company
has on staff.

Citizenship and immigration status do not affect eligibility.

Payment is not guaranteed until the claim has been approved by the Employment
Development Department (EDD).

Only 8 weeks of benefits can be claimed per 12-month period.




Employment Status and Paid Family Leave

Your eligibility is determined by If unemployed, you

e el must have collected Unemployment

Insurance and/or be actively looking
for work to qualify for PFL.

California’s SDI in
the past 5-18 months.

You may still qualify for PFL If self-employed, you may be eligible if
if you are seasonal, : you are contributing to the
part-time, or unemployed. 4 Disability Insurance Elective Coverage

program.
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Job Protections

No,

However, other state and
the SDI program does not

Does the SDI program :
_ . federal laws may apply while

provide job protection? provide job protection, :
you are using your leave.

just paid benefits.
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Job Protections (Cont.)

Laws that may apply while receiving DI or PFL benefit payments:
» Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

» California Family Rights Act (CFRA)

» New Parent Leave Act (NPLA)

» Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA)

» Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL)

Speak with your employer to obtain unpaid job-protected leave.
Visit the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing
and the U.S. Department of Labor to learn more.



https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/
https://www.dfeh.ca.gov/
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla
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For more information, visit:

» edd.ca.gov/paidfamilyleave
» CaliforniaPaidFamilyLeave.com

Contact EDD

» English: 1-877-238-4373

» Spanish: 1-877-379-3819

» Cantonese: 1-866-692-5595
> Vietnamese: 1-866-692-5596
» Armenian: 1-866-627-1567
» Punjabi: 1-866-627-1568
>
>

CALIFORNIA
PAID FAMILY LEAVE

moments matter.
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Tagalog: 1-866-627-1569
TTY: 1-800-445-1312

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available
upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate
formats need to be made by calling 1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call the
California Relay Service at 711.



https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/Paid_Family_Leave.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/Paid_Family_Leave.htm
https://californiapaidfamilyleave.com/
https://californiapaidfamilyleave.com/

Tell Your Paid Family Leave Story

California PFL allows you to be
there for the moments that matter.

CALIFORNIA §8 L Share your PFL story on Instagram
PAID FAMILY LEAVE e acA prL (O
moments matter. —
#MomentsMatter
#PFL
#PaidLeave
#CAPFL

#CAPaidFamilyLeave

mmmmmmmmmm

Stafe of California




