
Paid Fami ly  Leave 

Helping 
Californians  
be there for  
the moments 
that matter.
A helpful guide for employers  
and community counselors.
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Paid Family Leave
Paid Family Leave (P F L) provides up to eight weeks of partial-wage-
replacement to eligible Californians who need time away from work to:

• Care for a seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, 
sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner.

• Bond with a new child entering the family by birth, adoption, or foster 
care placement.

• Take part in a qualifying event because of a spouse, registered domestic 
partner, parent, or child’s military deployment to a foreign country, including 
arranging childcare or making financial arrangements.

This guide is designed to help employees and customers in understanding 
and navigating the P F L program so they can be present for the moments that 
matter most.

Who Pays for P F L?
P F L is funded entirely by employees through State Disability Insurance (S D I) 
deductions from their paychecks (noted as “C A S D I” on most paystubs). P F L 
is not a government welfare or aid program.
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What Counts as a  
Qualifying Event for P F L?
There are three life events that qualify for P F L – bonding, caregiving, and 
participating in a qualifying military event.

Bonding – A new parent must 
be taking time off work to welcome 
a new child into the family through 
birth, adoption, or foster care 
placement. Bonding benefits must be 
taken within 12 months of the child 
entering the family. 

A parent is defined as an individual, 
spouse, or registered domestic 
partner who will be serving as a 
parent for the child.

Caregiving – An individual must 
be taking time off work to care for a 
seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-
law, grandparent, grandchild,  
sibling, spouse, or registered 
domestic partner. 

P F L defines seriously ill as an illness, 
injury, impairment, or physical or 
mental condition that requires:

• At-home care or in-patient care in 
a hospital, hospice, or residential 
medical care facility.

• Continuing treatment by a licensed 
health professional.

Military Assist – An individual 
must be taking time off work to take 
part in a qualifying event resulting 
from a spouse, registered domestic 
partner, parent, or child’s military 
deployment to a foreign country. 

A qualifying event is any military event 
or an essential need resulting from 
a family member’s deployment to a 
foreign country. For P F L, the military 
event does not have to occur in 
California. Qualifying events include:

• Arranging for childcare or parental 
care during the deployment.

• Helping make legal or financial 
arrangements during the 
deployment.

• Attending counseling.

• Helping the military member during 
rest and recuperation leave.

• Attending military sponsored 
events or ceremonies.

• Representing the military member 
at federal, state, or local events.

• Addressing issues due to the 
military member’s death.
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How does P F L Work? 
California employees are eligible for 
partial-wage-replacement benefits 
that can be taken all at once or split 
over a 12-month period. 

• Example: To bond with a new
child, leave can be taken anytime
within the first 12 months of a child
entering the family.

• Example: After adopting a new
child, a parent may take two
weeks of P F L at first; and then the
remaining time eight months later,
should they need it.

What is Integration of 
Wages with Benefits?
P F L provides 70 to 90 percent of an 
employee’s past salary. Employers 
may allow employees to use vacation, 
sick, paid time off, or other leave 
to supplement their P F L benefits 
to receive 100 percent of their pay. 
Employees can use the Disability 
Insurance and P F L Calculator  
(edd.ca.gov/PFL_Calculator) to 
estimate their weekly benefits.

Does P F L Provide Job Protection?
P F L does not provide job protection, just paid benefits. However, employees 
may qualify for job protection through other laws that can be taken at the 
same time as P F L. Employees should check with human resources about job 
protection before applying for P F L. 

Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) – FMLA is a federal law that
gives eligible employees 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month 
period to bond with a new child, to care for an ill family member, or to participate 
in a qualifying military event. Visit the Department of Labor  
(dol.gov/agencies/whd/fmla) to learn more. 

California Family Rights Act (CFRA) – CFRA allows eligible
employees up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period 
to bond with a new child or to care for a seriously ill family member. 

New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) – NPLA provides eligible employees 12
weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave to bond with a new child within one year of 
the child’s birth, adoption, or foster care placement. The law covers individuals 
who work for small employers with 20 or more employees. 

Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) – FEHA does not provide
job protection during PFL, but it does provide job protection to individuals while 
they are using Disability Insurance (DI) for pregnancy disability, childbirth, or 
a related medical condition. The law prohibits employer discrimination due to 
disability or pregnancy. 

To learn more, visit the California Civil Rights Department (calcivilrights.ca.gov).
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How Do P F L and DI Benefits Work Together? 
Caregiving 

An employee receiving DI benefits due 
to a non-work-related injury or illness 
may require care due to their disability. 
Their family members may be eligible 
to receive PFL benefits to take time 
away from work to provide that care. 

Bonding 

A mother receiving DI benefits due to 
pregnancy or childbirth may move from 
her DI claim to a PFL bonding claim 
and will automatically receive a Claim 
for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits - 
New Mother (DE 2501FP) form when 
her pregnancy-related DI claim ends.
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How Can Employees Apply for P F L?
They can apply online or by mail using a paper claim form. Claims should be 
submitted no later than 41 days after individuals begin their family leave but not 
before the first day of leave.

What Information Is Needed to File?
• Name of the employer.
• Date they want their claim to begin.

This would be their first day of
family leave.

• Wages paid (if any), and last
day of work.

• Claim specific supporting
documentation.

Bonding claims
• Documentation showing proof of

relationship with their child.

Examples include:

- Birth certificate.
- Adoptive placement agreement.
- Foster care placement record.

Caregiving claims
• Medical certification showing that

the care recipient has a serious
health condition and requires care.
This must be completed by
a licensed health professional.

• Information about the person who
will be cared for and their signature.

Military assist claims
• Military assist certification.
• Supporting military documents.

Examples include:

- Covered active-duty orders.
- Letter of impending call or order

to covered duty.
- Documentation of military leave

signed by the approving authority
for the military member’s rest
and recuperation.

• Documents for the qualifying event.

Where Can Employees 
Apply for Benefits?
1. Visit SDI Online

(edd.ca.gov/SDI_Online).

2. Register for a new SDI Online
account or sign in to an
existing account.

3. Select New Claim.

To Apply for Benefits 
by Mail:
1. Complete a Claim for Paid Family

Leave (P F L) Benefits (D E 2 5 0 1 F) 
form (available in English and
Spanish). To order a paper English
claim or to download the Spanish
form (D E 2 5 0 1 F/S), visit 
EDD Forms and Publications
(edd.ca.gov/forms).

2. Submit the completed form with all
required documentation to EDD.
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What Happens Next?
• A properly completed claim, including all additional documents,  

typically takes two weeks to be processed.

• We will mail a Notice of Computation (DE 429DF) to confirm that we received 
their claim and provide their estimated benefit amount.

• Individuals will know we approved their claim once they receive an  
Electronic Benefit Payment (EBP) Notification (DE 2500E). 

• The individual can choose their payment option when filling out their 
claim form.

• We will contact the individual if we need more information or if their 
claim was denied.
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 
individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 
1-866-490-8879 (voice). TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.

English  .....................................1-877-238-4373 
Spanish  ...................................1-877-379-3819 
Cantonese  .............................. 1-866-692-5595 
Vietnamese  ............................1-866-692-5596 
Armenian  .................................1-866-627-1567 
Punjabi  ....................................1-866-627-1568 
Tagalog  ....................................1-866-627-1569 
TTY  ..........................................1-800-445-1312

For more information, call or visit Contact SDI  
(edd.ca.gov/Disability/Contact_SDI.htm)  
for office locations.
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