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Joint Enforcement Strike Force (JESF)
 
Combating California’s Underground Economy 

“Underground Economy” refers to those individuals and businesses that deal in cash and/or use 
other schemes to conceal their activities and their true tax liability from government license, 

regulatory, and tax agencies. 

What is JESF? 

The JESF is a coalition of California State government 
enforcement agencies that work together and in 
partnership with local and federal agencies to combat 
the underground economy to ensure a level playing 
field for California businesses. The JESF goals are 
intended to help restore economic stability and to 
improve working conditions and consumer and 
worker protection in the state. 

The goals of the JESF are to: 

• Eliminate unfair business competition. 

• Protect workers by ensuring that they receive all 
compensation, benefits, and worker protections 
they are entitled to by law. 

• Protect the consumer by ensuring that all 
businesses are properly licensed and that they 
adhere to the state’s consumer protection 
regulations. 

• Reduce the burden on law-abiding citizens and 
businesses by ensuring that all businesses and 
individuals comply with the state’s licensing, 
regulatory, and payroll tax laws. 

• Reduce the tax gap by increasing voluntary 

compliance with the state’s payroll tax laws to 

maximize the state’s general and special fund 

revenues.
 

The JESF was established by Executive Order to: 

• Develop and share information necessary to 

combat the underground economy.
 

• Improve the coordination of enforcement activities. 

• Develop methods to pool, focus, and target the 
enforcement resources of all JESF members. 
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The Underground Economy in California
 

What does it cost? 

The actual size of the underground economy is 
difficult to measure. Estimates are that underground 
activity in the United States in 2012 totaled as much 
as $2 trillion, according to a study by Edgar Feige, an 
economist at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. In 
2012, the IRS released tax gap estimates for the  tax 
year 2006. 

The tax gap is defined as the amount of tax liability 
faced by taxpayers that is not paid on time. After 
adjusting for audit and collection activities, the IRS 
estimates that in 2006 the net national tax gap was 
approximately $385 billion. In its March 2015 report, 
California’s Little Hoover Commission indicated, 
“The underground economy also robs the state of an 
estimated $8.5 billion to $10 billion in uncollected 
tax revenue, money that could fund education, 
law enforcement, or long-overdue infrastructure 
investments or reduce taxes for the majority of 
Californians who play by the rules.” 

In January 2005, Barron’s Online featured the article, 
Going Underground, by Jim McTague, states in part: 

Reports on the underground economy indicate it 
imposes significant burdens on revenue needed 
to fund critical state programs and businesses that 
comply with the law. When businesses operate 
in the underground economy, they gain an unfair, 
competitive advantage over businesses that comply 
with labor, licensing, and payroll tax laws. This causes 
unfair competition in the marketplace and forces law-
abiding businesses to pay higher taxes and expenses. 

Individuals working in noncompliant businesses can 
be directly affected. Their working conditions may 
not meet the legal requirements, which can put them 
in danger. Their wage earnings may be less than what 
is required by law, and benefits they are entitled to 
can be denied or delayed because their wages are not 
properly reported. Consumers can also be affected 
when contracting with unlicensed businesses. 
Licensing provisions are designed to ensure sufficient 
skill and knowledge to protect consumers. 

As illustrated above, the underground economy 
impacts not only businesses but workers and 
consumers as well. 

America has two economies, and one is flourishing at the expense of the 
other. First, there’s the legitimate economy, in which craftsmen are licensed 
and employers and employees pay taxes. Then there’s the fast-growing 
underground economy, where millions of workers are paid off-the-books, 
their incomes largely untaxed. 
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What is JESF’s Legal Authority?
 
On October 26, 1993, the Governor signed Executive 
Order W-66-93, which created the JESF on the 
underground economy. The Governor subsequently 
signed Senate Bill 1490, which placed the provisions 
of the executive order into law as section 329 of the 
California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC), 
effective January 1, 1995. 

The Employment Development Department (EDD) 
is the lead agency for JESF, and the Director of EDD 

or his or her designee, is the chairperson. The JESF 
is responsible for enhancing the development and 
sharing of information necessary to combat the 
underground economy, to improve the coordination 
of enforcement activities, and to develop methods 
to pool, focus, and target enforcement resources. 
The JESF is empowered and authorized to form joint 
enforcement teams when appropriate to utilize the 
collective investigative and enforcement capabilities 
of JESF members. 

JESF members includes but is not limited to the following: 
• Employment Development Department (EDD) 

• Franchise Tax Board (FTB) 

• Contractors’ State License Board (CSLB) 

• Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) 

• California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) 

• California Department of Insurance (CDI) 

• California Occupational Safety and Health Administration (Cal/OSHA) 
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Employment Development
 
Department (EDD)
 

California employers are required to file payroll 
reports and pay the associated taxes. Failure to report 
and pay tax obligations may result in the following 
actions: 

• Investigation of your business by the Compliance 
Development Operations unit of the EDD. 

• Payroll tax audit conducted on your business. 

• Assessments levied that include taxes, interest, 
and penalties up to 120 percent of the amount of 
contributions. 

• Criminal charges instituted in addition to 
administrative penalties. 

• Felony criminal conviction that includes time in 
jail or prison, fines of up to $20,000 per charge, 
or both imprisonment and fine in addition to 
administrative penalties. 

• Criminal and felony charges can include restitution 
of taxes plus penalties, interest, and cost of the 
investigation. 

• Seizure of current and future assets of your 
business. 

For general information,
 
call 1-888-745-3886
 

or access the EDD website 

at www.edd.ca.gov.
 

To report fraud, 

call 1-800-528-1783.
 

Franchise Tax 

Board (FTB)
 

The FTB is responsible for administering California’s 
income tax programs. 

• Filing a false state income tax return or failing 
to file a state income tax return is punishable by 
imprisonment in the county jail up to one year or 
in the state prison for up to three years, fines up to 
$50,000 for individuals ($200,000 for 
corporations), or both, plus penalties. 

• Failure to comply with corporation’s income tax 
obligations can result in the suspension of all 
corporate powers, rights, and privileges. 

• The FTB may take action to seize both current 
and future assets if you or your business owes 
delinquent state income taxes. 

For income tax questions, 

call 1-800-852-5711
 

or access the FTB website 

at www.ftb.ca.gov.
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Contractors’ State License 

Board (CSLB)
 

The CSLB licenses California’s 300,000 contractors 
and regulates the construction industry. 

Under California law, all home improvement or 
construction work valued at $500 or more must be 
performed by a CSLB-licensed contractor. 

Contracting without a license is illegal. 

• The first offense for misdemeanor unlicensed 
activity carries a maximum of six months in county 
jail or an administrative fine up to $5,000. 

• A second violation carries a mandatory 90 day 
county jail sentence in addition to fines. 

• Third and subsequent convictions carry a 
mandatory fine of $5,000 to $10,000 (or 20 
percent of the contract price), and 90 days to one 
year in county jail. 

For questions or to report unlicensed activity, call the 
CSLB Statewide Investigative Fraud Team: 

Northern California: 1-916-255-2924 
Central California: 1-559-490-0581 
Southern California: 1-562-345-7600 

Contact CSLB at 1-800-321-CSLB  
or visit www.cslb.ca.gov. 

Division of Labor Standards 

Enforcement (DLSE)
 

If you are an employer with employees, you need to 
comply with the laws relating to: 

• Workers’ Compensation Insurance. 

• Itemized wage statements. 

• Minimum wage. 

• Overtime. 

• Child labor. 

Failing to comply with labor laws can result in 
penalties assessed against your business and may 
include: 

• Fines of $250 per worker, per pay period, for failing 
to issue completed itemized wage statements to the 
workers. 

• Fines of $1,500 per worker for failing to maintain a 
current workers’ compensation insurance policy for 
the workers. 

• Your business could be issued a Stop Order 
Assessment and be barred from using employee 
labor until a valid workers’ compensation insurance 
policy is secured. 

For local office locations and phone 
numbers, go to the DLSE website at 

www.dir.ca.gov/dlse. 
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California Department of 
Tax and Fee Administration 

(CDTFA) 
Under California law, anyone selling tangible, 
personal property in California must obtain a seller’s 
permit. Sellers of cigarette or tobacco products in 
California also must obtain a license prior to selling 
these products. 

Sales Tax 

It is illegal to engage in business without a seller’s 
permit or after a permit has been suspended or 
revoked. Violators may be subject to: 

• Misdemeanor fines up to $5,000 and/ or up to one 
year in county jail. 

Cigarette and Tobacco License 

It is illegal to sell cigarettes or tobacco products in 
this state without a license or after a license has been 
suspended or revoked under the California Cigarette 
and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003. 
Violators may be subject to: 

• Seizure of your cigarettes and/or tobacco products. 

• Misdemeanor fines up to five times the retail value 
of the seized cigarettes or tobacco products or 
$5,000, whichever is greater, and/or up to one year 
in county jail. 

Individuals found evading business taxes in excess 
of $25,000 in a 12-month period may be subject to 
felony prosecution. 

Contact the CDTFA Tax Evasion Hotline 
at 1-888-334-3300. For questions, call the 
CDTFA at 1-800-400-7115 or access the 

CDTFA website at www.cdtfa.ca.gov. 

California Department of 

Insurance (CDI)
 

California employers are required by law to maintain 
workers’ compensation coverage for their employees. 
Misrepresentations by employers to insurance carriers 
in order to receive a reduced premium for workers’ 
compensation coverage and willful failure to secure 
workers’ compensation coverage are violations 
of the law and could result in criminal sanctions 
including jail, prison, and fines. Examples of violations 
investigated by the CDI include: 

• Premium fraud-making a false or fraudulent 
statement for the purpose of reducing premium, 
rate, or cost of workers’ compensation insurance 
is a violation of section 11760 or 11880 of the 
Insurance Code. Violation of either of these 
sections is punishable by up to five years in state 
prison and a $50,000 fine. 

• Willful failure to secure workers’ compensation for 
one’s employees is a violation of section 3700.5 of 
the Labor Code, a misdemeanor punishable by up 
to one year in county jail and a $10,000 fine for 
the first offense. 

Contact the CDI Fraud Division 
 
at 1-916-854-5760 or access 
 

the CDI website 
 
at www.insurance.ca.gov.
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California Occupational 
Safety and Health 

Administration 
(CAL/OSHA) 

California employers have a legal obligation 
to provide and maintain a safe workplace 
for employees. 

Failing to provide a safe workplace can 
result in the issuance of citations for alleged 
violations of occupational safety and health 
regulations. 

• Serious violations can carry penalties up 
to $25,000 each. 

• Willful, serious violations can carry 
penalties up to $70,000 each. 

• In addition, Cal/OSHA has the authority 
to shut down dangerous equipment and 
job sites, and may refer cases to district 
attorneys for criminal prosecution in 
flagrant cases. 

Free resources are available to assist 
employers with compliance on workplace 
safety and health regulation. The Cal/ 
OSHA Consultation Service provides on-site 
visits and compliance assistance including 
phone support, education outreach, and 
publications. 

Contact Cal/OSHA at 
1-800-963-9424 or access the 

Cal/OSHA website at 
www.dir.ca.gov. 

Help us Fight Fraud 
The JESF has a charge to investigate businesses that 
avoid paying taxes, many of which are part of the 
underground economy. If you would like to help 
us protect workers and create a level playing field 
for business competition, the EDD offers several 
methods for reporting such businesses: 

• Impacted Workers: If you are a worker who has 
been inappropriately treated as an independent 
contractor or expected to take cash wages 
under the table, please contact us to provide 
information so that we can investigate the 
business. 

• Impacted Businesses/Competitors: If you are 
a business and you have information that 
indicates that another business, competitor, 
or supplier is operating in the underground 
economy, please contact JESF to supply 
information so that we can investigate the 
business. 

You can elect to remain anonymous when 
providing information on businesses suspected of 
operating in the underground economy. Due to 
confidentiality constraints, JESF can never release 
information about the business or the investigation 
results. 

To report fraud, call the JESF hotline 
at 1-800-528-1783. 

The EDD, an equal opportunity employer/program, is a partner in this publication. Auxiliary aids and services are available 
upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 
1-888-745-3886 (voice), or TTY 1-800-547-9565. 
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