
     

  
 

      
 

 

 
 

 
 

  
 

  
 

   
   

       
  

     
    

     
       

  

 
 

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS ABOUT THE 
CALIFORNIA INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR REPORTING LAW 

(Section 1088.8  of the California Unemployment Insurance Code) 

Q1.  Who has to report?  
A1. Any business or government entity (defined as a “service-recipient”) that is required to file a federal Miscellaneous Income, 

Form 1099-MISC, for  services  performed by  an independent contractor (defined as  a “service-provider”) must report. 

Q2.  Who is a service-recipient?  
A2.  A service-recipient is any  business or government  entity  that is  required to file a federal Form 1099-MISC for services  

performed by an independent  contractor  (IC).  A service-recipient means  any individual, person, corporation, association,  or  
partnership, or  agent thereof,  doing  business in this  state,  deriving trade or business income from sources within this  state, or  
in any manner in the  course of  trade or business subject to the  laws of this  state.  A service-recipient also  includes the State of 
California  or any  political subdivision  thereof, including the  Regents  of the University of California, any charter city, or  any  
political  body not a subdivision or agency of the  state, and any person, employee,  department, or agent.  

Q3.  Who is a service-provider?  
A3.  A service-provider  is defined as an IC.  An IC is  any individual  or sole  proprietor who is not an employee of the service-

recipient for California purposes and who receives  compensation or  executes  a contract for services performed in or  outside  
California.   

Q4.  What information do I report?  
A4.  You are required to provide the following information.  

Business or government  entity’s (service-recipient):  

• Federal employer identification number (FEIN) or 
Social Security number (SSN) 

• California employer payroll tax account number 
(if applicable) 

• Business name, address, and phone number 

Q5. When do I have to report? 

Independent contractor’s (service-provider): 

• First name, middle initial, and last name 
• Social Security number (SSN) 
• Address 
• Start date of contract (if no contract, the date payments 

equal $600 or more) 
• Amount of contract, including cents (if applicable) 
• Contract expiration date (if applicable) 
• Ongoing contract (check box if applicable) 

A5. As of January 1, 2001, you must report information to the Employment Development Department (EDD) within 20 days of 
either making payments totaling $600 or more or entering into a contract for $600 or more with an IC in any calendar year, 
whichever is earlier. Report each IC once each year. 

Q6.  What do I do if it is difficult to  determine when the  contract  will  equal or  exceed $600 or if there is  no set contract  amount?  
A6. If you are unable to determine when total payments made equal or exceed $600, you may estimate the dollar amount of the 

contract and check the box on the Report of Independent Contractor(s), DE 542, that  indicates  “ongoing.”  If there is no set 
contract amount, you may report when the aggregate payments in  a calendar  year equal or  exceed $600  and check the 
“ongoing” box.  

Q7.  If the cost of parts and materials is included in the  contract or  payments, is this cost included  in determining if the $600  
threshold has been met?  

A7.  Yes.  If either the  contract amount or  amount paid includes the  cost of parts  or materials, that cost is to be included in  
determining whether the service-provider has been paid $600  or more.  

Q8.  How do I report?  
A8. You are encouraged to report online using of the options available with the EDD e-Services for Business. Visit the website at 

www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business to choose the option that is best for you. You can also fax your completed DE 542 to 
916-319-4410 or mail it to: 

Employment Development Department 
PO Box 997350, MIC 96 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7350 

DE 542FAQ Rev. 6 (9-16) (INTERNET) Page 1 of 3 CU  

http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de542.pdf
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
http://www.irs.gov/
www.edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business
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Q9. How do I obtain the DE 542 forms and/or whom do I contact if I have questions? 
A9. For assistance or to order forms, please call 916-657-0529, Monday through Friday, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Pacific Time (PT).  

You may also call our toll-free number 888-745-3886, visit your local Employment Tax Customer Service Office, order forms 
online at www.edd.ca.gov/Forms, or download them at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm.

Q10.  What is the  purpose of the IC reporting  law?  
A10. The information you provide to EDD will increase child support collection by helping to locate parents who are delinquent in 

their child support obligations. 

Q11.  What type of  penalty is charged if the report  is late?  
A11. The EDD may assess a penalty of $24 for each failure to comply within the required time frames. Also, a penalty of $490 may 

be assessed for the failure to report IC information if the failure is the result of conspiracy between the service-recipient and 
service-provider. 

Q12.  Do I report ICs who work in another state?  If my  business is not in California, do  I report the  ICs?  
A12. Under California law, “service-recipients” must report “service-providers.” By definition, a service provider is an IC who provides 

services (rather than goods) to a business or government entity; a service-recipient must meet one of these three criteria: 

1. Does business in California. 
2. Derives trade or business income from sources within California. 
3. In any manner in the course of a trade or business is subject to the laws of California. 

If your business/government entity meets one or more of the three service-recipient criteria, you must report ICs whose 
services are performed for any of your business operations that also meet at least one of the three criteria. 

Example #1 
Your business is headquartered in California and, therefore, meets one of the service-recipient criteria. Your California office 
hires an IC who lives and works in New York. You must report this IC to the EDD since the IC performs services for your 
California business operation. 

Example #2 
Your business is headquartered in California and, therefore, meets one of the service-recipient criteria. You also have a 
business operation in Massachusetts. The Massachusetts location hires a Massachusetts-based IC to perform janitorial services 
in Massachusetts. You do not have to report this IC to the EDD since the IC performs services for a business operation that 
does not meet any of the service-recipient criteria. 

Example #3 
Your business is headquartered in North Dakota and has a branch office in California that uses ICs. Those ICs should be 
reported since the California office meets the service-recipient criteria. However, if the North Dakota office hires an IC to 
perform services for the North Dakota location, those services would not be reported because the IC performs services for an 
office that does not meet any of the service-recipient criteria. 

Example #4 
Your business is headquartered in Indiana and does not have any branch offices in California. Your business is registered with 
a California State agency to have independent sales agents (ICs) sell your products in California. You must report these ICs to 
the EDD since they perform services for a business operation deriving income from California and subject to some California 
laws, thereby, meeting two of the service-recipient criteria. 

Q13.  Do any other states require IC reporting?  
A13. Yes. According to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Alabama, Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, 

Minnesota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Ohio, and the territory of Guam require some sort of IC reporting. 

Q14.  Can other states report their ICs  to  California and vice versa?  
A14. No. There are no reciprocal agreements between the states for this purpose. 

Q15.  If my business contracts with a  service-provider that  is a  corporation, general  partnership, or  limited liability  company, must  
this service-provider be reported?  

A15. No. The legislative requirements only call for the reporting of service-providers who are individuals working as ICs. 
In general, ICs who are sole proprietors are to be reported to the EDD. 

Q16.  My service-providers have FEINs and business names. How do I determine if they are sole proprietors? Can I report their  
FEINs instead of their  SSNs?  

A16. By statute, you are required to obtain the first name, last name, and SSN of any service-providers that are sole proprietors. 
The federal Request for Taxpayer Identification Number and Certification, Form W-9, requires sole proprietors to list their first 
and last names. You may want your service-providers to complete new Forms W-9. If the SSN is still not known after 
reviewing the Form W-9, ask the service-provider for the SSN. 

www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Forms_and_Publications.htm
www.edd.ca.gov/Forms
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Q17.  If my business contracts with a  service-provider on more than one occasion during a year,  are  the  individual contracts  
cumulative in reaching the  $600 reporting threshold?  Also, if I report a service-provider  during the  year and then enter into 
another contract  that again calls for at  least $600 in compensation, must the service-provider  be reported a second time?  

A17.  The threshold for requiring reporting is $600 in a  year on an aggregate  basis.  Therefore, you would only  report  once a year  
for each service-provider, and  there is no  basis to require reporting each time a service-provider receives  $600 in  a year.  

Q18.  My business doesn’t have employees.  Do I have to register with  the  EDD solely for purposes of reporting my service-providers?  
A18.  No.  Service-recipients who are not registered with  the  EDD are not required to register and receive a California employer  

payroll tax account number solely for purposes  of reporting  IC  service-providers.  Unregistered service-recipients complete 
the  DE 542  using their  SSN  or FEINs.  

Q19.  For purposes of  IC  reporting, must the contract be in writing or would a verbal contract also  qualify?  
A19.  A contract may be either written or verbal.  

Q20.  My business  engages the services of  a worker who is my acknowledged employee, and I reported this employee  under the  
New Employee  Registry when first hired.  This same worker  also performs work for my business as a valid  IC  and receives a  
federal Form  1099-MISC which reflects this compensation.  Must I also report the  worker for the  IC  compensation?  

A20.  Yes.  

Q21.  If my business engages workers whose services are exempt by  statute from  state  payroll taxes,  should I report the workers  as  
ICs  to  the  EDD?  

A21.  To answer this  question, one must first determine if the workers are performing services for the business or  government  
entity as  employees or independent  contractors.  If the workers  are engaged  as employees, their services would  not  be  
reported as  ICs.  However, the business or  government  entity may be required to  report the employees as  part  of the  New  
Employee  Registry  (under  Section 1088.5 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code  [CUIC]) if the requirements of 
that section  are met.  When a service-recipient  hires workers who are not employees  and is required to provide the workers  
with a  Form 1099-MISC, the service-recipient is required to report the workers (service-providers) as  ICs  (under the  
provisions of  Section 1088.8 of the  CUIC).  

Q22. Are churches or  nonprofit organizations required to report  ICs they engage for services? 
A22. Yes. Section 1.6041-1(b) of  Title  26, Code of  Federal Regulations, defines the  term “trade or  business,” which includes 

churches  and nonprofit organizations.  Therefore, reporting ICs  is required.  

Q23.  How can I  get a  copy of Section 1088.8 of the CUIC?  
A23.  You can  view  the code section at  http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml. Select  “Unemployment Insurance 

Code.” Select  “Division 1.  Unemployment and D isability  Compensation (100-4751). The CUIC Table of Contents will  
appear;  the code sections are grouped in numerical order on the right side of the page. Scroll  down to “1085-1098,”   
select  the  link, and then scroll down to 1088.8.  

You may also  call our toll-free number  888-745-3886 to have  the  code section  mailed or faxed to you.  

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with 
disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 888-745-3886 (voice), or TTY 
800-547-9565. 

DE 542FAQ Rev. 6 (9-16) (INTERNET)  

https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/26
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
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