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STATEMENT OF REIMBURSABLE BENEFIT CHARGES (DE 428R)

Public entities and nonprofit organizations, described
under section 501(c)(3) of title 26 of the Internal
Revenue Code, may elect to use the reimbursable
method of paying for Unemployment Insurance (Ul)
benefits. This reimbursement method is also applicable
to federal government agencies, under section 1023

of Public Law 96-499 for which Unemployment
Compensation for Federal Employees (UCFE) and
Unemployment Compensation for Ex-Service Members
(UCX) apply. Employers who elect this method or who
are required to elect this method must reimburse the
Ul Fund on a dollar-for-dollar basis for all benefits paid
to their former employees.

The Statement of Reimbursable Benefit Charges

(DE 428R) is an itemized list of Ul benefit charges

sent to employers who elected the reimbursable
method (also known as the cost-of-benefits method)
for financing their Ul costs. This statement is sent every
calendar quarter.

BENEFIT CHARGES

The charges shown on the DE 428R are determined
by the Ul benefits paid to claimants from a Ul claim
established from wages reported by the base-period
employer(s). These charges, however, represent the
allocated share of benefits paid during the period
shown on the DE 428R and are to be reimbursed to Ul
Fund.

BASE PERIOD

The base period of a claim is a 12-month period. Each
base period has four quarters (each quarter is three
months). The base period is established when the claim
is filed. There are two types of base periods: Standard
Base Period and Alternate Base Period.

Standard Base Period

If claim begins in: The base period is:
Jan, Feb, Mar October to September
Apr, May, Jun January to December
Jul, Aug, Sept April to March

Oct, Nov, Dec July to June
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Alternate Base Period

If claim begins in: The base period is:
Jan, Feb, Mar January to December
Apr, May, Jun April to March

Jul, Aug, Sept July to June

Oct, Nov, Dec October to September

BASE-PERIOD EMPLOYER

The employer(s) who paid the earnings that were used
to establish a Ul claim and calculate an award.

PERIOD OF CHARGES

The DE 428R displays the period of time (quarter) in
which the benefits were paid or credits were made. In
addition, the form also displays the ending date of the
quarter under the CHG QTR column.

DE 428R MAILING SCHEDULE

Estimated
Mailing Date

Last 10 days of April

Calendar
Quarter

1st Quarter

2nd Quarter
3rd Quarter
4th Quarter

Last 10 days of July
Last 10 days of October

Last 10 days of January

PAYMENT OF CHARGES

The DE 428R is not a bill. However, within 14 days
after the DE 428R mail date, a Notice of Amount

Due (DE 6601) and Statement of Account

(DE 2176) are sent to the employer. These are the bills
requesting reimbursement for the Ul benefits paid to
employees. Pursuant to section 803 of the California
Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC), payment

in full is due to the Employment Development
Department (EDD) within 30 days from the DE 6601
mail date to avoid penalty. The payment can be made
online using the EDD e-Services for Business at www.
edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm.

For federal government and military agencies, payment
is submitted to the United States Department of Labor,
which in turn, reimburses the California Ul Fund.
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CLAIM DATE

The date the claim for Ul benefits was established.

CLAIMANT ELIGIBILITY

A claimant’s eligibility for benefits is based on the
reason his or her employment ended with the very
last employer for whom he or she worked. Once a
claimant is determined eligible for benefits, they have
one year from the date of the claim to draw their
maximum benefit award.

Benefits paid on a Ul claim are based on wages
reported by all base-period employers, which could
include up to 18 months prior to the claim date. For
claimants receiving federal extended benefits, the
period of time may be greater than 18 months.

There is no distinction made in the CUIC between
wages paid to full-time, part-time, or temporary
employees.

CLAIMANT INFORMATION

The Ul claim information and claimant wage records
are controlled by the Social Security number (SSN)
and not by the names. The SSNs listed on the DE 428R
were reported on the Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (Continuation) (DE 9C).

FILING A PROTEST

If the employer disagrees with the charges, a protest
can be filed. The protest must be filed within 60 days
from the mail date on the DE 428R. The protest may
be denied if the employer failed to respond to the first
claim notice, Notice of Unemployment Insurance
Claim Filed (DE 1101CZ) or the Notice of Wages Used
to Unemployment Insurance (Ul) Claim (DE 1545).

REQUIRED INFORMATION ON PROTEST

A protest must include the following information:
e (Claimant SSN (from the DE 428R)

Claimant name

Claim date (from the DE 428R)

Charge amount (from the DE 428R)

Reason for protesting the charges

Total number of claimant(s) protested

Protest with missing or inaccurate information will be
rejected.

WHERE TO SEND THE PROTEST

The protest must be mailed to:

Employment Development Department
Reimbursable Accounting Group

PO Box 826880 — MIC 19

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

The protest can also be filed online using the EDD
e-Services for Business at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_
Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm

WHAT TO EXPECT

Protests filed are reviewed and a determination
allowing or denying the protest is made based on the
facts of the case. If the protest is allowed, the credit
will be reflected on future benefit charge statements.
If the protest is denied, the EDD sends an explanation
along with information on employer’s petition rights.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

For further assistance, call 1-916-653-5846. For
detailed explanations and tips on how to manage your
Ul costs, refer to the booklet Managing Unemployment
Insurance Costs (DE 4527) on the EDD website at
www.edd.ca.gov.

For additional information and Frequently Asked
Questions, visit the Reimbursable Method of Paying
for Ul Benefits at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/
Reimbursable_Method_of_Paying_UI_Benefits.htm.

This information sheet is provided as a public service and is intended to provide nontechnical assistance. Every attempt has been made

to provide information that is consistent with the appropriate statutes, rules, and administrative and court decisions. Any information that

is inconsistent with the law, regulations, and administrative and court decisions is not binding on either the Employment Development
Department or the taxpayer. Any information provided is not intended to be legal, accounting, tax, investment, or other professional advice.
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