## NEW CORONAVIRUS EMPLOYER RESOURCES

In response to the new coronavirus (COVID-19), Governor Newsom announced the availability of an additional \$17.8 million in Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act funds to help impacted workers and businesses with re-employment, supportive services for basic needs, and Rapid Response activities.

In addition, Governor Newsom's Executive Order N-31-20 (PDF) temporarily suspends the 60-day notice requirement in the California WARN Act for those employers that give written notice to employees and satisfy other conditions. The suspension permitted employers to act quickly in order to mitigate or prevent the spread of COVID-19. The Executive Order **does not** suspend the California WARN Act in its entirety, nor does it suspend the law for all covered employers. The Executive Order only suspends the California WARN Act's 60-day notice requirement for those employers that satisfy the order's specific conditions. Employers should continue to file a WARN per the legislation requirements regardless if the 60day notice timeframe is not met. For more information, visit COVID-19: WARN.

If you are experiencing a slowdown in your business because of the economic impacts of COVID-19, you can apply for the Unemployment Insurance (UI) Work Sharing Program. The program provides a pathway for employers to help offset

financial hardships during economic downturns. It is a temporary alternative to layoffs if the business's production or services have been reduced. Employers can now apply for the Work Sharing program conveniently online. Learn more by visiting Work Sharing Program and Work Sharing Information for Employers FAQs to determine if your business is eligible.

If COVID-19 impacted your business, you may request up to a 60-day extension from the Employment Development Department (EDD) to file your state payroll reports and/or deposit state payroll taxes without penalty or interest. The EDD must receive your written request for extension within 60 days from the original delinquent date of the payment or return. For questions, call the EDD Taxpayer Assistance Center:

- Toll-free from the US or Canada: 1-888-745-3886
- · TTY: 1-800-547-9565
- Outside the US or Canada: 1-916-464-3502

For more information from the EDD about COVID-19, visit Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) and Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) FAQs.

For additional resources to help you manage the impact of COVID-19 on your business and affected workers, see page 2.

# 2020 SEMI-ANNUAL INTEREST RATE

The semi-annual interest rate for the period July 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020 is 5%. This is the rate compounded daily that accrues with respect to various state taxes including personal income, corporate income, and franchise. For additional information, call the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

## ONLINE NEWSROOM

EDD's online Newsroom provides the latest news releases, program updates, and weekly unemployment data.

## Latest News Releases:

July 30, 2020 Unemployment benefits during pandemic top \$55 billion in California (PDF)

July 23, 2020 Unemployment benefits during pandemic reach about \$50 billion in California (PDF)

July 17, 2020 California unemployment improves to 14.9 percent in June (PDF)

For more news releases, visit **Newsroom**.

Additional COVID-19 Business Resources	
California Public Utilities Commission	Learn about utility consumer protections and utility assistance programs.
<b>Covered California</b>	Find resources, information, and the application for low- or no-cost health insurance.
COVID-19: Additional Assistance Funds for Workers and Businesses	Federal funds to help Los Angeles businesses facing layoffs and closures and their affected workers.
California Governor's Office of Business and Economic Development (GO-Biz) Newsletter	Receive updates and announcements regarding employer resources relating to COVID-19.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention	Find assistance for planning and responding to COVID-19.
<b>Work Sharing Program</b>	Learn more about program benefits, requirements, and the application process.
California Department of Public Health	Read COVID-19 health and safety updates.
Labor and Workforce Development Agency – Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) Resources for Employers and Workers	Learn about employer assistance and workplace health and safety guidance. Employees can find information about Paid Family Leave, sick leave, disability, and unemployment.
<b>World Health Organization</b>	Learn about prevention and symptoms of COVID-19.

## STATEMENT OF CHARGES TO RESERVE ACCOUNT (DE 428T)

In a few months, your annual *Statement of Charges to Reserve Account* (DE 428T) will be issued. To ensure your DE 428T is sent to the correct address, notify the EDD immediately if there are changes to your address and/ or agent information. Remember, you can also submit a request to update your address or view your DE 428T using **e-Services for Business**. If you are not enrolled in e-Services for Business, enroll today and learn more about other available features and benefits.

The DE 428T statement notifies you of the Unemployment Insurance (UI) benefit charges and credits to your reserve account during the fiscal year from July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020. The itemized charges to your reserve account are based on the UI benefits paid to your former employees. These charges may increase your UI contribution rate for the 2021 tax year, therefore, it is important to review your DE 428T for accuracy.

In an effort to provide a much needed relief to the employer community, California passed legislation that allows for the non-charging of benefits to tax-rated and School Employees Fund (SEF) employers. As outlined by Assembly Bill 103, which was passed as part of the California State Fiscal Year 2020-2021 Budget Act, California will not be charging employers' reserve

accounts for UI claims related to COVID-19, unless the employer or an agent of the employer was at fault as set forth in section 1026.1. The application of the non-charging provision applies to UI benefits paid from the week ending February 1, 2020 through December 26, 2020. The *Statement of Charges to Reserve Account* (DE 428T) will only reflect charges for benefits paid prior to the period identified above.

If you disagree with any of the charges listed on the DE 428T, you may file a protest online using **e-Services for Business**, or in writing within 60 days from the issued date on the DE 428T. For further information, please refer to the *Information Sheet: Statement of Charges to Reserve Account (DE 428T)* (DE 428I) (PDF) or the DE 428T Protest Sample Form (DE 428C) (PDF).

If you need assistance enrolling or accessing your employer payroll tax account using e-Services for Business, or have questions on how to view your DE 428T online, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

## CHANGES TO CALIFORNIA'S PAID FAMILY LEAVE PROGRAM

Effective July 1, 2020, California's State Disability Insurance (SDI) program has extended the maximum duration of Paid Family Leave (PFL) benefits from six weeks to eight weeks within a 12-month period. This applies to PFL claims with a start date of July 1, 2020, or after.

PFL allows your employees to take paid time off work to care for a seriously ill family member (child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner) or to bond with a new child by birth, adoption, or foster care placement.

You play a critical part in helping any of your employees experiencing these life events access PFL benefits. First, the information you share, whether through notices, brochures, or flyers, is integral to your employees learning about the benefits available to them. Then, your prompt responses to EDD notices once your employee files a PFL claim will ensure your employee receives their benefits timely.

#### PFL BUSINESS BENEFITS

California's PFL program is funded through employees' payroll tax contributions, there is no direct cost to employers.

#### **SDI ONLINE**

We ask that you encourage your employees to use their available benefits when they need it most. Your employees can electronically file for PFL and Disability Insurance (DI) benefits through SDI Online. As an employer, you may also submit supporting documents related to your employees' SDI claims electronically. SDI Online is easy to use and available 24-hours a day. For more information and to establish an account, visit SDI Online.

CLAIM FOR PAID FAMILY LEAVE (PFL) BENEFITS (DE 2501F)

Effective July 1, 2020, SDI has made a new version of the *Claim for Paid Family Leave (PFL) Benefits* (DE 2501F) paper form available for order. Please consider removing all past PFL claim forms and ordering a new supply of the DE 2501F Rev. 4 (7-20) to provide the most up-to-date information to your employees. To order, visit **EDD Forms and Publications** or call 1-877-238-4373.

To improve EDD services for Spanish speaking California workers, the EDD has added a fillable PFL Spanish claim form, the *Solicitud de Beneficios del Programa de Permiso Familiar Pagado (PFL)* (DE 2501F/S), to the EDD website. Employees can visit **Paid Family Leave Forms and Publications** to download and print the form.

If you have questions or would like to learn more about DI and PFL benefits, request a webinar presentation by contacting SDI at DIBOutreach@edd.ca.gov.



The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-916-651-7572. TTY users, please call the California Relay Service at 711.

Employment Development Department PO Box 826880 Sacramento, CA 94280-0001 Produced by the EDD Strategic Communications Division, Marketing and Brand Management Office, MIC 85 Loree Levy, Deputy Director Tina Gutierrez, Editor Second Quarter 2020: Vol. 72, No. 2