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Coronavirus 2019 
The Employment Development 
Department (EDD) has put together 
some general guidance for 
California workers and employers 
impacted by the new coronavirus 
(COVID-19). For faster and more 
convenient access to EDD services, 
we encourage you to use our online 
options via a personal computer or 
smart device.

Worker Resources
The Coronavirus 2019 and 
Coronavirus 2019 Frequently 
Asked Questions (FAQs) provides 
helpful information on programs 
available based on a worker’s 
circumstance, such as Disability 
Insurance, Paid Family Leave, and 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
benefits.

UI benefits are designed to replace 
a portion of wages lost when a 
worker is unable to work through no 
fault of their own. The Governor’s 
Executive Order waives the one-
week unpaid waiting period, so 
workers can collect UI benefits for 
the first week they are out of work. 
We are working diligently to process 
all claims, but it can take several 
weeks to issue a payment once the 
worker is found eligible for benefits. 

Visit Coronavirus 2019 to learn 
more about each program and to 
start a claim. 

Employer Resources 
The Coronavirus 2019 and 
Coronavirus 2019 FAQs provides 
helpful information on Worker 
Adjustment and Retraining 
Notification (WARN) FAQs, potential 
closures or layoffs, reduced work 
hours, and available tax assistance 
for employers.

Employers experiencing a slowdown 
in business or services because 
of COVID-19 can apply for the 
UI Work Sharing Program, which 
allows employers to seek an 
alternative to layoffs. Visit the Work 
Sharing Program page for more 
information.

For employers who had to rapidly 
close their businesses to prevent or 
mitigate the effects of COVID-19, 
Executive Order N-31-20 (PDF) 
temporarily suspends the 60-day 
notice requirement in the WARN 
for those that gave written notice 
to employees and satisfy other 
requirements. The EDD has posted 
guidance on this temporary 
suspension. 

Employers experiencing a hardship 
as a result of COVID-19 may request 
up to a 60-day extension of time 
from the EDD to file state payroll 
reports and/or deposit state payroll 
taxes without penalty or interest. A 
written request for extension must 
be received within 60 days from 
the original delinquent date of the 
payment or return.

For questions, call the EDD Taxpayer 
Assistance Center.
	∙ Toll-free from the US or Canada:  

1-888-745-3886
	∙ TTY: 1-800-547-9565
	∙ Outside the US or Canada:  

1-916-464-3502

Additional Resources
The Labor & Workforce 
Development Agency (LWDA) wants 
to keep workers, employers, co-
workers, and families safe. 

Visit Coronavirus (COVID-19) 
Resources for Employers and 
Workers for a centralized source 
of information to help guide you. 
The California LWDA also offers 
information about sick leave 
policies, workplace safety, and 
health guidance.

The Governor’s Office of Business 
and Economic Development has 
compiled guidance from California 
agencies and departments for 
California employers and employees 
relating to COVID-19. Visit 
Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) 
for resources and FAQs for small 
businesses. 

Employee’s Withholding 
Allowance Certificate 
Effective January 1, 2020, 
the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS) is using the 
Employee’s Withholding 
Allowance Certificate (Form 
W-4) for federal income tax 
withholding only. 

Employees must now file 
the state form Employee’s 
Withholding Allowance 
Certificate (DE 4) (PDF) for 
the appropriate California 
Personal Income Tax (PIT) 
withholding. 

For additional information, 
refer to the California 
Employer’s Guide (DE 44) 
(PDF) or call the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 
1-888-745-3886. 
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The ABC Test Revisited
In the previous issue, we shared how Assembly Bill 5 (AB 5), effective  
January 1, 2020, changes California law regarding the classification of 
workers. Since this change affects millions of workers, we are revisiting the 
ABC test in this quarter’s issue. The new law requires employers to classify 
workers as employees unless the hiring entity can prove that they meet all 
three conditions of the “ABC” test.

The ABC Test
A.	 The person is free from the control and direction of the hiring entity in 

connection with the performance of the work, both under the contract 
for the performance of the work and in fact. 

B.	 The person performs work that is outside the usual course of the hiring 
entity’s business. 

C.	 The person is customarily engaged in an independently established 
trade, occupation, or business of the same nature as that involved in the 
work performed.

Unless a hiring entity can prove a worker meets all three of the above 
conditions, the worker must be classified as an employee. 

Exceptions
AB 5 also recognizes several occupations as exceptions to the ABC test. For 
these occupations identified in Labor Code section 2750.3, the determination 
of employee or independent contractor will be governed by the California 
Supreme Court decision in S.G. Borello and Sons, Inc. v Department 
of Industrial Relations (Borello) (PDF). While these occupations that 
meet specific criteria are exempt from the ABC test, they are still subject to 
employment determinations under the Borello common-law rules.

Resources
To learn more, visit the Labor and Workforce FAQs. Join the EDD email 
subscription service by visiting Get Email Notices for the latest news on AB 
5 and other EDD updates. If you have questions, visit AB 5 – Employment 
Status Mandate, contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886, 
or visit your local Employment Tax Office.

We Want To Hear  
From You!
The EDD strives to provide 
a positive customer 
experience to all customers 
receiving services. Thus, we 
are excited to launch the 
Every Customer Has Options 
(ECHO) survey. 

It allows you an easy opt-in 
method to provide feedback 
regarding your experience 
with the EDD’s Payroll Tax, 
Unemployment Insurance, 
and Disability Insurance 
programs through the 
following three centers:
	∙ Taxpayer Assistance Center
	∙ Tax Collection Section
	∙ Benefit Overpayment 

Collection Section

When you call one of these 
three centers, you will be 
offered an opportunity to 
participate in this brief 
survey. If you accept, 
you will be automatically 
connected to the survey at 
the end of your call. 

The survey consists of five 
“yes” or “no” questions 
on the topics of overall 
satisfaction, professionalism, 
communication, knowledge, 
and resolution. You may 
also provide additional 
comments after answering 
the five questions. 

Your feedback is important 
as it allows us to continually 
improve our products and 
services to ensure that we 
meet your needs. 

Thank you in advance for 
your support! 

Seminars — Broaden Your Understanding
The EDD offers no cost, classroom-style seminars throughout the State of 
California so existing and new employers can understand and comply with the 
state payroll tax laws, such as the State Basic Payroll Tax Seminar. 

We also collaborate with the IRS and the Department of Industrial Relations to 
provide the Federal/State Basic Payroll Tax Seminar and the State Labor Law 
and Payroll Tax Seminar. These two seminars integrate the requirements of 
both agencies, while covering their similarities and differences. 

In preparation for the implementation of AB 5, effective January 1, 2020, we 
added the AB 5/ABC Test-Employment Status Seminar. This seminar will help 
employers understand the employment status changes brought on by this 
legislation. 

Another seminar available at no cost is the Cannabis Industry and State Payroll 
Tax Seminar.

To find a tax seminar near you or to register online, visit the EDD Payroll Tax 
Seminars page.
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The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. 
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to 
individuals with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, 
and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling
1-916-651-7572. TTY users, please call the California 
Relay Service at 711.
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2020 California Deposit Requirements 
Employer contributions of Unemployment Insurance and Employment Training Tax are due quarterly while monies 
withheld from employees’ wages for State Disability Insurance (SDI) and Personal Income Tax (PIT) may require 
deposits more often. Deposit frequency is based on an employer’s federal deposit schedule/requirement and the amount 
of accumulated PIT withheld. Failure to meet payroll tax deposit time frames may result in penalties. Refer to page 6 
of the California Employer’s Guide (DE 44) (PDF) for additional information on deposit requirements or contact the 
Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

If Your Federal 
Deposit Schedule/ 

Requirement Is

And You Have 
Accumulated State PIT 

Withholding of
If Pay Date Is

PIT and SDI Deposit Is 
Due by

California “Deposit 
Schedule” Box to 

Indicate on the DE 88

Next-Day

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly Quarterly

$350 to $500 Any payday
15th of the 

following month
Monthly

More than $500 Any payday Next-Day Next-Day

Semi-Weekly

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly Quarterly

$350 to $500 Any payday
15th of the 

following month
Monthly

More than $500
Wed., Thurs., 

or Fri.
Following 

Wednesday
Semi-weekly

More than $500
Sat., Sun., Mon.,  

or Tues.
Following

Friday
Semi-weekly

Monthly

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly Quarterly

$350 or more Any payday
15th of the 

following month
Monthly

Quarterly 
or 

Annually

Less than $350 Any payday

April 30, 2020
July 31, 2020

October 31, 2020
February 1, 2021

Quarterly

$350 or more Any payday
15th of the 

following month
Monthly 

https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf

