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Discover the Many Ways You Can File and Pay
The Employment Development 
Department (EDD) is committed to 
keeping you informed about the e-file 
and e-pay mandate for employers 
that requires all California employers 
to submit their employment tax returns, 
wage reports, and payroll tax deposits 
electronically. We also want to ensure 
that you are equally aware of the many 
compliance options available to help you 
avoid unnecessary penalties related to 
non-compliance in 2019.

Your options for e-file and e-pay are:
∙∙ e-Services for Business – Enroll and 

log in to make payments, file returns, 
and access additional online features.

∙∙ Federal/State Employment Taxes 
(FSET) – The FSET program provides 
a standardized method for making tax 
payments and reporting employment 
tax and wage information in 
eXtensible Markup Language through 
a web-service based application-to-
application transmission platform. 
For additional information, visit the 
FSET website.

Your options for e-pay (only) are:
∙∙ NEW! Express Pay – Allows 

you to make an electronic payroll 
tax payment with no enrollment 
requirement.

∙∙ State Data Collector – This is a 
third-party vendor contracted by the 
State of California to collect electronic 
funds transfer payments on behalf of 
the EDD and other state agencies. 
Payments made through the State Data 
Collector are for Payroll Tax Deposit, 
DE 88, only. To enroll in this method, 
complete an Electronic Funds 
Transfer (EFT) State Data Collector 
Program – Vendor (Third Party) 
New Enrollment Request Form, 
DE 26

 
.

∙∙ Automated Clearing House (ACH) 
Credit Payment Option – The ACH 
Credit method allows you to make a 
payment by instructing your bank to 
debit your bank account and transfer 
those funds to the state’s bank account. 

∙∙ Credit Card – Credit card payments 
are completed through Official 
Payments Corporation (OPC) and are 
subject to a convenience fee. 

If you are unable to file and pay 
electronically, please submit an E-file 
and E-pay Mandate Waiver Request, 
DE 1245W

 
 

, today! If you are an 
employer with an approved e-file 
and e-pay mandate waiver, you will 
automatically receive payment coupons 
and tax forms in the mail.

The 2019 Annual Interest 
Rate Is Set at 5.0 Percent

For the period January 1, 2019, 
through June 30, 2019, the annual 
interest rate will be 5 percent (0.05), 
compounded daily. The daily 
interest factor will be 0.000137.

Interest is charged on all delinquent 
taxes, interest, and certain penalties. 

If you have any questions about the 
annual interest rate for 2019, please 
call the Taxpayer Assistance Center 
at 1-888-745-3886 or visit the EDD 
Interest Rate website.

2019 Tax Rate Information Notice
You will receive your Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI Reserve Account, DE 2088, for the year 2019 by December 
31, 2018. We recommend you review all items carefully on the DE 2088, as it informs you of your 2019 tax rates and 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) reserve account activity.

The 2019 UI taxable wage limit and the Employment Training Tax (ETT) taxable wage limit is $7,000 per employee. The ETT rate 
will remain at 0.1 percent (.001). The DE 2088 also notifies you about your 2019 State Disability Insurance rate and taxable wage 
limit, and if you are subject to ETT.

For more information about the DE 2088 and your protest rights, see the reverse side of your DE 2088. You can also refer to the 
Explanation of the Notice of Contribution Rates and Statement of UI Reserve Account, DE 2088C, or call the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886. In addition, you and/or your agent can access e-Services for Business to request more 
specific rate information. If you have a change of address, agent update, or other account changes, please call the Taxpayer 
Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886 immediately in order to receive your DE 2088 and other important information from the EDD.

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.

https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/E-file_and_E-pay_Mandate_for_Employers.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/E-file_and_E-pay_Mandate_for_Employers.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/File_and_Pay.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/forms
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/
https://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/Bulk_Transmissions.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/Bulk_Transmissions.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/electronic_funds_transfer.htm
https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de26.pdf
https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de532.pdf
https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/Credit_Card_Vendor.htm
https://www.officialpayments.com/index.jsp?JSESSIONID=DS4FNM3LyGr1FTG!870096557!818862431
https://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de1245w.pdf
https://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/interest_rate.htm
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Find Out What You Can Do Before a Disaster Strikes
Disasters can strike anywhere, anytime, and without warning. Be disaster-ready and find out now what assistance is available to 
your business should you need it. The EDD provides a variety of services to individuals and businesses affected by disasters in 
California. 

If you are an employer who has been directly affected by a disaster, you may request up to a 60-day extension from the EDD to 
file your state payroll reports and/or deposit state payroll taxes without penalty or interest. Visit the Emergency and Disaster 
Assistance for Employers page on the EDD website for more information on how to request an extension, to view current 
State of Emergency notifications, and to find out what other types of assistance are available to you from the EDD. 

Additional information about recent disasters and emergency services is available to view on the Governor’s Office of 
Emergency Services website. You can also visit the IRS website to find out how they can help you during a disaster too.

A Reminder About 
W-2s and 1099s

The EDD would like to remind you not to send the “state” copy of Form 
W-2 or Form W-2C to the State of California (the EDD or the Franchise Tax
Board [FTB]). 

Forms W-2 and W-2C are not filed with the state because the e-file and 
e-pay mandate already requires you to report wage and withholding
information electronically to the EDD on the Quarterly Contribution Return
and Report of Wages (Continuation), DE 9C. The EDD will share this
information with the FTB.

Additionally, if you file a paper Form 1099 with the Internal Revenue 
Service (IRS), you do not need to send a paper copy to  
the FTB because the IRS will forward the information to the FTB.  
For information about filing Form 1099 electronically, visit  
FTB – How to File.

The EDD is an equal opportunity 
employer/program. Auxiliary aids and 
services are available upon request to 
individuals with disabilities. Requests 
for services, aids, and/or alternate 
formats need to be made by calling  
1-916-651-7572. TTY users, please call
the California Relay Service at 711.
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Value of Meals
Value of
 Lodging

3 Meals Per Day Breakfast Lunch Dinner Meals not 
Identified 

Minimum Per 
Week

Maximum Per 
Month

$11.80 $2.40 $3.65 $5.75 $4.25 $49.55 $1,528

e-Services for Business. Online. Anytime.

https://edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Emergency_and_Disaster_Assistance_for_Employers.htm
https://edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Emergency_and_Disaster_Assistance_for_Employers.htm
http://edis.oes.ca.gov/
http://edis.oes.ca.gov/
https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/help-during-disasters
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/infortrns/How_to_file.shtml



