Paid Family Leave - Caregivers
Do you need time off to care for an ill family member?
Have you recently become a caregiver to an ill child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner? If so, start here to learn more about your California Paid Family Leave (PFL) options.
Are You Eligible?
To be eligible for California PFL benefits, you must:
- Be a caregiver for an ill family member. A qualifying family member is a child, parent, parent-in-law, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or registered domestic partner.
Fun fact: More than one individual can be the caregiver, but you can only receive PFL benefits for the days/hours you are the primary caregiver.
- Have paid into State Disability Insurance (noted as “CASDI” on paystubs) in the past 5 to 18 months.
- Not have taken the maximum 6 weeks of PFL in the past 12 months.
Fun fact: You can break up your six weeks of leave. You don’t have to take it all at once!
Note: Effective July 1, 2020, PFL extends the total claim timeframe from six weeks to eight weeks. PFL provides working Californians the ability to take time off work to care for a seriously ill family member or to bond with a new child.
Caregivers may choose to delay filing their PFL claim until July 1, 2020, or after to receive the extended leave benefit.
Citizenship and immigration status do not affect eligibility.
If you’re still not sure, read more about Eligibility Requirements to find out if you qualify for PFL.
Calculate Your Benefit Amount
Try the new tool to estimate your benefit amount!
File a Claim
If you think you’re eligible for PFL, the next step is to file a claim.