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Protect Your Most Valuable Asset:
Your Ability to Earn an Income

As someone whose livelihood depends on your
ability to run a business, you should consider what
would happen if your income stopped because:

m You were sick, injured, or pregnant and
could not work.

m Your child, parent, parent-in-law,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse or
registered domestic partner needed your
care due to a serious health condition.

m You would like to bond with your new child.

Could you do without your income even
temporarily?

A Financial Safety Net

Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC)
offers a safety net to business owners or self-
employed individuals. Premiums are based
on net profits as declared on the Internal
Revenue Service Form 1040 (Schedule SE)

or (Schedule C). For information regarding
maximum benefit amounts paid, view the
Disability Insurance (DI) and Paid Family
Leave (PFL) Weekly Benefit Amounts in Dollar
Increments, DE 2589, at www.edd.ca.gov.

Consider the Benefits

m Protection against loss of income due to
injury, pregnancy, or illness whether or not it
is work-related.

= Up to 39 weeks of benefits for your
own disability.

m  Automatic coverage in PFL which provides
up to six weeks of benefits to care for a
seriously ill child, parent, parent-in-law,
grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or
registered domestic partner, or to bond with
a new child.

For more information about DI, call
800-480-3287. For information about PFL, call
877-238-4373.

Major Requirements

m You must own your own business or be
self-employed.

B You must have a minimum annual income of
$4,600.

®m  You must be normally and continuously
engaged in a regular trade, business,
or occupation.

m  You must possess a valid active license, if
required by your occupation.

®m  You must derive the major portion of
your income from your trade, business,
or occupation.

m You must be able to Eerform your normal
duties on a full-time basis at the time you
submit your application.

® Your business cannot be seasonal.

®m  You must stay in the program for two
complete calendar years unless you
discontinue your business or move out
of California.

Benefit Eligibility

Generally, you must have this insurance
coverage for at least six months before you
are eligible to file a claim.

—

If you are interested in more
information about this program, call
916-654-6288. If you would like an
application, call 916-554-7104, complete
and mail the attached form, or visit the
EDD website at:

www.edd.ca.gov
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Please send me more information and an application for DI Elective Coverage.

Name

Street Address

ZIP Code

State

City

E-mail Address

Please have someone call me at (

Detach this portion and mail to the following address:

Taxpayer Assistance Center, Attn: DIEC Unit

Employment Development Department
PO Box 2068

State of California

Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-2068



