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This booklet is issued by the California Employment Development
Department (EDD). It contains general information about your rights,
responsibilities, and benefits under the California Unemployment
Insurance laws. The information is not intended to cover all provisions
of the law. For specific information regarding your claim, contact the
Special Claims Office at 1-916-464-3300.
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Read this information completely and carefully.

Failure to follow the instructions in this handbook or to file claim forms as
directed may result in delay or loss of your Work Sharing Unemployment
Insurance benefits.

Do not rely on advice from friends or relatives. If you do not understand
something or have a problem with your claim, contact the Special
Claims Office.

Save this handbook for future reference.
You can visit the Employment Development Department (EDD)

website at www.edd.ca.gov for more information, including frequently
asked questions.
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INTRODUCTION

This booklet, A Guide to Unemployment Insurance Benefits for Work Sharing

Participants, DE 1275WS, will provide you with information about California’s
Work Sharing Unemployment Insurance (Ul) program. It is available online at
www.edd.ca.gov and contains the following information:

e General information about the Work Sharing program.

*  Questions and answers about the Work Sharing program.
e Eligibility requirements.

e Completion instructions for Work Sharing forms.

e Samples of Work Sharing forms.

The DE 1275WS contains information that is specific to the Work Sharing program.
For information about regular Unemployment Insurance, A Guide to Benefits and
Employment Services, DE 1275A, can be found at www.edd.ca.gov. The DE 1275A
will provide you with information on the following subjects:

e Basic claim information

e Canceling your claim

e Waiting period

e How EDD computes your benefits
e  Base period

e lag period

e Appeals

e Verification of Right to Work

The subjects contained in the DE 1275A that are listed above apply to Work
Sharing participants. For instance:

e A waiting period is required for every Unemployment Insurance claim
filed, including claims for Work Sharing benefits.

*  An Unemployment Insurance claim is canceled using the same procedures,
regardless of whether or not you are a Work Sharing participant.

After your Unemployment Insurance claim has been filed, a Notice of
Unemployment Insurance Award, DE 429Z, will be sent along with the
Unemployment Insurance Benefits: What You Need to Know, DE 1275B. These
notices are specific to regular Unemployment Insurance claims. You will want to
retain this information for your records.

Read all information carefully and save for future reference. If the provided
information does not answer your question or if you need help, contact the
Department at the number listed below.

Employment Development Department Special Claims Office
PO Box 419076
Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076
916-464-3300
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WORK SHARING UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE

The Work Sharing program helps employers and employees avoid layoffs during
temporary business slowdowns. To do this, your employer will reduce your weekly
hours worked and wages earned by at least 10 percent, not to exceed 60 percent
without decreasing your pay rate. Work Sharing benefits are paid according to the
percentage of reduction in hours and wages. For example:

Your Work Sharing employer has reduced your normal work week from 40
hours to 32 hours. You are paid an hourly rate of $10 per hour. Your normal
weekly wage has been reduced from $400 to $320 due to Work Sharing. This
is a 20 percent reduction in your hours worked and weekly wages earned.

Because your hours worked are reduced by 20 percent, your wages earned are
also reduced by 20 percent. Your hourly rate of $10 per hour remains the same.

Your employer decides which employees will participate in Work Sharing and
which week(s) will have hour and wage reductions.

When your employer’s Work Sharing plan was approved, a “packet” for each
participating employee was mailed to your employer from the Employment
Development Department (EDD). When your employer reduces the normal hours
of work for a week, your employer will issue a packet to each employee who

has been selected to participate in Work Sharing. Each packet contains all the
documents necessary to file an Unemployment Insurance claim. In addition to the
DE 1275WS, the packet contains the following:

Initial Claim and Payment Certification, DE 4511WS

Your employer will complete Section A and issue the Initial Claim and Payment
Certification, DE 4511WS, to you for completion of Sections B and C. Do not
complete Sections B and C before your employer has completed Section A.

Two envelopes pre-addressed to the Special Claims Office

These envelopes are provided as a courtesy for mailing your next two Work
Sharing Certifications, DE 4581WS. After you use the pre-addressed envelopes
it is your responsibility to mail your Work Sharing Certifications timely to the
Special Claims Office using the correct address.

You can find the correct address for the Special Claims Office:

e On page 1 of the Initial Claim and Payment Certification, DE 4511WS$S
e On page 2 of the Work Sharing Certification, DE 458TWS, and
e At the bottom of page 1 in this booklet.
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NOTICE OF UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE AWARD, DE 4297

After your claim is filed, a Notice of Unemployment Insurance Award, DE 429Z,
will be mailed to you. Review the notice carefully. For more information about the
DE 429Z, visit the Forms and Publications page at www.edd.ca.gov.

The notice includes your weekly and maximum benefit amounts payable from
this claim. The weekly benefit amount is the full weekly amount that is payable if
you become totally unemployed. Work Sharing benefits will be paid based on the
percentage of your weekly hour and wage reductions. For example:

e If your full weekly benefit amount is $230 and your weekly hour and
wage deductions are 10 percent.

e You will receive 10 percent (hour and wage reductions are 10 percent) of
$230 or $23 for the week.

If any of the information contained on the DE 429Z is incorrect, contact the
Special Claims Office as soon as possible since the benefit amounts on your claim
may be incorrect.

QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS (Q&A) ABOUT THE WORK SHARING PROGRAM

Q: Who pays for Work Sharing benefits?
A

: Work Sharing Unemployment Insurance is an insurance program paid for by
your employer(s). Nothing is deducted from your wages to pay for these benefits.

: How can | find out how much Work Sharing benefits | will be paid?

>R

After your Unemployment Insurance claim is filed, you will be mailed a DE 429Z.
The notice will show your weekly benefit amount. You will be paid a percentage
of that amount depending on your hour and wage reductions each week.

For example:

If your weekly benefit amount is $230 and your Work Sharing hour and wage
reduction are 10 percent, you would be paid 10 percent of $230, or $23. If
your weekly benefit amount is $150 and your Work Sharing hour and wage
reductions are 30 percent, you would be paid 30 percent of $150, or $45.

: Can | cancel my claim?

>R

You have an option of canceling a Work Sharing California Ul claim after you
have been mailed your DE 429Z. You can only cancel a Ul claim if no benefits
have been paid, no notice of disqualification has been mailed to you, and/or
no overpayment has been established on the claim. If a claim is canceled, that
claim cannot be reopened, but you can file a new claim with a later date. If
the original claim is not canceled, another California claim cannot be filed for
52 weeks. If you have questions regarding claim cancellation or want to cancel
your claim, contact the EDD.

IMPORTANT: ONCE A CLAIM HAS BEEN CANCELED, IT CANNOT BE
REESTABLISHED WITH THE SAME BEGINNING DATE.
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: Can federal taxes be withheld from my Work Sharing benefits?
: If you want federal income tax withheld for the weeks shown on your claim

form, fill in the answer block on that claim form. If you do not want taxes
withheld, leave the answer block blank. This option is strictly voluntary; you are
not required to have taxes withheld from your benefits.

: Are Work Sharing participants required to serve a one-week waiting period?
: Yes, California law requires every person to serve a one-week, UNPAID

waiting period. There is only one waiting period required during each 52-week
claim year. The waiting week is usually the first otherwise payable week in
your benefit year (otherwise payable means you would have been eligible for
payment in every way but for the waiting period requirement).

s If I'm laid off from my job, can I still use my Work Sharing claim?
: If you are laid off for more than three consecutive weeks, the Special Claims

Office will mail instructions and information to you regarding your benefits.
Your claim is effective for one year and can be used while participating in Work
Sharing or for total or partial Unemployment Insurance benefits. While receiving
total or partial Unemployment Insurance benefits, regular Unemployment
Insurance rules (NOT Work Sharing) will be applied to your claim. Refer to the
DE 1275A and DE 1275B.

: Who is responsible for mailing Work Sharing certifications to the Special

Claims Office?

: You are responsible for mailing Work Sharing certifications to the Special Claims

Office. However, some employers mail completed certifications to the Special
Claims Office for their employees. Regardless of who mails the certifications,
they must be postmarked within 14 calendar days of the date issued to you by
your employer.

: When does my employer give me Work Sharing certifications?
: Your employer will issue Work Sharing certifications to you after the week

with hour and wage reductions has ended. Certifications must be issued to you
within 14 calendar days after the Work Sharing week has ended.

: Who should | call to find out if a payment has been issued?
: Allow 10 days before contacting EDD regarding your payment. If 10 days

have passed and you have not received your payment, you can call the EDD
automated self-service line at 1-866-333-4606. If the automated self-service line
advises that your payment has not been issued, contact the Special Claims office
at 916-464-3300.

: What should | do if my debit card is lost or stolen?
: Contact Bank of America at 1-866-692-9374 immediately.
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: Are my Work Sharing benefits affected if | miss work?

Your benefits may be affected if you miss work and your absence is not approved
or if you are not available for all work offered by your Work Sharing employer.

: Can | work part-time for an employer other than my Work Sharing employer?

Yes, however any earnings from an employer other than your Work Sharing
employer will be deducted dollar for dollar from your Work Sharing benefits.
Complete your certification forms carefully and include your gross earnings
from an employer, other than your Work Sharing employer. If earnings from an
employer, other than your Work Sharing employer are not included, you may
be charged for an overpayment and assessed penalties. The EDD has a fraud
detection system. If you do not report all earnings for a week that you worked,
and you received benefits, you will be investigated. If the EDD determines
that you were at fault for not reporting your earnings, you will be required to
repay any benefits overpaid and you could face administrative and/or criminal
penalties and interest.

: What can | do if I am denied Work Sharing benefits?

You may appeal any written EDD decision. You must file your appeal in writing
and you must state the reasons why you disagree with the decision. You may
file an appeal by mail by sending a completed Employment Development
Department Appeal Form, DE T000M, or a letter to the address on your Notice
of Determination. A letter of appeal must include your name, Social Security
number, and the reasons why you disagree with the decision.

You have 30 calendar days from the date of the decision to file a timely appeal.
You can still appeal even if you miss the 30-day deadline. You must state why
your appeal is filed late. At the appeal, you will be required to show good
cause for delay in filing an appeal. If you do not show good cause for any delay
beyond 30 days, the administrative law judge may dismiss your appeal.

The Office of Appeals will notify you of the date, time, and place of your
hearing. An administrative law judge conducts your hearing. You have the

right to review all records affecting the appeal before your hearing begins.
Everyone testifies under oath. All testimony is recorded and is subject to
cross-examination. The administrative law judge will mail a decision. If you live
in another state, the appeal hearing will be handled by phone. You do not have
to travel to California to attend the appeal hearing.

If you disagree with the decision of the administrative law judge, you may
appeal to the California Unemployment Insurance Appeals Board.

Note: If you are appealing a disqualification you must continue to certify for
benefits while your appeal is pending. You must mail the paper Work Sharing
Certification, DE 4581WS. If the administrative law judge decides you are
eligible, you will only be paid for the weeks for which you certified and met all
other eligibility requirements.
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COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS - INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION,
DE 4511WS

The Initial Claim and Payment Certification, DE 4511WS, is available in English and
Spanish. You must complete and mail the certification to the Special Claims Office

within 14 calendar days from the date your Work Sharing employer issued the form
to you. If your Work Sharing employer chooses to mail the certification to the EDD

for you, the employer must also mail the forms timely.

Follow the instructions below when completing Sections B and C on the /nitial
Claim and Payment Certification, DE 4511TWS. (Your last name, first name, Social
Security number and Section A must be completed by your employer before you
begin completing Sections B and C). If you have any questions regarding the
completion of Sections B or C, contact the Special Claims Office immediately.

INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS - SECTION B
(CLAIMANT’S CERTIFICATION)

Question 1. — Did you work for anyone other than your Work Sharing employer?
(This includes self-employment.)

Check either the “Yes” or “No” box to indicate if you worked for anyone other than
your Work Sharing employer, including any self-employment.

Example: You worked 7 a.m. to 12 noon for your Work Sharing employer. You
also worked 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. for another employer. The correct entry for this
example is “Yes.”

Example: You worked the hours available from your Work Sharing employer.
You also are a door to door sales person in your spare time. The correct entry
for this example is “Yes.”

Question 1.a. - If Yes, enter the employer’s name, address, and last date worked
during this week.

If “Yes” is checked in Question 1, enter the name, address, and last date worked
during the week for your *secondary employer. If you are self-employed in addition
to working for your Work Sharing employer, enter “Self-Employed” on the line for
the secondary employer’s name.

*When you are participating in the Work Sharing plan of the employer and have an
additional job with another employer, the employer providing the additional job is
considered the secondary employer.

Question 1.b. — Enter your earnings, before deductions, from self-employment or
other employment, whether you were paid or not.

Include your gross earnings, before deductions, from your secondary employer,
self-employment or jury duty whether you were paid or not. Report the gross
earnings based on the beginning and week ending date of the form, not based on
the pay period of the secondary employer.

Question 1.c. — Are you continuing to work for this employer?

Check either the “Yes” or “No” box to indicate if you are continuing to work for the
secondary employer, or if you are still involved in self-employment or jury duty. If
no, state the reason the job ended.
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INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS - SECTION B
(CLAIMANT’S CERTIFICATION)

Question 2. — If you want federal income tax withheld for the week shown in
Section A, mark this box.

If you mark this box, the amount withheld will be 15 percent of the Work Sharing
benefit amount payable for that week, but will not be deducted until all required
benefit reductions and overpayment offsets are taken. For example:

Work Sharing amount payable: $40.00
Fifteen percent of the payable amount: $6.00
You are paid: $34.00

If you do not mark the box, no portion of the benefits will be withheld for federal
income tax. Whatever you decide, your choice remains in effect only until you
send in your next certification form.

Read the certification information carefully. Sign and date the certification.
(The signature must be original; no photocopied signatures will be accepted.)

INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS - SECTION C
(CLAIMANT’S INFORMATION)

Enter last name, first name, middle initial, birth date, and gender.

Question 1. — Is the name used on this form the same as the one that appears on
your Social Security card? Answer yes or no.

If no, enter the name that appears on your Social Security card (last, first, middle initial).
Question 1.a. — List other names and/or Social Security numbers you have used.

Question 2. — Provide your mailing address, unit/apt, city, ZIP Code, and phone
number.

Question 2.a. — Is your residence address the same as your mailing address?
Answer yes or no.

If No, enter your residence address. (Include your city, state, ZIP code, and
apartment number.)

NOTE: A Post Office Box is not a residence address.

Question 3. — Have you filed a claim in the past two years for Unemployment
Insurance or Disability Insurance against the State of California? Answer yes or no.

If yes, list the type of claim and date(s) when the claim(s) were filed.

Question 4. — In the last 18 months, did you work for an agency of the federal
government or serve in the military? Answer yes or no.

Question 5. — Did you work in a state other than California during the last 18
months? Answer yes or no. If yes, provide the state(s).

Question 6. — Have you applied for Unemployment Insurance benefits in another
state during the last 12 months? Answer yes or no.

Question 7. — Do you have a driver license or ID card? Answer yes or no.
If yes, provide the name of the issuing state and your driver license or ID card number.
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INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS - SECTION C
(CLAIMANT’S CERTIFICATION)

Question 8. — Are you a U. S. citizen or national? Answer yes or no.
If no, answer the following questions:

a. Are you registered with the United States Citizenship and Immigration
Services (USCIS, formerly INS) and authorized to work in the United
States? Answer yes or no.

b.  What is the title of your USCIS document? Check the appropriate box.

c. Provide your Alien Registration OR authorization number on your
document.

d. Provide the expiration date of your work authorization.

e.  Were you legally entitled to work in the United States for the last 19
months? Answer yes or no.

Question 9. — Are you receiving, or will you receive within in the next year, a
pension other than Social Security or Railroad Retirement, which is based on your
own work or wages? Answer yes or no.

If yes, provide information on who pays the pension payment to you.

b. How are you receiving your pension payments? Answer monthly, annually
or lump sum.

Did you pay into your pension or retirement? Answer yes, no, or unsure.

d. Did any of the employers you worked for in the last 18 months pay into
the pension fund? Answer yes, no, or unsure. If yes, provide the name of
the company paying into the pension.

Question 10. — List the employers you have worked for in the last 18 months,
starting with your most recent to your earliest.

List any additional employers on a separate sheet of paper. Be sure to include all
the same information requested in this question.

(Note: How Paid; please specify, hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, commission or at a
piece rate.)

Question 11. — Provide information as to which employer you worked for the longest.

a. Provide the type of business that was operated by this employer.
(Please be specific. For example, restaurant, dry-cleaning, construction,
bookstore, etc.)

b.  Provide the type of work you did for this employer. (Please be specific,
cashier, laborer, plumber, etc.)

c. Provide how many years and/or months you worked for this employer.
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Question 12. — Are you now, or have you been in the last 18 months an officer of a
corporation or the sole or major stockholder of a corporation? Answer yes or no.

Question 13. — Are you receiving or expect to receive workers’ compensation?
Answer yes or no.

If yes, provide the insurance carrier and if possible, the case number.

Question 14. — Select your preferred language for written material. Select English
or Spanish.

Question 15. — Select your preferred spoken language. Select English, Spanish, or
other. If you select other, provide the language you prefer.

Optional Questions

Question 16. — Select the race or ethnic group with which you identify. Check the
appropriate box or choose not to answer.

Question 17. — Do you have a disability? Check yes, no, or choose not to answer.
(A disability is a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more
life activities, such as caring for oneself, preforming manual tasks, walking, seeing,
hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, or working.)

Read the certification information carefully. Sign and date the certification.
(The signature must be original; no photocopied signatures will be accepted.)

Mail the completed Initial Claim and Payment Certification, DE 4511WS, to the
Special Claims Office within 14 working days (employer’s working days) from the
date issued to you by your employer. Refer to page 1 for the mailing address of the
Special

Claims Office.

Important:
e Review your certification form before mailing. Did you answer all

questions? Did you sign the form?

e After you have used the two envelopes provided to you in your packet,
you are responsible for providing your own envelope. In addition, ensure
that the envelope is addressed correctly to the Special Claims Office.

e Place the correct postage and your return address on the envelope.

e Allow 10 days from the date you mail your certification form for your
payment to arrive.

e Contact the Specials Claims Office if you have any questions.
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INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS — Page 1

~— Employment
ED Development
Department

—_— .~
State of California INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION

WORK SHARING (WS) EMPLOYER

e Please complete Section A - Employer’s Information and Certification for the employee participating in the Work Sharing Plan. An
original signature is required.

* Instructions for completion of this form are contained in the Guide for Work Sharing Employers, DE 8684.

o This form must be issued to the employee for the FIRST work sharing week within 14 calendar days after the Week Ending date
shown below.

WORK SHARING (WS) CLAIMANT

e Please complete Section B - Claimant Certification and Section C - Claimant Information of this form. If you have questions regarding
the completion of this form, call the Special Claims Office at 916-464-3300.

e Print your responses to Section C. Review your form before mailing it to avoid delays.

o This form must be mailed to the Special Claims Office, P.O. Box 419076, Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076 within 14 calendar days
from the date your employer issued it.

SECTION A - EMPLOYER’S INFORMATION AND CERTIFICATION

LAST NAME: FIRST NAME: ‘ SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:

EMPLOYER'S CERTIFICATION FOR THE WEEK ENDING: / /

Note: If your payroll period is other than weekly, you must report the percentage of reduced hours and wages on a CALENDAR
WEEK beginning Sunday and ending Saturday.
Normal TOTAL % of Wages
Weekly Wages :] Wages Paid [:] Reduced for WS :]
Normal Hours of :] TOTAL :] % of Hours :]

Work Per Week Hours Worked Reduced for WS
. Was the employee absent from work for reasons other than Work Sharing, including a holiday, jury duty, illness, personal leave,

or vacation during this week? [ Yes [JNo

a. If yes, was the absence approved? [ Yes [ No

b. Enter the date(s) and reason: / / / / / / / /
2. Did the employee refuse any work you made available during hours scheduled off due to your Work [dYes [INo

Sharing Plan?
3. Enter the date(s) and hour(s) used for Work Sharing reductions during this week:
Date Hours Date Hours Date Hours

P C
— 3 o [

| certify that the above information concerning the status of this company and the status/earnings of this employee for the purpose of
participating in the Work Sharing program is true and correct. At least two employees, and not less than 10 percent, of the regular
permanent work force, involved in the affected work unit(s), participated in the Work Sharing program, or in at least one week of a
two consecutive week period. This company will maintain employees’ health and retirement benefits under the same terms and
conditions as prior to the reduction in hours and wages or to the same extent as other employees not participating in the Work
Sharing plan pursuant to the California Unemployment Insurance Code Section, 1279.5(c)(4)(A).

11—
L J —/—

BUSINESS NAME AND ADDRESS: TITLE: DATE ISSUED TO EMPLOYEE:
/ /
PRINTED NAME OF SIGNEE: EMPLOYER TELEPHONE NUMBER:
( )
EMPLOYER ORIGINAL SIGNATURE; EMPLOYER ACCOUNT NUMBER:
DE 4511WS Rev. 8 (6-14) Page 1 of 4 Ccu
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INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS — Page 2

SECTION B - CLAIMANT’S CERTIFICATION: Please answer the questions below regarding the Week Ending that was
provided by your employer in Section A to determine payment for the week.

1. Did you work for anyone other than your Work Sharing employer? (This includes self-employment.)
[ Yes O No
a. If yes, enter the employer's name, address, and last date worked during this week:

Name:

Address:

City: State: ZIP:
Last Date Worked: / /

b.  Enter your earnings, before deductions, from self-employment or other employment, whether you were
paid or not:

c. Are you continuing to work for this employer? OvYes [ONo

If no, state the reason: .

2. If you want federal income tax withheld for the week shown in Section A mark this box:  []

The information provided above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. | understand the law provides for a fine
and/or imprisonment for making false statements or withholding facts to fraudulently receive Unemployment Insurance benefits.

Claimant Sig Date Signed:

SECTION C - CLAIMANT INFORMATION: Provide this information to file this claim.
LAST NAME: FIRST NAME: \ M.L BIRTH DATE: GENDER:

/ / [ Male [] Female

1. Is the name used on this form the same as the one that appears on your Social Security card?

[ Yes [ No

If no, enter the name that appears on your Social Security card.
Last: First: M.1.:

a.  List other names and/or Social Security numbers you have used:

2. MAILING ADDRESS: UNIT/APT:
CITY: ZIP CODE: TELEPHONE NO.: ( )
a. Is your residence address the same as your mailing address? [ Yes O No

If No, enter your residence address. (Include your city, state, ZIP Code, and apartment number.)
NOTE: A Post Office Box is not a residence address.

STREET ADDRESS: UNIT/APT:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
3. Have you ever filed a claim in the past two years for Unemployment Insurance or Disability Insurance in the State of California?
[ Yes [ No
If Yes, please list the type of claim and date(s) when the claim(s) were filed.
I L B ———————————
4. In the last 18 months, did you work for an agency of the federal government or serve in the military?
[ Yes [0 No
DE 4511WS Rev. 8 (6-14) Page 2 of 4
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INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS — Page 3

SECTION C - CLAIMANT INFORMATION (Conti |

5. Did you work in a state other than California during the last 18 months? [ Yes [ No
If yes, in which state(s)?

6. Have you applied for Unemployment Insurance benefits in another state [ Yes O No
during the last 12 months?

7. Do you have a driver license or ID card? [ Yes [J No
If yes, provide the name of the issuing state and your driver license or ID card number.
Name of issuing state: Driver License/ID Number:

8. AreyouaU.S. citizen or national? [ Yes [ No

If no, answer the following questions:

a.  Are you registered with the United States Citizenship and Immigration [ Yes O No
Services (USCIS, formerly INS) and authorized to work in the United States?

b.  What is the title of your USCIS document? Check one of the following:

[ Alien Registration Receipt Card (I-151) [ Temporary Resident Card (1-688)
[ Permanent Resident Card (I-551) [ Arrival/Departure Record (1-94)
[ Employment Authorization Card (I-688A) [ Re-entry Permit (1-327)

[J Employment Authorization Document (I-688B) [ Refugee Travel Document (I-571)
[ Stamp on VISA [J Unexpired Foreign Passport

[J Employment Authorization Card (I-766) [] Other Document

NOTE: (VISA Stamp states: "Processed for I-551 Temporary Evidence of Lawful Admission of Permanent Residence valid until
MM/DD/YYYY, Employment Authorized.")

c. What is your Alien Registration OR authorization number on your document?

d. What is the expiration date of your work authorization?

e.  Were you legally entitled to work in the United States for the last 19 months? [ Yes O No

9. Are you receiving, or will you receive within the next year, a pension other than

Social Security or Railroad Retirement, which is based on your own work or wages? [] Yes [ No

If yes:

a. Who pays the pension check to you?

b.  How are you receiving your pension payments? [ Monthly  [J Annually [ Lump Sum

c. Did you pay into your pension or retirement? [ Yes O No

d.  Did any of the employers you worked for in the
last 18 months pay into the pension fund? [ Yes [0 No [J Unsure

If yes, what is the name of the company paying into the pension?

=)

. List the employers you've worked for in the last 18 months, starting with your most recent to your earliest:
List any additional employers on a separate sheet of paper. Be sure to include all the same information requested in this question.
(Note: How Paid; please specify, hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, commission, or at a piece rate.)

EMPLOYER NAME DATES WORKED EARNINGS HOW PAID
From: / /
To: / / s,
From: / /
To: / / 3.
From: / /
To: / / $.
From: / /
To / / $.
From: / /
To: / / S
DE 4511WS Rev. 8 (6-14) Page 3 of 4

DE 1275WS Rev. 6 (1-16) (INTERNET) 12 Page 14 of 23



INITIAL CLAIM AND PAYMENT CERTIFICATION, DE 4511WS — Page 4

SECTION C - Claimant Information (Continued)

11, Which employer did you work for the longest?

a.  What type of business was operated by this employer?
(Please be specific. For example, restaurant, dry-cleaning,
construction, bookstore, etc.)

b.  What type of work did you do for this employer?
(Please be specific: cashier, laborer, plumber, etc.)

c.  How long did you work for this employer? Years: Months:

12. Are you now, or have you been in the last 18 months an officer of a

corporation or the sole or major stockholder of a corporation? [ Yes O No
13. Are you receiving or expect to receive Workers’ Compensation? [ Yes [ No

If yes, provide the insurance carrier and if possible the case number.

Name of Insurance Carrier: Case Number:
14. Would you prefer your written material in English or Spanish? [ English [ Spanish
15. What is your preferred spoken language? [ English [ Spanish [ Other:

The following two questions are optional.

16.  What race or ethnic group do you identify with? Check one of the following:

[J White [ Black [ Hispanic [ Asian [J American Indian or Alaskan Native
[ Chinese [ cambodian [ Filipino [] Guamanian [] Other Pacific Islander
[ Asian Indian ] Japanese [] Korean [ Laotian [] samoan
[] Vietnamese [J Hawaiian [] Other (specify) 11 choose not to answer
17. Do you have a disability? [JYes [No [JIchoose notto answer

(A disability is a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more life activities, such as caring for oneself,
performing manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, or working.)

I do hereby claim benefits. I am a Work Sharing claimant and working reduced hours. I have answered these questions knowing that the
law provides penalties for making false statements.

Pertaining to Question 8, citizenship status, | declare under PENALTY OF PERJURY, under the laws of the State of California, that my
answer is true and correct. | understand that the information | provide on this form may be released to other government agencies to the
extent allowed by law.

Claimant Original Signature Social Security number Date Signed

EDD USE ONLY
lsvs ‘TRANS ‘1254 ‘ch ‘ucns |CIT |DOT |5|c |oc ‘ETH ‘HS |PER99 ‘CORR ‘

[ interviewer's mitials: |
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COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS — WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION, DE 4581WS

The Work Sharing Certification, DE 4581TWS, will be issued to you by your
employer. Your employer must complete page 1. If page 1 is not completed, return
the certification to your employer.

The Work Sharing Certification is available in English and Spanish. You must
complete and mail the certification to the Special Claims Office within 14 calendar
days from the date your Work Sharing employer issued the form to you. If your
Work Sharing employer chooses to mail the certification to the Special Claims
Office for you, your employer must also mail the form timely.

The Work Sharing Certification form is not computer generated by the EDD; it is
issued by your Work Sharing employer. Your employer chooses which weeks are Work
Sharing weeks and which employees will participate in the Work Sharing program.

Work Sharing benefit payments are issued by the Special Claims Office using two
different certification forms: Initial Claim and Payment Certification, DE 4511WS,
and Work Sharing Certification, DE 4581TWS. The DE 4581WS is used to
authorize benefit payments or give credit for the waiting period week after the
Unemployment Insurance claim is filed.

Follow the instructions below when completing page 2 on the Work Sharing
Certification. “Week One” refers to the week ending date entered in the first
column on page 1, and “Week Two” refers to the week ending date entered in the
second column on page 1. If you have any questions regarding the completion of
page 2, contact the Special Claims Office immediately.

COMPLETION INSTRUCTIONS — WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION, DE 4581WS

Question 1. — Did you have a change of address or phone number during this
week? Answer yes or no.

Check the “Yes” box if you moved or changed your phone number during the week
that is being certified. Check the “No” box if you did not move or change your
phone number during the week that is being certified.

Question 1.a. — If yes, provide your new address and/or phone number.

Question 2. — Did you work for anyone other than your Work Sharing employer?
(This includes self-employment or a second employer.) Answer yes or no.

Question 2.a. - If yes, provide the self-employment or other employer’s name,
address, and last date worked during this week.

Question 2.b. — Provide your earnings, before deductions, from your non-Work
Sharing employer, whether you were paid or not. Also enter earnings from
self-employment or jury duty. Report the gross earnings based on the beginning and
week ending date of the form not based on the pay period of the secondary employer.

Question 2.c. — Are you continuing to work for the other employer? Answer yes or no.

Question 2.d. — If no, enter the reason the job ended.
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Question 3. - If you want federal income tax withheld for the weeks shown on
page 1, mark this box.

If you mark this box, the amount withheld will be 15 percent of the Work Sharing
benefit amount payable for that week, but will not be deducted until all required
benefit reductions and overpayment offsets are taken. For example:

Work Sharing amount payable: $40.00
15 percent of the payable amount: $6.00
You are paid: $34.00

If you do not mark the box, no portion of the benefits will be withheld for federal
income tax. Whatever you decide, your choice remains in effect only until you
send in your next certification form.

Read the certification information carefully. Sign and date the certification.
(The signature must be original; no photocopied signatures will be accepted.)

Mail the completed Work Sharing Certification, DE 4581TWS, to the Special Claims
Office within 14 working days (employer’s working days) from the date issued to
you by your employer. Refer to page 1 for the mailing address of the Special Claims
Office.

Important:

e Review your certification form before mailing. Did you answer all
questions? Did you sign the form?

e After you have used the two envelopes provided to you in your packet,
you are responsible for providing your own envelope. In addition, ensure
that the envelope is addressed correctly to the Special Claims Office.

e Place the correct postage and your return address on the envelope.

e Allow 10 days from the date you mail your certification form for your
payment to be deposited onto your debit card.

e Contact the Specials Claims Office if you have any questions.
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WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION, DE 4581WS — Page 1

— . Employment INTERVIEWER'S

Development
EDD::;:x: INTALS

(EDD) USE ONLY)

State of California
EMPLOYER'S WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION
(To Be Completed By Employer Only)
LAST NAME FIRST NAME SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER

THIS FORM MAY BE USED FOR ONE WEEK OR TWO CONSECUTIVE WEEKS

WEEK ONE WEEK TWO
Week Ending: __/__/__ |WeekEnding: __/__/
1. Enter normal weekly wages. $ $
2. Enter actual wages paid (include overtime). $ $
3. Enter percentage (%) of wage reduction due to Work Sharing. % %
4. Enter normal weekly hours of work.
5. Enter actual hours worked (include overtime).
6. Enter percentage (%) of hour reduction due to Work Sharing. % %
7. Did the employee refuse any work made available during
hours scheduled off due to your Work Sharing plan? O ves O No O ves O No
8. Enter date(s) and hours used for Work Sharing reductions Date(s) Hours Date(s) Hours
during this week (example below): I/ I
Date(s) Hours /W /I
02/05/05 2 . )
I _
/I /__ _/__/__
9. Was employee absent from work for reasons other than
Work Sharing, including a holiday, jury duty, illness, O Yes [ No O Yes [ No
personal leave, or vacation during this week?
9.a. If yes, was the absence approved? O Yes [ No O Yes [ No

9.b. Enter the date(s) and reason for the absence.
] A A I/ /] ]

Reason:

1 certify that the above information concerning the status of this company and the status/earnings of this employee for
the rurpose ofd)artlapatm in the Work Sharing program is true and correct. At least two employees cipated and
not less than 10 percent of the regular p work force, Ived in the affected work um(fs), participated in the
Work Sharing‘program for at least one week of a two conseci week period. This company will maintain employees’
health and retirement benefits under the same terms and c ons as Eriur to the reduction in hours and wages or to
the same extent as other employees not rarlicipa(ing in the Work Sharing Plan pursuant to the California
Unemployment Insurance Code Section 1279.5 (c)(4)(A).

Name and Address of Co. Printed Name of Signee Date Issued to Employee

Employer Phone Number
Title

Original Signature Employer Account Number

NOTE: This form must be issued to the employee WITHIN 14 DAYS after the last week ending date shown above.
CLAIMANT’S WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION
Special Claims Office, ARU 850 - P.O. Box 419076 - Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076

DE 4581WS Rev. 9 (6-14) Page 1 of 2 cu
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WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION, DE 4581WS — Page 2

CLAIMANT’S WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION
(To Be Completed By Employee Only)

WEEK ONE

Answer the following
questions for the week
ending date entered under
“Week One” on the
reverse side of this form.

WEEK TWO

Answer the following
questions for the week
ending date entered under
“Week Two” on the
reverse side of this form.

1. Did you have a change of address or telephone
number during this week?

1.a. If yes, enter your new address and/or telephone
number.

[ ves [ No

Address:

[ Yes [] No

Address:

Telephone:
)

Telephone:

)

2. Did you work for anyone other than your Work
Sharing employer? (This includes self-employment or
a second employer.)

[ Yes [] No

O Yes D No

2.a. If yes, enter the self-employment or other
employer’s name, address, and last date worked
during this week.

Name

Name

Address

Address

City, State, and ZIP

Last Date Worked:

City, State, and ZIP

Last Date Worked:

2.b. Enter your earnings, before deductions, from your
non-Work Sharing employer, whether you were paid
or not. Also enter earnings from self-employment or

jury duty.

2.c. Are you continuing to work for the other employer?

|:| Yes |:| No

D Yes D No

2.d. If no, enter the reason the job ended.

3. If you want federal income tax withheld for the week(s) shown on Page 1, mark this box.

O

If you mark the box and are certifying for two weeks, federal income tax will be withheld for both weeks.

The information provided is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. |

| that the law provides for

a fine and/or imprisonment for making false statements or withholding facts to receive Unemployment Insurance.
SIGNATURE SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER DATE SIGNED

NOTE: The employee is responsible for mailing this form to the Special Claims Office at the address below within
14 calendar days of receipt from the employer.
CLAIMANT’S WORK SHARING CERTIFICATION
Special Claims Office, ARU 850 - P.O. Box 419076 - Rancho Cordova, CA 95741-9076

DE 4581WS Rev. 9 (6-14) Page 2 of 2
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ELIGIBILITY

Work Sharing benefits cannot be paid unless all eligibility requirements are met. If
there is a question of your eligibility, the Special Claims Office will contact you or
your Work Sharing employer for clarification or additional information.

The Work Sharing program requires that both employers and participating
employees meet the eligibility criteria. Listed below are the eligibility criteria that
Work Sharing employers must meet in order for their participating employees to be
eligible for Work Sharing benefits:

1.

10.

Employers must be a legally registered business in California and have an
active California State Employer Account Number.

At least 10 percent of the employer’s regular workforce or a unit of the
workforce, and a minimum of two employees, must be affected by a
reduction in hours and wages.

The employees’ reduction in hours and wages must be at least 10 percent
and must not exceed 60 percent.

The health benefits of employees must be continued under the same terms
and conditions as prior to the reduction in hours and wages or to the

same extent as other employees not participating in Work Sharing. Unless
a reduction is applied equally to employees not participating in Work
Sharing, employers who reduce health benefits of employees participating
in Work Sharing will not qualify for the Work Sharing program.

The retirement benefits of employees must be continued under the same
terms and conditions as prior to the reduction in hours and wages or to

the same extent as other employees not participating in Work Sharing.
Unless a reduction is applied equally to employees not participating in
Work Sharing, employers who reduce retirement benefits of employees
participating in Work Sharing will not qualify for the Work Sharing program.

The collective bargaining agent of employees in the bargaining unit
must agree to voluntarily participate in Work Sharing and must sign the
application for Work Sharing.

Employers must identify the affected work unit(s) to be covered by the
Work Sharing plan and identify each participating employee by their full
name and Social Security number.

Employers must notify employees in advance of the intent to participate in
Work Sharing.

Employers must identify how many layoffs will be avoided by participating
in the Work Sharing.

Employers must provide the EDD with any necessary reports or
documents relating to the proper conduct of the Work Sharing plan.

If your Work Sharing employer does not meet the criteria listed above:

The employer’s Work Sharing plan may be terminated, and/or

You may not be eligible for Work Sharing benefits.
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Listed below are the eligibility criteria that participating employees must meet in
order to be eligible for Work Sharing benefits:

1. Remain available for any work offered by your Work Sharing employer.

2. Submit any certification forms issued to you by your Work Sharing
employer to the Special Claims Office within 14 calendar days from the
issue date.

Be regularly employed by the Work Sharing employer.

4. Complete one normal work week (with no hour or wage reductions) for the
Work Sharing employer before participating in the Work Sharing program.

5. Have qualifying wages in the base period quarters used to establish a
regular California Unemployment Insurance claim. Refer to the DE 1275A
for more information on the base period at www.edd.ca.gov.

6. Your weekly hours worked and wages must be reduced by a minimum of
10 percent and must not exceed 60 percent.

7. If you quit or are fired from your job with the Work Sharing employer,
you will no longer be entitled to Work Sharing benefits. The EDD will
then determine if you are eligible for regular Ul benefits based on your
separation reason.

Note: Your rate of pay is not reduced. Your weekly wages are reduced by
10 percent because the number of hours you worked was reduced by 10 percent.
For example:

Your Work Sharing employer has reduced your normal work week from

40 hours to 32 hours. You are paid an hourly rate of $10 per hour. Your normal
weekly wage has been reduced from $400 to $320 due to Work Sharing. This
is a 20 percent reduction in your hours worked and weekly wages earned.

Because your hours worked are reduced by 20 percent, your wages earned are
also reduced by 20 percent. Your hourly rate of $10 per hour remains the same.

If any of the above listed criteria is not met, Work Sharing benefits cannot be paid.
If you are not eligible for benefits you will receive a notice explaining why you are
not entitled to Work Sharing benefits. The notice will also advise you of your
appeal rights.
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You must also report all work and earnings from an employer other than your Work
Sharing employer. All work and/or earnings must be reported, including the receipt
of the types of payments listed below. The EDD audits all Unemployment Insurance
benefits to detect fraud. If you receive benefits because you failed to provide the
EDD with the correct information, you may be prosecuted and denied current and
future benefits.

Back Pay Award
* Jury Fees

e Severance Pay
e  Bonuses

e  Paid Sick Leave
e  Strike Benefits
e Commissions

e  Pensions

e Tips
e Holiday Pay
e Piece Work

e Vacation Pay

e Idle Time Pay

e Residual Pay/Holding Fees
e Witness Fees

e In-Lieu-of-Notice

e Self-Employment

e Workers’” Compensation

You must report lodging and meals or any other payment you receive instead of

money when you work. If you are unsure about how to report wages, contact
the EDD.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA

LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT AGENCY

EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT DEPARTMENT

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary
aids and services are available upon request to individuals
with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate
formats need to be made by calling 1-800-300-5616 (voice) or
TTY 1-800-815-9387.
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