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Know Your Rights as a California Employer

As a California employer, it is important
to the Employment Development
Department (EDD) that you know your
rights. For this reason the EDD created
the Employers’ Bill of Rights (DE 195),
which is available online.

The Bill of Rights brochure outlines your

rights during the employment tax process.

These rights include:

e Courteous and timely service.

¢ Confidentiality.

e Accurate information and assistance.
e Clear, accurate account statements.

e The right to request a filing extension
for up to 60 days. The law provides
that the EDD may grant a filing
extension where “good cause” is
shown for a delay.

e The right to an appeal.

e The right to an impartial audit and a
full explanation of our findings if your
business is selected for an audit.

e The right to discuss the issue(s) with an
EDD representative, supervisor, office
manager, and the Taxpayer Advocate
Office if you disagree with an action
taken by the EDD.

e The right to appeal certain actions
to the California Unemployment
Insurance Appeals Board.

Access the brochure today for more
detailed information. You may also
contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
888-745-3886.

If you are unable to resolve a payroll tax
problem with an EDD representative,
supervisor and office manager, you may

contact the Taxpayer Advocate Office

to review the issues and facts of your
case to ensure that your rights have been
protected.

The Taxpayer Advocate Office is
responsible for protecting the rights

of taxpayers during ALL phases of the
payroll tax administration, assessment,
and collection process, while also
protecting the interests of the state.

You may contact the Taxpayer Advocate
Office at:

Employment Development Department

Office of the Taxpayer Rights Advocate,
MIC 93

PO Box 826880
Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Toll-free: 866-594-4177
Phone: 916-654-8957

Go Online to Reopen Your Payroll Tax Account

e-Services for Business Makes the Process Easy

If your EDD Employer Payroll Tax
Account was previously closed, but you
have recently paid wages in excess of
$100 in a calendar quarter (or $750 for
Household Employers), you may submit

an online request to reopen your account.

If you already have a username/password
log on to secure e-Services for Business
then follow steps 1 and 2.

If you are an agent, “Add Access to
Another Account,” and then follow
steps 1 and 2.

If you are not currently enrolled in
e-Services for Business, you must first
complete the enrollment process online
and then follow the steps below.

1. Select the closed account number
(shown in grey).

2. Select “Re-Open My Business” on the
“l want to” menu.

This will allow you to complete the
online registration application required
for reopening the account. Please allow
three business days for processing, then
log back into e-Services for Business to
check the status of your request.

Online. Anytime: e-Services for Business.



www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf
www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de195.pdf
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/tap/secure/eservices
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/tap/secure/eservices
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov
http://www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_taxes/e-Services_for_Business_Enrollment_Process.htm
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Know Your Due Dates, Avoid Unnecessary Penalties

Employer contributions of Unemployment Insurance tax and withheld. In order to avoid unnecessary penalties and late fees,
Employment Training Tax are due quarterly while monies be sure to know your due dates and frequency.
withheld from employees’ wages for State Disability Insurance

and Personal Income Tax (PIT), may need to be deposited Failure to meet payroll tax deposit time frames may result

more often. in penalties.

. . , . Refer to the California Employer’s Guide (DE 44) for additional
Deposit frequency is based on each employer’s federal deposit information or contact the Taxpayer Assistance Center at
schedule/requirement and the amount of accumulated PIT 888-745-3886.

2015 California Deposit Requirements

If Your Federal And You Have California Deposit
Deposit Schedule/ Accumulated State PIT PIT and SDI Deposit Due Schedule Box to Mark
Requirement Is Withholding of If Payday Is By on DE 88/DE 88ALL

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly Quarterly
Next-Day $350 to $500 Any payday 15th of following month Monthly

More than $500 Any payday Next business day Next-Day

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly Quarterly

$350 to $500 Any payday 15th of following month Monthly
Semi-weekly Semi-weekly

More than $500 Wed., Thurs., or Fri. Following Wednesday

More than $500 Sat., Sun., Mon., or Following Friday Semi-weekly

Tues.

Less than $350 Any payday Quarterly Quarterly

Monthly $350 or more Any payday 15th of following month Monthly
April 30, 2015

Less than $350 July 31, 2015 Quarterly

Suartelrlly or ess than $ Any payday November 2, 2015
nnuafly February 1, 2016
$350 or more Any payday 15th of following month Monthly

At Seminars and on the Web, Learn ~CALIFORNIA
How to Comply With Payroll Tax Law _EMPLOYER

The Employment Development understanding of the state and federal

Department (EDD) recognizes your need ~ Payroll tax reporting laws and also help This newsletter is published quarterly
to have the right tools available to help you understand how to apply wage and by the Employment Devel-

you comply with California’s payroll tax hour laws. gt Dggeiine @i i

California Labor and Work-

reporting and deposit laws. Therefore, the Additionally, the EDD offers online oo Sl Agmrer

EDD has partnered with the Department  y,15rials to help you with the proper i 010 i A e
of Industrial R.elatlons and the Internal completion of the Payroll Tax Deposit federal and state funds. It is an equal
Revenue Service to offer in-person (DE 88/DE 88ALL). opportunity employer/program and is in

seminars. compliance with Section 504 of the Re-

The tutorials will also help you determine habilitation Act and the Americans with

These seminars will enhance your

your state payroll tax deposit due dates Dfeelsfifes A,
] ] and choosg thle correct deposit schedule To request alternate formats, call
e-Services for Business: to ensure timely payments. 916-654-9029.
Easy, Convenient, Secure To view the classroom seminars available | Employment Development Department
- in your area and to access the online PO Box 826880
The EDD offers employers the ability payroll tax courses, visit payroll tax Sacramento, CA 94280-0001
to manage their payroll tax accounts seminars on the EDD website. Produced by the EDD Communications
online. Payroll agents can manage ffice MI
S . . . Office, MIC 85
their clients” accounts online You may also obtain additional Loree Levy, Deputy Director
through a third-party access. Learn |nfqrmat|on by calling the Taxpayer Patrick Joyce, Editor
more at e-Services for business. Assistance Center at 888-745-3886. First Quarter 2015 Vol. 66, No. 1



www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de44.pdf
www.eddservices.edd.ca.gov
www.eddservices.edd.ca.gov
https://eddservices.edd.ca.gov/
www.edd.ca.gov/payroll_tax_seminars



