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Furnish Your Employees with
Form W-2 by February 2, 2009

As an employer, you are required to pre-
pare a federal Wage and Tax Statement
(Form W-2) for each of your employees.
For 2008, you must provide your employ-
ees with a Form W-2 by February 2, 2009,
as provided in Section 13050 of the Cali-
fornia Unemployment Insurance Code
(CUIC).

Employers who fail to provide a Form W-
2 to each employee, or who furnish a
false or fraudulent statement, are subject
to a penalty of fifty dollars ($50) for each
such failure as imposed under Section
13052 of the CUIC. In addition, failure

to provide such form may also result in a
penalty as imposed under Section
13052.5 of the CUIC. The amount of the
penalty is based upon the unreported
remuneration for personal services mul-
tiplied by the maximum rate (9.3%) as
provided under Section 17041 of the Rev-
enue and Taxation Code.

Forms W-2 provide information to em-
ployees, the Social Security Administra-
tion, the Internal Revenue Service and
state and local governments. Use Boxes
15 through 19 of the Form W-2 to report
the following state tax information:

EMPLOYE
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Annual Interest Rate
Will Be 5 Percent

For the period January 1 through
June 30, 2009, the annual interest
rate will be 5 percent (0.05), com-
pounded daily. The daily interest
factor will be .000137. Interest is
charged on all delinquent taxes,
interest, and certain penalties.

If you have any questions about the
annual interest rate for 2009, please
call the Taxpayer Assistance Cen-
ter at 1-888-745-3886.

Box 15 (Employer’s
state ID number)

Enter your EDD employer account number.

Box 16 (State wages,
tips, etc.)

Enter California PIT wages.

Box 17 (State income
tax)

Enter California PIT withheld

Box 19 (Local income
tax) [If Box 19 has lo-
cal income taxes, use
Box 14 (Other)]

held.)

Enter the abbreviation “CASDI” and the amount of
SDI withheld. (Note: if the wages were not subject
to SDI, show “CASDI 0” (zero). If your employees
are covered under an authorized Voluntary DI plan,
enter “VPDI” and the VPDI amount actually with-

For additional information on Form W-2
reporting requirements or instructions on
completing Form W-2, please refer to IRS
publications Employer’s Tax Guide (Pub-
lication 15, Circular E) and 2008 Instruc-
tions for Forms W-2 and W-3. To obtain
these publications, go to www.irs.gov or
call the IRS at 1-800-829-3676.

For more information on completing the
“State” information on Form W-2, please
refer to your California Employer’s Guide
(DE 44) or contact us at 1-888-745-3886.

If the employee performs services in more
than one state, contact the other state(s)
for guidance on how to complete the
Form W-2 for that state.

Answers to e-Services Questions at Your Fingertips

Do you have questions about how to file your payroll tax

reports, make tax payments, or register for an employer ac-

= g count number online with e-Services? To get answers to all of
m‘_; your online, e-Services questions quickly and easily, simply
go to: www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/FAQs.htm and click the

“FAQ - eServices” link located on the left side of the page.

Furnish Independent
Contractors with
Form 1099 by
February 2, 2009

Individuals, partnerships, corporations, or
other organizations engaged in a trade
or business in California may have a re-
quirement to report independent contrac-
tor payments made in the course of their
business.

For 2008, if the IRS or FTB requires that
you provide an information return (Form
1099-MISC) to an independent contrac-
tor, failure to provide such form by Feb-
ruary 2, 2009, may result in a penalty as
imposed under Section 13052.5 of the
California Unemployment Insurance Code
or Section 19175 of the Revenue and
Taxation Code. The amount of the pen-
alty is determined based upon the unre-
ported remuneration for personal services
multiplied by the maximum rate (9.3%)
as provided under Section 17041 of the
Revenue and Taxation Code.

If you do not use the official IRS Form
1099-MISC to furnish the statement to re-
cipients, see General Rules and Specifi-
cations for Substitute Forms 1096, 1098,
1099, 5498, W-2G, and 1042-S, IRS Pub-
lication 1179 for specific rules for substi-
tute statements.

To obtain Form 1099 reporting require-
ments and instructions, refer to the IRS
Web site at www.irs.gov, see IRS Publi-
cation 1220, or call 1-800-829-3676.
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2009 California SDI and PIT Deposit Requirements

If Your Federal Deposit
Schedule/Requirement is

And You Have Accumulated
State PIT Withholding of

If Payday Is

PIT and SDI Deposit
Is Due By

Less than $350

Any day

Quarterly

Next Banking Day

$350 to $400

Any day

15" of the following month

More than $400

Any day

Next Banking Day

Less than $350

Any day

Quarterly

Semiweekly

$350 to $400

Any day

15" of the following month

More than $400

Wed., Thurs., or Fri.

Following Wednesday

More than $400

Sat., Sun., Mon., or Tues.

Following Friday

Less than $350

Any day

Quarterly

Monthly

$350 or more

Any day

15" of the following month

Quarterly or Annually

Less than $350

Any day

April 30, 2009
July 31, 2009
November 2, 2009
February 1, 2010

$350 or more

Any day

15™ of the following month

For more information and special situations concerning deposit rules and frequencies, refer to the California Employers
Guide (DE 44), visit our Web site at www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/File_and_Pay.htm, or call 1-888-745-3886.

Protecting Yourself and Employees from Fraud

A key way to protect yourself and your
employees is by properly disposing of
your old payroll records. California law
requires you to properly destroy (i.e.,
shred, erase, etc.) the personal informa-
tion on all records under your control. Your
employees may sue for civil damages if
you fail to protect their confidential in-
formation. EDD encourages employers to
take all necessary steps to protect your
employees’ social security numbers
(SSNs) and other identifying information.

Additional steps employers can take to
protect sensitive information include:

e Limit access to records which contain
sensitive personal information to those
who need to use them in the perfor-
mance of their duties.

e Don't print an individual’s SSN on
documents that are mailed to the in-
dividual, unless state or federal law
requires the number to be on the
document to be mailed.

e When sending applications, forms,
or other documents required by law
to carry SSN's through the mail,
place the SSN where it will not be
revealed by an envelope window.
Where possible, leave the SSN field
on forms blank and ask the indi-

vidual to fill it in before returning
the form or application.

e Store paper records containing sensi-
tive personal information in locked
cabinets.

e Reduce the collection of Social Se-
curity numbers: Don’t collect them
if you don’t need them.

For more information on California pri-
vacy legislation and protecting yourself
and your employees from identity theft,
visit the Office of Privacy Protection’s
Web site: www.oispp.ca.gov/consumer
_privacy.

Subscribe to EDD Notices
by E-mail — It's Fast & Easy

We know our customers are busy people,
and EDD’s free e-mail subscription ser-
vices make it easier than ever to stay
up-to-date online. Subscribe to our e-mail
lists and stay tuned to the latest news
about programs and services online, in-
cluding What's New on EDD’s Web site,
recently added forms and publications,
events, and announcements. The follow-
ing subscription services are available:

e Employment and Payroll Tax Infor-
mation

Just a Reminder!
Federal Earned Income Tax
Credit Notification (EITC)

As of January 1, 2008 employers are
required to notify their employees
about the availability of the EITC.
Written notification must be provided
to employees in person or by mail.
Notification must be provided within
one week before or after, or at the
same time, that you provide an an-
nual wage summary, including Form
W-2 or Form 1099.

For additional information about this
requirement, visit www.edd.ca.gov/
Payroll_Taxes/Earned_Income_Tax
_Credit_Notification.htm. For addi-
tional information about EITC go to
WWW.Irs.gov

e Labor Market Information
e Paid Family Leave Information

e Workforce Investment Act and
Wagner-Peyser Act

To subscribe, go to the EDD Home page
at www.edd.ca.gov and select “Get E-
mail notices” then select the option “I
want to subscribe.” It's easier than ever
to keep updated and informed.
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Tips for a trouble-free annual reconciliation

Each year employers file an Annual Reconciliation Statement (DE 7) or an Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll
Tax Return (DE 3HW) to reconcile payroll tax payments and the total subject wages reported for the year. Here are some
tips to help avoid potentially costly mistakes.

DE 7 Annual Reconciliation Statement
Compare the amounts reported on the forms below:

DE 7 Total Subject Wages (item C) Should match DE 6 (Item M) total of all four quarters
DE 7 PIT Withheld (item G) DE 6 (item O) total of all four quarters and
Should match total of all Forms W-2 (box 17) plus Forms
T099R (box 10)
DE 7 Contributions and Withholdings Total of DE 88 Payroll Tax Deposits (item
Paid for the Year (item 1) G). Note: Verify that the deposits being rec-
Should match

onciled are for year 2008. Do not include
deposits made for other years or any penalty
and interest paid.

DE 6 Grand Total of PIT Wages
(item N) total of all four quarters

DE 3HW Total Subject Wages (item A).

Should match

DE 3HW Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return

Compare the amounts reported on the forms below:

Should match

Total of all W-2 Forms (box 16)

DE 3BHW (item H) total of all four quarters

DE 3HW PIT Withheld (item E)

Should match

DE 3BHW (item )) total of all four quarters
and total of all Forms W-2 (box 17) plus Forms
T099R (box 10)

DE 3BHW Grand Total PIT Wages (item 1)
total of all four quarters

Should match

Total of all Forms W-2 (box 16)

call our Taxpayer Assistance Center at 1-888-745-3886.

Complete and mail a DE 88 for any underpaid deposits. Include pay date, deposit schedule, and quarter covered.
Household employers who file an Employer of Household Worker(s) Annual Payroll Tax Return (DE3HW) should send
payment with the DE 3HW. All others should use a DE 88 Coupon.

Note: Failure to fully complete the DE 88 may result in your payment being posted to the wrong quarter and/or year.

To correct most errors on previously filed DE 3BHWs, DE 6s, DE 3HWs, and/or a DE 7, complete and mail a Tax and
Wage Adjustments Form (DE 678) available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678.pdf. An instruction sheet for com-
pleting the DE 678 is also available at www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de678i.pdf. For more information or assistance,

Employment Status Course Available on Internet or CD

Want to learn more about the basics of classifying workers as
employees or independent contractors, but don’t have time to
attend a classroom seminar? Our web-based classes are for
you!

The Taxpayer Education and Assistance Program offers a Web-
based e-Learning course on the subject of Employment Status,
available in both English and Spanish. The course explains
common and statutory law as it is applied by the Employment
Development Department (EDD) and the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS), and discusses resources to assist employers in

properly classifying workers as either employees or indepen-
dent contractors. To access the course on the Internet, use the
following Web site: www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/.
The Web site indicates the computer system requirements to
view the Web-based seminar. The course takes about 1.5 hours
to complete. However, you can view a portion of the seminar
and return later to view other sections or review information.

No internet access? Order a free compact disc (CD) of the
Employment Status seminar in either English or Spanish by
calling Diane Best at (916)464-3518.
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Taxable value of meals and lodging

Meals and/or lodging that you provide to your employees should be treated as
wages for Unemployment Insurance, Employment Training Tax, and State
Disability Insurance. Meals are subject to California Personal Income Tax (PIT)
withholding unless the meal is furnished to your employees on your business
premises and it is for your convenience. Lodging is also subject to PIT
withholding unless it is furnished for your convenience and the employee is
required to accept lodging on your business premises as a condition of
employment.

Each year, the value of meals and lodging is adjusted based on the cost-of-
living indexes. Please use the values shown below for 2009. These values do
not apply where higher values of meals and lodging are stipulated in a union
agreement or contract of hire, or are required for compliance with minimum
wage laws. For more information, visit our Web site at www.edd.ca.gov or call
us at 1-888-745-3886.

Employees* Maritime Employees

Meals Value Licensed Personnel Value

Breakfast $2.20 Meals $10.00

Lunch $3.00 Quarters $7.70

Dinner $4.80 Total per day $17.70

3 meals per day $10.00

A rgealk?(’tt l?entgled Unlicensed Personnel Value

o breakfast lunch, or $10.00
' Quarters $5.30

Lodging Value Total per day $15.30

The value is set at 66-2/3 percent Fishermen

of the ordinary rental value to the
public, but not in excess of $1,145
per month or less than $37.20 per
week.

Lodging value is $37.20 per week and
$5.30 per day for periods of less than a
week.

* Maritime employees’ values of meals and lodging are different than all other
employees and are shown in the above table on the right. Lodging values for
maritime employees apply only when the facilities meet specific minimum

standards.

Seminars Offer Valuable Tax Help

We offer seminars on various tax-related
topics to help you understand and com-
ply with California payroll tax laws.
Some seminars are presented in partner-
ship with federal or state agencies to pro-
vide information on related federal tax
and labor law topics.

These courses are customized to benefit
new employers, established businesses,
bookkeepers, and payroll agents. Semi-
nars are conducted at various locations
throughout the state with no charge to
participants. Some of our seminar topics
are shown below.

Federal/State Basic Payroll Tax Semi-
nars cover federal and state payroll re-
porting requirements, including forms,
payment requirements, electronic filing
and independent contractor reporting.

Employee or Independent Contractor Tax
Seminars include the factors that deter-

mine whether a worker is an employee
or an independent contractor plus the
basics of statutory employment.

State Labor Law and Payroll Tax Semi-
nars are co-presented by the Employment
Development Department and the De-
partment of Industrial Relations. Topics
include employer reporting and payment
requirements, common wage and hour
law application, and basics of how to
distinguish between employees and in-
dependent contractors.

State Payroll Tax Workshops provide
hands-on training in calculating taxes and
completing payroll tax forms.

To view a complete list of seminar top-
ics, dates and locations, or to register for
a seminar, visit our Web site at
www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Tax_Seminars/
or call our Taxpayer Assistance Center at
(888) 745-3886.

Watch Your Mail for
2009 Tax Rate
Information

You will receive your Notice of Contri-
bution Rates and Statement of Unemploy-
ment Insurance (Ul) Reserve Account
(DE 2088) for calendar year 2009 by De-
cember 31, 2008.

The DE 2088 statement informs each
employer of their 2009 tax rates and re-
serve account activity.

Please carefully review all of the items
on your DE 2088. For more information
about the DE 2088 and your protest
rights, refer to the Explanation of the No-
tice of Contribution Rates and Statement
of Ul Reserve Account (DE 2088C) en-
closed with the DE 2088.

For 2009, the Ul taxable wage limit and
the Employee Training Tax (ETT) taxable
wage limit is $7,000 per employee. The
ETT rate will remain at 0.1 percent (.001).

The DE 2088 notifies employers of their
2009 State Disability Insurance (SDI) rate
and taxable wage limit, and if they are
subject to ETT.

For questions about your statement,
please call us at (916) 653-7795. When
you call, have your DE 2088 and your
employer account number available.

If you have moved and have a change
of address and/or agent update, please
inform EDD immediately to receive your
DE 2088 by December 31, 2008.
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