o~ ~ Employment
ED Development
Department

V

State of California

Disability Insurance Elective Coverage Rate Notice and

Rate

Important
Reminders

What Your
Premium
Is Based Upon

Your Premium
Is Determined by
Net Profit

What Your Benefits
Are Based Upon

Disabled

Instructions for Computing Annual Premiums

The Disability Insurance Elective Coverage (DIEC) rate is 9.78 percent of reportable
income for 2024.

* The payment due by January 31, 2024, is for the last quarter of 2023 and must be
calculated using the rate in effect for 2023.

* A Quarterly Premium Notice for DIEC (DE 3DI) must be signed and returned every
quarter - even when no premium is due. Your eligibility for disability benefits may
be affected if you fail to file a return each quarter.

» Participants who have been in the DIEC program for two complete calendar years
may voluntarily cancel coverage by sending a written request in January. Refer to
page 2 for more information.

Your 2024 DIEC premiums are based on the net profit reported on your 2022 IRS

Form 1040 Schedule SE (irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-schedule-se-form-1040). Life
insurance salespersons who do not need to file a Schedule SE should use the net profit
IRS Form 1040 Schedule C (line 31) (irs.gov/forms-pubs/about-schedule-c-form-1040)
in place of Schedule SE net profit to calculate their annual premium.

If the net profit shown on line 3 of your 2022 IRS Schedule SE is:

$4,600 or less You will pay an annual premium of $449.88 during 2024.

(or you did not Your premium will be paid in four equal quarterly installments.
earn enough to

file a Schedule

SE):
$4,601 or Multiply your net profit by 9.78 percent to find your 2024 annual
more premium. Your premium will be paid in four equal quarterly

installments.

Benefits are based on the income credits during the four quarters of the base period of
your claim, not on your actual earnings during those quarters. For more information on
eligibility or benefit amounts, contact your local Disability Insurance office (edd.ca.gov/
office_locator).

You do not pay premiums for periods when you are disabled. You do, however, need to
pay premiums on reported net profits. For more information, refer to your DE 3DI.
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How to Cancel Participants who have been in the DIEC program for two complete calendar years
and wish to voluntarily cancel their elective coverage agreement may do so by filing a
written request. The request must be postmarked during January and will be effective on
January 1. Requests postmarked after January 31 must show good cause for failure to
meet this cut-off date or they will be rejected.

Send correspondence to:

Employment Development Department
DIEC Unit, MIC 5

PO Box 826880

Sacramento, CA 94280-0001

Remember, your premium notice and payment for the quarter ended December 31 are
still due by the following January 31, even if you request cancellation of your coverage.

Involuntary Section 704.1 of the California Unemployment Insurance Code (CUIC) (leginfo.
Termination legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes) allows us to terminate an elective coverage agreement if
it is discovered that:

1) The individual is an employee and not self-employed.

2) The individual is no longer self-employed.

3) The individual’s self-employment is seasonal.

4) The major portion of the individual's work-related income does not come from self-

employment activities.

(5) The individual’s net profit from self-employment is less than $4,600 for three
consecutive years.

(6) The individual fails to file returns or pay premiums within the time required by the
Employment Development Department and the participant has been in the DIEC
program for two complete calendar years.

(7) The individual filed a false statement in order to be considered eligible for elective
coverage.

(8) The individual has been convicted of any violation for filing a false claim for benefits

pursuant to Chapter 10 (starting with section 2101) of the CUIC.
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Additional More information regarding the DIEC program is available by calling 1-888-745-3886,
Information writing to the address shown above, or visiting the EDD State Disability Insurance
Requently Asked Questions (edd.ca.gov/Disability/FAQS).

You can file, pay, and manage your DIEC account online with e-Services for Business
(edd.ca.gov/e-Services_for_Business).

The EDD is an equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals
with disabilities. Requests for services, aids, and/or alternate formats need to be made by calling 1-888-745-3886 (voice)
or TTY 1-800-547-9565.

DE 3DI-I Rev. 65 (12-23) (INTERNET) Page 2 of 2


http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes.xhtml
https://edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/FAQs
https://edd.ca.gov/en/Disability/FAQs
https://edd.ca.gov/en/Payroll_Taxes/e-Services_for_Business

